Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vang Vieng Backpackers Hostel

  • Village Vang Vieng, Vang Vieng District, Vientiane, Vang Vieng, Laos

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Feb 2017
4.3

Got robbed from a locked box under bed and response was non existent from staff. Free breakfast and hot showers but hard beds

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.7

Chill place to stay w/ an excellent location. Clean place and nice breakfast. Staff members were nice too which you can't ever take for granted in Laos.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
8.0

The hostel was nice though could be a lot nicer in terms of ambiance. Location was great and easily accessible to most attractions. The free breakfast was a very nice touch to an otherwise alright hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
10.0

I initially started with 3 nights here but ended up staying for 8 nights. The staff are AMAZING!!! Fantastic social area and always there to help! I lost my phone phone down the side of the bed, and the guys at VVB helped me to retrieve it. The free breakfast and free whisky also go down a treat. Great pool table and sound system. If I ever go near VV again I'll be sure to stop there. Matt cureton 13.1.2017

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
8.0

Not a bad Hostel this. Its a bit far from the restaurants and nightlife. The staff were quite pleasant but to try and order breakfast was something of an ordeal. The place was kept clean and tidy and the free whiskey(?) was a bonus. Other than tat it was pretty average.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
18th Dec 2016
4.9

The bathroom was really dirty, did not even attempt to use the shower. No key given to lock the dorm room, didnt feel very secure, people could easily come in and out of your room as they pleased. Also could be very noisy at night. I wouldn't stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Nov 2016
7.7

Good hostel thats within walking distance to the bars. Free whiskey 7pm-10pm, free breakfast 7am-10am, always a good atmosphere for a night out but the hostel music shuts down early enough for a decent night sleep if you stay in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Nov 2016
4.6

Walked in and knew we wouldn't stay. Walked to real backpackers 2 and booked the rest of your stay there. It's removed from all the bars and didn't find it social. Bathroom and bedroom smelt bad and there was NO security. Lockers don't work and no locks on the doors. AC also didn't work!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
5.7

I booked a supreme suite through HW (and paid extra as well) and when I got here, they put me in a 14 bed mixed dorm on the top bunk with no attached bathroom. The bathrooms for everyone are downstairs from the rooms. People party until all hours of the night, and they were doing construction starting at 7am outside that literally shook the entire building. It was awful. The only good thing about this place is that they give free whisky for 3 hours every night and it is very social.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
6.6

WiFi was poor

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.