Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original Located at 48 Ngo Huyen, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi.
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original
Vietnam
Hanoi Hanoi 48 Ngo Huyen, Hoan Kiem
85% 1425
21.0295119 105.8484220
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jul 2016
9.4

Great location in the old quater, walkable to everything. Rooftop bar with free beer and a guided pub crawl at night. Rooms were fine as expected with en suite showers in room. Nice helpful staff, i arrived early and was allowed to take a shower before check in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI there Thanks for taking the time to leave us and amazing review. We are so pleased that you had a great stay with us. Anyone arriving early can always have a shower and store their luggage safely or chill on our couches. We also love to take the bar crawl out every night. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jul 2016
9.4

Very nice place to stay clean secure Nice staff They literally organise everything for u But if u want more like party you should go to the downtown one of the VBH

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for taking the time to leave us an amazing review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to help plan out your trip. We still like to party here but it is a very chilled hostel. We have some beers on our rooftop bar and take a bar crawl to Downtown hostel every night to kick on there. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Jul 2016
8.3

centraly located, rooms cleaned daily, Good value. more orientated towards the younger crowd.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI there Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at VBH Original Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • josephoare
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Stayed here several times during our trip in the north of the country using it as a base while visiting castaways and Mau chai. Hostel is excellent and stand are lovely. Arranged trips for us without any pressure to book through them if we didn't want to, sat down with us and helped us plan the route for the rest of our trip and gave us personal suggestions of places to visit and stay. We have now used all four of there hostels through Vietnam.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
8th Jul 2016
9.4

Great hostel for everything from location to cleanliness, staff, atmosphere and for the opportunity to meet lots of other travellers who are also looking to explore, go outout, chill and have a laugh. As a solo traveller I would definitely recommend Backpackers Original especially as I met people to head to Ha Long Bag with too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for the amazing review. We love to make sure that as many people meet eachother and the staff here are amazing at making sure that happens. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • carolinemizuki
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Jul 2016
7.7

Great atmosphere and staff, but the bathroom usually smelled like sewage at the end of the day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Our staff are amazing and friendly and love to make everyones experience the best possible. The bathroom issue is a problem all over vietnam. We try to handle it as best we can but there are some things that vietnam is notorious for. This is one of them Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

5th Jul 2016
8.6

Good hostel. A bit quieter than the Downtown hostel, but all a bit older of a building and facilities. Has everything you need.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI there Thanks for the amazing review.We are a lot quieter than the downtown hostel as we are a little more chilled out here for customers who what to be able to party and have a quiet night in as well. The building is older but it is our Original hostel in the group. But we love it here. Safe travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jun 2016
8.3

Perfect location !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jun 2016
8.3

Good hostel, but not any better than those charging less. Thought the small dorms were a bit cramped, but bathrooms were great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. Some of our rooms are a little smaller but it is one of the downfalls to the buildings in Vietnam they tend to have small rooms. We hope that you enjoyed everything else about our hostel. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

14th Jun 2016
8.0

The hostel is well run. Facilities are clean and comfy. The only downside is its so money driven that staff will push sales of tours (way overpriced compared to other hostels/agencies) to a point beyond reasonable. The bar upstairs would be a nice place for drinks if it wasnt for the "fun-guy-animator" shouting on the microphone every 5 mins. Overall, the place is ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here. We try not to be to pushy with sales but we do recommend them as they are all amazing. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.