X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vanderbilt YMCA Reviews

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2968 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The staff can be a bit more courteous, I understand that it's not the Ritz but they did not have to be nonchalant and off putting for towards customers...

  • 20th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

If you get a room in an opposite end of tyhe corridor to the bathroom, then you have long way to walk... A bit noisy at night (street, fans)

  • 19th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Our twin room was tiny! Lots of school kids around - they had a tendency to gather in the bathrooms, rather annoying when we wanted to use them. The housekeeper on our floor (level 10) seemed to spend more time texting and chatting on her iPhone than cleaning, and one morning she walked into our room even though we clearly had a "do not disturb' sign on our door (probably distracted by her iPhone). Loved being able to use the gym facilities downstairs though.


80%

Couldn't get any of the soda machines to work, either with cash or with a credit card. Ceiling light a bit dim. Nowhere to hang or lay things (glasses, washcloth, towel) within the shower area.

  • 16th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Price of a single room with no bathroom or toilet is outrageous but if you want to stay in Manhattan without breaking the bank it's something you have to tolerate.

  • 16th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice place. The facilities (gym, pool, sauna) are excellent and the bedroom is way much better and clean than I expected. The assistance of the employees was very good too


71%

It was cheap enough (by comparison) that made it worthwhile.


97%

It was really a nice experience and will use this again.

  • 13th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location and nice private rooms for an affordable price. You can use the gym and swimming pool. The mattress wasnt really good, however.


86%

Great stay!

  • 12th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

The room was extremely cold, no heating. In the kitchen no a single spoon or cup, after complaining they put plastic cups and spoons, knives, etc. No coffe maker neither.

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

It took long to check in. I was advised to sit and wait. Bathrooms are horrible. Shower curtain is smaller than needed... People can see you from outside. No clean space to place stuff, a bench inside wet area, receiving all the water, impossible to be used!

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Hotel location is nice. Staff behaviour is terrible. You have to stay in a line for check-in and check-out as the place is very busy. Rooms are small and noisy because of air conditioning out side the room.

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iran
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I really enjoy my stay there, the staff was really nice and polite. If you dont spend a lot of money on your hotel and want to be close to Time square is definitely the place to be.


86%

The Vanderbilt offers clean, basic rooms with good security and an excellent location. The bathroom facilities are also basic but clean. I recommend taking ear plugs as the air-con, fridge and street noise combines to be pretty noisy. The beds are comfortable and the hostel is secure.

  • 9th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great deal! Exercice room, a lot of rooms so every one could find a place to stay. Very nice staff. Good location. Must go

  • 7th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The location was fantastic, the gym was fantastic too. the rooms were basic, not the best condition but serviceable, clean and inexpensive...... honestly no complaints from me

  • 5th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels I have been. Very well located and safe. For sure, next time in NYC I am going to stay there.


80%

Thank you


80%

Really good location! Staff was welcoming and helpfull. A person in the entrance is even in charge to give you advices for your trip (transport, events, spectacles...restaurants!)

  • 4th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(1677 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback