Hostelworld.com

Victoria House Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 843 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 843 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6
Victoria House Hostel Located at 6 Rue Docteur Jacques Guidoni, , Nice.
Victoria House Hostel
France
Nice 06000 6 Rue Docteur Jacques Guidoni
86% 843
43.6983325 7.2717690
Victoria House Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jun 2016
6.0

While the Victoria Hostel is in a very central location, our double room was so small and run down that it was dismal and depressing. Additionally, there was no sense of community as there usually is in a hostel. When we were there street work was going on outside which continued loudly through the night. Also be prepared that the rooms are very warm at night, requiring is to keep our windows open for ventilation. We were bitten by mosquitos the entire night, making it hard to sleep.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2016
9.4

One of the best hostels we've stayed in thanks in part to a fantastic staff and a really enjoyable atmosphere. The Victoria is tucked away but still in a central location, and is in a cozy neighborhood right off the main stretch. The prices stayed consistent and the staff were always willing to help and give advice when needed. Would definitely stay here again if traveling in Nice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2016
4.6

The facility seems to have equipped with all necessities but their quality is appalling. The bathroom is impossibly small and mold and rust seen on the basin and toilet. When I first checked in during late night, the male staff walked in the female room without knocking or unlocking the door. The next night I found the room door wide open and the same staff told me no need to close the door when my roommates partying in the kitchen. I shortened my stay and am waiting for refund.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Madam, You indicated you would check-in at 8 pm but you arrived after midnight and never answer our email, phone call or text messages. Then you close the door of the room and prevent the others guests to come in their room. The age limit is 40 years old, you are more than 50 years old, but we did not cancell your reservation. You did not match with the friendly atmosphere of the hostel. It is not a retirement place! We should definitely have cancelled your reservation.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th May 2016
8.6

If you want a wonderful, organic, social hostel experience, this is the place to come home to! Its lack lustre interior is more than made up for by the absolutely wonderful people that make this place a home away from home. Joel, Val and Simon know your name and make a huge effort to accomodate you, show you the sites and if you're lucky- cook for you! This is the best hostel I've stayed in because of them and the wonderful people I met there. Thank you, and I'll stay everytime I'm in Nic

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th May 2016
8.3

Joel is wonderful! He was always available for recommendations and assistance. The hostel itself is on the third story of an apartment building. The beds are rather squeaky and could use some tightening of the bolts, the bathrooms are tiny and have black mold around the edges. Tiny lockers are available in the rooms for valuables. Overall, aside from the bathroom, Victoria house was a wonderful stay for me and I really enjoyed my stay. Location is excellent. 5 minutes from beach and promenade

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ellenspasojevic
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th May 2016
9.7

Great location and very reasonable price. Friendly staff willing to help as much as possible and a nice big kitchen to prepare your own meals in. Comfy beds and bathroom in your own dorm other forms had there own mini kitchen aswell, great value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th May 2016
5.7

Positives, the location of the hosel couldn't be better. Everyday staff member very nice. Negatives, rooms and bathrooms are tiny, storage space very limited, especially areas to lock items. The hostel isn't super clean. There was mold in the bathroom, squeaky beds, ect. No real common space. Serious lack of effort from manager to accommodate a change to last night of reservation. Gave notice at checkin 6 days in advance of canceled last night, still charged us. Little effort to help us!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st May 2016
7.4

The hostel and the staff is incredible welcoming. It's in a good location and the staff will go out of their way to help you. The one guy who's name starts with an S though is married and was hitting on the girls there - not cool. The bathroom is small but doable but is moldy- typical European bathroom. The staff is not there all the time and there are no lockers to lock your backpack in - just a really small one for little things. The walls are paper thin too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2016
10.0

Great Hostel in a supreme location. A couple of minutes (talking 2-3) walk to the small streets of old town nice. Two more minutes to the beach and if you turn the other direction you are in the middle of modern-shopping-city nice. Loved the place and the personal and would definitely go back there. Thank you guys! Doing an awesome job!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th May 2016
9.1

Victoria house hostel was lovely! Enjoyed getting to know the staff as well as the city. There is so much to do in Nice and we would have been lost without the great suggestions given to us by Simo and Joel. Will forever have fond memories of this city partly because of the hostel!!!! Thanks again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.