X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown Reviews

9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1263 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Was a good place to meet people and the clean was nice!

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This is a super social place to be! The location is great because you walk to all the main sites in Hanoi from here, as well as get great advise from the staff for where to go for just about anything. They also will help you with bookings on cool trips around the country. The fifth floor with full-time security for luggage storage, a pool table, foosball, and several computers is an easy place to hang out if you don't want to be down on the main floor.

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Washing facilities were fairly priced and efficient and the breakfast was more than satisfactory

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel. Stayed here for 4 days and enjoyed everything it had to offer. The hostel can manage all your transport and your onward hostel booking which is really handy. Great bar and restaurant also which is a great area for meeting new people and having drinks in the evening. Best atmosphere I've experienced in a hostel on my trip. Thanks for the good stay!


63%

Infested with cockroaches and 18-yr olds. Great facilities. I recommend visiting here but not staying here.


97%

THE place to stay in Hanoi.So much so you may need to book ahead a day or two. Good food, especially the breakfast. Super secure and clean. Soft bed! and fun atmosphere in the bar downstairs, usually giving out free drinks. Friendly helpful staff, and lots of them. And good location for sightseeing and several bus tour companies.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, It is awesome to see that you had a great stay with us, and that you enjoyed our facilities. Thanks for the feedback on the services that we offer like our free breakfast, security and the atmosphere we create every night. We hope the rest of your travels go well and would love to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

86%

Enjoyed it here, party atmosphere. Staff seemed frazzled at times, and we struggled with the language barrier at times. Good place to book trips, but shop around for other prices. Clean hostel, great facilities and great place to meet people!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for the review and feedback. It is good to see that you enjoyed the atmosphere that we create in the hostel and the facilities and services we provide for our guests. We hope the rest of your travels go well and hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

86%

This hostel is a lot of fun. Good social atmosphere. Good chill out room aswell

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey mate, Glad to see you had an excellent stay with us. Thank you for the feedback on the facilities and the atmosphere that we create in the hostel. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Downtown Manager

77%

The location is pretty great since you can go to so many places by foot. It's pretty much a party hostel, with music and bar at the first floor, wich can get tiring when you feel like relaxing or just chatting with people.I especially liked the 5th floor and the balcony there. As for the rooms, I stayed in a 12 bunks dorm and it was ok. On the first day my sheets stank bed flea's repellent and the cleaning lady was tucked into the bed/head on the pillow "Making the bed"...it was a bit weird!

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for your review and feedback. Glad to see that you enjoyed the 5th floor facilities. We do have another location in Hanoi called the Original which has a lot more chilled out vibe if it is a bit too full on at the Downtown location. We also do a weekly deep clean in all the rooms, and it can get hard to get underneath mattresses and in all the corners, so this may have been the reason why the cleaner looked like she was in a funny position. we hope to see you again soon. Cheers

100%

One of the best hostels I've stayed at throughout my travels in SE Asia. They really know how to provide a fun-filled environment for the solo traveler. WARNING: If you're not much of a party-goer then this might not be the best hostel for you. Definetly check out the Halong Bay Castaway Tour. One of the best times I've had. PS. There's a $.25 beer spot across the street and try the Banh Mi down the block!


77%

I had a good times. food were nice, room were clean and the people are fun!

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for the review and feedback. I am happy to see that you had a enjoyable stay with us. Cheers for the feedback on the food and the rooms being clean. We hope to see you again in the future and that the rest of your travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

97%

One of the BEST Hostels I've stayed at throughout my trip!! Food is awesome, the staff is very friendly and overall a great place to meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, It is awesome to see that you had a great stay with us. I am glad that the staff were friendly and helpful and that you really enjoyed our food. We hope to see you again in the future. Cheers Downtown Manager

69%

Noisy hookups and knocking were happening all night in the all-girl dorms. But people were wild and fun. Great location for backpackers looking for a good time. Don't expect sleep.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and feedback. We are sorry to hear that a guy was let into the girls dorm, it is very hard to control at times. We do have another location in Hanoi, called the Original. This is a hostel with a chilled out vibe, if you are looking for a bit of a quieter experience in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

Staff were really helpful friendly and welcoming! Free shots at the bar almost every hour. The bar was good, food was good! Chill out area is great to hang out when waiting all day for a bus. We booked our onwards travel through them too. The showers are communal but clean and spacious! Great to have plug light shelf and security box right by your bed. Don't stay anywhere else in Hanoi! Even though it's a party hostel, it stops at 11 & moves on to a pub crawl each night so not crazy all night!


97%

Great party hostel, clean bedrooms and bathrooms. Pub crawl organised by the hostel every night, cool chill out area upstairs. The free breakfast is eggs and bread or fruit, and it costs extra to add on beans or yoghurt etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for the review and feedback. Glad to see you have had a good stay with us at our Downtown location. Thank you for the feedback on the clean bathrooms, rooms, and the daily events that we organise. We hope the rest of your travels go well, and would love to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

46%

They were all very aggressive about going on the castaway tour. Which I did not want. If I wanted to crazy party then I would have liked this better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, I am sorry to hear that our staff may have come across a bit aggressive when talking about our Castaway tour. We do also offer other Halong bay trips that should have been explained to you. We will make sure all options will be explained in the future. Our Original location in Hanoi has a lot more chilled out vibe to it, so maybe this hostel may be more suited to you in the future. We hope your travels go well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

74%

Be careful about taking advice when booking the ha long trip. They advised us not to use the company that was half the price and across the road. The hostel staff got a bit pushy, which made us feel uncomfortable. We had a fantastic time on the ha long trip regardless of what they said. Apart from that though... This place was pretty sweet.


89%

Great location, knowledgeable staff, excellent youthful & enthusiastic atmosphere. People hanging around watching movies, playing pool, having a beer, or just chatting. Room with a security guard and tags to store luggage is very useful. Bathrooms and the rooms are spotless despite the high number of guests. Breakfast is great. Downstairs bar is fantastic area as well. Does get loud in the evenings, but sound doesn't permeate to the the dorms upstairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for your review and feedback. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for the feedback of the facilities that we offer. We would love to see you again in the future and hope the rest of your travels go well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

86%

Amazing staff, really good services, felt safe the whole time, and a perfect place to base out of for Hanoi, Ha Long and Sapa. This is a party hostel with very professional, western-style management.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I had an awesome stay! Great lively atmosphere, perfect for partying and meeting new people. The only things I can think of for improvement would be : - Add blankets or put the AC a little warmer in the bedrooms at night - The "PubCrawl" is the same everyday and only consists of "The hair of the Dog", which is nice but closes early. It could be better to offer different options.

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, It is awesome to see you had a great stay with us. Thank you for leaving us a review and giving us some feedback. We usually have the temperature in the rooms at 26 degrees, this may have been accidentally changed and therefore may have been a bit colder in your room. We will try to make sure this does not happen again in the future. We hope to see you again in the future and that the rest of your travels go well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(138 results)


View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback