Hostelworld.com

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,937 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,937 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown Located at 9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Hanoi.
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
Vietnam
Hanoi 100000 9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi
90% 1937
21.0360411 105.8531856
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • olimorland
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2016
10.0

Absolutely awesome hostel!! Party every night with free beer and great vibes! Also would recommend castaway trip with them as it was best time ever!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
9.1

If you want to party and meet some great people in Hanoi this is the place to do it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
19th May 2016
10.0

Great hostel. Staff were very helpful also. I checked in at about 12.30am and was exhausted after a flight. I could feel the base coming through my bed from a nearby club, and the staff happily moved me to a room on a higher floor and I was so grateful. Good vibe downstairs at night, everyone gets involved and up dancing on the tables/bar. Stay here if you want to party in Hanoi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th May 2016
8.6

Don't bother staying here if you're looking for piece and quiet - this place is a madhouse! Had a blast during our three nights here between the proximity of the hostel to a bunch of tourist attractions, nightly theme parties and of course the Castaway tour. Staff was friendly and wonderful and took the time to help us plan our stay in Vietnam. Food was awesome but fairly expensive. Overall it was a great experience and I highly recommend it - but only if you're up for it!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • oliverpullein
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th May 2016
10.0

Awesome party hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th May 2016
9.1

Great hostel, absolutely a party hostel. If you're not into that, you should find something else. I felt that the staff were all about selling you tours. Pretty disgusting to be honest..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're so pleased to see your perfect scores for our atmosphere, location, facilities and the value we provide - much appreciated. Our local and foreign staff are passionate about ensuring guests have amazing experiences in Vietnam and love helping backpackers plan their travels throughout the country. There is no pressure to purchase trips through us but the hostels tours are designed to be unique and unlike those available in other agencies. Whether or not you used the our travel services, we hope that you loved Vietnam as much as we do. Safe Travels, Alaysia

15th May 2016
8.3

This is the loud party hosts. If you want to rage, this is your spot. If you don't, it's definitely not your spot. Accommodations were pretty basic, and there are a million people staying here so it's not a hugely personal experience. Bathrooms were nice and rooms secure. Location in main part of backpacker town is good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
5.4

If you're not party nut, strongly not recommended. Dancing night is going on the first floor which is nice. But these atmosphere still coming up to the room even in a very late night. Only for party rocking people

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your recent review. We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and staff although it disappoints that you didn't enjoy your stay as much as most guests. As noted on our hostel world description, Downtown is known for our legendary bar, nightly big parties, and for being a constant a hive of activity. Should you ever return to Hanoi, you may want to check out our sister hostel (The Original) which is a lot more mellow while also being equally as social. Hope you've been enjoying the rest of your travels. All the best, Alaysia

11th May 2016
8.6

Good hostel. Rooms got a little cold from the AC. Social, party atmosphere so would hear people coming in late. The free walking tour was good to get to know the area. Free beer was nice. The lounge upstairs was okay. Staff was really nice and helpful in getting me some sort of itinerary while I'm in Vietnam. The adventure trips were kind of expensive but I did end up doing the Mai Chau trip which was really great! Would stay again but also consider the Original for less party atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking time away from your travels to leave us this awesome review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and that the staff were helpful with your itinerary. The hostels trips can cost a bit more but this is because they are unique and unlike those you'll find in other travel agencies. So it's great to hear that you had such an amazing experience in Mai Chau with us. Hope that you've been enjoying the rest of your travels. Cheers, Alaysia

9th May 2016
10.0

Party hostel, but a well-oiled machine

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your 100% review! We really appreciate the positive feedback. At the end of the day, this place wouldn't be what it is without our incredible guests so thank you for being one of them. All the best in your future travels. Cheers, Alaysia

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.