Hostelworld.com

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original Located at 48 Ngo Huyen, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi.
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original
Vietnam
Hanoi Hanoi 48 Ngo Huyen, Hoan Kiem
84% 1365
21.0295119 105.8484220
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Apr 2016
7.4

Most of the staff are wonderful and helpful which is awesome. The breakfast here is the worst though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Our staff here are amazing and we love to make sure that our customers are looked after and happy. I will pass on your comments regarding the breakfast to our head chef. If you could send me an email with a bit more info that would be amazing and we can keep improving. Safe travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • rachking1990
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
9.7

Really enjoyed my stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there Thanks for the amazing review. We loved having you stay as well. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Apr 2016
7.1

Nice hostel but 4 bedroom dorm was windowless and therefore musty and damp. No way to control the aircon and therefore both freezed and fell sick. I would not take this same room again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Unfortunately due to the style of building in Vietnam it is not always possible to have windows in every room. We are looking into the air con issue. But our 24 hour reception is always happy to help and turn off the aircon or adjust the temp for you. Enjoy the rest of the trip Safe travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

15th Apr 2016
5.4

Great location, great atmosphere, staff wereally nice enough. Top bunks have no power outlet or shelft to put anything. bathroom had an abundance of black mold, door was so loud it woke the room up everytime it opened. Tours and ticket VERY expensive. Go across the street good for a patry but....as long as you don't expect much. Wouldn't be back. Enough places along the street

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We have looked into the top bunks and we are in the process of getting extra power points put in the rooms. The mold is an ongoing issue at this time of the year in Vietnam. Our housekeeping staff clean the rooms everyday and we do our best to stay on top of it. Our tours are more expensive but we do provide quality western run organised tours that we have many compliments on. But I will pass on your comments to senior management Safe travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2016
9.4

Super friendly People (staff and guests alike) and the Free walking tour was really cool and interesting to do of You don't have a lot of Time in Hanoi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for the amazing review. Everyone loves the daily free walking tour and I am so happy that you are a fan of the staff. Hope you enjoy the rest of the trip Safe travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
10.0

The staffs are helpful. Even though they don't speak much English, they try their best to provide the best services. Since I am not used to slept on the upper bed, they were willing to change my bed to the bottom and let me stay for the rest of my journey. Besides, since I got burning by a motorbike, I asked for any medicine or creams. The security tried his best to show me the traditional treatment for a burning wound. At that time, I felt so warm-hearted with his help.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us an amazing 10/10 review. We are working with our staff to provide them free english lessons so that they can improve and provide even better customer service. I will pass on your kind words to our head of security. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Jmcaleen
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Apr 2016
8.9

We had a private double room and it smelled very musty/mouldy, but we left the ventilation on all night and it wasn't a major problem. Some more sensitive people may have a problem with the air in the room though. Overall, Vietnam Backpackers is a stellar operation!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There Thanks for taking the time to leave us an amazing review. The rooms are cleaned everyday and we try to make sure as much air flow gets into them as possible. Especially at such a humid time of the year. Hope you enjoy the rest of the trip Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Apr 2016
8.6

Decent cheap hostel. Great breakfast and free beer every evening is always a plus. Sleeping right next to the AC was absolutely FREEZING but still better than none. Blankets on the beds rather than just sheets would be better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2016
7.4

Rooms are clean and comfortable. Big lockers. Free breakfast and happy hour beer were a nice treat. Pretty social hostel. Staff were something unapproachable as they were often all sitting around talking to each other. But otherwise was a good stay for a few days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Apr 2016
6.0

This hostel is generally clean, however it is a party hostel. I usually enjoy hostel bars however I found on the rooftop bar staff (although very friendly) were quite pushy about getting people to drink and play drinking games, unlike other party hostels i have been in. A night staff member also put a male into a female dorm at 3am and stated that the girls were lying or incorrect by saying it was a female only dorm, which I found quite rude - and many girls may not have been happy about this.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our rooftop staff are friendly but we never push people into drinking if they so not want to. I have spoken to all of my staff and made sure this is understood. We just want all of our customers to have the best possible experience. I am aware of the mistake by our night reception and we are deeply apologetic for this. I have spoken to the staff member in question and have taken him over all of our staff training again so that this does not occur again. I have also spoken to all of my staff members in regards to this as well. We hope that despite this you still enjoyed your stay with us. Safe travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.