X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Venice Star Reviews

Cannaregio 5396, Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
102 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Slightly difficult to find (no obvious signs outside etc) but excellent centra location in a quiet area. Incredibly clean and had a small but well stocked kitchen with free breakfast. Friendly staff. AC which worked and saved us from melting in the summer heat.

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

It took us two hours to find this place, it isn't indicated very well, and has a tinny sign on the doorbell that says the name of the hostel. When we arrived there was nobody (there is no receptionist) so we just walked in and found the housekeeper. The wifi didn't work when we first arrived. The bed was comfy and there was aircon in our room. The bathroom was very clean and big. There was absolutely no atmosphere at all. But is was a 10 minute walk to San Marco square.

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
If you are not able to find a place, that is your problem and not ours. We have sold you only a room. If doesn't matter if the sign o the bell is tiny or large when you have found the place. The important thing is to find the place. WIFI has been repaired, someone had changed the PW. Selling atmosphere is not our business.

91%

We took a four-bed room as a family and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It's clean, got air-con, good bathrooms, decent shared kitchen where you can cook, and offers a complementary breakfast - as least it did when we were there. It's slightly off the beaten track - by which I mean it is not dead central - and this is a good thing as it is surrounded by streets that are not brazenly touristic. We found some great eating places nearby. Only gripe was that the wi-fi was a bit hit and miss.


69%

It was a nice hostel, but the staff are kind of off-site which was weird to us at first. It's also quite difficult to find but obviously I'm not blaming the hostel for the layout of Venice. Overall pretty good.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The location was great for us, less touristy than staying near the central train station and a 10 min walk to Rialto. We travelled on the waterbus to Santo Erasmo and the waterbus station was 5 min away from the hostel. As others have written, the location of the hostel is somewhat hidden so it took a few times for us to remember how to get back, but eventually (after taking pictures of street names and taking note of landmarks) we were able to navigate the area and our way to and from.


83%

It's very difficult to find - the directions indicate that Venice Star is between “Ponte Widmann” and “Campo Maria Nova” but you actually walk across Ponte Widmann. turn right, and walk along the canal to find the door. It took us an hour. There's no staff on-site so you have to hope someone answers and buzzes you in, then comes from the "sister hostel" to meet you. The bathroom was bigger than our bedroom, but everything was clean and we felt safe with 3 locks between us and the outside.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Very nice and clean, were able to leave baggage there after check out for the day felt safe. Nice airconed room to ourselves, shared bathroom was very clean. Kind man gave us a map and provided toast, teas and coffe for breakfast even though didn't advertise breakfast was include. Very close walk to Rialto bridge as was able to catch ferry down grand canal from bridge allowing easy access to all around . We even walked back from st marks to accom and didn feel far at all. Wifi was good also.


71%

We got lost trying to find the hostel. The directions given are not good, but once you figure out where it is you will be fine. The room was very nice, and the bathrooms were kept really clean. There was an issue with our keys due to a guest being kicked out before we got there and it took us a while to get a hold of someone so we could get into our room. I think this was just a fluke though because it was our only bump in the road while staying.


83%

The rooms were very clean the only problem was they were very hot and the air conditioning which was advertised was non existent it was heating not cooling. Apart from that minor thing it was excellent and close to st marks square


63%

The hostel was very nice, clean, located in a convenient area. However, upon arriving, there was a sign on the door indicating to call the owner to inform him of our arrival. I was disappointed because I had to call several times before someone picked up the phone. This would be a very big problem for anyone lacking access to a phone or someone arriving late at night. In addition, the owner of the hostel was nowhere to be found just present for the payment. Howver, we were pleased with our stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we have intercom System. So you have only to ring the bell and someone Comes to check you in. If you want me to stay there for you all the day, you will pay more than the room Price :)

89%

Very pleasant lodgings... beds jolly uncomfortable, but good value for money really. Difficult to find as strangers in Venice. Location good


89%

Location was pretty good. It's on the actual island of venice not outside of it which is great. Venice is small so everything is within walking distance. This place is VERY clean, good wifi, gives you breakfast like bread, jams, ceral, coffee, tea, juice. There's a kitchen and a fridge for the guests. There is a 3 euro charger per night per person as a venice tax that's not included in the price. I wasn't aware of it but it is listed on the website. Good place to stay for any amount of time!


91%

Very good stay, the hostel had a kitchen at our disposal and offered breakfast ! The bathroom was wide and clean, and the appartments have been remade recently so everything is quite modern. We would definetely come back.


91%

I really enjoyed staying here. It's a nice location on the main island, walking distance to everything and very easy to get to from Fondamente Nova water stop. Quiet area even though our beds were really squeaky! Very clean, nice bathrooms. Would definitely recommend.


71%

We were hoping to find with easily since the directions seemed simple enough but after no luck locating the street we ended up going back and forth between the areas until we found the number of the hostel. There was no sign saying the name but the buzzer had the name thank god! The bathrooms were super clean as was the room. Good size bed and room. Not a terrible stay but Venice it self was a maze that could gwy mighty frustrating.


86%

You cannot beat the location! To be walking distance from Ponte Rialto and Piazza del San Marco is wonderful. The hostel was more of an apartment, with only 6 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It was quiet but the walls are thin and we were awoken by people taking showers in the bathroom closest to us. The complimentary breakfast was great! It also gave us time to sit with other travellers and get to know people. The hostel was very clean and it did come with free towels.




View all Venice Apartments

Please give us your feedback