Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown Reviews

9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained


1418 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Amazing staff, really good services, felt safe the whole time, and a perfect place to base out of for Hanoi, Ha Long and Sapa. This is a party hostel with very professional, western-style management.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


I had an awesome stay! Great lively atmosphere, perfect for partying and meeting new people. The only things I can think of for improvement would be : - Add blankets or put the AC a little warmer in the bedrooms at night - The "PubCrawl" is the same everyday and only consists of "The hair of the Dog", which is nice but closes early. It could be better to offer different options.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, It is awesome to see you had a great stay with us. Thank you for leaving us a review and giving us some feedback. We usually have the temperature in the rooms at 26 degrees, this may have been accidentally changed and therefore may have been a bit colder in your room. We will try to make sure this does not happen again in the future. We hope to see you again in the future and that the rest of your travels go well. Cheers, Downtown Manager


If you're wanting to go out and party this hostel is the perfect place to stay. The bar has events every night and takes everyone out after. Castaway tour seems pricey but definitely worth it as you go with everyone from your hostel. If you want a quiet night in, maybe not the best place to stay.


One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Super nice atmosphere, big beds and lockers, nice showers. Stayed here two times. Second time I didn't party and could still sleep very well. Only thing was the cockroaches, they are everywhere and the first time walking on our beds! The staff took great care of it by cleaning the room really well but the second time I saw them walking on the table when I had breakfast. Also my light wasn't working twice. But I had a great time and would recommend it!


Felt like the staff was more into having their own fun than helping me out sometimes, other than that the food is great and atmosphere is great.


Room very dirty, bathroom stinks and found 2 cockroaches in the room They didn't have the tours when I was there because there were no staff to make it Very nice place to meet people Fun Close to everything

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


Staff were great! And general welcoming vibe and great hostel to meet others while still be chilled and spacious. Yohann was particularly great and helpful for advice on where to eat, best way to get around etc. So shout out to him.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for leaving us a review and feedback. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to see that our staff were great and helpful. I am glad to see that we could all be helpful in general advice in and around Hanoi. We would love to see you again in the future and that your travels fair well. Cheers, Downtown Manager


Th hostel was amazing. Had great facilities and a really nice atmosphere. Bathrooms were clan and the rooms quite small. My room was infested with cockroaches and my bed was changed to another room without any attempt to notify me. Which gave me quite a shock to find my possessions having disappeared. Other than that it was a nice please to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for the review and feedback. We apologise for the cockroaches, and having to have moved rooms. The cockroach problem has now been rectified. We had to unfortunately move you to another bed due to the hostel being full and not having confirmation of another nights stay. We apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused, and would love to see you again the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager


Best hostel I've stayed in so far traveling!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for the review of us being the best hostel you have stayed at so far. We try our best to make sure everyone has an awesome stay. Hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager


It's a really fun atmosphere! If you like meeting new people and you like to party then this is the place for you! The rooms and shared bathrooms are cleaned everyday. It's a great location in the Old quarter, where you are within walking distance of great local vietnamese food and cheap beer ( A whole 15p for a pint!)

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for the review and feedback. Its awesome to see that you enjoyed the atmosphere in the hostel as well as the location. We as a team hope you have safe travels and come back in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager


Hands down the best place to stay in Hanoi if you are looking to have a good time. Pub crawls are great, staff is great, you must do the castaway tour through the hostel, the tour guides are great and they make sure you have the greatest time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Its awesome to see you had an excellent stay with us at our hostel. Also its awesome to hear you had a great time out on Castaway Island too, and that the staff there helped make it a top experience. Hope to see you again in the future. Downtown Manager


Came here cause a mate of mine used to work for the Castaways tour. This place is amazing. There are tons of people in the bar area or in the common room upstairs, so meeting people is easy. Prices are alright, not as cheap as I'd like them to be but great food. Great happy hour & they're constantly giving out free shots. The castaways tour was amazing- pricey, but SO worth it if it's in your budget. Do that first because then you meet so many people & the rest of your time at the hostel is A+

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and feedback. It is awesome to see you had a great stay in both the hostel and on Castaway Island. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the facilities that we provide as well as the food being great. We would love to see you all again in the future, and hope the rest of your travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next » last »
(112 results)

View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback