Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1700 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1700 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
9.4

Great place to stay for your first few nights in Hanoi! Great location, clean and tidy. Great amount of food for breakfast! Very helpful staff. We would definately stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
8.6

Everything u need - great free walking tour, awesome pub crawl, delicious breakfast. Location is ok little walk to the madness but that means it is a bit quieter.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.4

Great hostel, rooms are small and tight but can fit your bag under the bed so that helps. Staff are super helpful and knowledgeable. Location is great (free walking tour in the AM is awesome for getting your bearings). Only tiny thing I noticed they charge more for buses/tours etc than others on the same street which we ended up doing to save us $$. Oh and Stick with the eggs at breakfast the rest is awful haha

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mwillssss
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Apr 2017
8.3

Dorm was nice and had a good amount of space-- bathroom was quite small and cramped however, and the shower was supbar and tended to make a mess. The staff was very useful in providing information, and the free breakfasts were quality. Great location in the Old Quarter!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Apr 2017
6.3

Overall it's not worth the hype. They do some good tours and good bar crawls but that's about it. The free breakfast isn't great, they don't allow you to turn the air con on until 4pm, you have to pay for towels and the building next door is currently being refurbished so expect very loud drilling from 7am.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Apr 2017
9.7

We preferred the Original so much over the downtown hostel! It's a more laid back atmosphere and a perfect option if you don't want to party every night. The staff at the travel desk was super helpful and assisted us booking all of our bus tickets. Still I noticed that the food is somehow more expensive than in the Downtown hostel (even though the dishes are the same?!) and the free breakfast maybe feeds a four year old child so you always end up paying for your breakfast anyways. Still good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
7.4

This was the first hostel I stayed at in Vietnam and I would definitely recommend it to get a feel of the Old Quarter and the Vietnamese lifestyle. The food & drink selection was good and the staff quite accomodating and helpful. It's accomodating and friendly but the biggest turnoffs are the unclean bathrooms and spotty wifi in the opposite building on the top floor - hot like a muggy opium den! More outlets for beds and space for dining would be better also.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Apr 2017
8.9

The hostel was clean and did a good job fostering a nice environment. My only complaint is that they only sell one tour of Halong Bay that is at an absurdly high cost (125 dollars for 2 days). Good for partying and meeting people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
8.6

Great evening activities offered by the hostel, pretty good breakfast, stellar location. Room was a bit cramped and bathroom wasn't the cleanest but it was fine for our short stay. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ambar717
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
8.6

Wonderful hostel to live in.. Good ambience with people from all over... Security is good too... Bfast is good and pub crawls are awesome...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.