X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Venture Hostel Reviews

86 Tanner's Hill, Deptford, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
756 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

We were there when it was hot and the only window we had in our room was a skylight in the ceiling (it leaked on another guest who had a top bunk when it rained). Bathrooms pretty clean, but there was only one sink which was a bit of challenge. Located not far from the DRL so transportation was easy, just expect your train ride to be a bit long and have to switch trains. Breakfast was good- cereal, toast with lots of spreads, yogurt, juice, milk. Overall, nothing horrible, but not amazing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment, the skyline window can be opened and closed, if the window is not closed like normal window if its raining, the rain will come in. Also you mentioned that its one 1 sinks in the whole hostels, but we have sinks next to the bathroom and toilets. In total we have 5 sinks in the hostel, having said that, we apologised for any inconvenience, we hope to see you next time you are in London

100%

This is hostel is great, we stayed in the 6 bed dorm. London was having a heat wave so the room was really hot, but the hostel bought fans which made a big difference. The staff are really helpful, loads of maps for london. Tanner Hill the area has loads of shops that are cheap. Shower and toilets are cleaned daily, hot water is amazing. Wifi works really well. The breakfast is also great, maybe could go a little. Would definelty stay here again! Thanks

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks very much for your positive comment, we will keep improving and we hope to see you again

80%

electric fan in room was not operational good toilets and bathrooms unrelaible wifi in room

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment and in respect of the fan in your room, we have replaced it with a new one now, we apologised for this, we hope we shall see you again

94%

The hostel was very clean and there were sockets at each bed which was handy. The free breakfast was pretty good as well. The showers and bathrooms were clean and wifi was readily available in the rooms or in the lobby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the nice comment. We are glad to know you enjoy your stay with us. We hope see you next time in Venture Hostel. Have a good day! Xenia

60%

This hostel wasn't terrible, but there were a few reasons that I won't be returning. First, there were quite a few older men who seemed to be living at the hostel. Half the time they seemed drunk and there were about 3 or 4 of them who were clearly just hanging around and not tourists. Second, the security wasn't up to par. I didn't feel that safe there. Third, the lockers in the rooms were old and not very secure. However, the staff was excellent, and the showers/bathrooms new and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking your time and leave us a comment. We are really sorry for all the inconveniences during your stay. First, nobody is allowed to live in our hostel, so everyone staying here are tourists or people coming for a few days nothing else. About the security, we have to tell you that we have staff working 24 hours only for you and for your safety. The lockers we know they are a bit old but work well, you only need to use a padlock. Sorry once again. Have a good week. Xenia

100%

Amazing stay, good location for travel..and the breakfast was very good. i had to compliment the effort of the lady in receptions as well, Xenia..she is excellent.The other plus is they have a kitchen whereby you can cook and save some money because i'm in London on a budget trip.will definitely come back

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the positive comment, we look forward seeing you again in our hostel..

100%

totally beyond my exception...nice orthopedic mattress with good options in the breakfast. facilities are good as well...showers and toilets look very clean and wifi works perfectly for me. serve the purpose of my booking...even very close to stations for travel..five minutes on the train to London bridge..cant ask for more

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
very kind in leaving your comment, we will keep improving on our service. thanks

29%

I was expecting something nice, the photos are over exaggerated, don`t trust them. It`s in a dangerous area, far away from most of the attractions (I went to London as a tourist). Their beds are quite uncomfortable. A terrible choice to who goes to London to have a safe and comfortable time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, Thanks for your request, we are totally disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay, our staff are hands in helping all guest in finding local attractions and also we did have map that indicates where the hostel is located, so there is no misinformation from our part. We are located in zone 2 and we have about 4 different stations around us with easy access to central London, also we have 24 hrs buses that travel to central that can bring you back home. Thanks, Reception

40%

Dirty bathroom, smelly room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment, unfortunately we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, we have housekeepers working most of the time in the showers and the room cleaning as well, we hope to impress you next time you visit



View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback