Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,448 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,448 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original Located at 48 Ngo Huyen, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi.
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original
Vietnam
Hanoi Hanoi 48 Ngo Huyen, Hoan Kiem
86% 1448
21.0295119 105.8484220
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Aug 2016
9.4

Stayed in an 8 person dorm room. The keys you are given work on a small locker for valuables and a larger locker under your bed for your bag which is great. Room was very clean with good AC. Had a problem with the water supply but reception sorted it very quickly. Free breakfast and free walking tour is great. Very good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
10.0

Defintely a party hostel to be recommended. Facilities are a little older than in the sister hostel in Old Town, but therefore value for money is at least for the double rooms much better. Otherwise everything very comparable, free beer, Castaway tours, helpful staff, good wifi etc. Would definetly come again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Hugo11
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
7.7

Stayed twice, first time was great except for the one smelly shower for 12 people, second time my locker under the bed was broken, but the staff are great, helpful, good atmosphere and the party moves elsewhere at 10 so you can easily choose to party or have a night off. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We try and maintain our room as often as possible but with such a big hostel and so many people sometimes its hard to keep up. Our showers are cleaned daily and if there is ever and issues our lovely housekeepers are more than happy to come back and clean them again. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • msadriennet3064
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.7

Everything I read as a review, met expectations. And the experience exceeded them! The family made our stay with them one of the highlights of our trip. Can't say enough good things! I redouble value. Comfy beds. Big beds! All around amazing. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.9

Great hostel, really good vibes, helpful staff, good food and overall great value for money. Would definitely reccomend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for the amazing review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hoe that you enjoy the rest of your trip. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Aug 2016
10.0

The Vietnam Backpacker-Original is a great hostel. It's right in the middle of the old quarter and close to everything, including food. We booked a private room for two people, and we were pleased with the cleanliness of the room. The hostel's staff are friendly, inviting, and helpful. There are many tours that you can book through the hostel, and the events through the hostel allowed us to get to know fellow travellers. I would definitely stay there again if I return to Hanoi!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There Thanks for the amazing 10/10 review. We strive to offer backpackers the best hostel of their trip and always make sure that it is possible to meet other people and socialise as much or as little as you want. I will pass on the kind words to our staff Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
8.6

Very clean, good atmosphere for meeting people and staff on hand to help with travel arrangements. Good free walking tour to get your bearings and see part of hanoi you might not normally see.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for the amazing review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at VBH Original. Thank you for the kind words about our amazing staff. I will be sure o pass them on. Our walking tour gives customers an idea of what to see in Hanoi and the Old Quarter and our Western and Vietnamese Staff can help you get around the whole country and South East Asia. Enjoy the rest of the trip Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
9.1

the organised events by the hostel were a really good idea to get everyone together and meet new people, and the staff were super helpful and answered the millions of questions we had about Different places in Vietnam.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for the amazing review. All of our staff have travelled vietnam extensively and we love to help our backpacking buddies travel around this amazing country. We organize events to make sure that everyone can get together to have some beers and meet each other and our staff love to make sure that it happens every night Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Aug 2016
8.6

We stayed here on our first night which was very useful as great tours are organised from this hostel. Staff were exceptionally helpful and happy to look after our luggage even after our stay. It was slightly expensive in terms of the room/bathroom but perfectly adequate. Overall very happy with our stay. Lots of opportunity to meet other young travellers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for taking the time to review us. I will pass on your kind words about our staff. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our tours. We hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • lucasschaeffer8559
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Aug 2016
9.7

Great hostel, pretty chill vibe since it is not the party hostel. very clean, secure lockers. Good location. Liked it a lot. Only thing was one of the staff trying to sell me a SIM card too many times. I was not a fan of that, but didn't ruin the stay. Recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for the amazing review. We try and make sure that we provide everything a backpacker could need during their stay. However sim cards are not one of these things. We do not sell them here so Im unsure of the confusion with that. We hope that you have a great trip and safe travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.