Hostelworld.com

Velkommen Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 577 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 577 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.1
Velkommen Backpackers Located at 17 st 144 Riverside, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh.
Velkommen Backpackers
Cambodia
Phnom Penh Phnom Penh 17 st 144 Riverside, Daun Penh
78% 577
11.5705846 104.9294918
Velkommen Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Frankie2407
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
8.6

The hostel was basic but was fine. The beds made a noise when you moved (this was in the 10 bed dorm). Everything else was good, the staff where lovely and extremely friendly and helpful. They showed me where to go and even took me by tuk tuk. The manger was always on shift during the day and was friendly. The bar was nice and cheap, and always had a couple of people in it.. The wifi was the best wifi I have had so far in any hostel! It is cheap and cheerful. I would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2016
8.6

Great place. I came back again after being at the beaches. Room is big and clean. Beds were comfortable. Bar downstairs was good too. Just be prepared for the 4 flights of stairs to the dorm room. You never get used to it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • borisyanez5814
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
7th Mar 2016
9.4

Great location and friendly knowledgable staff. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2016
10.0

Friendly and helpful staff. Clean dorm and brand new bathroom. I will highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Feb 2016
9.1

Probably the best value for money in town ! We stayed there twice, and the staff was very helpful, the ambiance ery backpacker-like and the rooms spotless! I definitely recommend it !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
2nd Feb 2016
8.6

Good hostel, yummy breakfast, and nice staff :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2016
6.6

It is located in quite centrally so you have easy access to all the amenities. However, the room I stayed in was quite dirty. There were cockroaches and other small insects as well as a bad smell.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2016
6.9

In my opinion it is a good hostel to stay if you are searching for a good location in Phnom Penh, really near to the Royal Palace and the National Museum, and with lots of restaurants and bars around. The staff were extremely helpful, providing advice for every question or doubt that I had. However, the facilities are at least modest. Temperature in the room was really tough, with just a really old deficient fan that made a lot of noise and made it really difficult to fall asleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2016
4.0

The private room with shared bathroom was quite cheap, but next time I will definitely spend a bit more money to get at least some average comfort! My room had no window and was EXTREMELY humid and FULL of bugs crawling on and surround me which was awful! The pillow was hard (maybe due to humidity) and stinky. My hair stank even after washing several times for a couple of days because of the pillow!!! The bathroom was dirty and extremely humid as well.. And the staff not friendly.Disappointing

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2016
8.3

I booked a single bedroom for one person. The room is just a very small room, with no windows. But, it had two fans - which is needed as the room gets really hot and stuffy. The bathroom was nice, and everything was clean. For the money paid I suppose everything is OK...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.