X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vertigo Centre Reviews

42 rue de petites maries, Marseille, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3347 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

It's a very good hostel, very secure and just in front of the main train station. The only annoying problem I found were the crackling beds in the 8 people room. Everytime someone was moving, you could hear cause the noise was loud!

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

You had to return your when you left the hostel and then say your room number to get it back when you come back, so anyone could just say your room number and go into your room. There are also no lockers in the room and the WiFi didn't work at all in our 3rd floor room. Location is close to train station which was convenient but apparently an unsafe area according to a friend from Marseille. Ensuite bathroom was spacious and very clean.


91%

Great location, 2 minutes from the main train station. in a side street but that's not much of a problem. Staff were great, atmosphere was brilliant. Only there one night but got a 3 bed cabin to myself. annoying thing was it was raining so to walk to it from the main hostel building required getting wet. Breakfast was adequate, WiFi was great, computers not so much. Shame you cant bring your own drinks you have to buy from the bar. Everything was clean and no problems to report.


94%

The staff at Vertigo Centre is what I remember the most. There were some pretty nice people and easy to talk to. The rooms were nice and clean and having bathrooms/showers in each room is a definite plus! The kitchen was pretty stocked with cookware. Best of all, its right next to the train station :) Its a nice place to land at!


100%

really good place and staff : )


80%

Great staff!

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really liked the atmosphere and the staff were very helpful! It was a bit noisy, but it didn't make much of a difference!

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Expensive, but very nice. The staff was very helpful and friendly.


89%

First and foremost the staff are really friendly and welcoming. The hostel has a great atmosphere and is in a charming townhouse with a terrace area. The twin room I had was a decent size and was very clean. The hostel is very easy to find from the train station, only 2 mins away! Only really a 15 min walk to the Vieux Port too. Only thing I would say is the breakfast is maybe a tad on the expensive side for 5 euros for what you get - ie. no cereal, yoghurt, meat, just bread and viennoiseries.

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly staff. Very close to the train station.


94%

Very nice hostel with friendly staff. Authentic atmosphere, draws a good crowd

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Remy

97%

We enjoyed very much our stay in Hotel Vertigo in Marseille. The staff was particularly pleasant and the hotel is very well located.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci. Hopefully we'll see you again next time you come to marseille. Remy

74%

I stayed in Vertigo vieux port and Vertigo Centre. If you have the choice, I preferred Vieux Port- newer facilities, cleaner, nicer location and free breakfast!


100%

Best place to stay.Thanx a lot

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are so welcome! See you next time.

91%

I liked the hostel. Good for one night sleep. You just have to take your own towels if you want ro take a shower or rent one. Location is just perfect. No elevator though. I left my big suitcase on a locker they have downstairs and carried the small one up to 3rd floor. I had a nice experience there

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel, staff really really welcoming, room average but very clean , really nice reception and bar where you can meet other people or just stay to read and the very charming terrasse where you could stay the whole day! Thanks for making Marseille nicer.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Perfectly located near the station.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall a great place to stay. Very relaxing vibe with many opportunities to chat with fellow travelers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your comment, regards, Adele

80%

I stayed one night at Vertigo Vieux-Port and two nights at Vertigo Centre. I would recomand the both: they are clean and staff are kind. Plus of Vieux-Port: breakfast (juice, hot beverages, bread and jam) included, the location is the best to enjoy Marseille. Plus of Centre: rooms and common areas are very cosy, there is a bar so you can have a beer in the veranda and it is 3 minutes by feet from the station.


(154 results)


View all Marseille Hostels

Please give us your feedback