Hostelworld.com

Vienna City Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 614 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 614 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.1
Vienna City Hostel Located at Dampfgasse 8, , Vienna.
Vienna City Hostel
Austria
Vienna Vienna A-1100 Vienna Dampfgasse 8
74% 614
48.1799229 16.3722467
Vienna City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
7.4

Well placed by the train station but not to the city centre, no lockers but the rooms were very secure, most places don't have air conditioning so be prepared for the inescapable heat, good social area downstairs, staff could be slightly cheerier :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jun 2016
3.7

When you first arrive you have to make your own bed, the last thing you want if your exhausted and it's late at night. The sink is in the shower and the toilet is separate. You have to hold the shower head yourself. A bedroom of six had only three sockets which is stupid. The majority of the staff where unhelpful and unenthusiastic. Despite being on the top floor, ants still shared our bed. Definitely do not stay here it's not worth it!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
7.1

We did not notice there are no kitchen in this hostel but only Microwave. Our Food which need be in freezer have to give to the staff and he use key to turn on kitchen door. We are not allowed to get in kitchen or even touch the freezer which is a Little bit strange. Wifi Connection is poor for mobile in the room but my Computer can search wifi next to the bed near toilet. You Need luck to have good wifi in room. The best wifi Signal is at payable computer area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
8.0

Stayed just one night there. Clean bathrooms, beds, little far from central Vienna but overall very satisfied with my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
8.9

Really enjoyed our stay here. Hostel coupled with a pass for transport pass worked well as a Vienna base. Staff were helpful and polite. Shower was good. WiFi was pretty patchy in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2016
8.6

Awesome place, awesome staff, not so close to the centre but very close to metro, I would stay once again for sure!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
5.7

This hostel is located pretty far out from the main Zentrum area however, the benefit was that it was very close to the underground line (2-3 min walk). As you're slightly further out you lose the atmosphere of the main area. Staff upon arrival weren't massively helpful (i.e where to go, what to see) which isn't what you want upon arrival to a new city. However, the lady at the desk the following day was fantastic and had we met her upon arrival our view would have been different.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th May 2016
4.0

Unfriendly staff, poor location, cramped rooms, wifi didn't work in the room, no social atmosphere. The €5 'all you can eat' breakfast consisted of stale rolls and watery ham. A very disappointing stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2016
6.3

Staff were unenthusiastic & unhelpful.There was a leak from the shower in our room which I brought up with the manager only to receive a blank facial expression & "okay" instead of "we will have that sorted". This same manager grumpily hassled us out of our room on check out day & demanded we bring down our bed linen for cleaning which we found odd as we never received any bed linen in the first place... Lastly my friend was not even allowed to use 100ml of milk for a bowl of cereal.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Mar 2016
7.7

Hostel is far from the city center, but not too far if you rent their bikes. And it is only 15€ for two day rental, something that I can recommend strongly. But the room was not very spacious, too small for 4 people. But the wifi was working in the room. And the staff was helpful too. If I ever go to Vienna, I can stay at this one again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.