X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Venture Hostel Reviews

86 Tanner's Hill, Deptford, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
768 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Considering the very reasonable cost of a night's stay this hostel was excellent value for money. The position is very useful for exploring the Greenwich area and indeed the whole of London. The showers were brilliant. Bed linen clean and crisp. Would recommend to budget travellers everywhere. Staff were friendly and welcoming, can't speak highly enough for this hostel. Use it.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are glad to know you enjoy your stay with us. We hope see you again in our Hostel. Thanks once again. Xenia

91%

More confortable and beatiful, this hostel offer more services and the workers is friendly. Quality/price perfect. please Choise this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are glad to know you enjoy your stay with us. We hope see you again in Venture Hostel. My regards, Xenia

66%

Had a good stay at venture hostel, good breakfast in the mornings, pretty good facilities. Staff are good. It's pretty handy to the train station

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest! Thank you for your positive comment. We hope see you next time in our Hostel. Best regards, Xenia

86%

Venture Hostel was great for what we wanted. Easy walk from New Cross station, very friendly and helpful staff despite arriving only around 11pm. Room was comfortable (i slept like a log), hot clean showers, and breakfast in the morning was a bonus. It may seem on the map that you aren't 'in the centre of London' but with New Cross stations Overground and National Rail facilities you are a mere 7 mins from the hubbub of the city! For the price, can't beat it. Will stay again for sure!

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

It´s a really great place to stay while visiting London, it has good transport connection by bus or train and underground and the staff is really really nice. The only bad thing was that the first day people who slept before us in our bedroom let their things in there, and a one of de girls came in to the room in the middle of the night to pick up her things, because the hostel only change the password of the room door every three weeks, so she could enter without knocking the door.

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your review. We are glad to know your enjoy your stay in our Hostel. We are really really sorry for the inconvenience during the night. See you next time. Xenia

80%

It is a nice hostel. The toilets and bathrooms are very clean. The only thing is the rooms are very small. I think this is the problem for most of the London hostels.


71%

We were there when it was hot and the only window we had in our room was a skylight in the ceiling (it leaked on another guest who had a top bunk when it rained). Bathrooms pretty clean, but there was only one sink which was a bit of challenge. Located not far from the DRL so transportation was easy, just expect your train ride to be a bit long and have to switch trains. Breakfast was good- cereal, toast with lots of spreads, yogurt, juice, milk. Overall, nothing horrible, but not amazing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment, the skyline window can be opened and closed, if the window is not closed like normal window if its raining, the rain will come in. Also you mentioned that its one 1 sinks in the whole hostels, but we have sinks next to the bathroom and toilets. In total we have 5 sinks in the hostel, having said that, we apologised for any inconvenience, we hope to see you next time you are in London

100%

This is hostel is great, we stayed in the 6 bed dorm. London was having a heat wave so the room was really hot, but the hostel bought fans which made a big difference. The staff are really helpful, loads of maps for london. Tanner Hill the area has loads of shops that are cheap. Shower and toilets are cleaned daily, hot water is amazing. Wifi works really well. The breakfast is also great, maybe could go a little. Would definelty stay here again! Thanks

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks very much for your positive comment, we will keep improving and we hope to see you again

80%

electric fan in room was not operational good toilets and bathrooms unrelaible wifi in room

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment and in respect of the fan in your room, we have replaced it with a new one now, we apologised for this, we hope we shall see you again

94%

The hostel was very clean and there were sockets at each bed which was handy. The free breakfast was pretty good as well. The showers and bathrooms were clean and wifi was readily available in the rooms or in the lobby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the nice comment. We are glad to know you enjoy your stay with us. We hope see you next time in Venture Hostel. Have a good day! Xenia

