X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Venture Hostel Reviews

86 Tanner's Hill, Deptford, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
739 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 63%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Amazing stay, good location for travel..and the breakfast was very good. i had to compliment the effort of the lady in receptions as well, Xenia..she is excellent.The other plus is they have a kitchen whereby you can cook and save some money because i'm in London on a budget trip.will definitely come back

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the positive comment, we look forward seeing you again in our hostel..

100%

totally beyond my exception...nice orthopedic mattress with good options in the breakfast. facilities are good as well...showers and toilets look very clean and wifi works perfectly for me. serve the purpose of my booking...even very close to stations for travel..five minutes on the train to London bridge..cant ask for more

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
very kind in leaving your comment, we will keep improving on our service. thanks

29%

I was expecting something nice, the photos are over exaggerated, don`t trust them. It`s in a dangerous area, far away from most of the attractions (I went to London as a tourist). Their beds are quite uncomfortable. A terrible choice to who goes to London to have a safe and comfortable time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, Thanks for your request, we are totally disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay, our staff are hands in helping all guest in finding local attractions and also we did have map that indicates where the hostel is located, so there is no misinformation from our part. We are located in zone 2 and we have about 4 different stations around us with easy access to central London, also we have 24 hrs buses that travel to central that can bring you back home. Thanks, Reception

40%

Dirty bathroom, smelly room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment, unfortunately we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, we have housekeepers working most of the time in the showers and the room cleaning as well, we hope to impress you next time you visit

46%

We booked a 3 bed dorm and the beds were all on the same structure, 3 layered beds which were really uncomfortable. There were only 2 showers, 3 toilets and 3 bathroom sinks one of which didn't work. Let's not talk about the questionable cleanliness and the poor breakfast offered in the morning... Definitely not going back nor recommending.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your review,our showers are under renovation and same goes with the toilets. hence reason why we have limited facilities, but I'm glad to say we have completed our renovations now, please look up our new pictures on our website or also on our Facebook. Apologies for all this,

71%

Xenia, a staff member, was super helpful. The hostel had a bar, but it was dead, so no noise complaint. The hostel attracted a lot of older people and had no atmosphere; I would not recommend here for a solo traveler. The breakfast was good. The pictures online over-exaggerated the beauty of it; a lot of things (shower/sink) were not working correctly. I believe they were remodeling though. The location will prevent me from staying here again; it was about a 40 minute bus ride from the city.


54%

The hostel is a short walk to nearby shops/transport, but the area isn't great, so as a female travelling alone I didn't feel massively safe, especially when it got dark. The showers smelt of damp and mould and were mixed male and female. The cubicles themselves weren't massive, so there wasn't much room for privacy. The bed was wobbly, which when sharing a bunk makes for an interesting night's sleep. Overall it is cheap accommodation in London, great for a group. A bit daunting for a female

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for take your time and leave a comment for us. We know the problem with the showers, for that reason, we are renewing all our showers and bathrooms. We are also changing mattresses for your comfort. Looking forward to see you again in London. Xenia

49%

first make hostel more clean, and people need more respect

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for stay with us. Sorry for the issues about cleaning, next time please inform our staff. We will do everything possible so that you find yourself comfortable with us. See you! Xenia

86%

The bed was far too creaky. The ladder was unfit for use. Other than that I quite enjoyed my short stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your comment, we are glad you've enjoy your stay with us as for the bed we going to look into it and replace them. Looking forward to see you in future. Thank you Amelia Reception

89%

Lockers need to be fixed but friendly and helpful staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your opinion, we try to maintain all our lockers in a good condition all the time and fix them immediately when we notice a drawback. We are looking forward to see you in the future :)

83%

This place is a fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very grateful for your positive feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.



View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback