Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vienna City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 693 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 693 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.7
Vienna City Hostel Located at Dampfgasse 8, , Vienna.
Vienna City Hostel
Austria
Vienna Vienna A-1100 Vienna Dampfgasse 8
71% 693
48.1799229 16.3722467
Vienna City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Aug 2016
6.6

The hostel is clean, but the rooms are very small. We were 3 friends in a 4 bed room and it was cramped. It would be a little uncomfortable if you weren't sharing with friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Aug 2016
8.9

A very nice hostel however there was not mcuh atmosphere. Luckily we met guys in the room and went out for drinks with them. The staff were very helpful and the place was lovely good if you want a quiet break.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Aug 2016
6.6

the curtains in the room wouldnt shut properly, and it was very warm. a fan would have been good! other than that, i had a good stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2016
8.6

Staff were friendly and helpful, beds were comfrey and everything was kept clean. The location is a little far out but close to public transport stops so it wasn't an issue. Breakfast was expensive for what it was and there aren't nice places to go nearby for food but there are lots of grocery shops.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Aug 2016
7.4

We only stayed for a night in this hostel and our room was a 6 bed sharer. There turned out to be only another couple in the same room who we got on with well and hung out with for the night. So, good room planning! The room itself was a little on the plane and dreary side but it had good facilities. There was also a hairdryer which was a nice surprise (I forgot mine lol). Overall we didn't spend enough time here to give a proper review,but it was a pleasant stay and good value for money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2016
3.7

My iPad and US$150 were STOLEN inside of a close locker, but without a padlocker (you need to buy it if you want to properly lock your locker), inside of my room. There was a suspect man at our female room, whom checked-in as a girl as later we discovered at the reception data. Anyone can get in to the hostel's domains and sometimes we found the room's door open. After all this LACK OF SECURITY, the hostel didn't offer us almost any kind of support and DID NOT EVEN APOLOGIZE US.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
6.3

There was one staff member you was incredible rude! We bought a cycle in the laundry room and when we sore them they smelt of mold so of course we perlightly asked for a refund. Long story short unprovoked he threatened to chuck us out and called me retarded for asking (not insisting) for a refund. This is the first time I had any issues with any staff on my 5 week trip around Europe! I wouldn't go again even for free!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Aug 2016
5.7

Dead common area. There was a guy literally living in my room which is a thing hostels shouldn't allow, or at least seperate those guys from travellers. He was up until 2 a.m. watching TV with all the lights on...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Aug 2016
7.1

Staff really friendly and helpful! Room very clean and an overall good atmosphere! But disappointing about facilities though, no kettle for tea and no kitchen to even make a sandwich.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
6.6

This hostel was thoroughly average. No free services, but good metro connections and a value price for the city of Vienna.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.