X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Villa Leonor Reviews

Rua Costa Bastos 681, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
83 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The pousada is located in Santa Theresa, wich is a charming part of the city, not far from the city center, Lapa. It will take you 10 minutes to walk down to the center, down the convenient public staircases. We stayed there two times during our trip, both rooms had a really nice view over the city. The same has the bar/terrace where a really good breakfast with home made bread is served. The breakfast on the terrace makes the stay worth it alone. All of the staff were nice and english speaking.


97%

We absolutely loved our week long stay here. The staff are truly awesome- friendly, welcoming and helpful- they create a warm, homely atmosphere. Our private room was spacious and bright and the rooms are cleaned every day including the rubbish being emptied, which doesn't seem to happen in every hostel in South America. The terrace overlooking the city is a fantastic place to have breakfast and to relax in the evening. It is in a good location close to Laps, with good transport links.


86%

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed this hostel. Great staff who speak english well. They serve a well rounded breakfast, with fresh fruit/smoothies. We were was a little worried about the location being in an unsafe neighbourhood, but by the time we left (3 days later) I felt fairly comfortable. I can't say enough good things about the staff - David and Anna in particular. On our last night out, David took us out where we drank on the street with locals - one of the highlights of our week.


100%

We had a really good stay at this hostel. The stuff is helpful and nice. Santa Teresa is a great place to stay! Yes, you have to walk up the hill a Little (good for your fitness) but in a view minutes you are in Lapa where a lot of Bars and Clubs are and I prefer to wake up with Birdsound and not with Trafficnoise. So if you like a qiuet, cool place with a nice view and good breakfast I definitly recommend this Hostel.


51%

No air con in the rooms and toilet seat broken. Breakfast is left out in the heat and not replenished when things run out. Staff seem disorganised but helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The room had air conditioning - a brand new split system! Perhaps you couldn't work the control? Breakfast is served until 10am. We try to be accommodating but sometimes we can't replenish it for those who arrive after that time.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

Can recommend here to anyone, hospitality was outstanding. Upon arrival we were greeted by Paul the owner, who went out of his way to make sure we had everything we possibly needed to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The staff were always friendly and helpful and the hostel itself is full of character and charm. Breakfast is included and is one of the best I've had from a hostel. I also became quite ill 2 nights before we left and Paul and his staff took very good care of me.

  • 17th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel has a homely vibe, not too much of a touristy area which is great, it's a short walk from some bars a and restaurants near Lapa and is easy to access the buses to other parts of Rio, like Ipanema and Copacabana. Lovely view from the veranda.


74%

Ideal localisation between the district of Lapa (10 min walk) and the district of Santa Theresa (10 min from center). The view from the terrace is really appreciable during the breakfast. Too bad that the staff is really incompetent, and the mattress awfull (you almost sleep on the cross-beam).


80%

Villa Leonor had an excellent atmosphere and the super friendliness of all the staff including the manager Paul added a very personal touch. We were treated more like family than guests and the place felt like a home away from home. Santa Teresa is beautiful and the communal outdoor area is a great place to relax with some stunning views of the city. If the kitchen area/facilities were improved and the rooms cleaned more regularly and thoroughly this could be the best place in Rio by far.

  • 12th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

The hostel was OK but our room was tiny, long walk to get anywhere,mosquitoes in room due to gaps in the wall/ceilings, threadbare sheets and no where to securely park motorbike despite being told there was upon booking. Staff were nice,terrace cool, breakfast average

  • 10th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

The room we were given was vastly different to the pics on Internet. Owner didn't greet us once after walking past us numerous times. The manager/barman however was very helpful. On the whole pretty average, it is a cheap hostel and you get what you pay for.

  • 8th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Stayed one night - in the room whose pictures feature on this site and others...

60%

The place is very nice and located in S. Teresa, one of Rio's gems. Staff and caipirinhas are also nice. Shame our double room was a very small single room (no table, no chair, no wardrobe). Cleanliness well below standard decency levels (of course, the staff do not bother to clean or change clothes).


91%

We had a super great stay at Villa Leonor! Nice location, cool atmosphere, perfect for our stay in Rio :)


86%

We had a wonderful time. The hostel's easygoing vibe makes you feel at home, and it's in a really characterful part of Rio. We felt we were treated like friends, and the whole experience was very special and individual.

  • 7th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Lovely old villa with nice view over Rio city.


94%

The staff was amazing and always helpful. The hostel is very basic, in one of my favorite neighborhoods. Overall I would definitely go back.

  • 27th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

In 3 days no room cleaning service, good brakefast on a wonderfull terrass.


66%

We spent 1 night in this hostel. The first shock for us was the backdoor entrance, which looked under reconstruction and not used.I would recommend to owner to put there at least note that the real entrance is from the other site, because we started to think that the hostel has been closed. We did not feel safe in that area and would prefer to use taxi instead of walking around on our own(mostly after dark). But the hostel itself was ok, breakfast fine and the staff really helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The 'back door' has a different address and is marked with a different number! When it's ready for use, we'll give it the same address!

74%

It would be very nice if they work on their internet connections..

  • 16th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
20MB dedicated wifi line between 10-40 guests. In the worst case scenario: at least half a MB each.

71%

The personal was very serviceminded. I got my first and best capirinha ever ; ) you get for what you paid. They should have lockers and more space in the dorms. Nice view over the city!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Brand new full-size lockers now in place for all guests in the dormitory!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback