Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vertigo Centre

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 4819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 4819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Sep 2017
6.9

The location is good; just in front if central station. We stayed in a mixed dorm and problem there was inadequate amount of washrooms. There were 3 showers but only 2 bathrooms for 16 people. There were also no towels offered to us. Bathrooms were clean and nice. Also the room was ok with good bedding. Would recommend the stay if only for few days.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2017
9.1

Practically a few minutes walk from the central station, it was a perfect location for me to stay overnight to take the early train next morning. As usual the case with any central station neighborhood in big cities, you might need to be careful which streets you would walk at night. Having said that, where the hostel locates has many passer-by so I didn't feel unsafe there. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2017
10.0

Fantastic Hostel! Had a great time here, Marseille is a fantastic city, and this hostel made my stay there so much more memorable. Could not find a complaint with the place in any way, great staff, great people, great atmosphere! Side note - If you're deciding between staying between here and the port hostel (and you want to meet people and such) , I'd say stay here! I spent some time in both hostels, and this one had a much more sociable atmosphere overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
11th Sep 2017
9.4

I didn't stay long but it seemed like a great hostel. I stayed in the massive dorm which was well set out so wasnt too noisy or obvious I was with so many people. Kitchen was nice and the bathrooms were clean. People seemed to keep to their groups but again I didn't stay long.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Eritrea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2017
2.9

Poor hygiene pillows smell dirty. Seemingly unwashed blankets with dirt marks on them it was impossible to use them . Infested by insects in the room. No numbers on beds so customers don't know which bed to get and room service staff don't know which bed to clean. Proximity to the train station is good but the neighborhood Vertigo is located in is unclean,unsafe and looks more like a ghetto. Out of all the hotel employees only two were helpful, smiling and welcoming.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • gbork94
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Sep 2017
8.9

I stayed in a mixed 4 bedroom and it was great. The staff was so kind and helpful! The shower head in the bathroom isn't on a hook so you have to manually hold it, the outlets aren't right next to the beds, and the street outside was kind of loud & dodgy at night but I would definitely recommend because you can't beat the location next to St. Charles station and within walking distance of all the sights. Marseille is a beautiful city and I totally recommend going to the Port du Prado beach!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2017
10.0

Awesome place to stay. Quiet & clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2017
9.1

Really enjoyed my stay for the two nights! The staff and environment were a lot nicer than many other hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
7.7

The best thing about this hostel was the showers-super hot water and great pressure! The location is literally across the road from the train station but the area is a little sketchy...didn't feel that safe walking home at night (I guess that's normal in Marseilles though). Was disappointed that people didn't mix more (free WiFi can be both a blessing and a curse). As a solo traveller it was difficult to meet people so would have been nice if the staff organised some events in the evenings.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2017
7.7

Marseille is gritty and this place fits right in. It has a bit of a shabby feel - like a real hostel in a gritty city should - but it is well clean. It is basically across the street from the train station, and it only takes about 10-15 minutes to walk to the Vieux Port. I stayed in the 2-bed dorm, which overlooks the Rue des Petites Maries. This tiny alley was remarkably noisy all night. Make sure you stay in a room overlooking the inner courtyard instead of the street.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×