Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge Located at 4-6 Hopetoun Street, , Auckland.
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland 1011 4-6 Hopetoun Street
86% 166
-36.8582460 174.7516760
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • leannie100
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
20th Oct 2016
6.6

Showers were good, kitchen well equipped and large, located near to Ponsonby and generally clean (though the bedroom smelled a little misty). Wifi worked well. Quiet at night. Staff seemed okay but didn't have cause to ask them for much. Total lack of atmosphere though. Lots of long-termers who barely said hello. Not the hostel's fault as such but maybe more activities or some sort of effort at social interaction would be good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Share rooms can sometimes smell a little bit from the guests luggage etc but we will get the cleaners to check this. Long-termers are becoming less and less now due to peak season. Hope you enjoyed Auckland and come and stay with us again.

3rd Oct 2016
10.0

Incredible in every way. It can be overwhelming to move to a new country and get everything sorted out but the staff went above and beyond to help me and made the process easy and enjoyable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your kind review, we hope you come and stay with us again sometime soon!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Sep 2016
8.6

Lovely stay, stayed in a double room with shared bathroom lots of room and comfy bed, toilets and showers clean, nice big kitchen although busy on the night we cooked had to take meal back upstairs. Would recommend and stay again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
8.9

This is one of the nicer hostels in the area. It was clean & staff were readily available. They will lock up and secure your bags while out for the day. The location is perfect. 20 min walk to downtown and rght next to the best eateries and cafes!! The wifi connection was terrible unfortunately. When it did work, it was very weak. I could text and call on wifi. Downloading anything or doing conference calls was impossible. They seemed surprised and said they were having it repaired. I hope so.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
9.1

lots of space in the room and in the kitchen area, no bunk bed is a plus, but there is no locker in the room. wifi is not stable and drops off during peak hours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jocrisfield2060
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Sep 2016
8.0

Lovely view from the verandah and helpful staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2016
8.3

Friendly and welcoming hostel, with so much character. Great place to relax and meet like minded people. A huge kitchen and lounge area and beautiful garden to enjoy in the summer. The hostel is clean and feels so safe. Thanks for a wonderful stay! I'll be back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2016
7.7

Unusual and characterful hostel split between two buildings. Though this may seem awkward, it means that dorms are insulated from noise while the extensive social areas have an unrestricted and warm atmosphere. The hostel is perfectly situated for Ponsonby but far from the city centre. Don't miss views from the upper verandah on a clear day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Jun 2016
9.4

Firstly - FREE WIFI!!!!! (Quite the rarity in NZ for some reason). Secondly - this place makes you feel like you temporarily live in a mansion from Gone with the Wind! Beautiful big old building. Comfy beds (no bunks! .. in my dorm anyway) Beautiful big kitchen and lounge. Huge park/garden and ponsonby (great spot for shops and restaurants) closeby. 10 minute walk from the rest of the city. The fella on reception lovely and helpful but hard to track down at times. Overall great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2016
9.7

One of the best and friendliest hostels i've ever stayed in. Perfect location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.