Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Velkommen Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 622 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 622 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.5
Velkommen Backpackers Located at 17 st 144 Riverside, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh.
Velkommen Backpackers
Cambodia
Phnom Penh Phnom Penh 17 st 144 Riverside, Daun Penh
81% 622
11.5705846 104.9294918
Velkommen Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Dec 2016
4.3

I reserved a single private room. It turned out to be windowless, unairconditioned, and permeated by the strongest odor of urine I have ever encountered. It was unbearable. Within fifteen minutes I ended up going across the street and getting a decent hotel room. Maybe their hostel bunks are ok, but check the private rooms in person before making any commitment. I didn't even have the fortitude to argue about a refund. I just had to run away from the smell. It was acrid and burning my nostrils.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Dec 2016
10.0

I stayed 4 nights my first time, and loved it so much, it was my natural choice for an overnight transition stop. Really friendly staff, and you literally cannot ask for a better location in the city! Thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Nov 2016
8.6

We had a big room but without Windows so it was a bit stuffy. But the air con and fans worked fine. All basic needs were covered and they booked the ticket to Siem Reap for us. Encountered no problems so would recommend this hostel for a short stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
8.6

Staff were great, helpful in booking bus to Siem reap and then changing bus due to delayed flights. Close by walking to lots of locations, and food. Good value for money - only issue beds were VERY wobbly/squeaky, especially on top bunk! Will stay here again when next in Phnom!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
8.3

Completely fine place to spend a couple of nights. Central location. Bar kinda lame when I was there, not many people staying I guess. Quiet though, I slept well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th Nov 2016
6.6

Easy to meet people. Cheap food and beer, foosball table was great. Good location right by the river by lots of restaurants. Lots of tuk tuks right outside. Room was on the 3rd floor, soo many stairs and no lift! Lights in the bathroom repeatedly cut out whilst showering. Unhelpful staff when asking about tickets and tours. Beds are a bit dangerous as the ladder and the side bar came off whilst trying to climb up. Beds were loud and whoever sleeps by the lockers will be woken up a lot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Nov 2016
7.1

First time I came there was like few years ago and I am back again this year for 3 nights ,nice place on the riverside nothing to complain except the Scottish guy we do not like his behaviour me and many other backpackers hhhh for sure I ll be back ,wifi is good but not much facilities ,beer more expensive than somewhere else ,but still a good place to go .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
4th Nov 2016
9.7

Stayed here one night before going to the beaches. Owners very friendly, comfy bed to sleep in for the night. Enjoyed my stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Oct 2016
8.6

Rather basic and small city guesthouse.....no windows in rooms but clean and basic. some rooms a little too small and gloomy. Aussie guy is a cheerful manager. Wicker chairs in front give you a place to watch the frantic pace of this city. Make sure you have time to have a look through the huge old market that is just 20 meters down the street. Totally crazy. Only a few minutes away from river walk and lots of restaurants. Can also walk to palace and museum as well as center market.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Oct 2016
8.9

The two owners were really helpful and good to have a beer with. People socialising in the bar every night so was easy to meet people. Location close to the ibis office and not far from the palace etc. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.