Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Vienna City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.0
Vienna City Hostel Located at Dampfgasse 8, , Vienna.
Vienna City Hostel
Austria
Vienna Vienna A-1100 Vienna Dampfgasse 8
72% 643
48.1799229 16.3722467
Vienna City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jul 2016
9.1

Very clean and comfortable place to stay, social atmosphere insignificant during my stay but other guests were tidy and polite. Staff also very kind and patient. Location not perfect but very easy to get to and from city center.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
6.6

The hostel is not so bad. The bad things are, first of all, Internet, they say it works but it never worked for me and neither the other guys I met at the hostel. Rooms are really small. Location is the worst of all. Even when there's a metro stationnn close, if you want to take a walk to downtown, is impossible. Its a decent option if u dont have other place to go.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
7.7

Very clean and nice, slightly more of a hotel feel than a hostel. The wifi wasn't brilliant and I wouldn't bother with the breakfast but it's a good location and the staff are helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • joshua_silkin1980
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jul 2016
4.0

This joint is run by a bunch of narks, the stay I had where was shocking considering I price I payed to this place. The beds aren't made you must make the yourself. If you don't leave anything on your bed they remove the sheets and have to ask for more. If you're rolling a cigarette outside the staff will monitor you like a child to make sure you're not doing anything illegal, then they ask you to move up the road. Don't come here, this is not a hostel, it's a daycare centre.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
2.0

Absolutely horrible atmosphere and staff, was told to leave the front area when having a smoke and quitely talking to some people I'd met at about 10pm, no other place to smoke and extremely dodgy part of town, lockers didn't work and beds seemed to make me itchy. Only upside was the water pressure was decent. Highly recommended not staying at this hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
8.0

Good location, very close to the Wein main station and U is also very close.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2016
9.1

Nice hostel near the new railway station Vienna central. About 15 minutes walking or you take the tram. Room was clean but small, breakfast costs extra but it's reasonable. Wifi connection was good and the staff very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • xanthia
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Jul 2016
8.0

Good hostel! We were there during the euro cup so such a good atmosphere with everyone crowd in around the tv watching the football! The rooms were quite small but no complaints from me! Free candy at the entrance and good wifi! Thanks for a good stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
28th Jun 2016
3.4

Location was poor, two bunk beds and we could hardly move in the room let alone get ready in the mornings, rooms were dirty on arrival, no bar, no atmosphere, but you could wash and dry your clothes for €6

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
8.3

Good clean Hostel. My only piece of advice is don't rent the bikes. We tried 4 different bikes and they were all broken, finally picked two that appeared to work but got two miles down the road before they both broke too :(

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.