Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge Located at 4-6 Hopetoun Street, , Auckland.
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland 1011 4-6 Hopetoun Street
87% 172
-36.8582460 174.7516760
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Dec 2016
9.7

Outstanding hostel in a great location - walking distance to the city centre, just around the corner from Ponsonby Road and looking out over the tall trees and buzzing birdlife of Western Park. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the facilities are excellent, the wifi is super-fast and unlimited, and the girl in reception is friendly and helpful... would definitely recommend this place to anyone coming to Auckland. :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you very much for your kind review! If you are ever in Auckland again, we hope you come and stay with us.

  • leannie100
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
20th Oct 2016
6.6

Showers were good, kitchen well equipped and large, located near to Ponsonby and generally clean (though the bedroom smelled a little misty). Wifi worked well. Quiet at night. Staff seemed okay but didn't have cause to ask them for much. Total lack of atmosphere though. Lots of long-termers who barely said hello. Not the hostel's fault as such but maybe more activities or some sort of effort at social interaction would be good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Share rooms can sometimes smell a little bit from the guests luggage etc but we will get the cleaners to check this. Long-termers are becoming less and less now due to peak season. Hope you enjoyed Auckland and come and stay with us again.

3rd Oct 2016
10.0

Incredible in every way. It can be overwhelming to move to a new country and get everything sorted out but the staff went above and beyond to help me and made the process easy and enjoyable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your kind review, we hope you come and stay with us again sometime soon!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Sep 2016
8.6

Lovely stay, stayed in a double room with shared bathroom lots of room and comfy bed, toilets and showers clean, nice big kitchen although busy on the night we cooked had to take meal back upstairs. Would recommend and stay again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
8.9

This is one of the nicer hostels in the area. It was clean & staff were readily available. They will lock up and secure your bags while out for the day. The location is perfect. 20 min walk to downtown and rght next to the best eateries and cafes!! The wifi connection was terrible unfortunately. When it did work, it was very weak. I could text and call on wifi. Downloading anything or doing conference calls was impossible. They seemed surprised and said they were having it repaired. I hope so.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
9.1

lots of space in the room and in the kitchen area, no bunk bed is a plus, but there is no locker in the room. wifi is not stable and drops off during peak hours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jocrisfield2060
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
8th Sep 2016
8.0

Lovely view from the verandah and helpful staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2016
8.3

Friendly and welcoming hostel, with so much character. Great place to relax and meet like minded people. A huge kitchen and lounge area and beautiful garden to enjoy in the summer. The hostel is clean and feels so safe. Thanks for a wonderful stay! I'll be back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.