Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vertigo Centre

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 4499 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 4499 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2017
9.7

I really liked staying at this hostel, lots of space for hanging out or doing work in the main area. The staff was lots of fun and attentive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2017
6.0

Hostel is just okay, however, they succeed based on the fact that competition is extremely limited in Marseille. They have a weird metal key/wooden block system instead of a plastic card to enter the hostel and your room. Anyone can ask for a key to your room and get one. The hostel would be conducive to a great atmosphere if they didn't charge insanely high prices for their alcohol, while forbidding people to bring alcohol in from outside. The basic breakfast they have is 5€ extra. Overpriced.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • CoriCreated
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th May 2017
7.7

The room was comfortable and clean, and a really good size. I loved having a desk and chair in the room! The courtyard out back was nice for lounging and eating meals, but got very loud at night! The staff was friendly, and I enjoyed the common spaces. Like other reviewers have mentioned the Wi-Fi was pretty bad. I don't always need to be connected, but that is the only way I'm communicating with my family, and it was frustrating that it didn't work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
8.9

Wonderful hotel in the worst part of town. You will be shocked when you go out if you are a young blonde female... Women can't go out in the evening by themselves. Rats all over the streets after midnight. I had a bedroom to myself and had the unpleasant experience of having the cleaning lady come into my room to empty the garbage and bring towels. not cool.Overral fantastic place though. Clean, friendly and helpful staff, fun patio life at night, well organized.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th May 2017
6.9

The hostel itself was clean and nice. Staff were great and accommodating. The neighborhood however is not safe at night - especially for females. The hostel is located close to the city center but not in a good neighborhood.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th May 2017
6.0

I like chilled hostel but this was too quiet for my liking. Right next to the station so is perfect if you're just staying a night like I was.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th May 2017
8.9

Wasn t safe at night but clean rooms nice garden and really close to station

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th May 2017
8.0

I really like this hostel in general, however being a female b/w the age of 18-24 I did not feel the most safe in the location of the hostel. That being said, however, the staff were all very helpful and super nice! I also really loved the hostel environment. The kitchen was a bit small, but did the job. I was in a 16 room, but there was lots of space and was comfy!! The hostel was in a good location relative to the city, just didn't feel like the safest neighbourhood.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th May 2017
10.0

Lovely hostel, friendly staff who are happy to give advice and have a chat. The bar creates a nice welcoming atmosphere and gives a good social side to the hostel. The 16 bed dorm is really spacious and on 2 levels, so doesn't feel like there's that many people! Kitchen was decent but could do with a few more utensils. Overall fabulous stay, would recommend to anyone heading to Marseille.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
9.1

Vertigo is in a great location. Right next to the train station and just a 10 minute walk to the port. Good breakfast with fresh croissants and coffee. Friendly and informative staff that helped me with public transport and how to get where I wanted. Rooms spacious. Only issue was one toilet to share in the 16 bed dorm. Constantly had to wait or use the toilet in main building. But other than that, fantastic place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.