X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Venice Beach Hostel Reviews

1515 Pacific Avenue, Venice, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
672 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Staff weren't very friendly/helpful. Room was pretty dirty - lots of rubbish under the bed. Very noisy at night due to traffic and bars outside. Good location, very close to the beach.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

The man working the front desk was horrifically rude after firstly emailing me that they can no longer accommodate me. I then called to figure out what was going on and then the rude guy wouldn't answer any questions. Later then found out that my bed wasn't cancelled and had not had my money refunded. stayed at hermosa Beach and definitely will be going back to that hostel again and not giving money to rude individuals.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The location of Venice beach hostel is not safe and appeared to be frightening of a night time and sometimes of a day time which I think is important for people to know before booking the hostel.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

We had a great stay at the Venice Beach Hostel. The room was clean and well equipped. The staff was always kind and helpfull and the location of the hostel is wonderful. Everything was perfect!!

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Most staff were very rude but one or two were actually helpful. Looks like it's falling apart and there's an additional charge for most things within the hostel. But it's I a great location and I met some nice people here. Enjoyed the stay but wouldn't recommend or return there.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Try not to stay here!


63%

Mostly fine but there is one abrupt and quite rude staff member who made me feel like I was an inconvenience by being there at all. Made me feel the atmosphere was not as great as it could be because of his abrupt manner.


20%

Staff doesn't understand your needs and doesn't accept any comment. They try everything to steal your money if you want to cancel a reservation. The don't answer you when you write to cancel a reservation so that they can have your money

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Pretty boring and very expensive for a hostel ... But great location


57%

Very unhelpful staff , takes over an hour to check you in ! Also the tax they add is ridiculously high ! Not value for money as it's a very basic hostel with bad staff !


100%

Great rooms, great atmosphere, and a great breakfast.


29%

We arrived back at the hostel after a night out and found our stuff in the middle of the room! We have been told by the staff to immediately change our room (in the middle of the night, without prior notice!)


66%

The hostel location at Venice beach is great. So very close to the beach in the heart of this fancy location. Having the possibility to cook ourselves especially at breakfast is a real plus. However the cleanliness is not sufficient. The bathrooms would need to be entirely refurbished.The floor carpetting is doubtfull. Too bad that this lack of care of the place reduces the plaisure of a cool and friendly laid back atmosphere that fits well with the surf/skate/beach genes of this vacation town.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

Although Venice Beach Hostel is in a great location, it is by far one of the worst hostels i've stayed at and there are 2 reasons for this. Poor Staff and Poor Facilities. Everything is very run down.. you get the vibe that the owners don't care about the property at all. I booked a 7 bed dorm but got put into a 13 bed dorm. Most staff have a negative attitude towards people. If you want to be in a more welcoming hostel that is a lot better value for money, choose Samesun.


86%

Staff were very friendly lots of advice for food, taxis etc. relaxed and friendly vibe not roust which was good for us. Quite a large room was nice. Location was excellent!

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Keep it up! A little work for guests to keep the rooms cleaner.


71%

Hostel is well located and clean, but the lady at the reception was absolutely impolite.


80%

Such a nice hostel for a short period of time. The room was pretty nice, except for the bathroom. It was quite dirty, although that depends on the other girls you're staying with. Also, a bou it dissappointed with breakfast. Although you can eat as much as you want, there's very little to choose from, so I would recommend go get some cereal or milk at the closest market. All in all, everything was good, you get to meet a lot of people from everywhere and it's right in Venice Beach!

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Hostel is in a great location and is kept clean with good cooking facilities. At the time of booking it was advertised that evening meals were offered for $1 a night however when we arrived we were told that they weren't offering these meals without an apology! There was also a HUGE tax added to the price which wasn't made clear when booking of about 25%! Definitely not worth the money unfortunately.


71%

Overall the hostel was in a really good location, right on the beach. It had a chilled out atmosphere and the staff were nice


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback