X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown Reviews

9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1271 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Without a doubt one of the best hostels I've stayed at in SE Asia. Staff are incredible, they work so hard to make sure everyone is having a great time and that the hostel is kept clean and safe at all times. Social areas are fantastic, movies playing all day if you want to relax, pool table and computers, plenty of opportunities to meet people. Rooms are clean, own lockers and storage. Every night there's an event on; pub quiz, beer pong, bbqs. Halong bay, castaway tour a must!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for leaving us a review and some feedback. I am so happy to see you had a great stay with us and that our staff helped make that stay even better. It is something we strive to do throughout all our hostels. Thank you also for the great feedback about the facilities that we provide, and the daily events that we run. We hope the rest of your travels went well and that we see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

80%

Great atmosphere, full of young party crowd, perfect location. Private rooms way overpriced compared to other hotels in the area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for leaving us a review and feedback. I am glad to see you had a great stay at our hostel. Thank you for the feedback and hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

86%

Hanoi backpackers is a great hostel for youth! Crazy parties every night. The only thing I would change is that the staff wasn't very helpful...I went on a tour to Halong Bay and forgot my phone in one of the bunks. When I told the staff worker on the bus back, she seemed not to care and didn't make any phone calls until we got back to the hostel. I didn't hear from her after that. After speaking with 2 more staff at seperate times (both who had no idea about my missing phone) both were useless

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for leaving us a review and some feedback. I am glad to see you had a good time in the hostel and out in Halong bay. I am saddened to hear however that our staff were not too helpful in regards to your phone going missing. It is something we as a team will work on immediately so this does not happen again in the future. I do however hope that the rest of your stay and travels went well and that you come back in the future. Downtown Manager

94%

This place was by far the best hostel I have stayed in!! The whole package! Loved every minute I was there and you will too!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey mate, Cheers for leaving us a review and feedback. I am very happy to see you had a great stay with us and that is the best hostel you have ever stayed at. Hope to see you again in the future, and that the rest of your travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

Amazing place to stay for young backpackers. Atmosphere was great easy way to meet lots of people. Staff was amazingly helpful and friendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey mate, Thank you for leaving us a review and feedback. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff awesome at what they do. We all as a team hope to see you again in the future and thank you for the amazing feedback. Cheers, Downtown Manager

91%

Best hostel in hanoi the atmosphere is brilliant too! Shower rooms and toilet were pretty decent too! Only small bad point was my room smelt of stinky feet! Maybe someone needed a wash!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey mate, Thank you for leaving a review and giving up the time to leave us some feedback. I am glad to see you had an excellent stay and that our facilities provided were up to standards. Smelly people is something we cannot always control however, but we will try to if informed in the future. We hope to see you again in the future and that the rest of the travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

86%

International staff, very helpfull. Great atmosphere, always full of people.it's a bit overpriced.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello man, Great to see that you had a good time at our hostel and that our staff were there to help you with your needs. We as a hostel are always looking to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you for the feedback and we all would love to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

94%

Great hostel. Helpful staff. Bar is overpriced. Get cheap beer just next door

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for your review and taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am glad to see that our staff were helpful in making your stay here an excellent one. We all as a team hope that the rest of the travels went well and that we will see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

77%

Party hostel with super nice lounge to chill in on the 5 floor. Had multiple reservations over 10 days so stayed in different rooms, but all were nice. Free breakfast was an added bonus

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for leaving us a review and taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am glad to see you had a great stay at different times during your travels. Thank you for the feedback on the facilities and services we also provide. We would love to see you again in the future and hope the rest of the travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

It's a party hostel, lots of fun. We could hear the noise from outside at night but other than that couldn't fault the hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for leaving us a review and taking the time to give us some feedback. I am glad to see you had a great stay at our hostel. We all hope the rest of the travels went well and safe and that you will come back again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

The only hostel to stay at Hanoi in my opinion. Great place to meet people, or bump into people you've met on the road! Good food, lively bar and a great base to plan your Vietnam adventure from.


89%

Great hostel, very social, great facilities and chill out lounge on level 5. Helpful with anything you need unless you get the chick behind the bar with glasses. Forgot her name but God help you if you do. She was rude, inconsiderate and induced violent tendencies in me. Does get a bit loud at night with the bar and music downstairs but that stops at 12, noise travels in hallways which is fine unless you get "those people" who decide to have a chat in the hall at 3am.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for leaving us a review and some feedback. I am glad you had a great stay and have taken the time to write about our hostel. I am saddened to hear about what happened with the bar staff. Thank you for the feedback as it is something I will look into. I hope the rest of your travels went well and safe, and we as a team would love to see you again in the future. Downtown Manager

100%

The best hosel I've ever stayed in. It was so fun and had a great atmosphere but didn't lose sight of other important factors such as cleanliness and security. I felt so safe here. The beds and bathrooms were top quality. The staff is very helpful and the food is great. Missing my stay here already. Such a good time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for the review and feedback. I am glad you had an excellent stay in our hostel, and have now taken the time to leave us some feedback. We really appreciate you had a great stay and felt safe with the staff and facilities provided. We would all love to see you again in the future and hope your travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

94%

As with all the Vietnam Backpacker chain hostels, the atmosphere is great, you're gonna meet a lot of cool people and have a lot of fun but everything is very overpriced (beers 25k min.) and isn't always budget friendly. Otherwise, topnotch hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I am glad to see that you had a good stay and enjoyed the atmosphere that we try and create for all customers. Hope the rest of your travels went well and to see you again soon. Downtown Manager

100%

this is now in my top 3 hostels it may even be number one! great staff, amazing atmosphere met so many good travellers in the downstairs bar thanks to their happy hour 6-7, and the bathrooms and showers are great! security is highest I have seen so far they even have a guy on the door 24/7! huge lockers under the beds and even a lock box above your bed with a hole to slip a power cable through to charge you stuff! their castaways tour is expensive but worth it as they have a private island

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for your great review and feedback. I am very happy to see you had an excellent stay with us. I am glad to see that we were able to cater your needs with our facilities and staff. I am also glad to see you had a good time on our Castaway tour. We would love to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

77%

Cool hostel with an awesome vibe. The only issues are the lack of functional wifi in the dorms and the loud cleaning ladies that wake up the entire hostel at 7am by yelling across the halls and banging their mops on the doors!!! Please change this!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad to see you had a good stay at our hostel. Thank you for your feedback in regards to the noise levels in the morning. It is something we will look to improve on. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

Great place, animation, full of backpackers

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for your excellent review and feedback. I am glad to see you had an excellent stay. Hope to see you again soon. Downtown Manager

100%

I have put excellent for all the categories for this hostel. I can honestly say this has been the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Staff are friends, beds are comfortable with charging points and rooms are spacious. Bathrooms are kept clean every hour or two and there's decent flow/hot water. Downstairs is awesome place to party with plenty of people getting rowdy, and decent ratio of girls to guys. There's also upstairs area to chill - watch movies, play pool, foosball and computers. Awesome.


100%

Great place to stay, right in the middle of Hanoi. Would recommend to anyone travelling South East Asia.

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a review. I am glad to see you had a great stay at our hostel. We hope the rest of the travels went well and that we see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

71%

Great atmosphere and location, the staff behind the reception were very polite, but the staff behind the bar were very rude. Castaway trip was fun but very overpriced

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to review us and leaving the hostel some feedback. We appreciate the comment in regards to the bar staff. We have had some training with them since this comment, but times it could also be due to language barriers. It is something that we are striving to improve on though however. We are glad to see you had a good time on our Castaway tour also. We hope the rest of the travels went well and that we see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

(139 results)


View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback