Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1599 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1599 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
9.7

Seriously great hostel, very good free walking tour, range of tours and activities on offer, accomodating staff, and free beer to get everyone out of their rooms to have a drink. Pub crawl every night too to see the nightlife of Hanoi. Everything a good hostel should be

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
9.7

great hostel! definitely not as wild as the one downtown. the breakfast menu is better at the original & you can get a good night's sleep on the comfy beds provided. had a great experience overall

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kennethngty
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Feb 2017
8.9

Lovely hostel that suitable for backpackers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nsmith183826
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.1

We stayed initially in a 6 bed dorm which was a rather cramped and dark room, then in an 8 bed which was nicer. However, the beds are very comfortable with a proper quilt :) the hostel is very clean. The wifi is really good all around the hostel. Free beer 5-6. Free breakfast good. They do a free walking tour every day which was great. This is the quieter hostel of the 2 but we preferred that. Little walk to main area but lots of food and bars close by! Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
9.7

Could improve the free breakfast - felt that was a little stingy. But the bed rooms were clean- excellent security at night as well as for personal items in room with bedside cubby and under bed locker with keys. Clean ensuite bathroom.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
9.4

Good social hostel in a quieter part of Hanoi. Breakfast was good as was the free beer! Would stay again if in Hanoi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
8.9

Great hostel, great staff, the bathrooms were cleaned a lot but never really dried around the shower or toilet. Would go back for sure, activities and staff made the experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate the feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will continue to work with our housekeeping team to ensure we achieve and maintain the highest possible standards of cleanliness. It's great to know that our staff and free activities made your stay with us so special. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Vietnam, safe travels. Regards, Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
8.6

Hostel was very clean. Would prefer a more friendly and lively atmosphere though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review, we really appreciate the feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, cleanliness is always of the utmost importance to us. We do always try and create a fun and friendly atmosphere on our rooftop bar where we have free beer and many different nightly events. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Vietnam, safe travels. Regards, Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

9th Feb 2017
8.6

Nice hostel whith everything you need. Good beds, lockers, free beer and nice facilities!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to make use of our great facilities and free beer! Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Vietnam, safe travels. Regards, Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

7th Feb 2017
8.6

I had a great check in experience with the front desk staff. Free breakfast and beer during happy hour is always nice. They have a cafe and bar in the hostel which is awesome. Great common areas and in perfect location of the Old Quarter. Im a little mad because I left my bag on my bed which has locks on it and someone clearly had tried to enter it (the dials were set to 0,0,0 which I never do). Other than that it was a good place and great value for the money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review, we really appreciate the feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to make use of our free beer and free breakfast. We do provide big lockers under all of the beds to leave your bags in. Its also great to here that you had a pleasant and easy check in and liked the awesome food and drink we have on offer. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Vietnam, safe travels. Regards, Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.