X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Venture Hostel Reviews

86 Tanner's Hill, Deptford, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
733 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 66%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

We booked a 3 bed dorm and the beds were all on the same structure, 3 layered beds which were really uncomfortable. There were only 2 showers, 3 toilets and 3 bathroom sinks one of which didn't work. Let's not talk about the questionable cleanliness and the poor breakfast offered in the morning... Definitely not going back nor recommending.

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your review,our showers are under renovation and same goes with the toilets. hence reason why we have limited facilities, but I'm glad to say we have completed our renovations now, please look up our new pictures on our website or also on our Facebook. Apologies for all this,

71%

Xenia, a staff member, was super helpful. The hostel had a bar, but it was dead, so no noise complaint. The hostel attracted a lot of older people and had no atmosphere; I would not recommend here for a solo traveler. The breakfast was good. The pictures online over-exaggerated the beauty of it; a lot of things (shower/sink) were not working correctly. I believe they were remodeling though. The location will prevent me from staying here again; it was about a 40 minute bus ride from the city.


54%

The hostel is a short walk to nearby shops/transport, but the area isn't great, so as a female travelling alone I didn't feel massively safe, especially when it got dark. The showers smelt of damp and mould and were mixed male and female. The cubicles themselves weren't massive, so there wasn't much room for privacy. The bed was wobbly, which when sharing a bunk makes for an interesting night's sleep. Overall it is cheap accommodation in London, great for a group. A bit daunting for a female

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for take your time and leave a comment for us. We know the problem with the showers, for that reason, we are renewing all our showers and bathrooms. We are also changing mattresses for your comfort. Looking forward to see you again in London. Xenia

49%

first make hostel more clean, and people need more respect

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for stay with us. Sorry for the issues about cleaning, next time please inform our staff. We will do everything possible so that you find yourself comfortable with us. See you! Xenia

86%

The bed was far too creaky. The ladder was unfit for use. Other than that I quite enjoyed my short stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your comment, we are glad you've enjoy your stay with us as for the bed we going to look into it and replace them. Looking forward to see you in future. Thank you Amelia Reception

89%

Lockers need to be fixed but friendly and helpful staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your opinion, we try to maintain all our lockers in a good condition all the time and fix them immediately when we notice a drawback. We are looking forward to see you in the future :)

83%

This place is a fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very grateful for your positive feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

80%

Excellent hostel. One of the best within the price range. The staff is nice as well! Plus Greenwich is an area worthwhile to see. Easy access to the centre. Definitely would recommend...

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for comment. We are delighted with your feelings about stay in our hostel. We hope you will come back in the future to get more and more good memories.

60%

The hostel is not bad. I payed 12 pounds per night for 4 nights, and for this value, I think the hostel was enough, but not great. The room was clean and the bedsheets were good. The bathroom was not good (small, clumsy) but there was a cleaning lady there everyday at least. The staff were friendly, but not helpful. The great advantage of this hostel is that the breakfast is included in the price, and it is all you can eat. To sum up: good, but not great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for comment. Our bathrooms will be totally modernized in December to solve the problem that you touched. We will provide brand new showers and toilets on both floors of our hostel so you could feel more comfortable during the usage. We are happy you have appreciated our free breakfast. Hopefully we will see you in the future to show our new, upgraded bathroom facilities.

63%

I'd rather recommend this hostel only if a person need to be close to Greenwich; otherwise there is no point to stay in that area and in a such narrow hostel. It is essential and I won't stay there more than two night as toilets, rooms and kitchen are very small.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your opinion, we have different types of room so we are very sorry that the one which you booked was too small for you. In December our toilets and bathrooms will pass total transformation so you will not be disappointed if you visit us again. We are looking forward to see you again in the future !

74%

Is a nice place just the snoring people are to loud. ;-/

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment, we will keep improving

54%

The bathroom and toilets in this hostel were dirty. A lot of People had to use just 2 showers and 2 toilets. The common room is not deorated with love. Staff was friendly and helpful. Some other guests were noisy during night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment, unfortunately the issue of showers and toilet is untrue, we have 4 showers and 6 toilets both on the first and second floor. plus also we have in bar downstairs. Also we are in the middle of decorating our showers and toilets ,we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. thanks

71%

Of come and stay, good place for money you got. ;-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment

83%

Great place. Great people. Most of the negative comments are about the location. Have a look on the map before you book people. We loved it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are glad that you enjoy your stay, just to mention that we are 4 minutes on the train to London Bridge which have important attractions in London, like tower of London, the famous tower bridge and London Bridge, The Shard, which is the tallest building in European union.London Dungeon, Borough market. But having said that, we are glad you enjoy your stay.. Thanks

97%

Very good wonderful stay, contrary to previous reviews I read, I have been here before, the total transformation of the building from outside, good decor, breakfast has improved massively, even better windows now for good ventilation, staff are much better.The management has step up their game! Kudos

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the comment, we will keep improving

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
31%

Had some random construction guy wake me up to tell me to leave the room so he could replace the window. Then later in the week found another one of the construction workers laying on one of the 'clean' beds making a phone call to his wife. Apparently the rooms are secure but they let random people just walk on into them. Showers are male and female although they never mention it. And if you get up early the cleaners won't let you use the bathroom. Spend the extra money and stay somewhere else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for booking with us, we apologise for what happened,but we did remember at the time of the incident,the builder only came to inform the guests that they will be painting the room after 12 noon, he wasn't asking you to leave the room. But having said that, we do apologise if you were inconvenient in any way. In respect of the showers, it was just the time when we were cleaning the showers, but we have other showers unoccupied at the time, so we didn't know there we be an issue with that.

77%

I really liked the Journey Hostel. Friendly guests, good staff and a good breakfast (which was included). Overall very nice and also pretty close to Deptford Bridge and New Cross train station which takes you to London Bridge in less than 10 minutes)

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, I am glad you've like and appreciate our hostel. We look forward to see you again next time.

51%

The owner was giving out to a member of the staff in front of guests. Cant understand why they did the cleaning at 6am..waking up everybody! Cleanliness very very poor. They also tended to come into your room to check bins at 6am :( 2 positive aspects: free wifi and breakfast. Staff were quite rude. I wouldnt recommend this place to anybody.


26%

worst hostel i have ever stayed!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for booking with, we appreciate your comment, unfortunately you did not specify what is wrong wit our hostel but at the same time we appreciate your comment. We hope next time you will have a better stay with us. Once again thanks for the comment

80%

Nice people, very helpful. The hotel was a bit out of the centre, but very good connection by train. Everything was clean and looked very well maintained. Only wifi was a bit difficult to get on. In the end we didn't bother because it was already so late.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taken time to leave a comment, we do appreciate the positive words, and we are thriving to improve on all our services to al of our guests. We hope to see you next time you are in London!! Enjoy

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(524 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback