X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Velkommen Guesthouse Reviews

#18 st 144, Riverside, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
350 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I thought the hostel was very clean and well presented.the location is also quiet handy.The staff were more than helpful when we were trying to book a bus.all round a great place to say and reasonably priced also.


77%

Nice and basic hostel in excellent location. Staff was very helpful. Food was good, especially the breakfast. Prices were average. Would definitely recommend it!


100%

Great place to stay, really easy to find once we were dropped off. The rooms and clean and comfortable with aircon and a great bathroom. Lovely staff who are always helpful and the owner is also incredibly helpful and knowledgable of the area and places to go. Either stay here or the hostel which is across the road as they are both owned by the same guy. Highly recommended


60%

Air con didn't work on the last night and smelt like sewage in the room all the time. On the plus side location is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the AC. If you told us we would have changed the setting on remote control. You must been hitting a wrong button, because there have been no problem with other guests in this room. Smelling pipe can be a problem in all over Cambodia. The pipe dry out and it helps putting some water down the pipe.

77%

Very friendly staff and excellent location. Private room with ensuite was great. Very clean.


63%

We had to climb many flights of stairs to our room. Our room was a double room with en suite, the bathroom was as clean as it could be. The room was facing another building, and birds were landing on the steel bars, so was very loud and got quite annoying. The bed was very well used, and rather uncomfortable. On the other hand it is in a great location and the staff were friendly


94%

We like everything about this hotel especially the room for 6 with ensuite bathroom is so big and clean. The location is perfect. Staff is so friendly. Value for money.


97%

We have no regrets booking this hotel. Mr. Van was always very helpful from the time we arrived up to the time we leave. He is like a temporary father while you are staying in his place. Just tell him what you want and he will do right away. We haven't had problems from our tours up to booking our buses. When you go exploring and come back to your room, everything is already clean and your clothes are even folded and things arranged. Breakfast was also good. Thank you so much Mr. Van.


100%

Nice view nice staff middle of town. All was excellent 👍


57%

Staff was not capable, hotel is in front of a backpacker hostel and thus it was very noisy at night. We do not know why the hotel was rated so highly (82%) when we booked. Too expensive.

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

we really enjoyed our stay here :) staff were incredibly friendly and helped us out with anything we needed. The room was really clean and comfortable to come back to after long days of exploring, and the hostel was located in a really good position - within easy walking distance of markets and attractions, and plenty of amazing bars and restaurants. It was also great to sit out the front with a drink and just chat and watch the world go by without being hassled. Would definitely come back here


71%

Located centrally and close to the palace and museum. Not a good place to meet fellow travellers, the bar downstairs seemed empty every night I was there. Clean rooms.


89%

Good stay here- clean bedding and bathroom and security box in room. Had laundry done and it smelt lovely. Staff really friendly and helpful. No lift so if on higher floor (as we were) it's a bit of a hike. Street noise at night sometimes loud but not enough to put us off staying again. Great place for restaurants and close to palace and museum and night market.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

this is a good place to stay if you fancy a drink after a long day of sight seeing (available downstairs in the bar) but dont want a nightclub. it's in a pretty good location, you will end up tuk tuking in PP anyway. the tuk tuk driver at the hostel is really nice. the only gripe i have would be that they need to change the pillows - they are a bit smelly. apart from that, this place is a stay i would recommend


80%

Good place to stay in Phnom Penh. Nothing fancy, but worth the money.


100%

We have had a great time staying at this hostel! Our rooms was clean and was made and fresh towels left everyday! , Air conditions was also very effective! Room also came with a fridge We had a great time staying at this hostel the lady running the hostel was also very kind to use and helped us in any way she could! I recommend this hostel for anyone and I had a great time here and will return if I am ever in the area again! :D


77%

Good location and nice staff. The fact that there is no breakfast bothered us much more than we would have thought (but we knew in advance, so definitely not their fault), but one should consider it before booking.


86%

It was a great stay there! The location is in the center of the city. The room is clean and good enough


74%

The guesthouse is in very convenient location: right in center of riverside traveler's area. Excellent access to all sight-seeing places, shopping and arranging your next stop. The room I stayed had a window, but not really a view, but it was clean, and considering the price, it's good value for money. If you are tired of backpacker dorm and want to have a little bit of your space but still budget concerned, this can be your choice.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(246 results)


View all Phnom Penh Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback