X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown Reviews

9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1355 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

I officially feel clean now I've left. Damp rooms, wet beds, bleached clothing and staff who don't care. If staff put as much effort into their customer care as their decorating skills this hostel would be great.


86%

Altogether definitely a party hostel. If you want to get to sleep before 11:30pm every night, go somewhere else. If you want really dependable internet, go somewhere else. If you want to meet lots of other backpackers and party, go to Hanoi Backpackers Hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and feedback. We do hope you had a good stay with us. For those travelers who do want to stay some where a bit quieter, we do offer an alternative which is a lot more chilled out. That hostel is called the Original and the bar shuts at 9:30pm every night. We hope to see you again in the future and that the rest of the travels fair well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

89%

I have now stayed here two times, so i think its safe to say I recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey dude, I am very pleased to see that you have had some awesome stays at the hostel. Thank you for leaving us a review and we hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

97%

Clean rooms and comfortable beds. Each bed has its on littl lockable safe, bed lights and power outlet. Awesome bar down stairs and huge common room upstairs with a big screen tv, pool table and computers! Just a heads up that the tour desk is pretty pricey so shop around.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, I am glad to see you had an excellent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time and leaving us some feedback about the excellent facilities that we provide. We would love to see you again in the future, and hope the rest of the travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

I think it's impossible to write anything bad about this hostel. This place has everything that you could ever want in a hostel. The staff speak great English and try to help wherever they can and it's a hub to meet all sorts of travelers. Make this your stay whilst in Hanoi

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, I am happy to see that you had an awesome stay with us. Thanks for taking the time and leaving us a review and feedback about what we offer for our customers. We hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

This hostel is great! Everyone is super friendly and helpful, the pub crawls led by the staff are always fun. The lounge area is awesome, and the restaurant makes tasty (if not a little pricy) food. The free breakfast in the morning is a little lack luster but totally adequate. It's never too loud because there are several doors that block sound on your way up to your room. I would definitely recommend this hostel! Even if you don't stay there, go there for the people and the party!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, I am glad to see that you had an amazing stay at our hostel, and would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and feedback. I am glad to see that you enjoyed our facilities, staff and activities that we offer. Hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

91%

A hostel that really knows what backpackers are looking for ! Love the storage room for backpacks, nice breakfast and if you arrive in the morning you can use the showers and common areas! Thumbs up!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for your review and feedback. I am glad to see that you had a great stay with us, and that our facilities catered your needs well. Hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

91%

This is a really sociable and lively hostel in Hanoi, perfect if you want to party a lot or are a lone traveller. However I found the hostel to be a tad damp inside some of the dorms. Also be careful when booking tours as they often fail to give you the full information and some, such as Sapa, are overpriced. Still, it was one of the best hostels I have stayed in for a long time and the bar is packed every night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a review and feedback. I am glad to see you had a great stay with us. The dampness is due to the weather being really wet during March, and it being cooler. It has warmed up and got a lot dryer since then. Hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

89%

Overall really good. Only negative was the terrible wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Cheers for the review and feedback. Glad to see you had a good stay with us. Wifi is something we are looking to improve in the near future. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

I have told everyone ive met about this hostel, cannot speak any higher of it! Make sure to book the castaway tour but you have to book it through the hostel. Craziest 3 days of my life so worth the money. I will be back to work here one day!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for the review and feedback. I am very happy to see you had a great time on our Castaway tour as well as a great stay in our hostel. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Downtown Manager

94%

Best hostel in Hanoi hands down. Rooms are great with 2 lockable storage units which fit all my stuff. Atmosphere is electric and staff are helpful in organising trips. Highly recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and feedback. I am glad to see that you had a great time whilst here, and that we looked after you well with our facilities and staff. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Downtown Manager

91%

An awesome hostel to stay in when in Hanoi, it is definitely more of a party hostel so keep that in mind, as the music plays till pretty late at night. But as a solo traveler, it is a great place to meet loads of people! The facilities are really nice, bathrooms and showers are good, with hot water. And you cant get a better location than here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey mate, Thanks for leaving us a review and taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am glad to see you had an awesome stay at the hostel, and thank you for the feedback given on the facilities that we provide for our customers. We hope to see you again in the future and that the rest of your travels go well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

69%

if you want to party every night - OK. if not, sleep somewhere else. the breakfast was good though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to see you enjoyed the free breakfast that we offer. We do have another location in Hanoi called the Original, which has a lot more chilled out vibe to it. It has also got a rooftop bar that closes at 9:30pm. Maybe this location would have suited you more. We hope the rest of your travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

63%

Booked a 6 beds dorm and there were 6 bunk beds! This is not honest, I felt scammed. And there is no need for this sort of thing, since the hostel is so big and always busy. it is the kind of place for those who want to drink until they die and nothing more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, I am sorry to hear what happened to your booking. I have looked into it and the booking for a 6 bed dorm was made when the 6 bed dorms were already full. Someone should have explained this too you but it appears that this may not have happened. We apologize for the mix up, and thank you for taking the time to give this feedback to us, as it is something we want to avoid from happening in the future. We hope the rest of the travels go well, and to see you again in the future. Cheers

97%

We had a fantastic time here. Was only planning on 1 night and stayed for 4. Atmosphere is great and you'll meet so many people!! Make sure you book your castaway tour with this hostel, was the best time of our travels so far....absolutely amazing!! Great food, helpful staff and good location...couldn't fault them!

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for leaving us a review and taking the time to leave some feedback. We as a team are delighted to see that you ended up staying longer than you planned to, and went on to do our Castaway trip to Ha Long bay. We are happy to see you had a great time and that we could provide you with a good service. Hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

94%

I have traveled to 40 countries and many more hostels. This is 1 of my top 3 hostels ever. Could maybe even be close to number 1. Should offer free ear plugs for ppl as ppl snore and something to dry hands with in bathrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, We are very happy to see that you had an awesome stay with us at our hostel. Thank you for taking the time and leaving us some feedback, especially about the bathrooms. It is something we will look to improve. Cheers, and hope the rest of the travels went well. Downtown Manager

100%

One of the best Hostels I stayed so far. It is super easy to get in touch with people because you are already in the party. Nice and knowledged staff. Though a party is going on you hear nothing of it in he rooms. Cool and relaxed roof top! 10/10. Good food and drinks.


91%

I would definitely recommend staying here :) the double bed bunk beds are really good for couples.The atmosphere here is really good the drinks are abit expensive but no more than any other bars.The staff are English speaking including most of the Vietnamese staff .Food is excellent and the free breakfast is a plus with optional extras at small prices.Something is going on every night which keeps you occupied.Only bad point is they turn air con off and then don't turn it on untill you ask

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for leaving us a review and taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am glad to see you had an excellent stay at our hostel and that you recommend people to stay here. Thank you for the feedback about the facilities that we offer as well as about our staff. With it currently being winter and being a lot colder we do not turn AC on unless requested. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

83%

Hanoi Backpackers hostel was a pretty decent place to stay! Some things to keep in mind: this is a party hostel, so most travelers here are the party type, which wasn't my cup of tea, but they do keep it quiet after midnight. The bathrooms were kept pretty clean and picking the right shower stall is hard (each has random heat and pressure). The halong bay castaway was a party! if you want a actual tour, head to Friends Travel just a block away!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for leaving us a review and some feedback. It does get a bit noisy in the bar at night times, but we try to make sure that we shut at 11pm every night. Our Original hostel in Hanoi is a bit more of a chilled out relaxed hostel that shuts their bar at 9:30pm. This may have suited you more to get away from the party a bit. Thank you for leaving feedback however and I hope you had safe travels since. Downtown Manager

100%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. GREAT staff, very clean (you see people cleaning constantly), lockers big enough for backpacks, and very social. Different events each night (beer pong and pub quiz were awesome) and even with these activities the rooms are still quiet since they are up an elevator. Stay here!!!!!


(147 results)


View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback