X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Villa Saint Exupery Beach Reviews

6 Rue Sacha Guitry, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2223 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The hostel was in a great location. It was so easy to get around the city. The bar was also great for socialising in the evening. The only negative would have to be the bathrooms in the dorms. They flooded as soon as the shower was turned on and the bathroom was constantly in a puddle of water!

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thanks for taking time to write your review and for your positive comments about our bar area. With regards to the bathrooms, our housekeeping team clean every room, everyday, and after they have finished, the rooms are in a clean state. After usage, they may become less clean. However, we have members of staff on duty at the hostel 24 hours and they are always willing to re-clean a bathroom upon request. We onyl ask that our clients alert us to the problem.

40%

Worst place you could possibly stay.. we payed $180 a night for a double room (most we've spent on accommodation for our 3 month Europe trip.) So we expected big things. But we were let down the second we walked into our room. The room was filthy. Walls dirty. Bath tub hadn't been cleaned for years. The staff were not one bit helpful when our aircon stopped working after the 1st night. Our first morning there the complex had a power out. I hope everyone reads this and books elsewhere!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We regret to read that your stay was not up to your expectations. We are in the process of renovating our bathrooms over the winter period. We hope you return after our renovations have taken place so you can re-evaluate us.

89%

Great food and bar atmosphere. Good hostel to stay and party.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thankyou very much for the review. Our bar is open until late and is a great place to party and meet other travellers. We see you gave us 4 out of 5 for our cleanliness. The whole hostel is cleaned everyday by our professional staff to make sure our guests are comfortable.

66%

mushrooms in the bathroom.. it was cleaned every day, but nevertheless it was not really clean..

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Our staff clean every room every day. We have checked your reservation and seen which room you were in. We have removed the mold from the ceiling in the bathroom. Thanks for the feedback. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

57%

I had the worst experiences in this hostel! To begin with, our shower in the bathroom was leaking in 2 stops near the nozzle, and would almost flood our entire bathroom whenever someone had a shower. There was nothing we could do. The staff were ALL lazy and unhelpful. They would be sitting at the front desk either eating food, searching the web (i.e. facabook) or chatting to each other. And to top it all off, the first level had no power for 12 hours, so couldn't see a thing in the room :(.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We regret to read you did not enjoy your stay with us. It's true we did have a problem with the electricity, and it was fixed the next day as soon as the electrician came to the hostel. This was not our fault. However, we do apologise for the broken shower head, this has now been repaired. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

66%

Severely overpriced for shared dorms regardless of numbers Staff were very pleasant

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thanks very much for the comments regarding our staff. With regard to our prices, they are high in summer during the busy periods, in winter they are much lower. This is standard for almost all other hotels and hostels. When our guests are at the hostel, they benefit from a wide range of other free services, like our free breakfast, free tea and coffee all day, free Gym and Sauna, free internet and more.

37%

Horrible dirty rooms with no view x terrible value for money x a rip off for the money x staff not helpful and when we were given a triple bed room instead of a double refused to change it despite having booked in April for a double and despite checking in early x unimpressed and have complained x want compensation for a ruined last night of holiday

Owner Comment (Hide)
We regret to read your stay did not reach your expectations. We are in the process of making renovations to our bathrooms over the winter. We hope you stay with us again after our renovations have taken place so you can re-evaluate us.

86%

I had a great time in Nice, and this was mainly due to this hostel. I would definately come back here again. The only thing is the price though, that i found to be slightly too high for a youth hostel.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Please wash your bathrooms...mold is absolutely disgusting.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Ignored at reception by staff member so ended up waiting ages to get checked in. Bed was very comfortable but the bathroom was disgusting, neither I nor another girl who was in the room would shower there. Poor value for money as I paid extra to be in an ensuite room. Would not recommend.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. We regret to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. All our bathrooms are cleaned everyday. Bathrooms may become less clean after usage.However, should any of our guests be unhappy with the state of the bathrooms we have staff on hand, 24 hours a day, who are more than willing to re-clean the bathroom at anytime.

54%

The hostel is pretty old and for that price you expected a lot more. The kitchen is dirty and they don't have great cocking utensils if you want to do your lunch/dinner by yourself. The breakfast is just toast and cereals and some juice but thats it. The furniture is old and the beds are shaky and loose. Also our 14-bed-room was going to the street and it was so loud!!! For the money we expected a bit more.....50€ for a 14-bed-room per night and person for this hostel....nothing more to say!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. We regret to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. We shall be adding some kitchen utensils to our Kitchen to make it better for the guests. With regard to our breakfast, we offer a free breakfast consisting of cereal, toast bread, daily delivery of fresh bread from a local French Boulangerie, honey, jam, orange juice and apple juice, tea, coffee and fruit.

37%

Not worth the price, too expensive, and not very clean. Very noisy also.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We regret that you were disatisfiedwith your stay at our hostel.You stayed in one of our private rooms for one night, which are our highest priced rooms. We also have lots of other cheaper options available in the hostel. All our rooms are kept very clean. Our staff clean the rooms thoroughly everyday, after which they are checked by management to ensure standards are maintained. Should any problems with cleanliness be noticed, they are dealt with immediately.

77%

Good hostel with everything you need. It is a bit expensive but the free breakfast is a good inclusion.


83%

So expensive for what you receive, you are paying for the location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Our prices are higher in summer time than in winter time.Our clients benefit from a wide range of free and low priced services once they are at the hostel. We have a free eat as much as you like breakfast, free internet computers, free wifi everywhere, a free Gym to use,a play for free table tennis, a free city walking tour, free luggage storage, free tea and coffee all day,wash and dry all your laundry for just 7 euor beers in the bar for 1 euro and more.

97%

Loved my stay here


94%

A great place to stay, right in the centre and only a 5 minute walk to the beach. Staff were great apart from the american(?) guy on the front desk who seemed to not really give a damn. The rest were absolutely great. The bar was fun and the rest of the facilities are excellent. I definitely recommend this place!


57%

getting to the iron board required me to exit the hotel and going into the basement of the next building, no easy access. While ironing, an impolite young Englishman suggested that I "find a girl to do that for you" even thought I had never met that indivudual in my life. The hotel part used to be "Hotel Carlyna", only now it is more expensive. There's some new paint and new carpeting, but the air conditioner is insufficient for August.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Geetings from Villa St Exupery. Thanks for taking time to write your review. Sorry to see your were not very happy. It's true, the entrance to our private rooms is next to the hostel entrance in the building next door. All our facilities are in the hostel building, like our great bar, TV room, Table tennis, Gym and Sauna, free internet computers, free breakfast etc etc. It's unfortunate that another guests made a comment you did not like, however, we accept no responsibilty for that.

57%

the staff must have a responsibility for his fault. but he didn't. just say " sorry. i don't know" his attitude makes me angry. i had a good memories about Villa Saint Exupery garden. so i booked Villa Saint Exupery Beach. now i regret bitterly!


91%

In mixed dorms showers and toilet were in common. When someone having shower it tooks a lot of time, because people changes their clothes there after shower too.


91%

Fantastic hostel! Really good breakfast. They offer activities outside of what regular hostel do which is awesome. Perfect location for exploring Nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Really nice to read your review. We really appreciate it when people who have a great time here take a moment to write a review. We do have some great activities on offer, like canyoning, sailing and scuba diving, which can make unforgettable memories. Keep the positive vibe going for the rest of your trip, we hope it's as enjoyable as your stay on the French Riviera!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(219 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback