Hostelworld.com

Velkommen Guesthouse

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
Velkommen Guesthouse Located at #18 st 144, Riverside, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh.
Velkommen Guesthouse
Cambodia
Phnom Penh #18 st 144, Riverside, Daun Penh
83% 393
11.5704322 104.9294972
Velkommen Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Jun 2016
6.6

Velkommen Guesthouse was a great location for restaurants and a minutes walk to the river. The room was spacious but dated, but beware of the extremely slippy bathroom floor after showering! Staff were helpful in booking our bus for further travel. We would stay here again for the reasonable price but only for a short duration.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jun 2016
7.7

First impressions weren't great but we did enjoy our stay! - we arrived at night and the road the hostel is on (whilst really close to the riverfront area) was very dirty and dark. The room looked very dated. they do take the key when you go out(a bit strange?). The facilities were OK: shower was a bit weak however the wifi was some of the best we've used in SE Asia. Highlight is the staff - Nik made us feel very welcome and was also a great tuktuk driver for a trip to the killing fields.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
3rd May 2016
8.9

Overall it was a really pleasant stay. They had good AC, with a fan in every room. Decent wifi. It was really clean. And the staff were really helpful, booking our bus to the next place for us. The restaurant and bar were also reasonably priced, really good location and washing was cheap!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Mar 2016
8.9

I travelled to phnom penh with a friend for just one day and our stay in the hostel was pretty good, good value for the money, English speaking staff - which were really friendly and they even told us some cambodian history which we had no idea about. They have a good offer of buses to different cities, they don't try to sell you anything, they just show you a few options that you could choose from different companies. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Mar 2016
4.9

We were not happy with this guesthouse. The hostelworld ad clearly said that the room had 4 beds, but it actually had 2 double beds. When I asked the staff, he said it was "4 people", and awkwardly smiled and shrugged when I pushed him about it and showed him the hostelworld ad. Then on our last day, we saw a pretty sizable insect in the bathroom. They also cleaned the AC machine on our second day there, when that seems like it should be timed between guests.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2016
9.1

The first impressions of this place weren't the best. The pictures taken online were definitely posted when the place was brand spankin new. However, the bones are good, the bed is comfortable enough, there is ac and the bathroom in the room was spotless. The place is very centrally located and easy to find from most of the major bus stops (6 blocks from giant ibis). I didn't have too much interaction with the staff but the interactions I did have were professional and effective.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2016
9.7

Great staff, really friendly atmosphere. The food was good and the location is great for exploring and taking in the sunsets on the riverside. The wifi is really fast, and the rooms were comfortable and clean. We liked it so much we booked in for a few more nights on our way through to Siem Reap. Only downside for some might be that there is construction work going on, but we get up early so it wasn't a problem for us at all!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jan 2016
8.0

We had a lovely time in PP - Guesthouse treated us well. Staff really GREAT - helped us w/everything and anything. Private room small but clean with no view. Breakfast not included. Location near the river - restaurants bars etc. but also stink of the market Overall a good little place to stay - value decent but not the best.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Jan 2016
8.9

Very nice place to stay as a couple. Room was nice and clean with a very good private bathroom and Aircon. Hotel is in a busy street but 10 meters away frm the main road along the river and just steps from restaurants and cafes, nice grocery store right next to it and the owner is super friendly and know some tuk-tuk drivers who can take you around town who are also very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2016
9.1

We stayed in one of the superior rooms, which was very spacious, and very clean. The location is great--right on the riverside, with access to many restaurants and bars, as well as the market right around the corner. The best part about Velkommen is the staff. They were incredibly friendly and helpful every day. We really enjoyed our tour with Rattanak, who drove us to the Killing Fields, and chatted with us every evening. Edwin has created a special place in Velkommen. We highly recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.