Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,559 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,559 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original Located at 48 Ngo Huyen, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi.
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original
Vietnam
Hanoi Hanoi 48 Ngo Huyen, Hoan Kiem
89% 1559
21.0295119 105.8484220
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Monieu125
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jan 2017
8.6

The staff were so helpful! They will help you plan your trip. Very nice hostel. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. It's great to hear that our team of western and local travel experts were able to help you plan your trip. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, safe travels. Regards Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.4

Good place to stay and meet people; very social backpacker atmosphere. Loved the free beer hour and free city tour. Definitely a party hostel! 🤙

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Its great to hear that you had a good meeting lots of awesome people during your stay with us and enjoyed our free daily beer and walking tour. Safe travels, Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

10th Jan 2017
7.7

Decent hostel. Breakfast was pretty good for a hostel. Beds were awful. Cheap and in the backpacker area though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate the feedback as we are always looking for ways we can improve. We are please you enjoyed our free breakfast and found our location convenient. I will investigate and improve where required our beds as soon as possible. Safe travels, hopefully we will see you again soon. Regards Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

9th Jan 2017
8.0

Decent place but I was put in a room on the 5th floor. Far too much climbing. I also wasn't able to switch my top bunk to a bottom bunk when I asked, even though it appeared a bottom bunk was free.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. We are always happy to switch a guest to different bed so long as it is available. Thank you for staying with us, safe travels. Regards Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Jan 2017
9.1

Only spent 2 nights here because we were going on castaways (highly recommended) but I would be happy enough to stay more nights. Good staff. No recreational facilities like other hostels. Would recommend but be tempted to suggest downtown version over original. Cheers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. Its great to hear that you enjoyed castaways and that you would highly recommend it. As well as our 2 bars and several chill out areas we do also have a movie room for guests to enjoy for free. Our other location in Hanoi, VBH Downtown is also a great choice. Safe travels, Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jan 2017
7.4

My bed was right in front of the bathroom door, whenever someone used the bathroom , the light would wake me up . The design of the bathroom door could be improve.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thanks so much for leaving us a review, we really appreciate the feedback as we are always trying to improve. It is unfortunate you woken by other guests, we do have ear plugs and eye masks available at reception, in order to minimise disturbances when in a dorm. Safe travels, Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2017
8.9

Stayed here for 3 nights 4 days. Really easy to ask for help in planning your trip. They will sit down and go through a lot with and for you. They are honest about what you should see and do. I stayed in the female dorm~ it was great~ meeting new people everyday and able to plan activities with. As a solo traveler this was the better places to get to know everyone. You can either get into the drinking and bar scene or stay away from it if you want in this hostel. Loved my stay. Recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thanks so much for leaving us a review, we really appreciate it. It really seems like you were able to make the most of all the best things about our hostel; lots of travellers to party or chill out with, knowledge staff that are able to help with everything and anything and a good bed to get some sleep for a few nights. We really hope you enjoyed the rest of trip, safe travels. Regards Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

  • rowermike
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
7th Jan 2017
9.4

Great place to meet people, very social, good location, the rooms overlooking the street get a lot of noise in the morning though. Went on their castaway island tour which is so much fun but quite overpriced at US$199. Also the water in Ha long bay is more pollution than water so everyone got a rash or an infection. Lovely western staff really make an effort, special shout out to Allie from Pittsburgh who I think I want to marry and has the most beautiful soul I've ever encountered.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to meet lots of people. Great to hear you had so much fun on; The Original Castaways Island. I will pass on your thanks to Allie. Safe travels. Regards Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.1

Only spent 2 nights here because we were going on castaways (highly recommended) but I would be happy enough to stay more nights. Good staff. No recreational facilities like other hostels. Would recommend but be tempted to suggest downtown version over original. Cheers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. Its great to hear that you enjoyed castaways and that you would highly recommend it. As well as our 2 bars and several chill out areas we do also have a movie room for guests to enjoy for free. Our other location in Hanoi, VBH Downtown is also a great choice. Safe travels, Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jan 2017
9.7

A truly epic Hostel. Highly recommend anyone in Hanoi stay here. A little less 24/7 hectic than downtown but still has a good vibe and free drinks to keep things exciting. Take the castaways tour they offer. Best thing I did in Vietnam (thanks to Vic and Rosie for making it epic).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us an awesome review, we really appreciate it. Its great to hear that you enjoyed castaways I will pass your thanks on to Vic and Rosie. Our other location in Hanoi; VBH Downtown is also a great for anyone looking for a massive party every night and while we like a drink and a party, we do try and keep it more chilled at original. Safe travels, Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.