Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,471 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,471 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original Located at 48 Ngo Huyen, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi.
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original
Vietnam
Hanoi Hanoi 48 Ngo Huyen, Hoan Kiem
87% 1471
21.0295119 105.8484220
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • alllllext
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Sep 2016
8.9

Great hostel, the beds were very comfortable, clean dorms & great security. Lovely free breakfast. I'd stress that this is a party hostel & they put on a lot of events on the rooftop bar which wasn't really for us. Free beer at 5pm til runs out! The free walking tour is really good! Great way to see the city if you haven't got much time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for the amazing review. We do like to party and have nightly events. However we do close up at 930pm and take everyone on the free bar crawl people needing some sleep can get some. The free beer is always good and our amazing Vietnamese staff do a great job on our free walking tour, We hope to see you again Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
9.7

Friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful location to go around the city. Very well-organized backpacker hostel. Highly recommend a stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2016
8.3

Our rooms and bathroom were clean however there were maintenance men in and out of both consistently over the two days we were there, which was a bit annoying. Free breakfast is great and a lot of tours and information available. If you're a solo traveller this is the place for you, easy to meet people, free beer at 5! The travellers working there are reeeeeally encouraging to get involved in the partying... Sometimes too much if you need rest after a 24hr flight like we did!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We are in the process of upgrading our facilities and we apologize for the maintenance workers. We do like to have a little party on the rooftop bar but we do shut it down at 9.30pm and head out on our free bar crawl so everyone can get some sleep. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Sep 2016
9.4

Awesome stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Aug 2016
6.6

Good location and facilities are ok, shower was pretty dingy and smelly though. Definitely a party hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. Our Hostel is in a older building in the heart of the Old Quarter. We apologize that you did not have the best experience with our bathrooms. We are constantly trying to upgrade our facilities to give the best possible experience. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
24th Aug 2016
9.4

Original Backpackers was great - easy to find if you have a map, very slick operation, super clean, mix of Vietnamese and western staff who are all very friendly. Many tours on offer, not v cheap though.Free walking tour was great if a tiny bit rushed. Hanoi is a great city and the hostel is well located for exploring it. Free beer every night! And fun bar crawl to their more partyish hostel down the road. Very good for first time backpackers - easy transition from home comforts to real Vietnam.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. Thanks for the amazing review. We are so happy that you enjoyed the hostel and our staff. and I will be sure to pass on your kind words. We strive every day to offer the best possible service to all of our guests We hope to see you again Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
9.4

Had such a good time at backpackers!!! Met some amazing people, the staff are fab, the bar crawl is fun!! The only quarm I have is that the air con was broke in our room and we mentioned it a few times and it didn't get fixed but other than that everything was great and you MUST do the Mai Chau homestay, best few days ever!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for the amazing review and the kind words for our staff. I will be sure to pass it on. The bar crawl is always a great night out and we agree that Mai Chau is amazing and one of the most beautiful places in all of Asia. We are in the process of replacing allof our Air Cons and we are truely sorry that you had issues with yours. Hope to see you again Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
21st Aug 2016
9.4

Stayed in an 8 person dorm room. The keys you are given work on a small locker for valuables and a larger locker under your bed for your bag which is great. Room was very clean with good AC. Had a problem with the water supply but reception sorted it very quickly. Free breakfast and free walking tour is great. Very good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for the amazing review of our hostel. We are so happy that you stayed with us and loved the experience. We staribe to make sure that all of our customers are always happy here at VBH Original Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
10.0

Amazing time here. Staff were so helpful...especially Mimi who pretty much planned my whole trip for me. Roof top bar is always good fun and so is the bar crawl which heads to downtown. Foods good. Walking tours really informative and free. Castaways I booked through the hostel and this is a must do!!! Honestly a great hostel and one of my favourites in Vietnam with such an amazing atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Fiona93
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Aug 2016
9.4

Good, social hostel! Free beer at certain times and free water is a bonus!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for the amazing review of our Hostel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the social side of our hostel and the 5pm free beer every day is always a great way to get it going. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.