Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vertigo Centre

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 4,256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 4,256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
Vertigo Centre Located at 42 rue de petites maries, , Marseille.
Vertigo Centre
France
Marseille Provence Alpes Cote d'azur 13001 42 rue de petites maries
84% 4256
43.3016100 5.3791809
Vertigo Centre
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Aug 2016
6.0

First hostel I've been to in Europe that doesn't provide towels? They said it's only for the private rooms and wouldn't even let me pay to borrow one? It was a public holiday so I couldn't find anywhere to buy a towel and ended up not showering, pretty poor form. Lucky I was only there one night. Staff are blunt, rooms are very very hot and wifi rarely works. Wouldn't stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
8.9

Vertigo was great. I stayed in a 2-bed dorm which had good amount of space, was clean, had lockers, and a shower inside the room. Toilet was just outside the room and a few feet away. The shared space of the hostel on the main floor was very clean, cool, and communal. Lovely outdoor patio to eat or hang out, and the staff was helpful and friendly. Location was UNBEATABLE for proximity to the main train station (3 minute walk), which made arrival and also getting to the airport an absolute breeze

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
14th Aug 2016
7.7

Vertigo Centre has a great courtyard and chill space to meet other travellers. Not worth waking up for breakfast but the hostel is near lots of takeaway food places and a 10 minute walk into town. Rooms are clean and spacious and would recommend this hostel over their vieux port one.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. Breakfast is a typical french breakfast and if you are in for eggs and bacon, that is true we don't have then. Thinking about it though for next season! ;)

13th Aug 2016
8.6

This was a really lovely hostel! Despite the sketchy alleyway its situated on, its close to the train station which is perfect. Everyone hangs out in the back which is perfect for socializing. The breakfast is decent and simple if you dont want to go out for breakfast. The main area of Marseille is a 15 minute walk so its close to a lot of things.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
12th Aug 2016
6.3

Location is close to the city centre (10 minute walk) but is in a dodgy area and I didn't feel safe walking around at night. There is only one PowerPoint for 4 people in a room and there was no shower head in the shower. Also €5 for a simple breakfast was a ridiculous price considering the cost of the hostel. Very overpriced.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Sorry to hear that, we'll fix the shower problem today.. Breakfast is 5€, it is simple too, but it is a all-you-can-eat buffet. You cannot have all you can eat for less than 5€.

11th Aug 2016
8.3

This was a pretty cool hostel, nice vibe and really friendly and helpful staff. The only downsides were that you couldn't bring your own alcohol into the building and it was in a pretty dodgy area, right next to the train station. There are places for food and a grocery store within walking distance. There were two clean bathrooms in my 6 person mixed room which was pretty nice. As a solo female traveler, I definitely wouldn't go back to this spot alone but my stay was enjoyable nonetheless.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
8.6

I had to overnight in Marseille when i Went from Milan to Barcelona. I arrived late and had to depart early in the morning. The hostel was very close to the station which mad it the perfect location! Also the staff was very nice and helpfull.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

THANKS! Hope you will have time to really see the city next time! ;)

9th Aug 2016
7.1

This hostel is in an interesting location - the street doesn't seem like the safest, but on the other hand, it is a 4 min walk away from the train station, so super convenient. The hostel itself seems a bit older, and we had issues in our room with mosquitos. Staff is super friendly and helpful, which was great. Overall it's a good bare-bones hostel for travelers who are transiting through Marseille, but I wouldn't expect anything super comfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your comment. Yes Marseille has a lot of mosquitos! It is usually a problem in sunny periods ;) but I agree it is quite uncomfortable.

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Aug 2016
8.9

Good simple hostel with friendly staff. located at the edge of the old center of Marseille, very close to the train station. (and the bus from the airport will stop there as well)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
10.0

The hostel was fabulous. Really helpful with a super friendly vibe. I became ill on my second to last day there and the staff made sure a doctor came to see me and translated everything, they even gave me some free food to go with my medication. Location is fab, right next to local food places, fab few days spent here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

WOUAW Thanks! It was a pleasure to help you! See you on your next trip to marseille then!!!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.