X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Venture Hostel Reviews

86 Tanner's Hill, Deptford, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
748 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 66%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This is hostel is great, we stayed in the 6 bed dorm. London was having a heat wave so the room was really hot, but the hostel bought fans which made a big difference. The staff are really helpful, loads of maps for london. Tanner Hill the area has loads of shops that are cheap. Shower and toilets are cleaned daily, hot water is amazing. Wifi works really well. The breakfast is also great, maybe could go a little. Would definelty stay here again! Thanks


80%

electric fan in room was not operational good toilets and bathrooms unrelaible wifi in room


94%

The hostel was very clean and there were sockets at each bed which was handy. The free breakfast was pretty good as well. The showers and bathrooms were clean and wifi was readily available in the rooms or in the lobby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the nice comment. We are glad to know you enjoy your stay with us. We hope see you next time in Venture Hostel. Have a good day! Xenia

60%

This hostel wasn't terrible, but there were a few reasons that I won't be returning. First, there were quite a few older men who seemed to be living at the hostel. Half the time they seemed drunk and there were about 3 or 4 of them who were clearly just hanging around and not tourists. Second, the security wasn't up to par. I didn't feel that safe there. Third, the lockers in the rooms were old and not very secure. However, the staff was excellent, and the showers/bathrooms new and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking your time and leave us a comment. We are really sorry for all the inconveniences during your stay. First, nobody is allowed to live in our hostel, so everyone staying here are tourists or people coming for a few days nothing else. About the security, we have to tell you that we have staff working 24 hours only for you and for your safety. The lockers we know they are a bit old but work well, you only need to use a padlock. Sorry once again. Have a good week. Xenia

100%

Amazing stay, good location for travel..and the breakfast was very good. i had to compliment the effort of the lady in receptions as well, Xenia..she is excellent.The other plus is they have a kitchen whereby you can cook and save some money because i'm in London on a budget trip.will definitely come back

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the positive comment, we look forward seeing you again in our hostel..

100%

totally beyond my exception...nice orthopedic mattress with good options in the breakfast. facilities are good as well...showers and toilets look very clean and wifi works perfectly for me. serve the purpose of my booking...even very close to stations for travel..five minutes on the train to London bridge..cant ask for more

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
very kind in leaving your comment, we will keep improving on our service. thanks

29%

I was expecting something nice, the photos are over exaggerated, don`t trust them. It`s in a dangerous area, far away from most of the attractions (I went to London as a tourist). Their beds are quite uncomfortable. A terrible choice to who goes to London to have a safe and comfortable time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, Thanks for your request, we are totally disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay, our staff are hands in helping all guest in finding local attractions and also we did have map that indicates where the hostel is located, so there is no misinformation from our part. We are located in zone 2 and we have about 4 different stations around us with easy access to central London, also we have 24 hrs buses that travel to central that can bring you back home. Thanks, Reception

40%

Dirty bathroom, smelly room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment, unfortunately we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, we have housekeepers working most of the time in the showers and the room cleaning as well, we hope to impress you next time you visit

46%

We booked a 3 bed dorm and the beds were all on the same structure, 3 layered beds which were really uncomfortable. There were only 2 showers, 3 toilets and 3 bathroom sinks one of which didn't work. Let's not talk about the questionable cleanliness and the poor breakfast offered in the morning... Definitely not going back nor recommending.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your review,our showers are under renovation and same goes with the toilets. hence reason why we have limited facilities, but I'm glad to say we have completed our renovations now, please look up our new pictures on our website or also on our Facebook. Apologies for all this,

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
71%

Xenia, a staff member, was super helpful. The hostel had a bar, but it was dead, so no noise complaint. The hostel attracted a lot of older people and had no atmosphere; I would not recommend here for a solo traveler. The breakfast was good. The pictures online over-exaggerated the beauty of it; a lot of things (shower/sink) were not working correctly. I believe they were remodeling though. The location will prevent me from staying here again; it was about a 40 minute bus ride from the city.


54%

The hostel is a short walk to nearby shops/transport, but the area isn't great, so as a female travelling alone I didn't feel massively safe, especially when it got dark. The showers smelt of damp and mould and were mixed male and female. The cubicles themselves weren't massive, so there wasn't much room for privacy. The bed was wobbly, which when sharing a bunk makes for an interesting night's sleep. Overall it is cheap accommodation in London, great for a group. A bit daunting for a female

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for take your time and leave a comment for us. We know the problem with the showers, for that reason, we are renewing all our showers and bathrooms. We are also changing mattresses for your comfort. Looking forward to see you again in London. Xenia

49%

first make hostel more clean, and people need more respect

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for stay with us. Sorry for the issues about cleaning, next time please inform our staff. We will do everything possible so that you find yourself comfortable with us. See you! Xenia

86%

The bed was far too creaky. The ladder was unfit for use. Other than that I quite enjoyed my short stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your comment, we are glad you've enjoy your stay with us as for the bed we going to look into it and replace them. Looking forward to see you in future. Thank you Amelia Reception

89%

Lockers need to be fixed but friendly and helpful staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your opinion, we try to maintain all our lockers in a good condition all the time and fix them immediately when we notice a drawback. We are looking forward to see you in the future :)

83%

This place is a fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very grateful for your positive feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

80%

Excellent hostel. One of the best within the price range. The staff is nice as well! Plus Greenwich is an area worthwhile to see. Easy access to the centre. Definitely would recommend...

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for comment. We are delighted with your feelings about stay in our hostel. We hope you will come back in the future to get more and more good memories.

60%

The hostel is not bad. I payed 12 pounds per night for 4 nights, and for this value, I think the hostel was enough, but not great. The room was clean and the bedsheets were good. The bathroom was not good (small, clumsy) but there was a cleaning lady there everyday at least. The staff were friendly, but not helpful. The great advantage of this hostel is that the breakfast is included in the price, and it is all you can eat. To sum up: good, but not great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for comment. Our bathrooms will be totally modernized in December to solve the problem that you touched. We will provide brand new showers and toilets on both floors of our hostel so you could feel more comfortable during the usage. We are happy you have appreciated our free breakfast. Hopefully we will see you in the future to show our new, upgraded bathroom facilities.

63%

I'd rather recommend this hostel only if a person need to be close to Greenwich; otherwise there is no point to stay in that area and in a such narrow hostel. It is essential and I won't stay there more than two night as toilets, rooms and kitchen are very small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your opinion, we have different types of room so we are very sorry that the one which you booked was too small for you. In December our toilets and bathrooms will pass total transformation so you will not be disappointed if you visit us again. We are looking forward to see you again in the future !

74%

Is a nice place just the snoring people are to loud. ;-/

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment, we will keep improving

54%

The bathroom and toilets in this hostel were dirty. A lot of People had to use just 2 showers and 2 toilets. The common room is not deorated with love. Staff was friendly and helpful. Some other guests were noisy during night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment, unfortunately the issue of showers and toilet is untrue, we have 4 showers and 6 toilets both on the first and second floor. plus also we have in bar downstairs. Also we are in the middle of decorating our showers and toilets ,we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. thanks

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(532 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback