Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Venice Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 933 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 933 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
4.6

The only decent thing about this hostel is the location. The facilities are dirty & run down. There were dirty blankets left in our room and visible piles of dust & dirt on the windows and ceiling fan. there was broken glass on our floor that one of us stepped on. They allow guests to smoke inside in common areas & people blast music until 6am, we didn't sleep at all. There was one female receptionist who was very nice & helpful when we had such a horrible stay. we would never stay here again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2017
7.7

I was worried about all bad reviews here. But I haven't any problem there. Staff was very friendly and wifi worked. The only thing I didn't like was that you need to return before 4am or will be locked out till 8am

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
2.6

We emailed to delay arrival time and called to confirm prior to arrival. We arrived they skimmed my credit card then told us that there were no beds. 9pm at night. We ended up having to go to the airport and sleeping on a chair as no other rooms were available. Very slow and unhelpful. Took an hour for them to prove the refund then realised they only partially refunded the amount and said it was because we were late even though they sold out beds to someone else. Crooks.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • camila7845459
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
3.1

This hostel is right by Venice beach, great location. That the ONLY good thing I have to say about it though. Some unhelpful staff, slow check in process, charged extra fees we weren't aware of, charged us $4 per night to pay by credit card, extreme dirty hostel (from dishes to walls, floor and furniture), rooms are super hot and loud with not even a working fan. It was a nightmare to sleep in. Insanely expensive for what you get. Worst hostel I've stayed in - and I've stayed in many.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2017
7.4

Great location! The room was clean, not too hot and with lockers inside the rooms and locks on the door. The only issues I had was hostility and one word/no eye-contact responses from some staff and although they advertise laundry, I was instructed to only use them after 10pm when staff had finished doing the sheets (then there was a sign on the closed doors saying no guest laundry after 10pm so no clue what that was about). The hostility brought down the vibe and it didn't feel very social

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2017
5.4

Great location, staff member checking us in was quite rude and the facilities are quite run down.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
5.4

Extremely rude man at reception, haven't met someone so rude and I have been staying in hostels for 5 months, had to wait until 5 pm to check in when he earlier said 2 pm and when I approached him to ask for Wi-Fi he ignored me for nearly a minute and then said in a horrible tone 'question' I asked if whilst i waited i could use wifi he rudely told me I have to wait until i check in to get the code. My room was way to hot to sleep, other staff where great, good waffles for breakfast. Overpriced

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
4.9

I've stayed in hostels from Bangkok to Paris and this is the dirtiest. I was looking forward to my first hostel in the US, but this did not meet my expectations. Very dirty common rooms and kitchen, and my shared room had Windows that opened to the porch, so loud conversations were happening late into the night when myself and others were trying to get a little sleep. Location is awesome, right by the beach in the heart of Venice.:)

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jul 2017
7.7

I booked a private room on the third floor (room 302). The room was practically a suite: Very spacious. Sure the bed was wonky, no air con or TV, but the room had character. Strangely enough the room had an old Windows XP computer - no sure what for other than providing USB ports to charge devices (& there's a disk drive too!). The lobby, lounge and check-in are all very Backpacker like - so don't be surprised. This hostel fits well with the Venice beach experience

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2017
4.6

This hostel was pretty disgusting, not really any security, on the more expensive side and SO hot I couldn't sleep. I think people came and did a quick wipe down of the bathroom everyday but the place is a real dump. I don't think they have AC or windows in any of the rooms.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.