X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vertigo Centre Reviews

42 rue de petites maries, Marseille, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3439 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Very friendly hostel, located close to the main train station, however not in a nice part of Marseille and not very safe.


91%

The hostel is great ... Really good wifi unless in upstairs rooms which is annoying. I've stayed here multiple times as marseille is a great base for France to spain travel. Really close to train station and great social areas . Breakfast is ridoulous for what u pay an think should e included in rooms anyway. 16bed my favourite room .. Cooler gets wifi and all beds have plugs. The 4bed I stayed in had no lockers,plus or wifi or fans really dissapointing. But otherwise great hostel!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey . Thank you for your review. you are right, we are actually working on different things you pointed out. Lockers in every room first, and wifi on the upper levels, this requires all our energy right now. Breakfast, which is a all-you-can-eat buffet, is not ridiculous for when you go to a hotel is usually costs 7 or 8 euros in France and you don't get all you want. Anyway I'm very glad you had a good time with us. best regards, Remy

97%

After a long day travelling we were slightly dreading our previously booked 16 bed-dorm. However on arriving we were shocked at how fine it was. The dorm is huge with an upstairs part and supplied by 3 showers. The dorm door cannot be locked, but each bed has a large locker next to it so this was not an issue for us. The common area is great with a good bar and a kitchen filled with lots of decent food and drink already. The reception staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

perfect stay! would go again.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

nice place to meet ppl!


91%

This was one of the best hostels I've stayed at on my trip. The outdoor area is such a great way to meet other travellers, and the six bedroom dorm was spacious and clean. Area is kind of dodgy, but I would definitely stay here again!


86%

great place to stay in spite of a little bit scary location but a perfect one in the same time - 3 minutes on foot from the railway station.Great common space with a spacious kitchen. Easy to make friends. Very friendly staff. Highly recommended !!!!!!!!

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nothing i am very satisfied it was really nice!

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

there were no security lockers... actually no lockers at all...


80%

The hostel itself felt like home all the time and there`s nice village atmosphere because of the courtyard where`s the access to the rooms. The dorm (for 6) where I stayed was cozy and there was two bathrooms which was nice. The common area had also very social atmosphere and there was easy to meet new people. The size of the hostel was nearly perfect, there`s just enough people to create that social and cozy atmosphere. The location is near central railway station and not too far from the city

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really cool hostel with a bar and great for getting into random chats outside with people. Didn't have a locker in the room, but 2 showers. And a respectful nights sleep.


94%

I loved it, very welcoming staff, implecably clean, and an amazing terrace where you can enjoy nice talks or just be relaxed.


71%

It will be better if there is more stove, there is only one and people are waiting for cooking. Lockers inside the room should be added, there is space to put it, why not add it? However, there is a lot of steps in the hostel.... so... if you have a heavy baggage, try to arrange a room with fewer steps.


80%

Good hostel, well located at 15 mi walk from the bars, and it has a big supermarket at 2 min walk, staff very friendly!


91%

Nice hostel right by train station. About 15 min walk to city center and port. Nice facilities and on smaller side so easy to meet people


80%

Regarding to the atmosthere, I think the hostel should organize special events, as it is not so close to Vieux Port and other interesting places to go at night. I didn't feel very interesting to people of 30's (like me), at least during August - most of the people was at their early 20's.


86%

Great place it stay!! No a/c tho, had a little fan which just did the job!! Wifi was good!! Bit out the way but short metro trip down the port/old town!! Good atmosphere


91%

Literally anyone going back packing and wanting to see marseille this is a great place to stay, met so many people and that bar had really cheap drinks, the common room area was amazing and so many friendly people !

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Stayed in the 16 bedroom dorm at the back of the hostel. The bathrooms in there were amazing. Bring your own lock! Easy walk from the train station and to the port! Ask the front desk how to get to the Calanque, they are really friendly! Quite the hike but well worth it!

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a very nice weekend. The hostal is very close to the station and it's very easy to get. The Staff was very helpful, they gave advices about where to eat and to go. The atmosphere is amazing, a very young and funny place. I would definitely suggest to go there if you're planning a weekend in Marseille.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(113 results)


View all Marseille Hostels

Please give us your feedback