X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vietnam Inn Saigon Reviews

200 Le Lai, District 1, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
847 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

This is party hostel. There 's no culture. People wondering into your room at all times drunk and switching on lights. Food was brought into the room. Showers were five for a floor of 30-40 people, and we're dirty and mouldy. Good location and the staff were friendly and helpful. I wouldn't recommend unless you re in saigon to party.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry for your experience here at the Vietnam inn Saigon, We would hope our guests would research the hostel before staying as there are 190 beds here the party scene is inevitable, we emphasize that this is a party hostel and we like to show our guests a good time, for the more humble experience we have a guest house 2min walk from here that is very quiet. As for the dirty bathrooms they are cleaned twice a day, there is a phone on every floor to make staff aware of any issues.

83%

Good value for money and excellent location with a great rooftop bar. Showers and toilets need to be cleaned much more regularly though


91%

Great location. Brilliant atmosphere- such a social hostel- great for meeting people. My room (12 dorm) was incredibly spacious. Staff helpful, and more than willing to book trips/ bus tickets etc for me. Breakfast was simple, but enough to get you through the day. Would definitely stay here again!


63%

There is a chill out room but was unable to use it as it was mainly dominated by the staff members. Seemed to be so so many staff working there! The chill out room itself was only a few bean bags on the floor anyway so wasn't all that great.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We realize this is an ongoing problem, there is no excuse for it and we are sorting out staff accommodation so this problem will be eliminated. we are sorry for any inconvenience and appreciate any constructive criticism into making this establishment a better place.

49%

A member of our party had their iPod stolen and apart from one memer of staff nobody did anything at all to help. Wifi basically none existent. Poor enough hostel. If you want to sleep at all don't bother it is a party hostel and nothing else!

Owner Comment (Hide)
unfortunately there is only so much we can do to help, if you don't have a specific time or location/video surveillance, in a city of 9 million it is extremely hard to find the culprit, we tell all our guests to never take bag/phone/ipod out because there are pick-pockets bag snatchers and all the rest that prey on tourists.As for this being a party hostel we agree, we want to show our guests the night scene of Saigon and emphasize this to the fullest extent, because its what the majority want.

91%

All round good hostel with good communal areas the western staff working there were incredibly helpful and friendly such as Tim, Hugh and Dani. The Vietnamese staff were a little less helpful but I've experienced worse. Bedrooms are a decent same with the bathrooms plenty of them throughout the hostel too. Very good location close to the center but not too busy and noisy. Stayed for 5 nights in total would definitely stay again. Make sure you get yourself on the pub crawl if you're into that.


54%

An industrial-strength party hostel, they start with two "free" beers (obviously you pay in the rent) to promote bar sales, then pub crawls, and it's downhill from there. I awoke at 5 am to s.o. peeing on the dorm floor; then he took off his clothes and tried to get in to an already occupied bunk. Bedlam ensued. Sure, management isn't responsible for immature client behavior but it is for the alcohol-based business model. Also, the "chill out" room has no AC, making the lobby crowded & loud.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do not take responsibility for the actions of our guests, we do however enforce law if they act out in any way, which in this case it was sorted out immediately, however we don't appreciate when people scream at and abuse our staff for over 30 minutes at the top of your lungs when we are trying to help, it makes things a lot harder to deal with. Our apologies if you didn't enjoy our chill out room and we will be looking at options on how to make it a more comfortable environment.

83%

Great atmosphere at the rooftop bar as you get to meet people!

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great rooftop bar. Great view from room. Great location!


91%

Great hostel/hotel with a friendly staff. They could have been more helpful with finding our eyes around the city, but we're still nice. The rooftop bar was the highlight - great view of the city and a solid gathering place to have a drink and meet people.


83%

The western staff are too loud and in your face. Not all of us want to be screamed at by excitable puppies. They were nice enough but the whole experience was too intense. Too many people, no space, CONSTANT loud music which you can hear in the rooms, the hostel was relentless. Nice local staff and really helpful, locals were a bit calmer!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologize for the intensity of our staff we have addressed the issue, we encourage our staff to be friendly and outgoing to make the guests feel at home as this is considered to be a party hostel, sometimes they will get carried away and in this case they probably were too loud. Thank you for your input into making this a nicer stay for our future guests and again, sorry for any inconveniences.

83%

Had a really great time here, the rooftop bar was amazing and the pub crawls Monday Wednesday and Friday are so much fun. I found the staff on reception to be a little rude, and on my first day a cleaner picked up my key card off the floor by my bed and pocketed it, so I lost my 80,000 deposit, but the hostel staff were really lovely and very friendly, especially Hugh. Atmosphere could be a little impersonal sometimes but it's a great place to party. They need another elevator.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologize on behalf of our staff, the room cleaners are trained, if they find any room keys lying around they will pick it up and hand it into reception, we then use our western staff to communicate this to reception to resolve any problems.we always assume that you will have your key card on you. again sorry for the card issues and we appreciate your input to making this hostel a better place.

100%

Great hostel. The rooftop bar is a special place, so comfortable to just chill on top of hcmc!


97%

Great hostel with lively atmosphere and in a great location.


80%

We got to this hostel after staying in some not so pleasent ones. We splashed out and got the private rooms which for a hostel was a bit pricey, but it's like having a hotel within a hostel... With a decent view and shower! Can't fault the place, plays live sport, good atmosphere, cheap drinks and food isn't bad!! A hostel to be at if you want a more upbeat night

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

This hostel is good👍

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The hostel itself was ok but the staff didn't seem interested in attending to its patrons. Also any tour they offered was significantly more expensive than any of the other travel agencies.

Owner Comment (Hide)
As our tours are booked through an outside agency the hostel itself does not set the prices, the reason that it may be more expensive is due to the fact we only use well established, reputable companies. As for the staff, we apologise that you felt this way and we appreciate your feedback, as we will endeavour to provide the best service we can.

83%

Some of the staff didn't seem to know what was happening. Helen on reception was really helpful though. The free beer and pub crawl was a great way to meet people. I would stay here again.


74%

Nothing special. Not that clean. Not sure they sanitise the beds before another person sleeps there, they do change the sheets though. Staff all seem a bit disorganised and useless apart from Helen at the reception desk and Hugh one of the reps, who actually get stuff done. Best thing about it is the free beers and pub crawl (which is probably why it gets such good reviews...). Cheap and a good place to meet people, but probably wouldn't go back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hannah, we appreciate your feedback and we can assure you that the bed sheets are changed for every new arrival and if you did have any issues then do not hesitate to let reception know so that something could be done about it. We do provide telephones on every floor for these instances. As for the staff we apologise if it seemed this way but we are a large hostel and will be taking on more staff in the next few weeks to eradicate these issues.

74%

Great rooftop bar! Lady at the reception was quite impatient though and not very friendly to any of the travellers coming through, checkin took half an hour.. Other staff was very nice :)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(145 results)


View all Ho Chi Minh Hostels

Please give us your feedback