Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vientiane Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 395 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 395 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Sep 2017
10.0

I had a great stay at Vientiane backpacker Hostel, it is brand new and very modern in style. The curtains allow for extra privacy, beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. Good air con and wifi connection, also a locker for valuables. I stayed here a few nights whilst I was sorting my Vietnamese visa and I loved to chill in the common room, it felt very homely with cable tv & good music. Even better there was a puppy in reception! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iran, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2017
10.0

Great atmosphere and everything they make new , new friends and very helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Aug 2017
2.0

This hostel is completely lying about the state it is in - it is a building site that should require hard hats. No wifi except downstairs in the 'communal room' which had builders sleeping in No lamps, wires hanging everywhere No air con, a fan Bed bugs The corridor had no ceiling and it rained Nowhere to lock valuables We left at 1 in the morning, escaping to another hotel due to bed bugs and generally feeling unsafe - had to argue and only got one night refunded!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • littlemiss_s
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Aug 2017
8.6

Hostel is under construction right now... were sent to the funkey monkey hostel first where we had bed bugs... returned to this hostel and it was way better! Very clean for Laos and staff was very nice! Only problem was that the construction started at 8am so you could not sleep very long... but that did not bother us too much...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
10.0

super friendly customer service. Excellent accommodation and food was delicious. Great location to major tourist sights. the room was clean and good WiFi . highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
2.9

This hostel was disgusting. It stank of cigarettes inside, the place was falling apart, the beds were like wood and the staff were so unfriendly and unhelpful. Do not stay here. There were plenty other nicer looking hostels nearby.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2017
4.3

HOSTEL CATFISH. Nothing like it's photos. The dorm room beds were cut in half so there were bizarrely no top bunks, and the floor tiles were cracked and coming up. Lockers didn't lock properly- and the beds had bed bugs. Only good thing was the aircon& location. 10/10 would NOT recommend to a friend

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
17th Apr 2017
6.0

Staff were helpful once you'd managed to get their attention away from their phones. We booked a 12 bed dorm but ended up in a 24 bed, it wasn't an issue for us though. Not far away from anything, plenty places to eat around and about.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Apr 2017
7.1

Great location, right near the night market! Aircon was on in our room most of the time which was a relief as it is so hot there at the moment. Staff helpful in helping us how to get to Chiangmai as it was Songkran and it was a little confusing. Also breakie was simple but nice! All in all a great short stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×