Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Villa Mandela Casa Mojito Hostel Reviews

Calle 17A No.4-125, Taganga, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained


35 Total Reviews
  • 20%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 60%Location
  • 20%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 40%Cleanliness
  • 20%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

Overall our stay was good, and the hostel has a great atmosphere, but the staff could improve little things that made us annoyed. This includes that the lock on our door was broken, so we had to leave or room open all the time (although there were lockers in the common areas to keep small valuables), initially they wanted us to pay extra for the air conditioning (which ultimately we were allowed to use for free), a blocked floor sink and some gigantic cockroaches in the bathroom.

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


Awesome breakfast, arranged a van for us to Cartagena, and let us store our luggage on the day of check-out. The staff are friendly and accommodating and it's a good deal for the price. There were a lot of ants in our room though so be careful where you set down your luggage.


Nice hostel, nice staff, bathroom is quite dirty though


Very cheap, and you get what you pay. Three of the days we had water in a bucket to shower, flush the toilet or to cook. We booked two of the days on hostelworld, and then wanted two more, which they asked for more money and no breakfast, which we accepted. We talked to an other man in the same dorm room, who payed the same, and got breakfast. When we asked why we didn´t get breakfast, they had no good reason. The last day there was NO water, not even to flush the toilet. The staff was nice.


If cheap is what you are looking for, this is the place to go!


When we arrived we were told that the price for the private room was 50K but because we booked online, we had to pay 66K for a filthy room that was not even worth half of the price. Dirty, tiny little bathroom just as large as a toilet; holes in the roof just above the bed so a lot of dirt was coming in. Very disappointed.


Really good for what you pay. Staff was very friendly with us. Kitchen very well equipped. Rooms quite good, only problem is heat in the morning


Even though the staff was very friendly, the facilities weren't all that clean.


My room had openings to other rooms and the common area, so there wasn't a lot of privacy. Also, it was quite hot as the sun was shining in most of the day. The ventilator made a lot of noise. Some of the other rooms might be better.


Hostel Mojito was under construction while we were visiting. The room was just a bed. No table, no shelfs, no hooks.. A very loud and dirty fan circulated hot air. The view out of the window was against a wall! The breakfast was included and that was a nice touch.The road leading to the hostel was littered with trash (not a good first impression). The staff was friendly. Hostel Mojito is a work in progress perhaps it will be a better experience for the next visitor...


very poor hostel. i have never seen anything like shown on the first picture of hostelworld here. the rooms and beds have a touch of prison-feeling. there is NO wifi. they should improve the kitchen. i spend one night there and checked out again. was the only possibility in semana santa. 2 more nights i spend in a hammok at the beach. more comfortable. PLUS: owner seems to be nice, but has a lot of work to do soon ;-)


Unclean. Breakfast NOT included. AC didn't work. Very bad shower. Kitchen is not good. They say there's a bar but it is not on the hostel, which is actually more like entering someones home. The owner seems like a nice guy but there is a lot of thinks which needs to be changed before it becomes a pleasent hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
At Casa Mojito Hostel we are very pleased to receive any kind of review from our guests. This help us improve our services… Just few notes. 1. In the week these guests came we had a lack of cleaning personnel: we do apologize. 2 These guests reserve dorm accomodation WITHOUT air conditioning and breakfast NOT included; it seams a little bit unfair to complain about not receiving services we offer but which have a cost! Thank you, Denmark Novice Nomads.


The hostel in perfect location. 5 mins from beach/ restaurants & bars but tucked away in a nice quiet area if you want to get some sleep at night. Great sized rooms. Only dislike was that sometimes the shower wasn't working - but it wasn't a big deal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
At Casa Mojito Hostel we are very pleased to receive any kind of review from our guests. This help us improve our services… Thank you Australian Guests!


One of the worst hostels I have stayed in in Colombia, even though it was one of the more expensive that I've stayed in.

  • 31st Jul 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
At Casa Mojito Hostel we are very pleased to receive any kind of review from our guests. We thank very much this Novice Nomad even though we would rather he had written a few lines more to help us improve our services… About ours fares we don't have anything to add to Hostelworld list: Casa Mojito is the third cheaper hostel of eleven in Taganga!

View all Taganga Hostels

Please give us your feedback