Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Venice Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 950 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 950 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2017
7.1

The breakfast was great! But it would have been nice to hear more about the free dinner.. This Hostel have really good potential too become really really nice. Unfortunately the energi level is not that high.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2017
5.1

I felt like I was in jail when going to bed. Literally 80° in the room and no a/c. Everything is dirty. The beds are ok. Saw a cockroach in the room. Overall a 2/10 experience. Staff was nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2017
6.3

The hostel had a good atmosphere, everyone was very friendly & welcoming. Lisa at the front desk was lovely. We booked the "deluxe 7 bed dorm" not realising that meant there would be 6 bunk beds in the room plus one single bed off to the side. It was very cramped & smelled bad, wasn't very clean. The room had no air conditioning so was extremely warm. Kitchen/common area unclean. It's in a good location in that it's right next to Venice Beach although we found we preferred Santa Monica.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2017
3.1

Really old and unclean place with no atmosphere. The best part was that it motivated you to leave the hostel and go exploring.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
4.6

The only decent thing about this hostel is the location. The facilities are dirty & run down. There were dirty blankets left in our room and visible piles of dust & dirt on the windows and ceiling fan. there was broken glass on our floor that one of us stepped on. They allow guests to smoke inside in common areas & people blast music until 6am, we didn't sleep at all. There was one female receptionist who was very nice & helpful when we had such a horrible stay. we would never stay here again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2017
7.7

I was worried about all bad reviews here. But I haven't any problem there. Staff was very friendly and wifi worked. The only thing I didn't like was that you need to return before 4am or will be locked out till 8am

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • annagammon7281
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
4.0

No one was at reception when we arrived at 6:30 so we had to wait outside until 8am! Very unwelcoming after a long flight! The communal area was very unclean, we were sat on the wifi and a rat came out from under the sofa!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
2.6

We emailed to delay arrival time and called to confirm prior to arrival. We arrived they skimmed my credit card then told us that there were no beds. 9pm at night. We ended up having to go to the airport and sleeping on a chair as no other rooms were available. Very slow and unhelpful. Took an hour for them to prove the refund then realised they only partially refunded the amount and said it was because we were late even though they sold out beds to someone else. Crooks.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • zaccranko6648
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Aug 2017
4.3

Extremely rude staff and dirty hostel. They made us wait for over an hour to check in.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • camila7845459
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
3.1

This hostel is right by Venice beach, great location. That the ONLY good thing I have to say about it though. Some unhelpful staff, slow check in process, charged extra fees we weren't aware of, charged us $4 per night to pay by credit card, extreme dirty hostel (from dishes to walls, floor and furniture), rooms are super hot and loud with not even a working fan. It was a nightmare to sleep in. Insanely expensive for what you get. Worst hostel I've stayed in - and I've stayed in many.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×