Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1755 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1755 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
4.6

I booked an airport shuttle which was easy and very convenient, however the driver didn't speak a word of english and took me to the wrong hostel. When we tried to clarify our correct location, he seemed confused and wondered if I was even the right person. I finally called the front desk. They helped the situation, however I wish it didn't happen. On arrival we were welcomed with no electricity and no wifi. The staff seemed extremely aloof and didn't seem to be sensitive to the situation.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd May 2017
8.0

But out of the way, which you may want but I would've preferred to be in the city centre. Good social atmosphere inside though. Convenience stores across the road to buy cheap beers and water. Rooms a bit crowd but are fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • michellevancomp
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th May 2017
9.4

Stayed here twice while in Vietnam and enjoyed it a lot! We stayed in two different 4 person dorms and only those in the building across the road actually have the ensuite bathroom. Staff was super helpful booking onward buses and giving us ideas for what to do in Hanoi. The terrace bar and the bar crawl were super fun, but it was also nice that the whole hostel quieted down at 9:30 when the bar closed down. Overall, it's a good place to chill but also super social.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th May 2017
8.0

We stayed in a private room in a building across from the actual hostel. We were on the main floor so it was quite noisy when people were in the lobby area. The rooftop bar was nice with good drink specials and the staff were great and organized lots of events. Our hot water didn't work on the first night. The rooms were fairly clean though the towels smelled musty and like smoke. Walking tour was very slow and we only saw 2 places in 2 hours. Pub crawl was fun.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2017
5.7

basic party hostel, cant recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • silviaroccato824
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th May 2017
8.6

Poor WiFi. But excellent for the rest

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2017
8.6

Really enjoyed my stay, the staff were really friendly and helpful. The only thing that I would mention is there is luke warm water in the shower and the toilets for the dorms with no ensuite are downstairs in the common room. Would stay again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • pedrogmotta5720
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
6.3

Old installations, difficult even to charge your telephone, staff can't understand your English and don't care about it, 20's people atmosphere (even hard to sleep). Would not indicate it for a friend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • vivi958626
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th May 2017
6.3

We stayed in a four bed dorm for two night on the second floor. There is a shower room outside but no toilet so we need to go down in the public area, that's not convenient at all. And some staff are not friendly to us..... so we moved to another hostel next to the cathedral (Chien hostel), which is perfect!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
7th May 2017
8.6

Overall great hostel. Good wifi and price of a dorm bed is great. Excellent atmosphere and clean. The tour desk is very expensive compared to the street for things like taxi to airport or bus to next destination but I guess all hostel tour desks are like that. The staff will push their tours on you which is fine and for things like castaways tour it's good as there are many scams operators but the street travel agents are way cheaper for most other tours , buses and laundry. Will come back

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. Its great to hear that you had a great stay with us and liked the atmosphere we create and our high cleanliness standards. Our buses and trips are all provided by high quality and reputable suppliers this means that they are safe, reliable and provide our guests with the best possible experience. Safe travels and best regards, Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.