X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Venture Hostel Reviews

86 Tanner's Hill, Deptford, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
709 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 64%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

I'd rather recommend this hostel only if a person need to be close to Greenwich; otherwise there is no point to stay in that area and in a such narrow hostel. It is essential and I won't stay there more than two night as toilets, rooms and kitchen are very small.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Is a nice place just the snoring people are to loud. ;-/


54%

The bathroom and toilets in this hostel were dirty. A lot of People had to use just 2 showers and 2 toilets. The common room is not deorated with love. Staff was friendly and helpful. Some other guests were noisy during night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment, unfortunately the issue of showers and toilet is untrue, we have 4 showers and 6 toilets both on the first and second floor. plus also we have in bar downstairs. Also we are in the middle of decorating our showers and toilets ,we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. thanks

71%

Of come and stay, good place for money you got. ;-)


83%

Great place. Great people. Most of the negative comments are about the location. Have a look on the map before you book people. We loved it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are glad that you enjoy your stay, just to mention that we are 4 minutes on the train to London Bridge which have important attractions in London, like tower of London, the famous tower bridge and London Bridge, The Shard, which is the tallest building in European union.London Dungeon, Borough market. But having said that, we are glad you enjoy your stay.. Thanks

97%

Very good wonderful stay, contrary to previous reviews I read, I have been here before, the total transformation of the building from outside, good decor, breakfast has improved massively, even better windows now for good ventilation, staff are much better.The management has step up their game! Kudos

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the comment, we will keep improving

31%

Had some random construction guy wake me up to tell me to leave the room so he could replace the window. Then later in the week found another one of the construction workers laying on one of the 'clean' beds making a phone call to his wife. Apparently the rooms are secure but they let random people just walk on into them. Showers are male and female although they never mention it. And if you get up early the cleaners won't let you use the bathroom. Spend the extra money and stay somewhere else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for booking with us, we apologise for what happened,but we did remember at the time of the incident,the builder only came to inform the guests that they will be painting the room after 12 noon, he wasn't asking you to leave the room. But having said that, we do apologise if you were inconvenient in any way. In respect of the showers, it was just the time when we were cleaning the showers, but we have other showers unoccupied at the time, so we didn't know there we be an issue with that.

77%

I really liked the Journey Hostel. Friendly guests, good staff and a good breakfast (which was included). Overall very nice and also pretty close to Deptford Bridge and New Cross train station which takes you to London Bridge in less than 10 minutes)

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, I am glad you've like and appreciate our hostel. We look forward to see you again next time.

26%

worst hostel i have ever stayed!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for booking with, we appreciate your comment, unfortunately you did not specify what is wrong wit our hostel but at the same time we appreciate your comment. We hope next time you will have a better stay with us. Once again thanks for the comment

80%

Nice people, very helpful. The hotel was a bit out of the centre, but very good connection by train. Everything was clean and looked very well maintained. Only wifi was a bit difficult to get on. In the end we didn't bother because it was already so late.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taken time to leave a comment, we do appreciate the positive words, and we are thriving to improve on all our services to al of our guests. We hope to see you next time you are in London!! Enjoy

63%

The hostel is decent, not great. The location is far from the center and not near a tube station, but near a rail station, generally means you have to switch trains to get where you need to. Staff are nice but not overly helpful. The wifi was very spotty and I wasn't the only one who mentioned it but most times they will say it is your device. (It's not. They need to reset the router because when they do it works). Not the cleanest, no real common room so hard to meet other travellers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment, the issue with WiFi has been reported to our Internet provider (British Telecom) and they have assure us that all is now resolved. Next time you are I London, we can surely give you a discount on your first night to compensate for your inconveniences. Please always remember to take free maps in the reception and our staff are always available to help in directing you to right way to travel. I hope we shall see you next time you are in London. thanks

54%

Bunk beds in three levels, can't even seat properly.. Super small bathroom, staff at reception wasn't really looking friendly, they had no idea how to get to the airport ... Breakfast was alright but that's about it. Value for money? Yes, if you're a bacpacker who doesn't mind a bit of dust and filthy shower just to save a little, but if you're looking for a good hostel, this is not it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment and for staying at our hostel. We are sorry that you have not been satisfactory. We will try to improve in all aspects. Thanks again for your opinion.

60%

I cancelled my booking because my plans changed so didn't stay there on this occasion. I've received 8 emails asking me to leave a review so here it is. I didn't stay there, and it sucks to get that many emails!

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Staff is curt and makes you carry your own linens up to the room & make your own bed. Bar closes pretty early. I didn't mind having to share facilities with all genders. Loud music playing on all floors & there are some really...colourful characters living there. Some were nice, some were batshit crazy. The common room was excellent & made some good friends. The kitchen is a horrifyingly small cubby. People steal food even with names on them. Decent Wi-Fi. Nearish Greenwich but v close to DLR


29%

Receptionist [young male] can destroy you all day. Explain 10 min that i don't need ref number, you can find my booking by Name surname from passport - impossible. Location: only overground and buses :: [ Fawele ] of London Shower: Wery wery wery Hot water, stinking Music in corridors to 11pm Loude hand dryers, so if you had room near showers you will be wekup every hour by night Somtimes they move you to another room, put all you staff in weat plastic bag. Waste your time and money !!!!!!!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Exactly what it says on the tin , good transport links close to decent pubs


100%

Fantastic stay, will come back once again


77%

IT IS AN OK HOSTEL TO BE IN THEY GIVE JUICE AS PART OF BREAKFAST


80%

Reasonably priced and helpful staff. Would use again.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic stay and good staff. Will come to visit again

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(514 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback