X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown Reviews

9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1226 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Party hostel with super nice lounge to chill in on the 5 floor. Had multiple reservations over 10 days so stayed in different rooms, but all were nice. Free breakfast was an added bonus

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for leaving us a review and taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am glad to see you had a great stay at different times during your travels. Thank you for the feedback on the facilities and services we also provide. We would love to see you again in the future and hope the rest of the travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

It's a party hostel, lots of fun. We could hear the noise from outside at night but other than that couldn't fault the hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for leaving us a review and taking the time to give us some feedback. I am glad to see you had a great stay at our hostel. We all hope the rest of the travels went well and safe and that you will come back again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

The only hostel to stay at Hanoi in my opinion. Great place to meet people, or bump into people you've met on the road! Good food, lively bar and a great base to plan your Vietnam adventure from.


89%

Great hostel, very social, great facilities and chill out lounge on level 5. Helpful with anything you need unless you get the chick behind the bar with glasses. Forgot her name but God help you if you do. She was rude, inconsiderate and induced violent tendencies in me. Does get a bit loud at night with the bar and music downstairs but that stops at 12, noise travels in hallways which is fine unless you get "those people" who decide to have a chat in the hall at 3am.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for leaving us a review and some feedback. I am glad you had a great stay and have taken the time to write about our hostel. I am saddened to hear about what happened with the bar staff. Thank you for the feedback as it is something I will look into. I hope the rest of your travels went well and safe, and we as a team would love to see you again in the future. Downtown Manager

100%

The best hosel I've ever stayed in. It was so fun and had a great atmosphere but didn't lose sight of other important factors such as cleanliness and security. I felt so safe here. The beds and bathrooms were top quality. The staff is very helpful and the food is great. Missing my stay here already. Such a good time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for the review and feedback. I am glad you had an excellent stay in our hostel, and have now taken the time to leave us some feedback. We really appreciate you had a great stay and felt safe with the staff and facilities provided. We would all love to see you again in the future and hope your travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

94%

As with all the Vietnam Backpacker chain hostels, the atmosphere is great, you're gonna meet a lot of cool people and have a lot of fun but everything is very overpriced (beers 25k min.) and isn't always budget friendly. Otherwise, topnotch hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I am glad to see that you had a good stay and enjoyed the atmosphere that we try and create for all customers. Hope the rest of your travels went well and to see you again soon. Downtown Manager

100%

this is now in my top 3 hostels it may even be number one! great staff, amazing atmosphere met so many good travellers in the downstairs bar thanks to their happy hour 6-7, and the bathrooms and showers are great! security is highest I have seen so far they even have a guy on the door 24/7! huge lockers under the beds and even a lock box above your bed with a hole to slip a power cable through to charge you stuff! their castaways tour is expensive but worth it as they have a private island

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for your great review and feedback. I am very happy to see you had an excellent stay with us. I am glad to see that we were able to cater your needs with our facilities and staff. I am also glad to see you had a good time on our Castaway tour. We would love to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

77%

Cool hostel with an awesome vibe. The only issues are the lack of functional wifi in the dorms and the loud cleaning ladies that wake up the entire hostel at 7am by yelling across the halls and banging their mops on the doors!!! Please change this!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad to see you had a good stay at our hostel. Thank you for your feedback in regards to the noise levels in the morning. It is something we will look to improve on. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

Great place, animation, full of backpackers

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for your excellent review and feedback. I am glad to see you had an excellent stay. Hope to see you again soon. Downtown Manager

100%

I have put excellent for all the categories for this hostel. I can honestly say this has been the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Staff are friends, beds are comfortable with charging points and rooms are spacious. Bathrooms are kept clean every hour or two and there's decent flow/hot water. Downstairs is awesome place to party with plenty of people getting rowdy, and decent ratio of girls to guys. There's also upstairs area to chill - watch movies, play pool, foosball and computers. Awesome.


100%

Great place to stay, right in the middle of Hanoi. Would recommend to anyone travelling South East Asia.

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a review. I am glad to see you had a great stay at our hostel. We hope the rest of the travels went well and that we see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

71%

Great atmosphere and location, the staff behind the reception were very polite, but the staff behind the bar were very rude. Castaway trip was fun but very overpriced

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to review us and leaving the hostel some feedback. We appreciate the comment in regards to the bar staff. We have had some training with them since this comment, but times it could also be due to language barriers. It is something that we are striving to improve on though however. We are glad to see you had a good time on our Castaway tour also. We hope the rest of the travels went well and that we see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

89%

Too busy and to much of a party atmosphere for me. Good to meet people to party with, but a bit more challenging if you're not a partier and less outgoing.


100%

Couldn't really fault it- free beer on Sunday afternoons, huge lockers to keep everything safe, really good location, and the free breakfast is a nice added bonus! Would definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a great review and feedback of the facilities that we provide. We hope the rest of your travels went well and hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

One of the best hostels that I've ever stayed at. Recommend for anyone trying to experience the night life of Hanoi. Also did Castaway island through them and had a great time. Definitely coming back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for the amazing review and feedback you have given us. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your stay in the hostel as well as having a great time on our Castaway trip to Halong bay. We hope the rest of your travels went well and are looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

94%

This place is in a great location! Great crowd, great staff! Stayed in a private room for one night and a dorm for the second...either of which are great! If you are travelling solo and need to meet people...this is the place to be!

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel, great atmosphere. has a really nice ambiance that makes it very easy to meet new people. very good location. the "fun" room is great and the bar is also awesome. the breakfast is also really good. I would definitely come again!


97%

Awesome place. Facilities are great, so are the beds. Definitely able to have a comfortable stay here, meet lots of great people and party your face off if you want. The bar closes early enough (11PM) and takes people to other clubs so you can get a good sleep. They also provide a lot of happy hours/free drinks/shots at the bar downstairs where everyone starts their night. They also will organize Halong bay/Sapa for you which were both quite nice. Their new hotel in Sapa I would also recommend.


100%

Best Hostel I have ever stayed in! Great atmosphere and cool people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for the great review and the fact you have taken the time to give us some feedback. We as a team hope to see you again in the future and that the rest of the travels went well. Downtown Manager

91%

If you want atmosphere this is your place. The downstairs has a great bar/coffee shop/breakfast place/food place with pool tables and large tables so a lot of people can gather and hang out. Need an access key to get to the rooms which is fantastic. The bathrooms are very clean with a shower curtain in place so you have a dry spot to get dressed in. You also need a key to access your room and beds are very comfortable


(127 results)


View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback