X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vietnam Inn Saigon Reviews

200 Le Lai, District 1, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
523 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Good hostel with nice rooftop bar. I thought staff were quite friendly in contrast to what some others have said.


23%

I was told by many friends to go to this place and I was sooooo disappointed. Sadly this post does not reflect Michaela and Jeff and the Irish guy, whom were away for most of my stay and arrived back on my last eve. My complaints were expressed to staff many of whom confirmed and acknowledged some of the wrong doing and wanted feedback. Annie tried to scam me with a fake hostel booking in mui ne . Staff gave no advice on area, wrong directions, no smiles, dorms left dirty, and others scammed


80%

The best thing about this hostel was the rooftop bar with pool table. Awesome view of the whole city at night with great atmosphere and great girl-guy ratio. Everyone from the hostel is up there before 9pm to collect their 2 free beers every day. The chillout room downstairs was also a good place to relax and watch a movie. Some stuff were unfriendly with the main downside being reception service time was long. Going across the road to Hide Out bar after rooftop drinks was convenient and fun.


54%

Check wasnt on time as 'the room was being cleaned' once in the room, it obviously had not been cleaned, bags of rubbish on the floor from the last occupants, stained bed sheets. The one guy left in the room let it slip it was actually him that had put the rubbish in the bags, amd that it was all over the floor before we arrived. Roof top bar is nice. Good atmosphere and free beer is always good. Staff rude and unhelpful. Would just ignore you when you are standing at the desk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your rewiev. We are very sorry that you felt the room was not clean. its just bin TET holiday for 10 days so we have bin very understaffed because everybody goes out of town, we are very sorry for this but its the one week a year we are struggeling to keep our hostel in perfect condition

71%

The stay at the hostel has been a mixed experience. The hostel itself is quite large with many facilities and an okay bar with a great view of the city below. The rooms were fairly large, however the a/c in my room was broken, room never cleaned, and the room permanently smelled of rotten eggs.The staff was extremely unhelpful, curt, and bluntly ignored you at times. The only staff members that were helpful and kind were the native English speakers and the doormen.


80%

Really good hostel but really really dirty! My room was disgusting!!!


94%

Excellent location. Very clean rooms n toilet. The bar n cafe on the 9th floor have an awesome view. Met a great bunch of fellow travellers. Definitely recommended.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice place to stay in HCMC just across the park from the main backpacker area. The rooms are incredibly basic but did the trick. The staff was helpful but very rushed due to the loads of patrons trying to check-in all day. The best part is the 9th floor terrace with a bar, pool table, darts etc. 2 Free beers was a great bonus!


77%

Its a party hostel so if you are looking for having noisy fun, stay here. Good breakfast and rooftop bar.


86%

Nice hostel. Roof top bar is really cool and you get free beer. Always feels like the staff are trying to get as much money out of you as possible but apart from that it's good


74%

Although some of the staff was very engaging and supportive of travelers, so of them were more content remaining behind the desk, hiding or collecting money. The bed that I was provided and the one above me, never had their sheets or blankets changed during the duration of my stay. WARNING: The taxi driver that the hostel provided me with would not unlock the cab until I provided him with an adequate tip. Even still, the hostel's location and the view from the top are very nice.


100%

Had a great stay here! Rooftop bar is awesome and has beautiful views of the city! Close to backpacker street with amazing food and bars. Also really close to markets and shops. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great place to meet other travellers. Definitely recommend!


77%

Too big for my liking - too many people. It doesn't have the cozy feel of a genuine hostel, it's definitely more of a hotel. The bathroom is shared between 3 rooms, although they had soap, including in the showers. They have free breakfast and free unlimited coffee and a pretty awesome rooftop lounge. Staff was friendly. Wouldn't stay again only because I prefer smaller hostels.


54%

The hostel has a great atmosphere because of all the young backpackers, but not really more to talk about. Not clean. In our dorm the trash can was filled and people starter putting trash beside the can, we were there for 3 nights and the trash just kept growing.


91%

Very nice place! And staffs are very friendly and helpful ,a bar in top with soft wind,and this price even have free breakfast and beer! Love it!=3=


100%

Awesome time at the Vietnam Inn. It was my first stop in Vietnam and HCMC can be pretty daunting but staff helped us out by booking tours and buses. This was made particularly difficult by Tet but the staff did as best as they could! The hostel is very busy so you're always chatting to new people and the 2 free beers on the roof top also are a great extra! Definitely a good way to end/start a trip in Vietnam!


89%

Great hostel in a great location. Such good value for money and super easy to meet other travellers! Two free beers every night and free breakfast in rooftop bar with amazing views was great! Offer plenty of tours and transfers all at good prices! Allowed us use of lockers, showers and other facilities even after checking out. Only down side is the staff was v helpful when you wanted to book things however once booked they did little in the way of helping! Definitely recommend!


91%

Nothing negative to say except staff aren't overly friendly but I can't blame them, especially in the reception, as they seemed to be understaffed. This meant long waiting times at reception sometimes which isn't ideal when you're in a rush. Apart from that, exceptional value for money. Great rooftop bar with great views and can't go wrong with the free beer and breakfast


86%

It's more of a party hostel. If you're traveling alone and want to meet other people definitely the right place.


100%

Favourite stay of trip so far! Great location. Accommodation is basic but clean. However, definitely the most sociable hostel yet. The rooftop bar creates a perfect stage to meet other people, and the staff leading bar crawls etc are great fun and friendly, without being pushy (if you want to get involved, amazing! If you want to chill, that's also fine - there's no pressure!) We booked 3 nights but just had to stay 1 more! Free breakfast and 2 beers a day also contribute to the attraction ;)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(88 results)


View all Ho Chi Minh Hostels

Please give us your feedback