Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Venice Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 882 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 882 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
7.4

My stay was very nice, I meet many nice people from different places and was able to foster a good experience. Breakfast was great, I got good sleep. Very close location to all the happenings. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
10.0

Fantastic location, great staff and very reasonable price couldn't have been happier

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
9.1

Room was great for 3 people to go private. Not sure why they didn't oprnnkitchen until 8am. All common areas closed until 8am? Weird, never saw anything like that before.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2017
7.7

Room 201 the single bed is horrible and the street light shines in all night. Might i suggest a better curtain. I had to tie my sarong over the blind there. And the cot bottom on the single makes the matress slide off.. but i like your staff and common area alot

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Jun 2017
3.1

Absolutely disgusting place.. Everything was dirty, everyone is smoking indoors, the owner does not speak english, beds were not clean, wifi not working, kitchen horrifying, area is extremely sketchy. On our first morning a homeless man snuck in to the building and started yelling and they couldn't get him out. They charge a 25$ fee if you pay by card.... Not impressed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
6.0

Just like everyone else says, this hostel is great for location...and nothing more beyond that. It looks pretty janky if you ask me. A lot of the furniture is worn out, dusty main area with the chairs all tore up. The bedrooms have this old dust odor to them, the bed sheets don't seem very clean (they don't have that nice clean smell either) but I will say the bathroom was not so bad. Check in took too long. I had to wait for almost 30 min. No bueno.Just see it more as a place to stay and GTFO.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th May 2017
6.6

Great location but that is where the great stops. Was pretty put off by some of the staff, they were not friendly nor could they offer any helpful advice about what to go and see. The dinner deals they adverse were non existent when I was there and the wifi only worked very infrequently. If you just want to be on the beach, it is a good spot though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • chevrolette892275
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
9.1

It's an awesome place to be at, very chill. When there is fear of low security you kinda have to feel the atmosphere and know you'll be alright. Everything went great in my stay. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Even the guests were very kind. This place is 2 min away from the shore. I loved it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
4.9

This was the dirties hostel I have ever been to. It was filthy and I would never stay there again. We used 2 packets of disinfectant wipes to get the room in reasonable shape. There was a hole in the wall, dead cockroaches and other insects, the shower had no pressure with very little water flowing, the bedsheets were full of holes and stains, one of the windows had no blinds or curtains, and plenty of dust on all surfaces. Save your money and stay somewhere else - this was not worth it at all.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • globetrotterbrough
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
11th May 2017
6.9

Very average. Pretty dated now and a lot of the doors are broken and need replacing. It's pricy for what it is but a lot of hostels with a good location like this are these days. Staff were nice and welcoming. I've stayed at the same sun more or less next door and I think I prefer that, but that's not that great either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.