X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Venice Beach Hostel Reviews

1515 Pacific Avenue, Venice, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
723 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Simon was extremely accommodating when we checked in 27/7. When we checked out on 28/7 the new man was extremely rude. He acted as if we were the most inconvenient thing about his morning. We just stood there in such an awkward situation as he bustled about getting our security deposit back and being very rude when we needed to put our bags in storage. He spoke in single words! For example 'Sign'. 'No'. He actually ruined the whole experience and we were so off-put by his absolute hostility.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Pros: Couldn't ask for a better location in Venice 2 min walk to the beach front. Room/beds comfortable. Clean bathrooms/showers. Free wifi that works well. Lots of evening activities, breakfast included. Most staff friendly. Cons: $100 deposit required when you check in plus sneaky $25 surcharge if you book only one night on a weekend, hidden in the small print. Check in process is a shambles when busy, then one staff member was pretty rude. Maybe upset he had to get his arse off the couch.


89%

I loved the feel and location of the hostel! It seems very Venice beach and I would recommend to friends


89%

Great hostel. Excellent location. Private room with enquire was huge and very comfortable and quiet.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Pretty standard hostel but an amazing location, less than 5 minutes to Venice beach, with a nice pub and coffee shop nearby. The twin room was quite comfortable and spacious, and they let us check in early which was very much appreciated after a 14 hour flight.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Everyone on staff is nice except the European white guy who seems to be in charge... He is miserable with his life apparently and is a real Debbie Downer. Stay away from him

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Awesome staff and great atmosphere there is always someone to talk to and things todo. 300m from muscle beach, just go and hit the outdoor gym!


46%

To dirty, and personal was very cold. They didint control what happen inside the rooms even if there where a party!! its ok for young travelers but thats it, just ok.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A happy large group of Canadian students were partying on the outside balcony by his shared room and his rooms other guests joined in. Sorry for your fellow travelers having fun.

86%

The staff we very helpful and extremely friendly. The location is great for the beach and Santa Monica but Be prepared for long bus trips to hollywood, downtown, or universal city. (We found that catching the bus to the closest Metro stop cut down travel time).


83%

good hostel !!Right next to the Beach :)

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Lockers in horrible condition, staff not very polite, beds were not clean when we arrived, and the price is ridiculous for that kind of service.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lockers: friends, you get 2 lockers ! Cell phone and valuables locker in room with buildt-in locks - for overnight sleeping comfort! Regular school lockers - you use padlock. Beds - all beds are provided clean linens for every new check-in. You know that even if a cleaner made a mistakee - it is simple to correct: call down to the desk and it is done. Simple. It makes no sense to say nothing, but then afterwards backbite.

69%

People are friendly and nice, however, I didn't like the hidden extra fees at checkout. Right near the beach and cafe's. Also you get a discount at the bike rentals for staying at the hostel which helps with funds.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

When I came from Australia I was shocked how expensive this hostel is. But obviously this is quite normal in LA. I really liked the atmosphere in the hostel and the stuff is awesome! The location is top and even if your don't have car you can do a lot of things. So would definitely recommend it and next time I'll stay here again And they got free breakfast with waffles and eggs in the morning which is great!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
83%

Had a private room with a double bed. ...SUPER FAST INTERNET! The bed was average but good enough. An electronic Safe for belongings in the room. I would definitely stay here again.


94%

Superb location- right to the beach and center of Venice activities. Hostel itself is a little bit pricy but economical : nice bathroom in the room and spacious room and common areas, free wifi and computers, free breakfast including tasty waffle, oatmeal, eggs and bread, potato dish and coffee, free rental body board etc. full kitchen and self cook/clean rule. the staff were friendly. Main door was locked over night and good security. I will definitely stay again if I visit LA

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Run down hostel needs a major revamp No young staff members No activities expect a morning run Witnessesed a cleaning member drinking Budweiser at breakfast Cleaning staff signed the sheet to say they had emptied the bin when they hadn't, the sheet says to check for bulbs out well they didn't as there was one missing our whole stay Good location and that's about it We liked venice so much we checked into Ssun and it was a much better vibe and atmosphere down the road


86%

If you're seeking for the ocean, this is the best place. Still, combined bus and subway, you can reach downtown in 90 minutes. Safe area and safe hostel, not as dangerous as people say. The promenade is o street away with people having fun. Good breakfast and cleans rooms.


77%

This hostel is located very close to the beach and all the crazy characters on the boardwalk.


34%

Dirty facilities, very poor service. We booked this hostel & were afterwards contacted with the message that we would have to pay for an extra night. After sending 3 mails asking for an explanation, no-one answered. When we got there, it was even more expensive than mentioned + the separate room we had booked, was not available. Staff tried to help, but was unable to, seemingly because of intoxication. Breakfast was nice, however; make-it-yourself waffles were tasty, but that's it.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

One particularly aggressive staff member confronted me after he assumed that I used some of his special milk. He refused to listen to the fact that the milk was already out on the side, and maintained that I opened the forbidden fridge to use his milk. There was no other milk available to hostel guests, which was unsatisfactory. When checking out in the morning, no-one was present at the "24 hour" reception to return our deposit, so we had to wait for our deposit to be returned. Overpriced.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(485 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback