Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,507 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,507 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original Located at 48 Ngo Huyen, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi.
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original
Vietnam
Hanoi Hanoi 48 Ngo Huyen, Hoan Kiem
89% 1507
21.0295119 105.8484220
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • crimples
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Nov 2016
7.7

Nice dorms, nice breakfast, clean. Decent dorm in Hanoi. Would much rather stay here than the downtown one.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
9.1

Great place to stay in Hanoi with a few friendly western staff for the less experienced backpackers. Events start in the rooftop bar nightly, but more to the downtown hostel at 9:30pm, so it's quite after that. The hostel is well recognised by travel agents (which I'd recommend since they are significantly cheaper). This is by far my favourite hostel in Hanoi :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
8.3

Decent hostel with good beds and shower. Location is a little bit out of the old town (5-10mins)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. However the hostel is in the heart of old town. 5-10 minutes walking can get you to most places in old town from our hostel. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Nov 2016
10.0

Perfect to meet people and enjoy a few nights in Hanoi, in a quality hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for the amazing 10/10 review, We are so please that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to hear from you soon. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Oct 2016
8.9

Great place to stay. An especially good balance between being able to party and able to chill out, which was exactly what we wanted. If you want full time party/booze, then go to downtown. From the original you can also hop on the pub crawl and end up at downtown, but then you can also get a decent sleep at night back at the original. I recommend the free walking tour as a great way to meet new people and get the basic layout of Hanoi. The staff are extremely helpful too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th Oct 2016
8.6

The place was pretty good, the people that worked there were really helpful in booking the next part of our trip. Breakfast and beer were cheap with numerous happy hours. first time we stayed we had a room that had no hot water so it was cold showers but the second time we were in another room and the water was hot the beds were comfy and clean. location was great and the free walking tour was really good - recommend the hostel and trying the egg coffee at the end of the walking tour!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Oct 2016
9.1

Great hostel! Can't really fault it ! If you want a quiet stay it's the place to be, but still able to meet people for sure! Downtown backpackers their sister hostel is the party hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2016
9.4

Really nice hostel stay. Free beer at night made meeting people super easy and the atmosphere was much more laid back than the downtown version. Come here to sleep and relax.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for the amazing review. Our free beers and chilled location make our hostel perfect for relaxing with other backpackers and seeing the Old Quarter We hope to see you again Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Oct 2016
10.0

Very well run hostel,with everything you could need provided for! One of the best hostel's in the world. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for the amazing 10/10 review. We strive everyday to ensure that our customers have the best possible experience. We love hearing that we have achieved this. We hope to see you again Safe travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Oct 2016
10.0

Great hostel staff are really friendly. It's busy enough too meet lots of people if you are traveling on your own but small enough you can still get a good sleep if you want to go to bed early. Good location too, Really clean, super cheap to stay here, Food and drink is averagely priced for Vietnam (back home it's deff a steal) but can get cheaper if you walk along the street the hostel is on, same with the tours deffo shop around on the street for the best bargain tour rates..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for the amazing 10/10 review. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us we try every day to make sure that our customers have a great time every time they stay with us. Our food and drinks are a little more expensive then the street. But we also provide excellent service and our food is cooked by trained chefs and food is sourced to ensure high quality. Safe travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.