Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Velkommen Guesthouse Reviews

#18 st 144, Riverside, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Reviews & Ratings Explained


371 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The average hostel really. The rooms were pretty small in comparison to others we've stayed in, with lots of stairs to climb!


Staff extremely helpful, good breakfast. We came with two Kids aged 9 and 11. Major sights in walking distance, family room totally okay. Not so nice: window of Our room faced next House just about 1 metre across a narrow alley. However, being away most of the time, it didn't bother us much.


When we arrived the power was out, not the hostels fault but it was a pain. The double room we stayed in was big enough, decent shower, fan and air con (although this did leak badly). The location is by the riverside but a way out from most backpacker hostels but there are many street food vendors and tuk tuks waiting to take you. We did see a number of potential prostitutes but that just added to the craziness of Cambodia. The neighbouring backpacker hostel is good for cheaper beer too.


Average hostel. Good location for palace and museum, but I don't that is particularly a good thing. We were on the 5th floor, which was 7 flights of stairs up with no lift, so pretty tiring. Nice enough bar area but nothing spectacular.


The best part about this was the location-- you can just walk to the water, and in a few blocks you're in front of the palace (good place for a picnic). The room itself was kind of dim and depressing, but comfortable if you don't plan on spending much time there. Our room was a bit of a trek up the stairs, but I imagine that helped with street noise. The cafe downstairs is good. The locker in our room was annoying, as when you put in the wrong code twice, it shuts down for an unspecified tim


Nice and clean hostel with a very good location! Close to many restaurants and bars.Walking distance from bus stop (most buses from SR and Shianouk) or a 1$ tuk-tuk ride.Stayed only one night on our way to HCMC in a double room. The room was clean and bed was good enough. You get a towel, and there's hot shower. There's a safe deposit box on the room. Not the most social place, but right across the street is the sister hostel "Velkommen Backpackers" where there is a bigger common area and dorms


The location was good. A tuk tuk with the hotel was also good to have as he took you to the different sight spots (killing fields etc) at a reasonable price. The room was ok. Good size, and the bathroom was clean. However we did find a few hairs on the bedsheets which wasn't great. The air con was partially broken so we were unable to have it on over night because it was so noisy, so the room got a little hot- a fan was in the room so that helped. Overall it's good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for the air con. But you stayed with us for 3 nights. It's important for us that guests let us know if there's a problem in the room. We would always try to fix problems the same day. The air con guys would usually be here in 2-3 hours when we call them.


Ideal place for our one night stop over before our flight. The staff were very helpful and sorted us out with transport to the killing fields/ transport to airport. Bathroom and air con were both great too!


Had a nice stay. Rooms are decent size but with a brick wall view. If we ever return to Phnom Penh we will definatley stay here. Excellent location, very clean and helpful friendly staff


The most excellent fresh cut potato chips home made. A Must try.


Thank you to the staff - amazing!!


We had a good few nights here. Breakfast was good, room was good with tv, staff were nice. We did notice the kitchen was dirty every time we walked past but so is every kitchen we've eaten at probably. Overall we had a nice stay.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

I thought the hostel was very clean and well presented.the location is also quiet handy.The staff were more than helpful when we were trying to book a bus.all round a great place to say and reasonably priced also.


Nice and basic hostel in excellent location. Staff was very helpful. Food was good, especially the breakfast. Prices were average. Would definitely recommend it!


Great place to stay, really easy to find once we were dropped off. The rooms and clean and comfortable with aircon and a great bathroom. Lovely staff who are always helpful and the owner is also incredibly helpful and knowledgable of the area and places to go. Either stay here or the hostel which is across the road as they are both owned by the same guy. Highly recommended


Air con didn't work on the last night and smelt like sewage in the room all the time. On the plus side location is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the AC. If you told us we would have changed the setting on remote control. You must been hitting a wrong button, because there have been no problem with other guests in this room. Smelling pipe can be a problem in all over Cambodia. The pipe dry out and it helps putting some water down the pipe.


Very friendly staff and excellent location. Private room with ensuite was great. Very clean.


We had to climb many flights of stairs to our room. Our room was a double room with en suite, the bathroom was as clean as it could be. The room was facing another building, and birds were landing on the steel bars, so was very loud and got quite annoying. The bed was very well used, and rather uncomfortable. On the other hand it is in a great location and the staff were friendly


We like everything about this hotel especially the room for 6 with ensuite bathroom is so big and clean. The location is perfect. Staff is so friendly. Value for money.


We have no regrets booking this hotel. Mr. Van was always very helpful from the time we arrived up to the time we leave. He is like a temporary father while you are staying in his place. Just tell him what you want and he will do right away. We haven't had problems from our tours up to booking our buses. When you go exploring and come back to your room, everything is already clean and your clothes are even folded and things arranged. Breakfast was also good. Thank you so much Mr. Van.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(258 results)

View all Phnom Penh Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback