Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Victoria Falls Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 303 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 303 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9
Victoria Falls Backpackers Located at P.O.Box 151, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe, 357 Gibson Road, Victoria Falls.
Victoria Falls Backpackers
Zimbabwe
Victoria Falls P.O.Box 151, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe, 357 Gibson Road
80% 303
-17.9222960 25.8260090
Victoria Falls Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Jan 2017
8.6

Overall..I can recommend it, but... The latch on the door to my room (9) did not work, so when inside the room, you could not really close it. Very slack maintenance. I stayed two nights, and fortunately I bathed 5 times River rafting, be ause the showers looked less than sanitary. Slack cleaning. Atmosphere, ok, but, I never saw the TV go off, and being located right in the center of the social area of the hostel, well, you get the idea.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Dec 2016
8.9

The straff was very kind and helpful when we wanted to adjust our reservation. The taxi drivers they collaborate with are cheaper, thus no need to bargain. Very clean and tidy. Highly recommended, we had a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Dec 2016
6.9

The hostel has good facilities but a bit too far from the town. We were greeted by the owner who wasn't happy that we arrived so late at 9pm. The room that we got had lots of holes and many moscitoes inside and the net had many holes. Next day we asked to be moved to another room which was way better. The receptionist was very helpful and polite. The showers didn't have any hot water so cold showers only. Avoid spa services. Ruined my nails and during massage was constantly talking on the phone

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Dec 2016
6.0

Well... the problem concerns the whole Victoria Falls town, it is just a tourist trap. Coming from nearby regions, here you will find everything quoted in USD/EUR at even higher western prices for every kind of activity you'd like to do, also the use of wifi. The hostel doesn't except and the staff is just strictly concerned about the income. Said this, the place is nice and given the lack of other similiar structures, it guarantees one of the few way to save some money through the kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Dec 2016
9.1

Quiet location out of town, but within walking distance. Very helpful staff and overall atmosphere. Only negative is the expensive wifi- they charge 3usd/day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2016
9.4

Really near to vic falls. Fish spa good for all. Swimming pool great with playground like swings & hammock. All beds have nets to keep nozzles out. Staff helpful & friendly. J had helped with transport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Nov 2016
7.4

nice hostel with pool and fish spa a bit far away from town but nice and safe place

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marenreiche2070
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Oct 2016
5.4

Left 2 days early because of massive amounts of mosquitos in the room; mosquito nets completely broken, no window shields; lack of cleanlyness as well; beds very short, of you are over 1,80 m you won't fit into it....had to 'sleep' next to the watchman, who watched movies all night; so no sleep at all. For 60 US Dollars per Night - inaceptable! (Although staff was nice) We found a much better Place after all though.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi guys we are really sorry to hear about the bad night you experienced staying with us. We are thankful you let us know what the problems were. We especially are thankful you let us know about our nightwatchman and we especially apologize for that we had NO idea about the noise coming from his caravan but that has stopped now! We are also addressing the other problems you raised - the windows have mosquito wire mesh netting, we are replacing all our mosquito nets with new, bigger and better quality nets. The cleanliness we believe has always been of a very high standard also for now our beds are still standard size as we just finished buying new mattresses for all those Double En Suite and Twin rooms....kind regards, J (Lodge Manager)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Oct 2016
8.6

Great service and friendly staff. More chilled out and relaxing compared to other backpacker hostels. Clean and cosy rooms and Victoria Falls town about a 20-25 minute walk away or $3-5 in a taxi. Victoria Falls national park also only a short taxi ride away. Very pleasant stay and would suit any age of traveller. Thank you very much!! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Oct 2016
5.1

The rooms were too hot to sleep in, filled with mosquitos and crammed full of beds. Had to taxis to get anywhere in town, and the atmosphere is a bit. ... weird. Yes it is very quiet and relaxing, that is a definite plus. However another downside was irregular food service hours, and the need to order dinner hours in advance. Just things to keep in mind before booking.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.