Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Vang Vieng Backpackers Hostel

  • Village Vang Vieng, Vang Vieng District, Vientiane, Vang Vieng, Laos

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 167 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 167 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.4
Vang Vieng Backpackers Hostel Located at Village Vang Vieng, Vang Vieng District, Vientiane, , Vang Vieng.
Vang Vieng Backpackers Hostel
Laos
Vang Vieng 01000 Village Vang Vieng, Vang Vieng District, Vientiane
67% 167
18.9285331 102.4482065
Vang Vieng Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Jul 2016
8.0

Decent hostel for the price. The rooms were clean and the bed was decent, although a bit hard. It is a bit far from the main party spots, but within walking distance (except if you're completely drunk).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
4.9

Our rooms AC didn't work very well and the staff wouldn't let you have the remote to change the temperature. The toilet was overflowing and water didn't work in our dorm, and whenever we told the staff they were not very useful and took a long time to look at it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jul 2016
6.3

Great location and good value for money. Only issue was the security of the place. You aren't given a key and dorm rooms are always unlocked. They do have lockers but they're merely deterrents. It was nice for sleeping and passing through but did not feel overly safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
6.6

good location (close to the only free spot to the river and to everything).A big potential but no care of some small details(a bins in a room/toilets to avoid garbage everywhere, mirrow, ecc) the pictures of the room and most of the services (drinking water) are actually from the hotel just in front. Either the breakfast: i clearly book with free breakfast(nice one) but the owner try to make me pay for it,give to me nonsense reason. The womans are nice but not so helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ellabeard
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
6.0

Very cheap but staff were quite unhelpful and didn't speak English. Bathroom and showers were great. Not a sociable atmosphere, very quiet but fairly good location. Beds were uncomfortable but AC on all day and night which was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2016
8.3

It too bad to see all the negative reviews about this hostel. I found the family who runs the place to be very lovely, the breakfasts were amazing (I highly recommend the omelette), the rooms were quite spacious, and the air con was decent. Also, the location was great because it was off on a side street, but also a short walk to everything in town. Probably the two major downsides of this place are that its not too much of a social hostel, and the water in the bathrooms wasn't always working.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th May 2016
7.1

We stayed at Bountang Hotel in an 8 bed mixed dorm. There was a bathroom in the room, which was convenient, and there were more bathrooms downstairs. Electrical outlets were provided, though not the most conveniently located. Overall, it was a pretty standard hostel. The only major concern was that there weren't any keys for the door. THe girls who arrived before us said that the staff needed to jimmy the lock open with a screwdriver when they arrived.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
4th May 2016
8.0

Loved it so much here we stayed for a week. For £2 including breakfast and free whisky every night what more could you want? The staff were lovely although did try to charge me double when I checked out and said it was because of the breakfast but it says on their page breakfast is included and they confirmed that when we checked in so keep an eye on that when leaving!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st May 2016
6.9

This hostel was good value and the staff were friendly although some of them seemed genuinely perplexed during any money exchange. The room was fine, toilet in the dorm, each bed has a light and plug socket. I think my pillow was actually a sandbag used in the Vietnam war but otherwise I can't complain

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • mralexjg
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st May 2016
5.7

Good location. Friendly staff. Couldn't lock the door but there are "lockers" under the beds. Aircon worked but they wouldn't change it from 28 degrees! Also the rooms aren't actually in the hotel. They're across the street

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.