X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vietnam Inn Saigon Reviews

200 Le Lai, District 1, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
773 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Really decent place and would definitely recommend! We arrived into HCMC at 4:30am (after a terrifying 'overnight' bus) and the hostel was fortunately just round the corner. The staff let us sleep in the movie room free of charge, which was a bit of a life saver. Great hostel with friendly staff and other guests. The rooftop bar is a great place to meet people so overall bag yourself a bed and you won't regret it.


77%

We had a good time staying here. The location is superb, walking distance to most of the attractions in the old parts of town as well as the party central. The views from the rooftop bar are beautiful. The "free" breakfast is disappointing as the meal you actually get for free is so basic it boarders on incomplete and you are over-charged for any extras such as milk in the coffee. Not a big issue, just worth knowing in advance.


86%

Good cheap hostel with a good atmosphere. A little disorganized with a few things but they were quickly rectified. Dorms can get a bit messy at times but all in all a good cheap hostel where you are able to meet people, get free brekky, 2 free beers per night and it's location is amazing.


74%

Great hostel great location. Nice spacious rooms with great views. Free beer and breakfast. Uk staff are brilliant.


54%

Maybe this hostel is great for a certain kind of drunken frat boy clientele, but if you're not a jagoff looking to screw around on your parent's money, it's an intolerable atmosphere. granted, this is not entirely the hostel's fault, but it doesn't help when they ply everyone with free alcohol and recommendations for pub crawls. to top it all off, I asked for a recommendation for good Vietnamese food, and the staff gave me one piece of fried chicken and French fries for $10. steer clear.


91%

Large hostel with door locked. Separate areas for relaxing, and computers then bar and food on rooftop. Views are nice as 9th floor. Communal shared male /female could be better.


94%

The free breakfast was much appreciated before tours and trips! The hostel is very big so there's always people around. There is a roof top bar on the 9th floor which is always busy. And the pub crawl was fun- worth it for 80k dong. The hostel has loads of tours and things happening every night!


94%

Overall really good hostel. However disappointed with the laundry services -- clearly marked on the reception desk that all clothes delivered in the same bag will be washed together, and that guests are encouraged to separate whites from colored clothes. Separated my whites, but my then-white t-shirt came back with a significant blue tint; clearly washed with other, non-white clothes. Not impressed by this.


100%

Great hostel! awesome staff and people. The free breakfast and the 2 beers were great.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

When I booked this hostel I wasn't expecting much, but ended up being really great, the staff are excellent and the views from the rooftop bar are amazing. Overall, really pleasant and really easy. Would recommend


91%

Not a bad hostel. The atmosphere seems really awesome but I just wanted a blanket for my bed when I slept so I went somewhere else for the same price. Barrooms could be a little cleaner but for the price you can't really complain I guess. In a good spot. Close (5 min walk) to pham ngu Lao road but far enough away where you avoid the chaos if you want

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for your review, we would have been happy to have provided a blanket for you if you had let any of the staff know at the time

51%

Don't go to this hotel if you actually want to sleep. The hotel is very party oriented and the people in your dorm will come back at different times of the night and make it impossible to do so. It went on for the 2 nights we spent there. The bathroom is dirty. If you are traveling alone looking to get drunk and hook up with douchebags, this is will be perfect for you. If not, find a decent place to sleep and only come here for the rooftop bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We provide a phone on every level of the hostel so in cases like this guests can call security and they can deal with rowdy guests. We also provide excellent value private rooms and dorms with less beds for those guests who are looking for a better nights sleep. However, when living in shared dorms it is a formality that people will come back at different times of the night, that is something that is out of our control.

60%

The check in process is slow.


80%

A bit pricey but great location. Staff were incompetent - we tried to book tickets to the cu chi tunnels 3 times - the first time they told us to book the next day, when we did that they told us to book that afternoon and when we did that we were told it was sold out or we could pay extra and get a minivan. So we found one for cheaper across the road. Bar was great and included two free beers between 7-9. Toilet had a bit of a funky stench though, definitely needs to good bleach and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
As we are booking tours through an external agent sometimes trips fill up very quickly, we always ask guests to pay at the time to ensure that they have a reserved place on the tour. There is an option to take a private mini van however, this obviously comes at a higher price.

86%

This hostel is close enough to everything that you can easily walk around, however far enough away that it isn't very noisy. The rooms are big but very clean and spacious. I stayed here twice. It definitely serves its purpose and has a great bar crawl and roof top bar overlooking the city.


97%

Great view of the city from the upstairs bar/ restaurant


97%

Great hostel, clean, friendly, rooftop bar with great views and good food. The pool table was a highlight


89%

Very good! Have good staff and so good room, amazing food!


74%

Good atmosphere in the hostel and good value for money. Bathrooms need construction


57%

AC leaked all over floor/bags in dorm. Staff loud in dorm in AM. Bed wasnt clean upon arrival. Booked taxi through reception to airport (200k D) at the same scheduled time as someone else who also was charged 200D. We had to share the same car. Forced each of us to pay in full (400k D) instead of splitting the ride and said they couldn't allow us to split the fare because 'that's business'. That's not business, it's ripping you off.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we have your bill here, we took into account your deposit when preparing your bill. we can send you a copy of the receipt. the air con was unfortunate but we have fixed it now and are sorry for any inconvenience. the taxi was an error made by a member of staff, it was unacceptable and we will try to ensure it does not happen again

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(168 results)


View all Ho Chi Minh Hostels

Please give us your feedback