Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 2445 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 2445 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jonathanelazar2897
  • Canada, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
5.4

Key points: Condoms in toilets Diarhea in alternative toilet Gym music blasting at 6AM

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your recent review as really we appreciate customer feedback. While it's great to hear that you enjoyed our central location and hostel atmosphere, it disappoints to learn that you didn't enjoy your stay as much as most guests. Hostel cleanliness is very important to us which is why the bathrooms are cleaned every two hours. Should something need attention between checks, guests just need to let our 24-hour reception team know so they can send housekeeping to the room. Hope you've been enjoying the rest of your travels. All the best, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2017
8.3

Nice Hostel if you want to party. If you also need some sleep, don't come here. It was really loud all night. Every room has it's own bathroom which I really liked, but it wasn't very clean. The room was a big mess when I arrived and my bed was already used, but that's not the staff's fault, of course! There's one big locker for the backpack and a small one for values, so it' really save. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is great and social.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review as we really appreciate customer feedback. While it's great to hear that staff were helpful and that you enjoyed the social atmosphere, it disappoints that you weren't satisfied with all aspects of your stay as much as most guests. The hostels bathrooms are checked every two hours to ensure that cleanliness is up to standards. Should it need attention between these checks, guests just need to let our 24-hour reception team know and they'll send housekeeping to the room. Hopefully you've been enjoying the rest of your travels. All the best, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
9.4

Amazing hostel, really well thought out of what you need when your a backpacker i.e. ATM in the hostel, Free use of computers, great food menu if your missing some food from home. Loads of dorms meaning lots if people so very social and made loads of new friends ! Beds really comfortable, very clean, always toilet roll haven't ever had to ask !! I WILL deffinently be staying there again!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the incredibly positive feedback! The hostel was created by backpackers for backpackers so it's great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and appreciated the facilities. We hope you've been enjoying the rest of your travels and will be looking forward to your next visit. All the best, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

18th Feb 2017
9.7

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Bars great. Foods good. Staff are amazing. Castaways is the best time ever I LOVE YOU NICK!!!! The free beer is grim though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Feb 2017
9.4

Such a great vibe and best location in my opinion. Drink promos at night are also winners. Free walking tour of old hanoi was great and the three day two night castaway tour done by the hostel was by far a highlight of my trip to Vietnam! Definitely will recommend to friends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the awesome review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Downtown so much that you'll be recommending us to all your friend. Appreciated! We're also thrilled to hear that your trip to Castaways Island was a highlight of your time in Vietnam. Hope you've been enjoying the rest of your travels and that we see you again one day. All the best, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

15th Feb 2017
9.1

Good place to in the old quarter to stay and party. Would recommend staying there for a night before and after the Castaways trip. Travel desk and staff can provide anything you could ever need or want. Bar gets rowdy down stairs with free beer at 6pm every night. Also a solid 5th floor handout area with computers to plan further travel or to just hang.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the awesome review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us a downtown and had an amazing trip to our beloved Castaways Island in Halong Bay. We're also happy to hear that you found the hostel to be a great party but were also able to relax on the 5th floor when you needed to chill out. Hope you've been enjoying the rest of your travels and that we see you again some day. All the best, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

15th Feb 2017
10.0

Awesome party hostel. Gets loud at night, but that's expected for a party hostel. Had a great time again, so thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the incredibly positive feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you had such an awesome stay at Downtown and hope to see you again some day. Safe travels, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Feb 2017
10.0

Cracking Hostel! Atmosphere is electric and you cannot get dragged into it! Free beer every evening for an hour and drinks promotions every night. can watch movies on top floor, beds are very comfy. VERY loud though until about 11.45pm so get some ear plugs!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the positive feedback! It's awesome to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our daily free beer. We do love to host nightly events and parties to make it easy for guests to meet one another but close the bar at 11:30 pm in consideration of those having a quiet night. Hope you've been enjoying the rest of your travels and that we see you again some day. All the best, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Feb 2017
9.4

Fantastic place to stay. Staff were fantastic. Activities great and such a good vibe. Stay here!!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the awesome review! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a great experience at Downtown and hope to see you again some day. Safe travels, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

  • BIGBOIIIIIROB
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.1

There's a reason its the highest rated hostel in Hanoi. If you are looking to drink and have a good time with great people, do yourself a favor and stay here. Got our laundry done in 4 hours for $2 and were greeted with a free beer when we arrived. Showers have great water pressure

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the awesome feedback! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you met a lot of great people while here. Really though he hostel wouldn't be what it is without all our amazing guests so thank you for being one! Hope to see you again some day. Safe travels, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.