Hostelworld.com

Vienna City Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 589 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 589 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3
Vienna City Hostel Located at Dampfgasse 8, , Vienna.
Vienna City Hostel
Austria
Vienna Vienna A-1100 Vienna Dampfgasse 8
76% 589
48.1799229 16.3722467
Vienna City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2016
6.3

Staff were unenthusiastic & unhelpful.There was a leak from the shower in our room which I brought up with the manager only to receive a blank facial expression & "okay" instead of "we will have that sorted". This same manager grumpily hassled us out of our room on check out day & demanded we bring down our bed linen for cleaning which we found odd as we never received any bed linen in the first place... Lastly my friend was not even allowed to use 100ml of milk for a bowl of cereal.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Mar 2016
7.7

Hostel is far from the city center, but not too far if you rent their bikes. And it is only 15€ for two day rental, something that I can recommend strongly. But the room was not very spacious, too small for 4 people. But the wifi was working in the room. And the staff was helpful too. If I ever go to Vienna, I can stay at this one again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Mar 2016
5.4

The location is convenient in terms of the metro but safety wise it is in an area that felt beyond unsafe. It's the most basic of hostels that's I'd only recommend if you're looking for something inexpensive near a metro.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
7.1

I think the ratings could be better. When we came in the room, bedding were strewn everywhere , trash was full, litter on the floor and hair in the bathroom. An hour later came the cleaners and did nothing. Only clean the trash. The service was pleasant. Wifi only works downstairs. The price was great. Except for the cleanliness I can recommend. I think that it was an exception and next it will be better

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • misskittyyang8106
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
31st Dec 2015
9.4

There's a metro near the hostel, and many restaurants around. The staff are nice. Breakfast not included but you can pay about 4.9€ for breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2015
6.0

The staff was unfriendly. She cleaned and arrange the tables in a bad tempered--it happend when a group of guests finished their breakast. It was annoying to see such thing during our breakfast

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • outofrosenheim
  • Turkey, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2015
6.3

there is not enough power socket in the rooms. And the internet connection is not good. atmosphere wasn't good and i didn't like this hostel so much. the one thing i love about this hostel was my roommates.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2015
6.9

It would be nice if they would add hand soap in the bathrooms, very weird it was not provided. And i paid for a 4 bedroom and was put in a 6 bedroom.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Dec 2015
7.4

Everything was fine. U bahn station is 5 minutes walking distance. Most terrible thing is wifi is not available in the room. Only available in the lobby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2015
7.1

My stay in Vienna city hostel would have been perfect if only the rooms and the bathroom had been cleaned better

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.