Hostelworld.com

Velkommen Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 583 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 583 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.1
Velkommen Backpackers Located at 17 st 144 Riverside, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh.
Velkommen Backpackers
Cambodia
Phnom Penh Phnom Penh 17 st 144 Riverside, Daun Penh
76% 583
11.5705846 104.9294918
Velkommen Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
10th Jun 2016
8.3

Really lovely staff and owner. Dorm room was good, quite wobbly beds which can be interesting when your top bunk but great for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th May 2016
8.6

The staff very helpful the rooms very clean , however not liking the area, but that's just me

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th May 2016
7.4

We stayed in the superior 4 bed private, it is super big, beds are a bit noisy and bed sheets didn't look very clean. It has a dark atmosphere, wifi not always working correctly in the room. Excellent location. And staff really helpful when we needed to book bus and tours.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Apr 2016
8.9

Really great place to stay, the Thai staff are all friendly and up for a laugh. Feels like it's being run by a group of mates which is a really good thing. The part-owner Hamish is around quite a lot so if you did have any issues he'd be there. Only slight complaint was that there's no locker for passport etc. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your review We do appreciate all feedback - the private rooms do not have a locker, however are very safe. The dorm has a key/locker with a towel, pillow & blanket placed inside for new arrivals. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Velkopmmen Backpackers Regards Hamish, manager

  • Frankie2407
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
8.6

The hostel was basic but was fine. The beds made a noise when you moved (this was in the 10 bed dorm). Everything else was good, the staff where lovely and extremely friendly and helpful. They showed me where to go and even took me by tuk tuk. The manger was always on shift during the day and was friendly. The bar was nice and cheap, and always had a couple of people in it.. The wifi was the best wifi I have had so far in any hostel! It is cheap and cheerful. I would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your review We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve the experience backpackers have at our hostel. We have since repaired the bed and thank you for informing us - We have recently upgraded our internet plan and are very happy with the new fast speeds. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Regards Hamish, manager

20th Mar 2016
8.6

Great place. I came back again after being at the beaches. Room is big and clean. Beds were comfortable. Bar downstairs was good too. Just be prepared for the 4 flights of stairs to the dorm room. You never get used to it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your review We do pride ourselves on having a clean, safe & affordable hostel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - the dorm is up a few flight of stairs but this also makes it very quiet away from any noise - thank you for staying with us Regards Hamish, manager

  • borisyanez5814
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
7th Mar 2016
9.4

Great location and friendly knowledgable staff. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your review We are very fortunate to be in such a great location next to riverside - I hope you can make it back one day for another holiday here in Cambodia - thank you for your feedback Regards Hamish, manager

6th Feb 2016
10.0

Friendly and helpful staff. Clean dorm and brand new bathroom. I will highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Feb 2016
9.1

Probably the best value for money in town ! We stayed there twice, and the staff was very helpful, the ambiance ery backpacker-like and the rooms spotless! I definitely recommend it !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
2nd Feb 2016
8.6

Good hostel, yummy breakfast, and nice staff :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.