Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Velkommen Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 609 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 609 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3
Velkommen Backpackers Located at 17 st 144 Riverside, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh.
Velkommen Backpackers
Cambodia
Phnom Penh Phnom Penh 17 st 144 Riverside, Daun Penh
82% 609
11.5705846 104.9294918
Velkommen Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Nov 2016
8.6

We had a big room but without Windows so it was a bit stuffy. But the air con and fans worked fine. All basic needs were covered and they booked the ticket to Siem Reap for us. Encountered no problems so would recommend this hostel for a short stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
8.6

Staff were great, helpful in booking bus to Siem reap and then changing bus due to delayed flights. Close by walking to lots of locations, and food. Good value for money - only issue beds were VERY wobbly/squeaky, especially on top bunk! Will stay here again when next in Phnom!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th Nov 2016
6.6

Easy to meet people. Cheap food and beer, foosball table was great. Good location right by the river by lots of restaurants. Lots of tuk tuks right outside. Room was on the 3rd floor, soo many stairs and no lift! Lights in the bathroom repeatedly cut out whilst showering. Unhelpful staff when asking about tickets and tours. Beds are a bit dangerous as the ladder and the side bar came off whilst trying to climb up. Beds were loud and whoever sleeps by the lockers will be woken up a lot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th Oct 2016
8.6

Rather basic and small city guesthouse.....no windows in rooms but clean and basic. some rooms a little too small and gloomy. Aussie guy is a cheerful manager. Wicker chairs in front give you a place to watch the frantic pace of this city. Make sure you have time to have a look through the huge old market that is just 20 meters down the street. Totally crazy. Only a few minutes away from river walk and lots of restaurants. Can also walk to palace and museum as well as center market.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Oct 2016
8.9

The two owners were really helpful and good to have a beer with. People socialising in the bar every night so was easy to meet people. Location close to the ibis office and not far from the palace etc. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Oct 2016
10.0

Owner is very helpful. I enjoyed my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for the feedback We do pride ourselves on having a clean, safe & affordable backpackers in the heart of Phnom Penh. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Hamish -Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
7.1

Stayed here for one night in a private fan room. There was a dead cockroach next to the fan which was a bit gross, but the bed was comfy and the room was bigger than I'd thought it would be. Location is right near the river and walking distance from the giant ibis bus station which was super handy as I had an early bus to Vietnam the next morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for taking the time and leaving feedback about your stay with us - We do take our reviews very seriously & appreciate the comments to help us improve the customer experience and our hostel. We are very fortunate to be in such a great location near the Riverside area and we hope you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you - Hamish, Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Aug 2016
8.3

Great place to stay - good location beside the river and near markets, quiet but with a fantastic local vibe. All the staff were lovely and Hamish the owner is very friendly and helpful with booking tours and recommending spots around town/in other cities. Rooms have all your basic needs and good wifi connection. Would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your review We do have an amazing group of local Cambodians that work with us that are great fun & love their job - We have recently placed a football table game in the backpackers that people have a good time playing. We appreciate the feedback and coments. Regards, Hamish - manager

12th Aug 2016
7.7

I stayed at the dormitory and the only problem I had is that it's located on the top floor and there's no elevator. You have to take a lot of stairs to reach the dorm which was tiring every time. Rest is fine; location is good, staff is ok. And there's no complimentary breakfast. The AC worked well. Remember, other cheap hostels in the vicinity doesn't have AC in the dorm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your review. Our dorm is located on the 3rd floor - this does make it very quiet as it is away from the bar area. It is common for hotels and hostels to have stairs in Sth East Asia We appreciate your time in leaving a review on our business Many thanks. Hamish - manager

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.1

Friendly staff, clean facilities. Only let down for me was the wifi which wasn't great. Location is amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your review - We do pride ourselves on having a clean, safe & affordable backpackers in a great location in Phnom Penh. We have recently upgraded our internet plan and have been monitoring the connection with success. We appreciate the feedback. Regards. Hamish - manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.