Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2,276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2,276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.9
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown Located at 9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Hanoi.
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
Vietnam
Hanoi 100000 9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi
90% 2276
21.0358930 105.8533179
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Nov 2016
10.0

Truly a party hostel. It gets lively post 6pm once the free beer and crazy events start. The staff is so energetic and takes it to a whole new energy. The chill out area has pool and tv to watch. The bar has free beer at 6pm for an hour post which there are happy hours. The floors close to the lobby are noisy. Preferable to take the room above 5th floor which has bathroom in each room instead of the shared one. Recomment this hostel who is keen on crazy fun and to meet amazing people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
9.4

Perfect stay!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
9.1

Another great hostel by Vietnam Backpackers. This hostel is huge, so you don't get the intimate feel you get at smaller hostels. However, everyone here is here for a good time. They are oddly strict about letting people not staying at the hostel into the bar area after 9pm, though only a few people get checked. Unfortunately, this rule broke up our group. The bar at the hostel is crazy until about 11pm when the famed bar crawl begins. Bathroom smelled funky, but everything else was clean/quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
8.0

Good place overall. Absolutely goes off at night, so if you're wanting to party then this is the place to come. Castaway Tour was also a highlight of the trip. Only gripe was that the water got shut off at random times, so we weren't sure when we could actually shower or not. Fantastic breakfast. Quality stay overall, and if you're wanting somewhere a little quieter, their Original is 10/10 for that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Nov 2016
10.0

Fun party hostel with lots of help organising tours etc

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
9.1

Amazing hostel with An amazing travel department to help with any tour or activity you desire. They have free beer hour every day. But it's Wild! Not where you wanna be if you're looking for a good night sleep Wifi was pretty bad (my only complaint)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at Downtown. It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you appreciated the services and tours at the travel desk. We do host nightly parties and events to make it easy for guests to meet one another but are sure to close the bar at 11:30pm for those wanting to have a quiet night. Hope you've been enjoying the rest of your travels. All the best, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Nov 2016
9.7

This hostel was recommended by a friend and I'm so glad I stayed here! It was so easy to meet people, especially if you go on one of their tours. You can't have a bad time as long as you are up for a party!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your positive feedback. We're so pleased to hear that you followed a recommendation and had a great experience with us. Hope you're enjoying the rest of your travels and please come see us again is you're ever back in Hanoi. All the best, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

20th Nov 2016
10.0

One of the best party hostels I have been too. Not only is the night life at the bar fun but the staff are so so friendly and helpful. The food is very tasty and the movie chill area is dope as well If your trying to step away from the party for a bit. Beds and bathrooms are clean and they have a/c that they switch on for you everyday. Highly recommend this place .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you the incredibly positive feedback! It's really great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a lot of fun while here. We appreciate your recommending us and hope to see you again someday. From the entire team at Downtown, we wish you all the best on your future travels. Cheers, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

18th Nov 2016
9.4

Party hostel, if your coming to party this is def te spot to stay. They also do tours and stuff but I didn't do any of them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. It's great to see that you enjoyed the hostels atmosphere, staff and value. It's a shame you didn't get the chance to experience our tours as they've been designed especially for backpackers to be unique, adventurous and a whole lot of fun. Next time! Hope you've been enjoying the rest of your travels. All the best, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2016
9.4

Great hostel if you are wanting to party! Rooms are good enough but the atmosphere is second to none in Hanoi!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your amazing review! We're thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Safe travels, Alaysia MacPherson Hostel Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.