Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1883 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1883 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Aug 2017
10.0

This was my second stay at VBH, would strongly recommend to anyone travelling to Hanoi. They offer so many great 'extras' too, we had a great trip to Ha Long Bay as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a brilliant 10/10 review, we really do appreciate it. We are super pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We are also very glad to hear that you had a great time on one of our awesome trips to Ha Long Bay. Safe travels and best regards, Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Aug 2017
7.4

The hostel was great. I only have 2 issues with it. 1.Stayed here 2 times and both times they tried to demand more money than I was supposed to pay according to Hostelworld's app. Not much, but not okei anyway.(was prepared for it because of others reviews about it) 2. They charge you alot for borrowing the hairdryer. Most hostels let you use them for free. The hostel have great location, is clean and atmosphere here is great. Food at the bar is also very good for a good price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we always appreciate the feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for the most part thanks to our great location and high standards of cleanliness. The change in price you experienced was less than $0.08USD this is due to the changing exchange rate in VND generated by hostelworld, it is possible to pay in USD at the hostel meaning the price will be exactly as stated on hostelworld. We do charge less than $1USD for use of the hair dryer we do this to keep our dorm bed prices as low as possible as most guest do not want to pay for a service that they do not require, however I am now reviewing this policy. Its also very pleasing to know that you liked the great value food we serve. Safe travels and best regards, Alex Gelling, General Manager. VBH Original Hostel

  • Mark2830
  • Denmark, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
27th Aug 2017
9.1

A very cool party hostel. There's free beer and a pub crawl, which is nice for meeting people. Heard the breakfast was pretty good, slept in both nights I stayed there. (Because of the pubcrawl)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thank you for taking to the time to leave us a great review, we really appreciate it. It's great to hear that you an awesome time on our rooftop bar and out on our free nightly bar crawl. Safe travels and best regards Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

26th Aug 2017
9.7

Great hostel! In the center of he Old Quarter so everything is walkable. The staff is super friendly and helpful (all speak English as well). We stayed in a private room which is in a separate building from the main hostel where the dorms, cafe, and rooftop bar are which was nice because it was very quiet. Only "complaint" is that it was a relatively dark room, but in a city like Hanoi, it will be difficult to find a window that doesn't face another building. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us an awesome review, we really do appreciate it. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our standard private rooms, our deluxe private room offer lots of natural light as they have those rare windows not facing a building. Its also great to know that you loved our helpful and friendly team. Thanks again and safe travels. Regards Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

25th Aug 2017
10.0

Best hostel i ever stayed at, the vietnamese staff were so friendly and woody and daisy, the british staff were always so helpful and fun around the city! Rooms were clean and showers were fine, free breaky is a plus

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
25th Aug 2017
8.6

Nice hostel good staff! Location ok about 15min walk to down town where it's more lively!! Only bad thing was atmosphere wasn't amazing but I'll put that down to the people staying rather than the place! And get a big 8 bed room not the 4 bed it's like a clostraphobic cell

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it is very much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our awesome staff and fantastic location. Our 10 bed deluxe dorms have loads of natural light and are very spacious. Safe travels and best regards, Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

18th Aug 2017
7.7

Vbh the original was pretty good. They have great several day trips you can book and it's walking distance to the downtown must see sights. Downsides - We did not get hot water in the shower. It's a bit of a party hostel, a bit much for me. Ensuite bathrooms interrupted sleep a lot with some getting back really late from partying and some getting up really early. Complaint - I ended up booking a 2 day tour led by the hostal and they would not refund me for the $5 night I would be gone for

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate feedback. We are really pleased to hear the you enjoyed your stay with us and trusted us to book some trips for you. Our system shows that you have been refunded for the night that you would be gone if this is not the case please contact me directly at; alex.vbh1@vietnambackpackerhostels.com so that I can resolve this matter or kindly update your review. Safe travels. Regards Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

9th Aug 2017
8.9

Great atmosphere but the lockers in the dorms that are separated from the main facility are a little iffy. Just be careful with your cash and important belongings and you should be ok. Other than that great spot overall

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a great review, we really do appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, if you are concerned about your valuables you can leave these with us, in our safe. Safe travels and best regards, Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2017
10.0

Fantastic social hostel. Both the western and local staff are so nice and helpful with everything. Great stay. Alex the manager was one of the best staff I have come across.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a fantastic 10/10 review, it is very much appreciated. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and like our friendly and helpful team of western and local staff. Safe travels and best regards. Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Aug 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I've stayed at, they do an amazing Halong bay party tour which I recommend doing! So worth it Really good location and the staff are some of the best Only negative is that the IT staff obviously have no clue as they've placed the routers in the worst positions which means the Wi-Fi is pretty terrible

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a brilliant 10/10 review, we really do appreciate it. We are super pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we're very happy that you had a great time on The Original Castaways Island trip. We have now a much better WIFI set up thanks to you feedback. Safe travels and best regards, Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×