60%

This hostel wasn't terrible, but there were a few reasons that I won't be returning. First, there were quite a few older men who seemed to be living at the hostel. Half the time they seemed drunk and there were about 3 or 4 of them who were clearly just hanging around and not tourists. Second, the security wasn't up to par. I didn't feel that safe there. Third, the lockers in the rooms were old and not very secure. However, the staff was excellent, and the showers/bathrooms new and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking your time and leave us a comment. We are really sorry for all the inconveniences during your stay. First, nobody is allowed to live in our hostel, so everyone staying here are tourists or people coming for a few days nothing else. About the security, we have to tell you that we have staff working 24 hours only for you and for your safety. The lockers we know they are a bit old but work well, you only need to use a padlock. Sorry once again. Have a good week. Xenia

100%

Amazing stay, good location for travel..and the breakfast was very good. i had to compliment the effort of the lady in receptions as well, Xenia..she is excellent.The other plus is they have a kitchen whereby you can cook and save some money because i'm in London on a budget trip.will definitely come back

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the positive comment, we look forward seeing you again in our hostel..

100%

totally beyond my exception...nice orthopedic mattress with good options in the breakfast. facilities are good as well...showers and toilets look very clean and wifi works perfectly for me. serve the purpose of my booking...even very close to stations for travel..five minutes on the train to London bridge..cant ask for more

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
very kind in leaving your comment, we will keep improving on our service. thanks

29%

I was expecting something nice, the photos are over exaggerated, don`t trust them. It`s in a dangerous area, far away from most of the attractions (I went to London as a tourist). Their beds are quite uncomfortable. A terrible choice to who goes to London to have a safe and comfortable time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, Thanks for your request, we are totally disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay, our staff are hands in helping all guest in finding local attractions and also we did have map that indicates where the hostel is located, so there is no misinformation from our part. We are located in zone 2 and we have about 4 different stations around us with easy access to central London, also we have 24 hrs buses that travel to central that can bring you back home. Thanks, Reception

40%

Dirty bathroom, smelly room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment, unfortunately we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, we have housekeepers working most of the time in the showers and the room cleaning as well, we hope to impress you next time you visit

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
46%

We booked a 3 bed dorm and the beds were all on the same structure, 3 layered beds which were really uncomfortable. There were only 2 showers, 3 toilets and 3 bathroom sinks one of which didn't work. Let's not talk about the questionable cleanliness and the poor breakfast offered in the morning... Definitely not going back nor recommending.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your review,our showers are under renovation and same goes with the toilets. hence reason why we have limited facilities, but I'm glad to say we have completed our renovations now, please look up our new pictures on our website or also on our Facebook. Apologies for all this,

71%

Xenia, a staff member, was super helpful. The hostel had a bar, but it was dead, so no noise complaint. The hostel attracted a lot of older people and had no atmosphere; I would not recommend here for a solo traveler. The breakfast was good. The pictures online over-exaggerated the beauty of it; a lot of things (shower/sink) were not working correctly. I believe they were remodeling though. The location will prevent me from staying here again; it was about a 40 minute bus ride from the city.


54%

The hostel is a short walk to nearby shops/transport, but the area isn't great, so as a female travelling alone I didn't feel massively safe, especially when it got dark. The showers smelt of damp and mould and were mixed male and female. The cubicles themselves weren't massive, so there wasn't much room for privacy. The bed was wobbly, which when sharing a bunk makes for an interesting night's sleep. Overall it is cheap accommodation in London, great for a group. A bit daunting for a female

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for take your time and leave a comment for us. We know the problem with the showers, for that reason, we are renewing all our showers and bathrooms. We are also changing mattresses for your comfort. Looking forward to see you again in London. Xenia

49%

first make hostel more clean, and people need more respect

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for stay with us. Sorry for the issues about cleaning, next time please inform our staff. We will do everything possible so that you find yourself comfortable with us. See you! Xenia

86%

The bed was far too creaky. The ladder was unfit for use. Other than that I quite enjoyed my short stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your comment, we are glad you've enjoy your stay with us as for the bed we going to look into it and replace them. Looking forward to see you in future. Thank you Amelia Reception

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(539 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback