Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff

  • Helipad Road, Opposite Chempakam Super Market, Near Kochuvilamukku North Cliff, Varkala, India

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 118 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 118 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Maddy1601
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
6.0

I wouldn't stay here again. The bed was comfortable and the A/C worked well but there was a definite lack of atmosphere and hospitality. There was a rat in our room so the staff kindly changed us to a different room but there were rats running around all night long. For the price there would be much nicer places to stay in Varkala.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, We are extremely apologetic for the problems you faced. We have noted your concerns and right action has been taken. We would be most fortunate to have you back at our property. Awaiting your earliest return. Do visit again. -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels.

  • brandonjohal
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.7

Overall really great place, probably the best hostel in Varkala. Staff are really helpful, dorms are clean, private rooms are awesome as well, and the location can't be beat. 5min walk to the best stretch of beach in Kerala. Could have stayed here for much longer, will definitely return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Brandon, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review for our hotel. We try our best to fully satisfy all our customers and are glad we were successful with your experience. We look forward to welcome you back. Do visit us at our other properties too. -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels.

  • thomasmacthomas9271
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
5.7

The Vedanta seems a bit tired these days. I've stayed in much better hostels around India. It also gets very busy at weekends with local tourists visiting Varkala. The rooms are not very big so when you have a full one it feels a bit much. The bathrooms are pretty basic, no water pressure so it's a bucket and little bucket job in the shower.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, We are sorry about your experience. We have noted your complaints and we will take the necessary action. Please do stay with us again -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels.

  • jamesking531966
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
4.3

I've rated security will the lowest possible scoring as the hostel has fraudulently debited my account twice. I've been in touch with Hostelworld who have distanced themselves and had no response from Vedanta. When you are trying to get by on a budget situations like this make it extremely difficult. The staff didn't speak great English and due to the lack of the communication on my outstanding issue, I can only provide the lowest mark. Atmosphere was pretty dull. Each traveler sitting on the ph

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear James, We are sorry about your experience. We have noted your complaints and we will take the necessary action. Please do stay with us again -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels.

22nd Jan 2017
6.9

The hostel itself is ok, however a bit expensive for what you get. Not the cleanest and the shower didn't have a shower head or hot water. Staff were ok but couldn't seem to help organise any trips or make suggestions when asked.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, We are sorry about your experience. We have noted your complaints and we will take the necessary action. Please do stay with us again -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels.

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
13th Jan 2017
8.6

Met so many nice people in the hostel. The garden is also amazing to chill out. Breakfast was also good, fast and cheap. Location is perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Tess, Thank you for writing to us. We are most fortunate to have you as our guest. We are glad you liked us. Your kind words have motivated us to provide the kind of service our guest desire. We would love to have an opportunity to serve you again. Do visit us at our other properties too. -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels.

9th Jan 2017
10.0

Fantastic place. Very sociable, great vibe with a fantastic porch to hang out on. The staff is great and they make a good breakfast in the morning. It's in a good spot near the cliff/beaches but not right on top. There is also a good little shop where you can get whatever right across the road. I think most people who were there at the same time as me extended their stay and many of those people travelled on with me to Alleppey for a houseboat cruise. Overall: Awesome

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing to us. We are most fortunate to have you as our guest. We are glad you liked us. Your kind words have motivated us to provide the kind of service our guest desire. We would love to have an opportunity to serve you again. Do visit us at our other properties too. -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Jan 2017
9.1

Was a perfect location! Less than five minutes walking and you were at the main beach. Staff were helpful in organising morning yoga for us and dropped us there for no extra charge which was great :) Only thing i'd say is wifi in the rooms was a bit choppy and the sharing of the one bathroom (with shower and toilet) got a bit crowded. But these were only minor and would 100% recommend this hostel! Great atmosphere, easy to meet other travellers :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing to us. We are most fortunate to have you as our guest. We are glad you liked us. Your kind words have motivated us to provide the kind of service our guest desire. We would love to have an opportunity to serve you again. Do visit us at our other properties too. -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels.

23rd Dec 2016
7.4

I had wonderful stay at Varakala and met some really nice people at the hostel!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2016
10.0

you're about 300 meters from the cliff, great AC for those hot days...plenty to keep you out and about all day, then a chill pad with great movies at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×