X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown Reviews

9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1270 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

I had an awesome stay! Great lively atmosphere, perfect for partying and meeting new people. The only things I can think of for improvement would be : - Add blankets or put the AC a little warmer in the bedrooms at night - The "PubCrawl" is the same everyday and only consists of "The hair of the Dog", which is nice but closes early. It could be better to offer different options.

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, It is awesome to see you had a great stay with us. Thank you for leaving us a review and giving us some feedback. We usually have the temperature in the rooms at 26 degrees, this may have been accidentally changed and therefore may have been a bit colder in your room. We will try to make sure this does not happen again in the future. We hope to see you again in the future and that the rest of your travels go well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

91%

If you're wanting to go out and party this hostel is the perfect place to stay. The bar has events every night and takes everyone out after. Castaway tour seems pricey but definitely worth it as you go with everyone from your hostel. If you want a quiet night in, maybe not the best place to stay.


77%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Super nice atmosphere, big beds and lockers, nice showers. Stayed here two times. Second time I didn't party and could still sleep very well. Only thing was the cockroaches, they are everywhere and the first time walking on our beds! The staff took great care of it by cleaning the room really well but the second time I saw them walking on the table when I had breakfast. Also my light wasn't working twice. But I had a great time and would recommend it!


83%

Felt like the staff was more into having their own fun than helping me out sometimes, other than that the food is great and atmosphere is great.


74%

Room very dirty, bathroom stinks and found 2 cockroaches in the room They didn't have the tours when I was there because there were no staff to make it Very nice place to meet people Fun Close to everything

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff were great! And general welcoming vibe and great hostel to meet others while still be chilled and spacious. Yohann was particularly great and helpful for advice on where to eat, best way to get around etc. So shout out to him.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for leaving us a review and feedback. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to see that our staff were great and helpful. I am glad to see that we could all be helpful in general advice in and around Hanoi. We would love to see you again in the future and that your travels fair well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

80%

Th hostel was amazing. Had great facilities and a really nice atmosphere. Bathrooms were clan and the rooms quite small. My room was infested with cockroaches and my bed was changed to another room without any attempt to notify me. Which gave me quite a shock to find my possessions having disappeared. Other than that it was a nice please to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for the review and feedback. We apologise for the cockroaches, and having to have moved rooms. The cockroach problem has now been rectified. We had to unfortunately move you to another bed due to the hostel being full and not having confirmation of another nights stay. We apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused, and would love to see you again the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

Best hostel I've stayed in so far traveling!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for the review of us being the best hostel you have stayed at so far. We try our best to make sure everyone has an awesome stay. Hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

83%

It's a really fun atmosphere! If you like meeting new people and you like to party then this is the place for you! The rooms and shared bathrooms are cleaned everyday. It's a great location in the Old quarter, where you are within walking distance of great local vietnamese food and cheap beer ( A whole 15p for a pint!)

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for the review and feedback. Its awesome to see that you enjoyed the atmosphere in the hostel as well as the location. We as a team hope you have safe travels and come back in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

Hands down the best place to stay in Hanoi if you are looking to have a good time. Pub crawls are great, staff is great, you must do the castaway tour through the hostel, the tour guides are great and they make sure you have the greatest time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Its awesome to see you had an excellent stay with us at our hostel. Also its awesome to hear you had a great time out on Castaway Island too, and that the staff there helped make it a top experience. Hope to see you again in the future. Downtown Manager

97%

Came here cause a mate of mine used to work for the Castaways tour. This place is amazing. There are tons of people in the bar area or in the common room upstairs, so meeting people is easy. Prices are alright, not as cheap as I'd like them to be but great food. Great happy hour & they're constantly giving out free shots. The castaways tour was amazing- pricey, but SO worth it if it's in your budget. Do that first because then you meet so many people & the rest of your time at the hostel is A+

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and feedback. It is awesome to see you had a great stay in both the hostel and on Castaway Island. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the facilities that we provide as well as the food being great. We would love to see you all again in the future, and hope the rest of your travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

91%

Very wild, fun and friendly hostel.The hostel is in a perfect location. Be careful if you are getting a taxi from the airport though as they dropped us off at another Downtown backpackers obviously as a con to try and get us to stay there instead. They have there own travelling booking desk which was amazing, especially because we were clueless. We booked trips and our transport throughout Vietnam there. Free breakfast and Hanoi Walking Tour. Castaway Tour is a must - it was incredible.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent hostel, very large and always something going on. The employees are very helpful with planning trips through the hostel. Good stay with free breakfast and good wifi.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a review and feedback. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were helpful in planning your trips. Hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

91%

We had a great time. The staff was very helpful and friendly. It's a big party hostel so get ready to drink. We did the castway island trip with them which is def recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for the review and feedback. It is great to hear you had an excellent time on Castaway Island. It is always good to hear that the staff have been helpful too. Cheers, Downtown Manager

97%

Such a great hostel! So sociable and in a really great location. The staff are friendly and helpful and they have a great travel desk with loads of information and tours to offer. The free breakfast is really good and there are loads of showers which is always a plus. I would stay again for sure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, I am very glad to see you had an excellent stay with us. The feedback for the staff and the travel desk is also awesome to hear. We would love to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

Great hostel, best I've ever stayed in. Beds are comfy, everything gets cleaned very often. Great atmosphere, good party's in the evening, friendly staff, good location. Easy to book things from here. In one word perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for leaving us an excellent review and feedback. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere that we create. Thank you for the feedback on the facilities that we provide also. We would love to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

94%

Brilliant stay here, great atmosphere and location. The food is amazing perfect western food for hangovers. Can feel a bit hectic at times but the staff go out of their way to help you. We also went on the Castaway tour which was one of the highlights of our whole trip - beautiful and crazy. Secure and clean with good showers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for the awesome review and feedback. We are all happy to see that we provide an excellent clean and safe environment. Its awesome to hear you had an amazing time on our Castaway tour. We would love to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

83%

Great party hostel. Don't stay here if you want a good nights sleep! Food was great and staff were brilliant at booking our halong bay tour.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for your review and feedback about the hostel. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the food that we produce and that our staff were very helpful when booking your tours. We do have another location in Hanoi, called the Original. This location is a lot more chilled out and the bar closes at 9:30pm. So this location may be better suited for people looking for a quieter stay. Cheers, Downtown Manager

97%

Amazing hostel for me - it had a great party atmosphere, amazing chill out area on the 5th floor, very friendly staff, superb location, good breakfast; I very much recommend the place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, It is excellent to see you had a great stay with us. Thank you for leaving us a review and feedback about the facilities and services we offer. We hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

83%

Definitely a party place. Good location with a cool atmosphere. Prepare yourself to drink a lot!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey mate, Cheers for leaving us some feedback and a review. Glad to see you enjoyed the atmosphere in the hostel. Hope the rest of the travels go well and hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

(137 results)


View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback