Hostelworld.com

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,396 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,396 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original Located at 48 Ngo Huyen, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi.
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original
Vietnam
Hanoi Hanoi 48 Ngo Huyen, Hoan Kiem
84% 1396
21.0295119 105.8484220
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th May 2016
8.9

Nice and clean hostel. Very centred around drinking and getting drunk, which makes it difficult if you want to have a good time, but not drink loads. Walking tour is good to get your bearings and cannot recommend the 3D/2N Mai Chau tour highly enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st May 2016
8.9

Great place to stay, really good location, a little hard to find at first but no problems after that. Good vibe in the hostel, and great food and drinks available. Breakfast is awesome. Playlist could do with a bit of a change up but that doesn't matter too much if you're out and about lots. Staff are really cool

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for the amazing review, We are so happy that you enjoyed staying with us and that you liked all the staff, I will pass on the kind words. Hope to see you again Safe travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

14th May 2016
10.0

We had a great experience with this hostel, Ty Ha was very helpful before we arrived in helping answer our questions and get our Vietnam visas. The staff when we arrived was very friendly and helpful as well. We also went on the excursion to ha long bay/castaway island with them and had a fun time as well. Definitely recommend staying there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There Thanks for the AMAZING review for our hostel.We are so happy that you enjoyed the time that you spent with us. We are always delighted to hear that or customers love staying with us. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd May 2016
9.1

The first day when I arrived I went by mistake to the downtown hostel, the staff there was really helpful and called me a taxi (for free) to the original hostel. Thank you so much! :)) the staff at the original is super helpful and friendly as well. I enjoyed the morning walk that they have every morning through the city. I stayed there for 2 nights, was really good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that both hostels were able to help you out. We look forward to seeing you again Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

2nd May 2016
8.0

This is a good hostel to socialise and meet people, it's also good if you want to book one of the tours such as castaway island. The staff were friendly but there was a mix up with one of my bookings and I ended up paying twice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We are so happy that you enjoyed the social aspect to our hostel. We apologize regarding the payment mix up. It does happen but we always make sure that we fix any issues. We are also so happy that you enjoyed the time with us on Castaway Island. It is an epic trip. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

28th Apr 2016
8.6

Love the location, and plenty of locker space. I stayed in the female room which has toilet/shower within. Room and bathroom were pretty clean. The staff isn't the friendliest, not mean but you almost don't want to ask questions at front desk because they are always talking to each other and don't stop when you approach. They also are all about drinking, will knock on your door to tell you about drinking specials. Other than that hostel was good, I'd stay again and would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for the amazing review. I will speak to my staff about talking a little to much at reception. However our staff are always more that happy to help our guests in any way that we can. We do like to have a drink here and we only knock on the door to let people know that if they would like to have a drink with us or even just to come up to the rooftop bar for a chat that we are more than happy to do that with them. We are a social hostel and want to make sure our customers are getting the best out of our facilities. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.0

Private room very very expensive, room quite dirty and bathroom terrible - nearly fell through the floor of the bath! $25 US a night. Staff nice

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There Please can you send me a quick email regarding the room so that I can get some more information about this. scott.h@vietnambackpackerhostels.com We are glad you enjoyed our staff. I will make sure to pass on the kind words. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

23rd Apr 2016
7.4

Most of the staff are wonderful and helpful which is awesome. The breakfast here is the worst though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Our staff here are amazing and we love to make sure that our customers are looked after and happy. I will pass on your comments regarding the breakfast to our head chef. If you could send me an email with a bit more info that would be amazing and we can keep improving. Safe travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • rachking1990
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
9.7

Really enjoyed my stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there Thanks for the amazing review. We loved having you stay as well. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • chantellezei6931
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Apr 2016
7.4

It was ok. I wouldn't stay here again tho. The private room was really small and smelt of mould. Try the 'downtown' sister hostel instead. The 'pub crawl' only took you to this hostel anyway so you could spend more money at the downtown hostel which is owned by the same people. The local reception staff were a bit rude and you wernt able to charge things to your room and had to pa everything upfront, when staying in a private room this was pretty annoying. they even wanted us to pay for

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for leaving us a review and for the feedback. We are continually working on our private rooms renovating them to make them better for our customers. I will defiantly pass on your comments to the group management. We unfortunately do not have the facilities to charge things to rooms. After all we are a hostel not a hotel.I apologize if you had been given this impression but this has never been the case. We take everyone on the bar crawl to the downtown hostel as we are a more chilled out hostel and not everyone want to party hard all night so we take everyone that does so they can continue drinking so the rest of our guests can get some sleep. Enjoy the rest of your trip. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.