Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown Reviews

9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained


1427 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Awesome place to stay in Hanoi! The atmosphere is amazing, facilities great, and you will meet tons of people! Highly recommend


Amazing backpackers hostel, especially if you like a few drinks in the evening. Has all the facilities you could want and a good Western food menu. Extremely social with events on every night. They can also plan your whole Vietnam trip for you with tours offered to all corners.


Great hostel! The staff is very helpful when it comes to helping you plan your trip around Vietnam. The food and the drinks are great, and they offer tons of activites so its the perfect way to meet more people if you are traveling on your own.

  • 30th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Best hostel I have been to in south east Asia. hands down you should stay here, as a solo traveller so easy to meet people. only caution is go do your own tours as booking with hem is too e pensive and from what I have heard not worth it.


Located in the center of old town close to all central points of interest. A party hostel, however I didn't have any noise at the room and people who entered late were quiet and considerate.


All of the lockers were broken in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. We take all comments very seriously to help improve our facilities and service. I checked all the lockers in the rooms immediately however, was unable to find a problem with any of our lockers. Can you tell me which room you were staying in please. Cheers, Downtown Manager


The 5th fl common area was stiflingly hot & the one on the 1st fl deafeningly loud (even before happy hour commenced). "AC curfew" in the rooms until 6 pm. The Old Quarter is difficult to walk around in due to intense congestion and people occupying sidewalks for every purpose (mostly commerce and parking motorbikes) other than walking, prices are high & it's hard to relax unless you fight your way to the lake. Their night bus to Sapa parks at a sweltering truck stop & cuts the AC for hours.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We appreciate any feedback to help us improve our facilities and service. Hanoi can be very humid through certain parts of the year so it is always a good idea to check the temperature before you arrive. We provide fans & A/C throughout our hostel, however can be difficult to maintain ambient temperature all of the time in rooms and common areas. We can however change this on request to make you more comfortable. Thanks again. Downtown Manager


Excellent location with friendly staff and atmosphere. Toilets were cleaned regularly as well (few times a day) so it was pleasant even though it was a shared toilet. Eating and drinking in the hostel costs a bit more than what's available right outside but I guess that's the same for any establishment like this.


This is party central industrial so be warned. But aside from that, the staff are amazing and always ready to give you authentic trip advice, there's great food, a big common area to meet people, regular pub crawls, so not a bad place for solo/group travelers at all. And while yes the price is a wee bit steep, the facilities and the atmosphere definitely make up for it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. You are right we have a massive fun element to our Downtown hostel and so if you'd prefer a slightly quieter environment then I would recommend our 'Vietnam Backpacker Hostel - Original' location to stay at, which is also in the old City. A big thumbs up for mentioning all the other positives for our location and the great scores you gave us. Thanks again, Downtown Manager


I had booked an airport transfer to pick me up at 9pm when I landed but the car never arrived to pick me up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Firstly thanks for your feedback. It is really important to us to help us improve our service. It is a shame to hear that your taxi was not there to pick you up as arranged. We do have a very reliable pick-up service from the airport so this is rare for us however, I can only apologise for the inconvenience this caused you. Thanks for the good scores other than that. Hope to see you back sometime. Cheers, Downtown Manager


Super fun

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Just wanted to say thanks for your comment. We strive to create a fun experience for all that stay with us and glad that you agree with what we do. Cheers, Downtown Hostel


Pleasant and cheerful hostel, good vibes, free breakfast, good music and 24 hour check out was brilliant because i had awkwardly timed flights. I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our 24hr service helped you with your flights. You are welcome back anytime. Thanks again, Downtown Manager


Excellent staff, atmosphere, location, food and drink. Booked the Castaways your with them to Halong Bay and I have to give a special shout out to Rory and the rest of the staff there for being so friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks man for your great review and glad you had a great time in the hostel and out in Halong Bay on our Castaways Island. Your feedback about your staff is also very important and will be sure to give him a pat on the back for you. Hope to see you back in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager


Good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, Thanks for giving us a great score on HW. It is really important to us and glad you think we are a 'good hostel'. Cheers, Downtown Manager


Had a great stay here. The rooms were very nice, spacious and clean. Super comfy beds and the bathrooms were clean which was great. Staff were really nice and helpful and I would say it was great value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Wow what a great review. Thanks so much for your feedback and I'm really happy you had a great stay and enjoyed our facilities. We hope to see you back some time soon. Cheers, Downtown Manager


This hostel was the noisiest one I have ever ever stayed in! Spent two nights here and then had to move, both nights in different sized rooms, this didn't make a difference they were both soo noisy. Unless you want to get pissed this hostel is terrible. The trips were overpriced. The free walking tour was BRUTAL.


No air con between 10am and 6pm means the rooms in the hostel are unbearable in the day time. To the point my friend was unwell and had to sit in the lobby for 3 hours as this was the only air conditioned place. Rooms aren't the cleanest but the focus of the hostel is definitely on sociability. Hostel staff aren't helpful once informed you will not be booking tours with them. Hostel was average at best, failed to understand such ratings on here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your recent review. It is a shame to hear that you did not receive great impression from us. We try very hard to accommodate our guests wherever possible and so although we do not have the AC on all day everyday in the rooms, if you had spoken to us regarding your circumstances (friend being unwell) we could have switched it on for you no problem. All of your comments have been addressed & thanks for helping us to improve our service. Cheers Downtown Manager


aome staff on the bar werent the friendliest

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Firstly thanks for leaving your review of our hostel. I can see that you enjoyed the facilities and cleanliness about the hostel. I'd like to apologise if you had a bad experience with one of our bar staff. Fun is what we do well and friendly staff is a major factor towards that and has since been addressed in our regular staff training sessions. I'll shout you a free beer next time you visit us. Thanks again. Cheers, Downtown Manager


Was in an ideal location, always clean and the staff were really helpful if you had any questions. Can get a bit noisy on the evenings if you wanted an early night and there is always someone leaving early in the morning but that's typical hostel life!


cool hostel, I stayed in 3 hostels in Hanoi and all were similar but this was the best. I appreciate that downtown employ a lot of Vietnamese staff but the hostel itself could be anywhere in the world. much like all the hostels I stayed in or visited for quotes while staying in Hanoi, it was pretty generic. I think to stand out there needs to be a real Vietnamese hostel in Hanoi. dont just out posters up about the culture embrace some of it in the hostel decor and layout. otherwise great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, I'm really glad to hear you had a great stay with us and that you liked our hostel most, whilst comparing with others in Hanoi. We have a fantastic team of both International and Vietnamese staff and aim to find the balance between traditional experiences & Western customer service. Get the best traditional experience in Hanoi by attending our free walking tour of the old City or talk to us about getting off the beaten track outside the City. Thanks again for your feedback. Downtown Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(114 results)

View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback