Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Venice Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 909 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 909 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jul 2017
4.6

This hostel was pretty disgusting, not really any security, on the more expensive side and SO hot I couldn't sleep. I think people came and did a quick wipe down of the bathroom everyday but the place is a real dump. I don't think they have AC or windows in any of the rooms.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jul 2017
7.7

Let me start with location: fantastic! If it's your intention to stay in the venice/Santa Monica area I don't think there's anywhere better. You could throw a stone from this hostels balcony and hit Venice Beach. The facilities were fine, on par with many hostels I've stayed in over the years. Nothing special though. Only little qualm I had was with one of the members of staff. The other two I dealt with were great but one was just a bit brash and didn't appear to want to be there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nmayer9402
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
5.7

I booked a 7 female dorm, we were 10 women in there with a tiny bathroom. Facilities are quite old. Staff is super friendly. Breakfast is coffee, one kind of cereal and waffles, not really a big choice!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jul 2017
2.9

Was absolutely horrible. Nothing about it was good. I've travelled all over the world and this is by far the worst place. Yes it's close to the beach but not worth it. Don't stay here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
7.7

It is great hostel to socialise someone. Location is the best thing in this hostel, it is near the Main Enterance to Venice beach walk. Nice staff and great barbecue and socialization. It might be noisy, but it is okay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
7.1

This hostel is all about the location, as close the the boardwalk as you can get. The building itself is rather old and has seen better days. Everything needs a small repair of some sort as nothing is 100%. Staff were friendly and competent and I had no dramas checking in, extending my stay or checking out. Wi-Fi was average at best. Consider a short stay for this location and move to another location closer to other sights. This one is only really close to Venice and SM ~30 to Uber to HW for eg

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2017
6.0

location is fantastic, however, I felt the Hostel staff rely on this for their business. I cou0le of the staff were great but that was offered by some being very rude, unhelpful & obviously thought guests were an intrusion.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
7.4

My stay was very nice, I meet many nice people from different places and was able to foster a good experience. Breakfast was great, I got good sleep. Very close location to all the happenings. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
10.0

Fantastic location, great staff and very reasonable price couldn't have been happier

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
9.1

Room was great for 3 people to go private. Not sure why they didn't oprnnkitchen until 8am. All common areas closed until 8am? Weird, never saw anything like that before.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.