Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2,354 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2,354 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.9
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown Located at 9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Hanoi.
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
Vietnam
Hanoi 100000 9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi
90% 2354
21.0358930 105.8533179
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jan 2017
10.0

Great location- excellent and helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
9.7

Great party hostel. Easy to meet people as a solo traveller. Lots going on. Great location. Don't go if you're wanting a quiet night. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
16th Jan 2017
8.6

I didn't realise how much of a party hostel this would be until I got here. The reception area is literally a bar and you can hear and feel the music in your room until about 11.30. If partying is your thing, this hostel is great. The staff are really nice and helpful and the security is good (they have a doorman 24/7). The place is really clean and comes with a free breakfast (though is more basic that ones at other hostels). But if you want to sleep early, go elsewhere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2017
8.6

I stayed at the downtown one and the original and would recommend the original for sure! Both fun but original has a rooftop area that's very nice, is a little cheaper, and don't charge you for things like a towel and room key deposit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Jan 2017
3.7

This has been the worst hostel experience I've ever had in my life. To begin with, they charged me in Dong, opposed to the US balance remaining and used their conversion rate, which was 15% more expensive than the market rate. That's disgusting. Too much noise outside and terrible suitemates coming in at random hours. They also charge you to use a hair dryer?? Pathetic. Security is a joke. Could walk to rooms without key. My lockbox was broken and they said they would fix but did not.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
9.1

This is a party hostel, the lobby is literally a bar. If that's you're thing you'll have a great time. Very happy with the security and it's a great part of town to be in. Ended up extending my stay three more days.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jan 2017
10.0

Love this place! Best hostel ever.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
6th Jan 2017
10.0

Very social hostel and the staff were amazing! Castaways is a must do trip as it was so so fun on the new island!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aldridgesc
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.1

Stay here. You wont regret it. If you want less party atmosphere go to the Original Backpackers hostel. Except this is right in the heart of the old quarter which is awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jackmagner
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Jan 2017
10.0

The best place I stayed in South East Asia! All of the staff were incredibly friendly and approachable, and particularly when my friend got sick, they made sure we were properly looked after in all regards. Could not recommend another hostel higher than this

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.