X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown Reviews

9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1332 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Good atmosphere, if a little loud at times. Facilities were good also, although water did stop working for a good while at one stage. Again, annoying that AC is not on in the dorms during the day, as it was incredible hot when we stayed and not any particularly cool places within hostel.


91%

This is the best hostel I've staying at in SEA so far! It was awesome having people that can help and answer all my questions. Everyone speaks English which made it really easy. The castaway tour was awesome (you're the best Rory and Courtney!) and it's really easy to meet other backpackers. At night the bar is really fun but if you want a quiet night you can just head to your room and chill. The private double room is awesome but a bit expensive. Dorm rooms are nice and clean! Love this place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for taking the time and leaving us an awesome review and feedback. It is always great to see when customers have an excellent stay with us and enjoy our facilities that we provide. Great to see you had an amazing time on Castaways and thanks for the great feedback about the tour guides, I will pass the message on. Hope to see you again in the future and that the rest of your travels are amazing. Cheers, Downtown Manager

91%

Cool hostel, free beer at the barbecue. Dorms were standard and air con turned off at 10. Overall a great hostel in a fantastic location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey mate, Cheers for the review and feedback. It is always awesome to see that people are having a great time with us and enjoy their stay here. The feedback about the location, dorms and free beer with our rooftop BBQ is great too. We hope to see you again in the future, and that you have some awesome travels. Cheers, Downtown Manager

69%

Stay here if you want to get wasted with 18 year olds. The hostel has a great layout but feels very inpersonal, it's more of a frat bar with a hotel added on. The bed linning really needs replacing as it was covered I stains along with previous guests hair between the sheets. The tour guides who sell the castaway tours seriously need a good meal and a day off, they all look like there on their last legs. Despite this they were all very friendly and made sure they spoke with everyone.


89%

They turn the aircon at 6pm, the rooms can get pretty hot during the day, kinda hard to take a nap if you want to. the breakfast is nice, the common are and bar are very good. nice atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Glad to see you had a good stay with us and have taken the time to leave us a review and feedback. We turn the AC in the rooms off during the day mainly due to customers being out and about in the city for most of the day. It is awesome to see that we create a nice atmosphere, and that the facilities cater for everyone. Cheers, Downtown Manager

77%

Staff were generally helpful, but with such a large number of staff, there were miscommunications. Good party hostel. But with a party hostel comes icky bathrooms at night and early morning when people are drunk and make a mess of things. Rooms were comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Cheers for taking the time and leaving us a review and feedback. It is good to see that the rooms were comfortable, and that the staff were helpful. We hope that the rest of the travels fair well and we would love to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

74%

Did not end up staying here as I heard very negative things. Worth the cancellation fee in my opinion!


94%

The staff were super friendly and the hostel itself was very modern. If you're looking for a place to party, this is it: the common area and bad on the main floor would be going off every night, to the point where it was almost too much. Wi-Fi did not consistently work which made online banking and reservations a cumbersome task.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and feedback. We have had a problem with WIFI recently, however this has been mainly down to re-wiring across Hanoi. It is great to see that the staff were super friendly and that you enjoyed the facilities and atmosphere that we love to create. Hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

Brilliant place to stay. Very friendly staff and great value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Awesome to see you had an excellent stay with us, and that the staff were helpful and very friendly too. Hope to see you again and would like to thank you for the great review. Cheers, Downtown Manager

94%

Super friendly staff and great hostel; clean, secure, spacious and AC (at night). Great for partying but also good for a quiet one as none of the noise travels past the ground floor. trips are expensive and if you go down the road, you'll get them for cheaper elsewhere!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Great to see you had an awesome stay with us, and I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and feedback on the hostel and the facilities that we provide. We hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

94%

The ground floor is busy and noisy all the time, with lots of people drinking and chatting all day long. Really good atmosphere to meet new friends. The upper floors are quiet enough to let me take rest, thanks to everyone in the hostel sticking to the house rules. Everywhere is clean and tidy with good wifi signals=] The place is also in good location surrounded by numerous bars and restaurants.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, It is awesome to see you had a great stay with us. I would like to thank you for taking the time and leaving us a great review and some good feedback about the facilities that we provide and the atmosphere that we create for our customers. We would love to see you again in the future and hope that the rest of the travels fair well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

Fantastic place to stay, especially for young people or the solo traveller. So many activities to get involved in (free beer), amazing tours and the most friendly helpful staff. Also 24hr security which is a plus and under bed lockers aswell as safety boxes and lights

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, It is awesome to see you had an excellent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our tours and our events that we create on a nightly basis, and the facilities and security we provide for our customers. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

BEST HOSTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED AT. The hostel itself is huge and such a good value. The bar on the first floor has a ton of space and they play fun games every night before taking all of the guests out on a pub crawl. The staff is the best and very helpful - would highly recommend the Castaway tour in Ha Long Bay if you have the time. Everybody staying at the hostel has such a good time and I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone. There is no reason to stay anywhere else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Cheers for taking the time and leaving us an awesome review and feedback. It is excellent to see that you enjoyed our facilities and services that we provide, and more importantly that you had a great stay with us. Its great to see you had an amazing time out on Castaways too. We hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

97%

Great hostel, definitely party atmosphere. Really fun. Staff seemed a little busy sometimes to pay attention to guests, but it wasn't overly problematic. They did push their own tour offerings (Castaway Island), but weren't as aggressive as they could have been. Fantastic rooms and very nice, clean bathrooms. Beds have places where you can slide your bags into- bring your own lock. Air conditioning is only on during certain times. Overall a nice hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Cheers for the awesome review and feedback about the facilities that we provide. We would love to see you again in the future, and that the rest of your travels go well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

The hostel was in an amazing location for walking around and exploring the streets. This was one on fly favorite hostel that I stayed at while in Asia. It was walking distance to tons of shopping, food, and nightlife! The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. No complaints about the bathroom as well. The atmosphere down stairs was fun and involved with the travelers. I met a nice employee named Jimmy who showed us around and took us to the bars.


91%

It's a very social and party hostel- go with enthusiasm and you will have a great time! Would recommend the female form- didn't intend for it but loved that it had an ensuing. Nice big lockers for bags as well as a small one by your bed. Make sure your room door shuts behind you otherwise it won't lock. Trips thru them are overpriced but some people prefer the organised stuff. Castaways is famous, fun, and has to be done- just hope you get a good group!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and feedback. I am glad to see you had a great stay with us in our hostel and enjoyed our Castaway trip also. Thank you for the feedback about the dorm room, lockers that we provide and the atmosphere we try to create every night. Also thank you for the feedback about the room door, we will get this fixed immediately. Cheers, Downtown Manager

89%

A very atmospheric hostel, great vibe, great food really modern and quality place! Wifi abit slow but cool chill area and the random free beers at night go down a treat. Bar staff were very friendly. However I was disgusted at the disrecptful, unpleasant and down right rudeness of a couple staff members behind the desk. As a result I won't be staying at the franchises in Hue and Hoi An. Great pity about those indivudals, cause it's one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at.


97%

Amazing atmosphere. Loved the nightly bar crawls and games. Castaway was incredible. No complaints

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Cheers for the awesome review. Glad to see you had an excellent stay and an incredible Castaway trip. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers Downtown Manager

89%

great hostel with a great location. bar and common room had a great atmosphere. showers worked well, wifi worked great but had a minor issue. hostel offers many tours but are on the expensive side. would stay here again and would recommend. free breakfast is an added bonus

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Cheers for the awesome review and feedback about our hostel. It is good to see you had an excellent stay with us and enjoyed the facilities and services we provide. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

80%

This is the place to go to if you want to get rowdy/drunk and meet a ton of people. It is NOT where you go if you want a more low key Hanoi experience. My friend and I stayed in a 14 bed dorm that was super tiny. There were lockers under the beds but much room around the beds to leave your stuff out. The bathrooms are usually pretty clean but get really nasty as the night continues. Castaway tour was really fun but exhausting. Only book with them-it's their own private island.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and feedback. Great to see you had an excellent time on our Castaway trip, and a good stay in the hostel. We do have another location in Hanoi called the Original, which has a lot more of a chilled out vibe to it, and a cool rooftop bar that shuts at 9:30pm. We hope the rest of your travels go well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(153 results)


View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback