X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vila Madalena Hostel Reviews

Rua Francisco Leitao, 686, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
989 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

It was a great and calm stay.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Bom atendimento, Local bom para ficar, com certeza recomendarei a todos os meus amigos...!!!!!

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Staff were nice. There is one computer for use in a funky decorated room that has a little tv as well and books. 12 bed dorm is small and lockers are in the way but at least it's relatively cool enough for sleeping. No breakfast but there is a kitchen. The thing I didn't enjoy was that it was not near (m)any good restaurants and the subway is ages away in Sao Paulo heat. I'd recommend staying In the city rather than vila magdalena but if you have to then this hostel is reasonable price


94%

C était parfait, nous sommes restées 3 nuits de plus!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci!! ce jur un plaísir de vous avoir ici a l' hostel !

83%

En general está muy bien el hostel, buena ubicación (zona de bares aunque no molestan al dormir y a 15min. andando del metro), buen personal, buena asistencia de limpieza y muy buen ambiente dentro del hostel. El único inconveniente que yo le veo es que le falta el servicio de desayunos... SALUDOS DESDE PAMPLONA.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Too little space to organize your things, the lockers were in the middle of the room. Had to pay for towel. Location was good, and people at the front desk were informative and helpful. All in all, I was looking for a cheap bed in a good location and that is what I received. Price was correct.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very pleasant hostel with intern patio for hanging out and good room with computers and couches. Very friendly staff, and a few blocks from all the nightlife of Vila Magdalena. Only regret : metro is 15-20min away... still feasabale


100%

Very pleasant hostel. Staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms an bathrooms good. I liked the open air patio, nice for hanging out, also a good room with computers and sofas. 3 min distance from the nightife of Vila Madalena... only regret is that the metro is a bit far (15-20min walk), but still feasable.


91%

Wonderful hostel with amazing staff


94%

Very nice little hostel, the staff was so sweet and helpful, made my stay in Sao Paulo a superb experience.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

All around good hostel.


54%

We didn't like the staff attitude. The girl in charge literally said on our arrival that she didn't like to have so many spanish speakers in the hostel, and commented on how many of us were drinking mate. It's a pitty, the place is ok and well located, but we left and found another hostel to finish our stay in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry, but your report sounds bizarre. It's really hard to believe that someone from the staff may have said such absurdity; yes maybe there was some comment about the habit of drinking mate, but I truly believe that there may have been some misinterpretation of this, because we do not speak Spanish and you do not speak Portuguese. Our team usually receives the most accolades in all different booking sites and even personally.

97%

Excellent hostel with passionate new owners. I planned to stay at the hostel for 3 days but ended up staying 11 days. Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area as well as having excellent multi language skills. The rooms were of a good size with large lockers which could fit my 50l rucksack. The hostel was being improved during my stay with a new bar and restaurant area which an only make the hostel better! Only downside is a school next-door but it is a minor inconvenience.


83%

You have to go there nice market on saterday, big market on sun day, and if you don´'t like markets there is always a cemetario. Kind and helpfull staff.


91%

The staff are really nice and friendly, and are willing to help you with anything. I really enjoyed my stay at Vila Madalena Hostel and would highly recommend it!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

->bad points 1-didn't see any filtered water tap 2-bathrooms are not so cool, because you barely have a place to put your clothes and the floor is always wet (bad conception/construction of the bathroom) ->nor good nor bad points 1-it's cleanliness is ok 2-locker's size is ok (something like 80X50cm) ->good points 1-it's safe 2-24h reception 3-the commom areas looks really nice 4-great atmosphere


86%

Really good hostel and a great overall experience!

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Would def stay here again. Great area, very safe. Staff are all helpful. Clean. Has a real warm home vibe to it. And internet is ridicously fast...thats a good fast. Just note when you come out of the train station turn left in the first street and then walk down that, its not clearly instructed and i kept walking straight for 20 minutes


100%

Best hostel experience ever!!! Love you guys!

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Brilliant hostel, couldn't fault it in anyway. Loved the way the staff gave a good map of things to see.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(60 results)


View all Sao Paulo Hostels

Please give us your feedback