Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Venture Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 931 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 931 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Mar 2017
6.0

Friendly staff, sufficient breakfast. The showers were new + quite clean. However, the rooms weren't plus it's noisy (literally every single door creaks and the steps as well). we stayed in a mixed 9 bed dorm and they squeeze 3 bunk beds (each one with 3 beds) in a very small room, can't open the windows properly. There's some peolpe living there permanently it seems, maybe due to the location (takes you at least 40 min by bus to the CBD).Wouldn't stay again. But a good indian round the corner:)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your review. We will be doing some renovations next month April. We will change all the bunk beds :) There is a maximum stay which is 2 weeks, they can not live in the hostel permanently. Hope see you once again! Xenia

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
8.0

Overall it is good, and it was a great value to your money. The place is close to the underground station, although it may take some time to get to the city center, considering how big London is. There're also some supermarkets / convenience store nearby. I was doubtful when checking on the reviews, but it turned out not that bad. I stayed in Room 3 and it was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you so much for your good review. We are so glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. See you next time! Best regards, Xenia

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
6.3

I claimed a stolen plug and cable for iPhone that someone took, Paulo the bar tender (portuguese, dark skin, bald, slim, with brackets) treat me bad, I have to ask a lot of times for my plug until get only one thing, then when I ask for my deposit for the key he told me that I was playing smart, he attempted to charge more because I was waiting answers about my stolen stuff, finally he gave me my deposit saying "I give your money back just for sympathy" good place, shame on the employees.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for leave us your feedback. I am really sorry about happened during your stay, I apologize on behalf of my colleague. Have a good day! Best regards, Xenia

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
7.4

Don't expect much when you come here. Often the door that leads from the pub to the hostel is unlocked, meaning anyone can go in there. The hostel is FAR from the city. However, it's only a 5-minute walk to a train station that will take you into the outskirts of the city where you can hop on an underground to get in the center. We found out later the hostel was in the 'ghetto'. Walls are paper thin and lights shining straight at the door. If you go, pray you don't get room 12. But, it was cheap

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for leave us a review. We are really sorry if you have not had a good stay in our Hostel. First, the door is always closed. You need to use a key card to get into the hostel. And secondly, the hostel is located just 10min from London Bridge and 25min to the center. So knowing how big London is, we are not FAR from the most interesting places. Thank you once again! Best regards, Xenia

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
5.4

I think Venture hostel was a good value for your money, but it is not kept very well. It took us 40 minutes to get checked in because the person who checks you in is also their bartender. The showers were cold and the rooms do not smell great. Bathrooms do not smell very good at all either, although they were pretty clean and the showers were very clean. The fake wood floors are peeling up everywhere and the water jugs outside the room leaked every day and I slipped on it a few times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for leave us a comment.We know that there are a few things in the hostel which need to be renovated, that is why from this year we are changing the furniture upstairs as we did with the showers recently. Hopefully you will feel better next time in our Hostel :) Best regards, Xenia

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Dec 2016
7.1

Overall, the hostel was good. The bar is good with nice meals, and the hostel is quite modern. However, the breakfast time is pretty short, 6-9am if I can remember. Showers sometimes only cold. The location is close to transport, but well away from the city. For a few nights, we had someone staying with us who I can only assume was a local who may have been homeless; he acted quite weird, asking strange questions, had tonnes of bags and snored all night - definitely hampered the experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for leave us a feedback about your stay. We are glad to see you had a good stay in the hostel. Really sorry about the person in your room, next time feel free to come to the reception and report it to us. Best regards, Xenia

30th Dec 2016
7.1

Nice showers and toilets although when I was in shower had now hot water. Only three sinks and rooms were small. It is very far away from London but, I enjoyed the free breakfast and it's cheap.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for taking your time and leave us a message. We are sorry about the hot water, we had a technical issue one day during your stay but it's been fixed already. Best regards, Xenia

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Dec 2016
8.3

The thing with this hostel was, that I just didn't like it. There is nothing I could specifically complain about. Everything was almost ok. It was more the whole atmosphere. It just didn't make you feel welcome. You had to ask for everything at the breakfast, the don't trust their guests at all. Signs everywhere that you should be aware of stealing. Most annoying part where the really loud party organized be the hostel (though guests where not invited) who often lasted until 3 or 4 in the mornin

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. The breakfast has changed now and is self-service so hopefully this will make the people to feel more comfortable. Sorry about the party, it was just because of Christmas. Sorry once again, Xenia

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
4.6

There is no barrier between the bathrooms/shower areas and the halls and rooms. If you're on the 1st or 2nd floor, after you ascend the stairs you're staring directly into the shower or toilet area before you can get into your room! The fake wood vinyl flooring on the stairs is cracked and coming apart which is not shown in pictures. The colorful rooms have chips, dings, and stains all over. There were burn marks on the mattress above me, each of the bunks were sagging with broken metal parts

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, we are really sorry to hear your negative review. We know we have to improve a few things in the hostel, that's why we will start doing a renovation soon to make the hostel an amazing place. Really sorry once again, we do appreciate your comment. Best regards, Xenia

30th Nov 2016
9.1

Thank you. Altogether it was fine but this time the shower was very cold, especially in the minus 5 degrees London! . I couldn't continue taking shower and finished after minutes. I prefer having pleasure of an open breakfast bar, rather than staying in a queue asking bar man to give you things. Each time I don't use free breakfast just for this reason.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you so much for your reviews. The hot water is available 24h, sometimes if there is too many people taking the shower at the same time it might take 5 to 10 min to get hot water again. About the breakfast, we are thinking is more hygienic and clean to have a person serving you. Thank you once again! Best regards, Xenia

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.