X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ventana Azul Las Palmas Hostel Reviews

Paseo de las Canteras 53, Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
81 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 98%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

I enjoyed staying at Ventana so much! Amazing staff, relaxed atmosphere and simply the best rooftop in Las Palmas. Good organisation in a very cozy and comfy house- this place is perfect for both backpackers and people who are on the island for vacations. Full recommendation. Keep up the coco loco spirit ;)

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

SO NICE HELPERS PEOPLE,SPECIALS THANKS TO matteo,julia and monika.THE VIEW FROM THE TERRACE IS AMAZING.REALLY UNFORGETTABLE MEMORY.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Pros: great terrace, nice and helpful staff (special thanks to Matteo) and good facilities. Cons: most of the guests are from German-speaking countries, which in my opinion limits the social experience you can get at the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your partly positive feedback! The critics that there are "too many germans" is not quite fair to the hostel (and also not to the germans by the way) because you are generalizing as if this was always the case. Our statistics say that we had guests from more than 80 countries from 4 continents. Our hostel is very mixed. Also our staff members each one comes from another country (Italy, Slovakia, Hungary, Spain, Austria, Germany,) to cover as many languages and lifestyles as possible.

100%

Wonderful experience! Everything was great. Would definitely go back :)


94%

I stayed in this hostel with 10 of my girlfriends (a reunion of sorts) and this hostel made our trip what it was. Right on the beach with a rooftop patio and great vibes, this place was perfect for us. They were so accommodating in helping us get settled in and find actives. Clean, good facilities, and great, friendly staff. Tons of bars, cafes, and restaurants near by. And of course you can't beat waking up to beach views. Fantastic hostel over all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your positive feeback. Its o nice to see how people appreciate our daily effort and work to make this place a temporary "home" for everybody who visits our beautiful island Gran Canaria. We will pass this feedback and some free drink to our staff, they will be very happy!

89%

Lovely, internation staff, perfect location, very clean, awesome activities, best roof top ever, high speed internet, sea views, great conversations while listening to the sound of the ocean, delicious barbecues nights - in short: "the perfect hostel".

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I not only loved the location of this awesome place but also its dorms with reading lights, curtains for privacy and lockers. A very well prepared hostel. Friendly staff, amazing views, clean. I will miss doing barbecues and listening to the sound of the ocean. Back for sure! You rock!

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We could barely find a hostel and almost gave up before we found this little piece of paradise. The Canary Islands are beautiful in themselves, but our stay at this hostel made our trip even more magnificent. The staff made us feel right at home, we immediately forgot we were at a hostel. We enjoyed sitting on the patio looking out at the beach. Would I recommend this hostel to anyone else? Absolutely! We can't wait to go back...

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Hi I ve stayed in this Hostel for 4 weeks i planned less but i fell in absolute love with it. Im gonna come back if life lets me in the future. The staff were terribly amazing people to be around. Food was just fantastic i ate healther then ever and alot more too lol I can recommend anyone to visit them and dont forget to enjoy the roof terrace opportunity for instance for some 7:00 squats before breakfast in the fresh air with the spectecular view! :) enjoy life ! Milagros xxx

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks to you! We have lots of people extending their stay. Not only because of our hostel also because Las Palmas is just an amazing city with a very high and affordable life standard and so many activities to do like surfing, beach volleyball, climbing, mountainbiking, hiking ... Take care, Thomas

100%

The Owner and the staff are the most lovely and helpful people. I had a wonderful stay in this super sweet place! Will be back soon!!! :)

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Awesome! Very nicely settled atmosphere where surf ambiance, mainstream tourism and canarian everyday life mingle in an open, friendly and easy-going way.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazing staff, excellent location. I was supposed to stay for one night, but ended up extending my stay due to the perfect atmosphere. I'd say the unique feature is definitely the roof top terrace, where people sit together and share experiences every night with an outstanding ocean view. I'd recommend this place for any traveler who's looking for a temporary home. Best place I've been to so far and I've had my fair share of hostels.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have lots of guests who travel alone. So we created BIG common areas in the house so that conversations just happen by itsself. Also we are quite a small hostel (maximum of 24 persons), so its always very personal and everybody knows everyone. take care, thomas & dont forget us! ;)

97%

the atmosphere was super nice and the hostel keepers were such lovely people. I really enjoyed the rooftop with a perfect sea view and a lot of barbecues and funny nights there. especially the chill out areas at the terarace were amazing, with music, Books to read..! you can see and feel that the hostel owner put a lot of good energy into the house! perfect location also for outdoor activities like surfing, but also climbing! we rented a car and had a really good time in the nature too!

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A house with character at a 5 star location with a outstanding roofterras.


94%

Really fun, lively and helpful staff team! Lovely atmosphere on the terrace with amazing view of the beach, loads of comfortable sofas around and a BBQ. Great for hanging out and making new friends! Totally loved staying here.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall a very good hostel. Perfect location, very clean & the staff goes above and beyond to create a relaxed, fun atmosphere. The roof terrace (& bar) is the highlight of the place and great to hang out and socialize. The wifi is a bit wonky though and the number of bathrooms/showers are very limited.


100%

Loved it! Staff were fab. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice and friendly atmosphere.


89%

I was put in a room with 3 floor bunk beds on the 3 floor, to get there you need to be in a very good shape and a chance to break something is quite high, it was also very noisy, as the kitchen is close along with constantly working washing machine, there are no windows on the down floor so the air is stuffy. But when I said that im going to leave I was offered place in the upper room with private bathroom, great sea view and a discount. So better stay up, Internet works only on the down floor


80%

Overall a great hostel - perfect location and the roof terrace is beautiful. Great atmosphere with staff and fellow travellers. Great way to meet new people. Downsides: the room I was in was too cramped and lacked ventilation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive commentary! All our rooms are certified by the Spanish Government and we invested a lot of money to assure a good ventilation of all rooms. We are a small hostel with a maximum of 24 persons with huge common areas. 18 people can easily sit on the sofas, hammocks of our roof top with sea view, another 8 in the kitchen. another 8 in the living room downstairs. The room you were staying in is quite small but we have curtains for privacy, a reading light ans shelf.

« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Gran Canaria Hostels

Please give us your feedback