X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown Reviews

9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1391 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Loved this place so much I returned 3 times! Clean rooms and bathrooms, comfortable beds, good social area with balcony area, secure luggage storage, great atmosphere in the bar downstairs, really friendly staff who are more than happy to help with anything. Would recommend for anyone


97%

One of the BEST Hostels I've stayed at throughout my trip!! Food is awesome, the staff is very friendly and overall a great place to meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, It is awesome to see that you had a great stay with us. I am glad that the staff were friendly and helpful and that you really enjoyed our food. We hope to see you again in the future. Cheers Downtown Manager

69%

Noisy hookups and knocking were happening all night in the all-girl dorms. But people were wild and fun. Great location for backpackers looking for a good time. Don't expect sleep.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and feedback. We are sorry to hear that a guy was let into the girls dorm, it is very hard to control at times. We do have another location in Hanoi, called the Original. This is a hostel with a chilled out vibe, if you are looking for a bit of a quieter experience in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

Staff were really helpful friendly and welcoming! Free shots at the bar almost every hour. The bar was good, food was good! Chill out area is great to hang out when waiting all day for a bus. We booked our onwards travel through them too. The showers are communal but clean and spacious! Great to have plug light shelf and security box right by your bed. Don't stay anywhere else in Hanoi! Even though it's a party hostel, it stops at 11 & moves on to a pub crawl each night so not crazy all night!


97%

Great party hostel, clean bedrooms and bathrooms. Pub crawl organised by the hostel every night, cool chill out area upstairs. The free breakfast is eggs and bread or fruit, and it costs extra to add on beans or yoghurt etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for the review and feedback. Glad to see you have had a good stay with us at our Downtown location. Thank you for the feedback on the clean bathrooms, rooms, and the daily events that we organise. We hope the rest of your travels go well, and would love to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

46%

They were all very aggressive about going on the castaway tour. Which I did not want. If I wanted to crazy party then I would have liked this better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, I am sorry to hear that our staff may have come across a bit aggressive when talking about our Castaway tour. We do also offer other Halong bay trips that should have been explained to you. We will make sure all options will be explained in the future. Our Original location in Hanoi has a lot more chilled out vibe to it, so maybe this hostel may be more suited to you in the future. We hope your travels go well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

74%

Be careful about taking advice when booking the ha long trip. They advised us not to use the company that was half the price and across the road. The hostel staff got a bit pushy, which made us feel uncomfortable. We had a fantastic time on the ha long trip regardless of what they said. Apart from that though... This place was pretty sweet.


89%

Great location, knowledgeable staff, excellent youthful & enthusiastic atmosphere. People hanging around watching movies, playing pool, having a beer, or just chatting. Room with a security guard and tags to store luggage is very useful. Bathrooms and the rooms are spotless despite the high number of guests. Breakfast is great. Downstairs bar is fantastic area as well. Does get loud in the evenings, but sound doesn't permeate to the the dorms upstairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for your review and feedback. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for the feedback of the facilities that we offer. We would love to see you again in the future and hope the rest of your travels go well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

86%

Amazing staff, really good services, felt safe the whole time, and a perfect place to base out of for Hanoi, Ha Long and Sapa. This is a party hostel with very professional, western-style management.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I had an awesome stay! Great lively atmosphere, perfect for partying and meeting new people. The only things I can think of for improvement would be : - Add blankets or put the AC a little warmer in the bedrooms at night - The "PubCrawl" is the same everyday and only consists of "The hair of the Dog", which is nice but closes early. It could be better to offer different options.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, It is awesome to see you had a great stay with us. Thank you for leaving us a review and giving us some feedback. We usually have the temperature in the rooms at 26 degrees, this may have been accidentally changed and therefore may have been a bit colder in your room. We will try to make sure this does not happen again in the future. We hope to see you again in the future and that the rest of your travels go well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

91%

If you're wanting to go out and party this hostel is the perfect place to stay. The bar has events every night and takes everyone out after. Castaway tour seems pricey but definitely worth it as you go with everyone from your hostel. If you want a quiet night in, maybe not the best place to stay.


77%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Super nice atmosphere, big beds and lockers, nice showers. Stayed here two times. Second time I didn't party and could still sleep very well. Only thing was the cockroaches, they are everywhere and the first time walking on our beds! The staff took great care of it by cleaning the room really well but the second time I saw them walking on the table when I had breakfast. Also my light wasn't working twice. But I had a great time and would recommend it!


83%

Felt like the staff was more into having their own fun than helping me out sometimes, other than that the food is great and atmosphere is great.


74%

Room very dirty, bathroom stinks and found 2 cockroaches in the room They didn't have the tours when I was there because there were no staff to make it Very nice place to meet people Fun Close to everything

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff were great! And general welcoming vibe and great hostel to meet others while still be chilled and spacious. Yohann was particularly great and helpful for advice on where to eat, best way to get around etc. So shout out to him.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for leaving us a review and feedback. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to see that our staff were great and helpful. I am glad to see that we could all be helpful in general advice in and around Hanoi. We would love to see you again in the future and that your travels fair well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

80%

Th hostel was amazing. Had great facilities and a really nice atmosphere. Bathrooms were clan and the rooms quite small. My room was infested with cockroaches and my bed was changed to another room without any attempt to notify me. Which gave me quite a shock to find my possessions having disappeared. Other than that it was a nice please to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for the review and feedback. We apologise for the cockroaches, and having to have moved rooms. The cockroach problem has now been rectified. We had to unfortunately move you to another bed due to the hostel being full and not having confirmation of another nights stay. We apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused, and would love to see you again the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

Best hostel I've stayed in so far traveling!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for the review of us being the best hostel you have stayed at so far. We try our best to make sure everyone has an awesome stay. Hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

83%

It's a really fun atmosphere! If you like meeting new people and you like to party then this is the place for you! The rooms and shared bathrooms are cleaned everyday. It's a great location in the Old quarter, where you are within walking distance of great local vietnamese food and cheap beer ( A whole 15p for a pint!)

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for the review and feedback. Its awesome to see that you enjoyed the atmosphere in the hostel as well as the location. We as a team hope you have safe travels and come back in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

Hands down the best place to stay in Hanoi if you are looking to have a good time. Pub crawls are great, staff is great, you must do the castaway tour through the hostel, the tour guides are great and they make sure you have the greatest time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Its awesome to see you had an excellent stay with us at our hostel. Also its awesome to hear you had a great time out on Castaway Island too, and that the staff there helped make it a top experience. Hope to see you again in the future. Downtown Manager

97%

Came here cause a mate of mine used to work for the Castaways tour. This place is amazing. There are tons of people in the bar area or in the common room upstairs, so meeting people is easy. Prices are alright, not as cheap as I'd like them to be but great food. Great happy hour & they're constantly giving out free shots. The castaways tour was amazing- pricey, but SO worth it if it's in your budget. Do that first because then you meet so many people & the rest of your time at the hostel is A+

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and feedback. It is awesome to see you had a great stay in both the hostel and on Castaway Island. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the facilities that we provide as well as the food being great. We would love to see you all again in the future, and hope the rest of your travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

(134 results)


View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback