Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2,095 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2,095 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown Located at 9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Hanoi.
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
Vietnam
Hanoi 100000 9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi
90% 2095
21.0358930 105.8533179
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.6

If what you are after is a university freshers atmosphere this place is perfect. If not, steer clear.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ralenbeatriz1116
  • Philippines, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
8.9

My stay at the VBH had been a fun one, albeit the weather not cooperating most of the time. Location was great, & I especially liked that although it gets very busy downstairs, the rooms were pretty quiet. The free walking tour was a perfect way to start my trip as I had to wait a few hours before I could check in. Lien, btw was very nice & a fun guide. :) Just a few things though, wish towels can be offered w/o having to pay for them. also, a lot of the shower fixtures are due for maintenance

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
10.0

I would stay there again! Thanks for the hospitality!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
9.7

One of the world's top hostels, can easily compete with the professional run hostels e.g. in Australia. There is pretty much everything from wifi, common room, TV, Bar, Tours... Loads of young backpacker in party mode. Only drawback might be the mattress which is very hard (we did not mind though). It might lack authentencity as this huge place might be anywhere on the planet. If you are looking for a very well run place to stay and want to party, this is the place to be.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
10.0

Best hostel we've stayed at. Atmosphere is so good, everyone's up for meeting new people, and the staff are amazing. Can't recommend it highly enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
8.3

Partying here seems a bit forced and young. If you're feeling that this is the place for you. Whats nice is that it isnt noisy after around 11 since there is a nightly pub crawl thats free. Really nice lookin hostel and great for solo travelers or if you wanna get for cheap (free beer from 6-7, free shots throughout the night). Great staff too. Big negative was water kept turning off.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • murf515
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.6

Clean dorm rooms. On our visit the electronic keys for the rooms weren't working so security wasn't great, but I presume that's a one off! Staff were really helpful in helping us book our onwards trip! Great atmosphere, good enough location to the prison and out to other things. Very reasonable drink prices and the food was nice too! Very enjoyable stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.3

The cast away tour is super expensive I don't do it but heard good things about it. I only have one problem when someone explain the tour to me.they use the phrase"we gonna have western music, and western DJ"i feel a bit offended that i think it smhow implies that dj frm eastern Hampshire is less good then the western counterparts im not supporting tht knd of behavior or mindsets,food price is way to expensive and doesn't taste that good, and please at least have one aircon room for our hangover

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2016
8.9

Only stayed one night but would have loved to stay more. My friends phone was stolen whilst walking down the street and the staff were super friendly and helpful with advice. Amazing atmosphere, great location but only stay here if you're planning to party I'd say.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Aug 2016
8.9

Great hyper social stay, if you want to meet people, this is the place to be!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.