X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vila Madalena Hostel Reviews

Rua Francisco Leitao, 686, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1005 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Loved my stay. Staff was great, location was great (Subway 15 minutes away). The wifi was probably the best one I've had in a hostel. The only thing I didn't really like was the bathroom/showers, too small and could use a small renovation. But it still gets the job done.

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Just perfect

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Consideré muy decepcionante que no ofrecieran desayuno por "remodelaciones", tuve que pagarlo en el bar de la esquina. Por otro lado, si bien la recepcionista fue muy simpática, tuve que proveerme de muchas cuestiones e información por mí misma.


97%

Lovely hostel with great facilities. Cannot complain about anything except for it bejng a little bit of a walk to the metro station. A really cool area of town. Highly recommend.


83%

Minha experiência no hostel foi boa, apenas é importante lembrar que não inclui café da manhã e que as reservas do Hostelworld.com nem sempre são registradas, acabei ficando em um quarto para 8 pessoas, quando havia reservado para 4 (ligue). Apesar disso, é um ótimo hostel, com uma decoração espirituosa, apresenta uma excelente localização e se encontra muitos estrangeiros. Fui sozinha e tive a oportunidade de conhecer muitas pessoas interessantes, além do pessoal do hostel ser muito receptivo.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Obrigada Mariana! Adoramos ter você aqui! Estamos sempre de portas abertas!

94%

Great hostel in a really cool area of Sao Paulo. Staff were so helpful and it had a really friendly chilled atmosphere. If the wifi was improved, this would be the perfect hostel in Sao Paulo!


89%

Really cool neighbourhood and great atmosphere both during the day and at night. Staff were lovely and really helpful. If the wifi was better this hostel would be perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We loved having you here! We have improved our wifi on the last days, thanks for the advice!

83%

A nice hostel that I would stay again at. A long walk to the metro, but a nice vibe outside which ensured it was easy to get to know people.


89%

It was a great and calm stay.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Bom atendimento, Local bom para ficar, com certeza recomendarei a todos os meus amigos...!!!!!

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Staff were nice. There is one computer for use in a funky decorated room that has a little tv as well and books. 12 bed dorm is small and lockers are in the way but at least it's relatively cool enough for sleeping. No breakfast but there is a kitchen. The thing I didn't enjoy was that it was not near (m)any good restaurants and the subway is ages away in Sao Paulo heat. I'd recommend staying In the city rather than vila magdalena but if you have to then this hostel is reasonable price


94%

C était parfait, nous sommes restées 3 nuits de plus!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci!! ce jur un plaísir de vous avoir ici a l' hostel !

83%

En general está muy bien el hostel, buena ubicación (zona de bares aunque no molestan al dormir y a 15min. andando del metro), buen personal, buena asistencia de limpieza y muy buen ambiente dentro del hostel. El único inconveniente que yo le veo es que le falta el servicio de desayunos... SALUDOS DESDE PAMPLONA.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Too little space to organize your things, the lockers were in the middle of the room. Had to pay for towel. Location was good, and people at the front desk were informative and helpful. All in all, I was looking for a cheap bed in a good location and that is what I received. Price was correct.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very pleasant hostel with intern patio for hanging out and good room with computers and couches. Very friendly staff, and a few blocks from all the nightlife of Vila Magdalena. Only regret : metro is 15-20min away... still feasabale


100%

Very pleasant hostel. Staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms an bathrooms good. I liked the open air patio, nice for hanging out, also a good room with computers and sofas. 3 min distance from the nightife of Vila Madalena... only regret is that the metro is a bit far (15-20min walk), but still feasable.


91%

Wonderful hostel with amazing staff


94%

Very nice little hostel, the staff was so sweet and helpful, made my stay in Sao Paulo a superb experience.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

All around good hostel.


54%

We didn't like the staff attitude. The girl in charge literally said on our arrival that she didn't like to have so many spanish speakers in the hostel, and commented on how many of us were drinking mate. It's a pitty, the place is ok and well located, but we left and found another hostel to finish our stay in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry, but your report sounds bizarre. It's really hard to believe that someone from the staff may have said such absurdity; yes maybe there was some comment about the habit of drinking mate, but I truly believe that there may have been some misinterpretation of this, because we do not speak Spanish and you do not speak Portuguese. Our team usually receives the most accolades in all different booking sites and even personally.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all Sao Paulo Hostels

Please give us your feedback