X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Venture Hostel Reviews

86 Tanner's Hill, Deptford, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
843 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 64%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

1) staff are friendly, polite and helpful, this is important ! 2) the room , floor, bedsheets etc are clean, with functional warmer system and reliable lockers 3) roommates are quite and polite 4) toilets, bathrooms are clean with fair facilities 5) provided free breakfast daily, VERY GOOD, some other hostels count 2 pound per head ~ 6) clean and tidy common kitchen, with complete cooking tools and dishes, and fridges 7) as a whole , feel comfortable, warm, nice & appreciated.

  • 7th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for taken time in giving us your review, we hope you had a good stay and we look forward in seeing you again

71%

This hostel is not near central London it takes a walk to the tube station and from there you can get anywhere. What was helpful for me was the 24h reception because our flight was delayed and arrived at 4am, it wasn't very easy to find but once there things went well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment, we appreciate it. we just need to point out that we never said we are in central London in our description of our hostel, we stated that we are located in zone 2 which takes 5 minutes on the train from new cross station to London Bridge station, from London Bridge station, is very easy to connect anywhere in central. Having said that, we are glad everything else is good . we hope to see you in future

94%

The bunk beds would need check. When I was laying in the bottom bed I was looking at a broken bed above me and was wondering if it's gonna hold my friend and she wont fall on me. Thankfully nothing happened :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your booking and your review, we have replaced the bed in question, sorry about that, but above all, we appreciate your comment, hope we shall see you again

77%

Loved the staff. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. The area, though close to a train station, was a little on the sketchy side. My friend and I weren't all too comfortable walking alone at night. The only other thing I noticed that was a bit strange was the first 6 person dorm we stayed in. There were two bunks three beds high in a room that really did not have enough space for 6. GREAT value for money though, super cheap stay in a pricey city. Thanks for having us!

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your comment. Sorry about the inconvenience with the room. We hope see you again in our Hostel! Have a nice week. Xenia

77%

Good for those travelling on a budget, since a simple but hearty breakfast is provided, along with wifi in generally the whole building. The hostel is not next to a busy road and in a quiet neighbourhood, although the hostel does play music/radio on speakers until about 10pm. Friendly staff and good service, at the reception and during breakfast hours. It was a pity for me as I was not able to get the long-stay discount because I stayed for 4 nights and then extended my stay for another 2.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for all your comment, we are happy that you enjoy your stay, it is wonderful to hear all the positive things you said and we hope to see you next time you visit London, in respect of the discount promotions, please check our website for latest discount we are offering. Thanks

77%

Stayed here for a quick layover on my way to Scotland, but the staff was really nice and helped me out with everything I needed.


100%

Their were prompt in their service and were always their to answer questions. An excellent place if you want your money's worth.

  • 14th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your positive comment, we appreciate it and we promise to keep getting better..hope to see you again

63%

Very hard to find for first comers. If you are coming from Paddington then I bet you will lose your way at least twice. The streets seem dangerous and creepy at nights. Although staffs were kind and showers were good, I wouldn't stay here once more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your comment. We are just 5 min from London Bridge, so we are in a good location. From Paddington there is ONE bus comes straight to the hostel. Also, sorry that you have this feeling at night time, but let me tell you that our area is safe and you can walk at night time without any problems. Have a good week! Xenia

89%

Venture Hostel is a great place to stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are cosy. The hostel pub is full of interesting people to talk wih and you dont have to be alone for a second if you dont want to.

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your nice review. We are glad to know you enjoyed you stay with us. See you next time! Xenia

91%

Very safe, clean, friendly hostel in a great building. Nearly everything is perfect except for the room where I slept. The beds are cheap, the mattress hurted so bad (all springs were sprung and I could feel all the metal sticking in my back) and it was extremely basic. It is clear that this hostel has focussed on perfecting EVERYTHING, but didn't perfect the beds yet. I would stay here again however, but ask for a better mattress.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment, we checked the bed that you complained about, but unfortunately we can not find anything wrong with it, having said that, we will be changing all our beds very soon, so hopefully when you come back, it will be a better and new mattress and beds, above all we are glad for your positive comment, and we will keep improving our services. thanks

77%

I really had a good time staying there. It's a very valuable hostel to stay: it's clean and wifi is really good as well!

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your booking and your review, we appreciate your comment, we will keep improving our services. hope we see you again.

86%

My friend and I had a good experience staying here. The hostel was clean and the staff was really nice and helpful. :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
fantastic review, we hope to see you next time you are in London. thanks very much

94%

In general this hostel is really good, but it is just far away from tourist attractions in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment, we will keep improving our service, hope we will see you again

57%

This was by far the creepiest hostel i've ever stayed at. Upon arrival i was harassed by a creepy man who wanted to know which room i was in. In the common room there was an old man who sat still staring fixedly at the receptionist, a guy laughing by himself & another grimacing at nothing. The receptionist would come into the room in the middle of the night w a flashlight & count the occupants. So damn scary, I almost had a heart attack the first time. Only positive: bathrooms incredibly clean.

  • 3rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment, unfortunately we tried to investigate the alleged creepy man, because we don't know this particular person was, wee have staff available 24 hrs to report to if this really bothers you. In respect of the our staff coming to the room to check and d the headcount, we are reviewing this policy and very soon we will abolish this. having said that, we apologise for any disturbance

80%

Staff were good and helpful and rooms were cleaned everyday, just annoying when the cleaner grabs everyone's shoes and throws them all in an empty locker. Good hostel in a pretty shady part of town quite a way from central London


97%

Considering the very reasonable cost of a night's stay this hostel was excellent value for money. The position is very useful for exploring the Greenwich area and indeed the whole of London. The showers were brilliant. Bed linen clean and crisp. Would recommend to budget travellers everywhere. Staff were friendly and welcoming, can't speak highly enough for this hostel. Use it.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are glad to know you enjoy your stay with us. We hope see you again in our Hostel. Thanks once again. Xenia

91%

More confortable and beatiful, this hostel offer more services and the workers is friendly. Quality/price perfect. please Choise this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are glad to know you enjoy your stay with us. We hope see you again in Venture Hostel. My regards, Xenia

66%

Had a good stay at venture hostel, good breakfast in the mornings, pretty good facilities. Staff are good. It's pretty handy to the train station

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest! Thank you for your positive comment. We hope see you next time in our Hostel. Best regards, Xenia

86%

Venture Hostel was great for what we wanted. Easy walk from New Cross station, very friendly and helpful staff despite arriving only around 11pm. Room was comfortable (i slept like a log), hot clean showers, and breakfast in the morning was a bonus. It may seem on the map that you aren't 'in the centre of London' but with New Cross stations Overground and National Rail facilities you are a mere 7 mins from the hubbub of the city! For the price, can't beat it. Will stay again for sure!

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
fantastic review from you and we hope we see you again

89%

It´s a really great place to stay while visiting London, it has good transport connection by bus or train and underground and the staff is really really nice. The only bad thing was that the first day people who slept before us in our bedroom let their things in there, and a one of de girls came in to the room in the middle of the night to pick up her things, because the hostel only change the password of the room door every three weeks, so she could enter without knocking the door.

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your review. We are glad to know your enjoy your stay in our Hostel. We are really really sorry for the inconvenience during the night. See you next time. Xenia

1 2 Next » last »
(40 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback