X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown Reviews

9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1357 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Best hostel we have stayed at while travelling South East Asia. Such a great atmosphere, clean bathrooms and enough space in the dorms. Really pleasant staff, would have love to have stayed longer!

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Love this place. Great nights out , clean and comfy with lockers. Easy to book trips , recommend the castaway halong bay trip but not the sapa experience (too expensive for what it is) but the hostel is great


100%

Best hostel we stayed at in Vietnam! Very social, clean, good food and AC, comfy beds. Room to watch movies in and play pool of you want a quieter night. Definitely stay here!

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

More flexibility would be good - we wanted to change rooms due to problems the previous night but weren't able to even though many other people hadn't checked in yet. The staff were not very accommodating in this, seemed that they didn't want to look into it for us. Despite this, organised activities were great. The recommended Halong bay cruise was fantastic.


86%

Very well organized hostel. Friendly staff with a good tour office. Definitely go here if you look for a party hostel. Breakfast is insufficient, you need to pay extra for a decent one. Most of the time there are no towels for rent, very annoying!

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Staff are absolutely shocking. Very rude and do whatever they can to màke the most money out of you. Guy from jersey had an absolutely shocking attitude


86%

Hostel is Fun, has good facilities, good breakfast and walking tour. Vietnamese staff can be short. Be warned, it is a major party hostel. Had an excellent night out but moved to the more chilled out sister the 'Original Hostel' for the second night for a quiet beer and a good nights sleep.


91%

Great hostel for young travelers. Fantastic atmosphere with great staff. Food is lovely, rooms are nice. Aircon is only turned on at night so the rooms get very hot during the day.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Clearly a party hostel, which has activitues every night. It is well situated in the old quarter of Hanoi. Good Staff and clean. Can be loud at night, especially because rooms have many people in them.


100%

This is THE hostel to stay at in Hanoi! Not only are you in the central downtown location, but the staff all speak excellent English and are extremely informative and helpful! The bar located in the reception is a little overwhelming at first but once you get settled away the convenience of of great food and drinks on location is wonderful. The rooms are very clean and modern, and surprisingly silent even with the bar downstairs. The castaways tour (offered by VBH) is unreal and a must do!


66%

The staff were really nice, the location was fantastic but I think maybe myself and my girlfriend were unlucky with timing as the other guests gave a bad atmosphere. Nobody interested in talking to anybody outside their group, people looked miserable and a lot of them were very annoying. And I don't think this was due to the hostel, they were just miserable people!

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Super rowdy atmosphere at night, which made it really hard to check in or talk to hostel staff. But seemed that it would be really fun to hang out and party in the hostel, however ever got a chance to because of always running off to sapa and halong bay. Staff helpful with booking buses. Free water refills. Hostel was huge so felt a bit impersonal. But well run

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Cheers for the review and feedback about the hostel, free water refill stations, staff and how the hostel is run. It is good to see that the staff could help with your onward travel after Hanoi. Hope you have a great time in Vietnam and that we see you again in the future. Cheers,

89%

It is a party hostel. There is party and loud music everyday of the week! Very cool atmosphere in the bar-restaurant-lobby area. The staff is helpfull but sometimes they might not speak the best english. Eventhough they say that the rooms have AC it only goes on from 7 pm - 10 am so if it is hot (as it was when I was there: 40° during the day and 38° at night) it is hell and very annoying to be in the hostel in between those hours). Good western food but very expensive and not that good vietnams


80%

Good atmosphere, if a little loud at times. Facilities were good also, although water did stop working for a good while at one stage. Again, annoying that AC is not on in the dorms during the day, as it was incredible hot when we stayed and not any particularly cool places within hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Cheers for the review and feedback, especially about the atmosphere, and facilities. We apologise for the water being cut off, this happened to be the same for the rest of the surrounding block too. We hope you have some awesome travels and that you may come back in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

91%

This is the best hostel I've staying at in SEA so far! It was awesome having people that can help and answer all my questions. Everyone speaks English which made it really easy. The castaway tour was awesome (you're the best Rory and Courtney!) and it's really easy to meet other backpackers. At night the bar is really fun but if you want a quiet night you can just head to your room and chill. The private double room is awesome but a bit expensive. Dorm rooms are nice and clean! Love this place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for taking the time and leaving us an awesome review and feedback. It is always great to see when customers have an excellent stay with us and enjoy our facilities that we provide. Great to see you had an amazing time on Castaways and thanks for the great feedback about the tour guides, I will pass the message on. Hope to see you again in the future and that the rest of your travels are amazing. Cheers, Downtown Manager

94%

Great backpacker/party hostel. Bar always has something going on and staff is helpful with booking trips. Party can spill over into hallways and rooms at times though.


91%

Cool hostel, free beer at the barbecue. Dorms were standard and air con turned off at 10. Overall a great hostel in a fantastic location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey mate, Cheers for the review and feedback. It is always awesome to see that people are having a great time with us and enjoy their stay here. The feedback about the location, dorms and free beer with our rooftop BBQ is great too. We hope to see you again in the future, and that you have some awesome travels. Cheers, Downtown Manager

69%

Stay here if you want to get wasted with 18 year olds. The hostel has a great layout but feels very inpersonal, it's more of a frat bar with a hotel added on. The bed linning really needs replacing as it was covered I stains along with previous guests hair between the sheets. The tour guides who sell the castaway tours seriously need a good meal and a day off, they all look like there on their last legs. Despite this they were all very friendly and made sure they spoke with everyone.


89%

They turn the aircon at 6pm, the rooms can get pretty hot during the day, kinda hard to take a nap if you want to. the breakfast is nice, the common are and bar are very good. nice atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Glad to see you had a good stay with us and have taken the time to leave us a review and feedback. We turn the AC in the rooms off during the day mainly due to customers being out and about in the city for most of the day. It is awesome to see that we create a nice atmosphere, and that the facilities cater for everyone. Cheers, Downtown Manager

77%

Staff were generally helpful, but with such a large number of staff, there were miscommunications. Good party hostel. But with a party hostel comes icky bathrooms at night and early morning when people are drunk and make a mess of things. Rooms were comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Cheers for taking the time and leaving us a review and feedback. It is good to see that the rooms were comfortable, and that the staff were helpful. We hope that the rest of the travels fair well and we would love to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(150 results)


View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback