X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown Reviews

9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1390 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Clearly a party hostel, which has activitues every night. It is well situated in the old quarter of Hanoi. Good Staff and clean. Can be loud at night, especially because rooms have many people in them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Glad to see you had a good stay with us, and would like to thank you for leaving us a review and feedback. The feedback about the activities, cleanliness and staff is much appreciated. We hope you have the best travels, and would love to see you come back in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

This is THE hostel to stay at in Hanoi! Not only are you in the central downtown location, but the staff all speak excellent English and are extremely informative and helpful! The bar located in the reception is a little overwhelming at first but once you get settled away the convenience of of great food and drinks on location is wonderful. The rooms are very clean and modern, and surprisingly silent even with the bar downstairs. The castaways tour (offered by VBH) is unreal and a must do!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, It is awesome to see you had an excellent stay with us, and enjoyed our Castaway tour to Ha Long bay. Thank you for the facilities, cleanliness, bar and of our staff being informative and helpful. We hope the rest of your travels are rad and that you come to visit us again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

66%

The staff were really nice, the location was fantastic but I think maybe myself and my girlfriend were unlucky with timing as the other guests gave a bad atmosphere. Nobody interested in talking to anybody outside their group, people looked miserable and a lot of them were very annoying. And I don't think this was due to the hostel, they were just miserable people!

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Super rowdy atmosphere at night, which made it really hard to check in or talk to hostel staff. But seemed that it would be really fun to hang out and party in the hostel, however ever got a chance to because of always running off to sapa and halong bay. Staff helpful with booking buses. Free water refills. Hostel was huge so felt a bit impersonal. But well run

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Cheers for the review and feedback about the hostel, free water refill stations, staff and how the hostel is run. It is good to see that the staff could help with your onward travel after Hanoi. Hope you have a great time in Vietnam and that we see you again in the future. Cheers,

89%

It is a party hostel. There is party and loud music everyday of the week! Very cool atmosphere in the bar-restaurant-lobby area. The staff is helpfull but sometimes they might not speak the best english. Eventhough they say that the rooms have AC it only goes on from 7 pm - 10 am so if it is hot (as it was when I was there: 40° during the day and 38° at night) it is hell and very annoying to be in the hostel in between those hours). Good western food but very expensive and not that good vietnams

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a review and feedback. I am glad to see you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the atmosphere that we try to create. We turn the AC off during the day time because it is during the day most customers are out and about in the city. We hope to see you again in the future, and that the rest of your travels are rad. Cheers, Downtown Manager

80%

Good atmosphere, if a little loud at times. Facilities were good also, although water did stop working for a good while at one stage. Again, annoying that AC is not on in the dorms during the day, as it was incredible hot when we stayed and not any particularly cool places within hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Cheers for the review and feedback, especially about the atmosphere, and facilities. We apologise for the water being cut off, this happened to be the same for the rest of the surrounding block too. We hope you have some awesome travels and that you may come back in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

91%

This is the best hostel I've staying at in SEA so far! It was awesome having people that can help and answer all my questions. Everyone speaks English which made it really easy. The castaway tour was awesome (you're the best Rory and Courtney!) and it's really easy to meet other backpackers. At night the bar is really fun but if you want a quiet night you can just head to your room and chill. The private double room is awesome but a bit expensive. Dorm rooms are nice and clean! Love this place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for taking the time and leaving us an awesome review and feedback. It is always great to see when customers have an excellent stay with us and enjoy our facilities that we provide. Great to see you had an amazing time on Castaways and thanks for the great feedback about the tour guides, I will pass the message on. Hope to see you again in the future and that the rest of your travels are amazing. Cheers, Downtown Manager

89%

Great hostel to meet others. Downstairs is a bar with food as well, and lots of stuff going on. Excellent staff that actually gets to know people, and I'd definitely go back for those aspects alone. The wifi was a bit dodgy in the rooms, but better in the lobby. I think my only complaint was that they turn the AC off during the day, because it was ridiculously hot the 5 or 6 days I was there. But if you want to have fun and meet other travelers this is the place to be.


