Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2,047 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2,047 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown Located at 9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Hanoi.
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
Vietnam
Hanoi 100000 9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi
90% 2047
21.0360411 105.8531856
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
8.0

Great buzz around this hostel, very clean, however, I cannot understand why the air conditioning is only on at night time?! Hanoi is an extremely hot city, and even during the day on the fifth floor which is the chill out area, there are very few fans in operation. The hostel is sweltering most of the day as it is a hive of activity. In our room, the air conditioning was meant to be switched on at 6pm, a staff member came around daily but was often late. Wifi is very unreliable also.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
2.0

DO NOT BOOK CASTWAYS. I had a terrible experience. I booked the 3 days 2 nights tour and paid 185$. However, after the first day there was a huge storm and we had to return 2 days earlier than expected. And they returned less than 40% of the money. We didn't see Halong Bay properly and got scammed by this idiots. DO NOT BOOK THE CASTWAYS TRIP.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
9.1

Hostel was very social and fun, always evening activities to get involved in. Good for younger travellers as buzzing all the time. Great food which was good value and in good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jul 2016
8.3

Create a very inclusive atmosphere. Had a lot of fun. Could do to use the aircon more extensively was only on in the rooms over night. Location was excellent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.4

Great hostel for partying and good location in the beautiful old quarter about 30 mins or under to most of the museum's in Hanoi. Very clean and pretty much every night there's some sort of deal at the bar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your amazing feedback. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime. From the entire team at Downtown, we wish you all the best on your future travels. Cheers, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

  • mleith95
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Jul 2016
10.0

Absolutely fantastic hostel, I can't fault it anywhere! SO well located, with a great atmosphere, and FREE beer! What's not to love. Their travel team will help you plan and organise your whole trip down Vietnam, even handling booking you in to their sister hostels in Huē and Hoi An (which are both also great hostels)! Shoutout to Laura who personally organised our trip down Vietnam, with such a short time period to play with, it still felt full when following her itinerary! -Matt & Max

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
10.0

AWESOME HOSTEL! Traveled to Hanoi solo and this hostel definitely made my stay! Staff are top notch, easy to organize anything you want to see in Hanoi, free breakfast was solid and it felt like every other hour there were free drinks at the bar being given away! Pub crawl was also fun! I talked to several other friends and after showing them this hostel we concluded this is the best option in Hanoi!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • amodrin2718
  • Bulgaria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jul 2016
6.3

Its a very social place and overall suitable for younger people. Best for the age group between 18 to 26, but I would not recomend it if you are not looking for hardcore partying. Everything offered by the hostel is quite expensive and the bathrooms are prety dirty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us as we really value customer service. While we're pleased to see your positive ratings for our staff, location & atmosphere, it disappoints that you didn't enjoy your stay as much as most of our guests. It does explain in our hostel world description that Downtown is known for its legendary bar, nightly big parties, for being a constant a hive of activity. Had you been looking for a more mellow stay we also have the Original hostel in Hanoi. All the best if your future travels. Cheers, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Jul 2016
7.7

Nice hostel in a nice location and the travel desk is very helpful especially if you're a bit intimidated by the other less organised travel agents in Hanoi, it's a bit more expensive but takes away a lot of the hassle. Decent atmosphere but loads of groups on organised trips, which makes it feel a bit like a school trip

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review as we really value customer feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the location and that you found the travel desk to be helpful. Our tours do cost slightly more than others found in the surrounding travel agencies but this is because they've been designed especially for backpackers to be unique and unlike other alternatives. Hope you've been enjoying the rest of your trip. Safe travels, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jul 2016
10.0

Easily the best hostel that we stayed in over the last 2 months of travelling in Asia

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the incredible feedback! It's an absolute honor that you consider us to be one the of best hostels you stayed at in Asia. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and that we get to see you again sometime. All the best, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.