Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 2598 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 2598 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2017
3.7

I cant believe how disrespectful the staff are every morning. Going right into the room at 9.30-10 when EVERYONE inside is sleeping putting lights on opening all curtins and screaming when talking instead of whispers. Zero respect. Third morning this happened and people skip breakfast or extend just to get some extra sleep. Also what brings down facilities is the AC. Find it super stingy how it says have AC but its only on nighttime. Breakfast below average for the price in viet.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
9.7

The location is great! During weekend, its walking distance to night market and about 10min walk to the old town/square. Two main downsides are wifi does not work at all and since it is by the road, it gets noise late by night and early morning. Nonetheless, it is a good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
10.0

Can't say much more than that it is the best hostel you will stay in , ever!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
8.6

Moved here from another hostel and it's really a party hostel 😂 would come back and stay at VBH again when I'm heading down to Hanoi but I would probably try the original one instead as I'm not much of a party hooman. But cleanliness, staff and all was really great (I like the rooftop area at lvl5) Only downside is breakfast portion are quite small ☹️

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Apr 2017
10.0

The energy here is insane. So many people all ready to share their stories and have a drink with you. The staff are great and the facilities do the trick. The bedrooms are sealed off with noise cancelling doors so the party still goes on while you sleep. I would recommend as an experience of Hanoi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Apr 2017
7.1

Check in staff are very rude and the experience is very chaotic! We stayed here two nights and that was enough! The free breakfast is very average not worth waking up for! The wifi is shocking depending where you are and how many people are there too! English staff were very friendly and got everyone involved it's a great atmosphere here! The cleaners are here constantly and it is appreciated as the shared bathrooms are very clean

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Apr 2017
9.1

Everything was great but the lockers under the bed defiantly need attention, the way it's set up you can just pull on the door and the latch will undo, even with a lock on it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the awesome review. It's great to hear that you found value in your stay and enjoyed the social atmosphere. Our maintenance man is responsible for regular locker checks to ensure guest safety so will pass on your feebdack. Hope you've been enjoying the rest of your travels. All the best, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Paraguay, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
13th Apr 2017
10.0

The best hostel I've ever been ! Perfect location , great atmosphere, super clean, the staff is very kind and helpful, you can book the best tours with them I'll definitely comeback when I'm back in Hanoi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the awesome feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had an amazing experience on the trips your booked from us. Hope you're still traveling and that we see you again soon. All the best, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

  • hannahorde
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
11th Apr 2017
10.0

Really great hostel, loved all the facilities and the rooms were great. Really social atmosphere in a perfect location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the incredibly positive feedback. It's amazing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and from the sounds of it had some fun while you where here. Hope you're still traveling and that we see you again some day. Cheers, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

  • nadtei
  • Norway, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.1

Good and social place to stay. It's where the party happens. Friendly and helpful staff. Such a nice atmosphere. A lot of free drinks. Dorm and bathroom was fine. But the AC didn't work, which made the nights kind of horrible. Good food at the hostel and around it. Loved my stay there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your recent review. It's awesome to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and enjoyed the social atmosphere. Wish you'd let us know about the AC during your stay so that we could have sorted it for you. Hope you're still traveling and that we see you again some day. Cheers, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.