94%

Great backpacker/party hostel. Bar always has something going on and staff is helpful with booking trips. Party can spill over into hallways and rooms at times though.


91%

Cool hostel, free beer at the barbecue. Dorms were standard and air con turned off at 10. Overall a great hostel in a fantastic location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey mate, Cheers for the review and feedback. It is always awesome to see that people are having a great time with us and enjoy their stay here. The feedback about the location, dorms and free beer with our rooftop BBQ is great too. We hope to see you again in the future, and that you have some awesome travels. Cheers, Downtown Manager

69%

Stay here if you want to get wasted with 18 year olds. The hostel has a great layout but feels very inpersonal, it's more of a frat bar with a hotel added on. The bed linning really needs replacing as it was covered I stains along with previous guests hair between the sheets. The tour guides who sell the castaway tours seriously need a good meal and a day off, they all look like there on their last legs. Despite this they were all very friendly and made sure they spoke with everyone.


89%

They turn the aircon at 6pm, the rooms can get pretty hot during the day, kinda hard to take a nap if you want to. the breakfast is nice, the common are and bar are very good. nice atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Glad to see you had a good stay with us and have taken the time to leave us a review and feedback. We turn the AC in the rooms off during the day mainly due to customers being out and about in the city for most of the day. It is awesome to see that we create a nice atmosphere, and that the facilities cater for everyone. Cheers, Downtown Manager

77%

Staff were generally helpful, but with such a large number of staff, there were miscommunications. Good party hostel. But with a party hostel comes icky bathrooms at night and early morning when people are drunk and make a mess of things. Rooms were comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Cheers for taking the time and leaving us a review and feedback. It is good to see that the rooms were comfortable, and that the staff were helpful. We hope that the rest of the travels fair well and we would love to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

77%

The hostel is a lot of fun. Something going on every night. Great place to meet people. The castaway trip they organise is also so much fun and worth the money! Some staff were really helpful while others were quite rude though.


74%

Did not end up staying here as I heard very negative things. Worth the cancellation fee in my opinion!


94%

The staff were super friendly and the hostel itself was very modern. If you're looking for a place to party, this is it: the common area and bad on the main floor would be going off every night, to the point where it was almost too much. Wi-Fi did not consistently work which made online banking and reservations a cumbersome task.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and feedback. We have had a problem with WIFI recently, however this has been mainly down to re-wiring across Hanoi. It is great to see that the staff were super friendly and that you enjoyed the facilities and atmosphere that we love to create. Hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

Brilliant place to stay. Very friendly staff and great value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Awesome to see you had an excellent stay with us, and that the staff were helpful and very friendly too. Hope to see you again and would like to thank you for the great review. Cheers, Downtown Manager

89%

It's a nice hostel where you can meet a lot of other travellers. The staff is fun and helpfull. It is a real party hostel, but I couldn't hear the music in the room when there was a party downstairs so that's good. They offer nice trips such as the Buffalo runs. Did them both and they were both amazing. Quite expensive, but totally worth it. Breakfast is also good!


94%

Super friendly staff and great hostel; clean, secure, spacious and AC (at night). Great for partying but also good for a quiet one as none of the noise travels past the ground floor. trips are expensive and if you go down the road, you'll get them for cheaper elsewhere!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Great to see you had an awesome stay with us, and I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and feedback on the hostel and the facilities that we provide. We hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

94%

The ground floor is busy and noisy all the time, with lots of people drinking and chatting all day long. Really good atmosphere to meet new friends. The upper floors are quiet enough to let me take rest, thanks to everyone in the hostel sticking to the house rules. Everywhere is clean and tidy with good wifi signals=] The place is also in good location surrounded by numerous bars and restaurants.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, It is awesome to see you had a great stay with us. I would like to thank you for taking the time and leaving us a great review and some good feedback about the facilities that we provide and the atmosphere that we create for our customers. We would love to see you again in the future and hope that the rest of the travels fair well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

(134 results)


View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback