X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Villa Saint Exupery Beach Reviews

6 Rue Sacha Guitry, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2381 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

We were indeed blessed to locate this accommodation right at Place Massena hence I can't complain about proximity. Breakfast will be charged from Jan 2015 and I don't mind paying if hot food is provided. The current breakfast consists of bread, cereal and hot drinks. But the ambience and space is remarkable! There are computers, a gym and even a steam cabinet! Room is simple and though looks alittle run down, I am not complaining because hot water avails and it is well ventilated with heater.


97%

Great hostel, friendly staff! Common room and bar area is awesome, good atmosphere!


54%

The showers are ancient, the staff seems totally off most of the time (seemed bored when we asked for towels), the bar was boring to death...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Your visit to Villa St Exupery was during the winter period where our occupancy is very low, please visit us again in the summer time where you will find a lively bar full of backpackers every nigth of the week. With reference to your comments regarding the state of our showers, we are in the process of renovating bathrooms over the winter period.

74%

I make reservation by 5 bed in a room with 8 bed, when arrive, they move mi reservation a 12 bed room, is a disrespect

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Your reservation was for four nights in a 8 bed dormitory. We did not have the 8 bed dormitory available so you were re-allocated to a 12 bed and we blocked four beds in that room, which meant there would not be more than 8 people in the room. We did explain this to you on arrival, that even thoguh there are 12 beds in the room, only eight people would be staying.

94%

Nice Lillie hostel in a great part of town. The staff are very friendly and the cafe/bar is a nice place to hang out. The building is quite old so some of the unrenovated rooms are somewhat dated. But the gym and showers downstairs are new and quite nice.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thankyou for taking time to write your review of our hostel. We a

80%

I stayed in a private room. Security was good - but walls are thin so you can hear next door talking. Room was ensuit and big enough, not 100% clean, but nothing too serious. Bed was good and comfortable. Breakfast was coffee/tea, cereals and toast and was a nice addition. Free internet connection was working very well. I did not use kitchen/laundry or other facilities, so I cannot comment them. But the location is perfect and middle of everything!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thanks for taking the time to write your review of our hostel. We hope you choose to stay with us again should you visit Nice in the future.

71%

I stayed in the hostel for 2 nights in a 13 women bed room. There had been 2 seperated rooms ans 1 bathroom. The climate (aircondition) was very good for sleeping :-) But the bathroom was very dirty: no cleaning every day, but with a lot of people using it is really worse :( And also the door making noise when somebody is coming in, so in the night is not so congenial .. Anyway I liked the classical music in the breakfast room and the staff was very friendly :)

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
All our bathrooms are cleaned everyday without fail by our house-keepers. In large dorms like yours, it's just not possible to clean the shower's after every use. It's likely that the facilities in your dormitory were used by other guests before you, and after cleaning, and were left in a disagreable state.There are other shower facilities available in the building, or if a guest alerts reception we can re-clean the showers at any moment. We have smaller 5 and 6 bed dorms available.

57%

Disappointing! Common areas and rooms were unclean, most of the staff were unfriendly and the set up didn't make for an easy stay (eg: hardly any PowerPoints in rooms)

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Villa St Exupery apologises that you found the common areas to be not clean. Our house-keeping team cleans all rooms and common areas everyday. With regard to the number of plug sockets, there are power points available in every room, and throughout the building in the bar and other common areas. We are also prepared, on request, to keep any items behind reception to charge them for our guests.

91%

Couldn't fault this hostel, was fantastic. The staff were super friendly and the rooms were great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thankyou for taking time to write your review of our hostel. Great to read you had an enjoyable stay and to read your positive comments. We hope you decide to stay with us again should you visit Nice in the future.

83%

Everything was perfect except the dirty sheets. Mine was fine but the sheets on other beds had some stains... But it didnt seem like there would he bed bugs. Excellent place for low budget travellers

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We shall be checking all the sheets on our beds following your comments in your review, and removing all stain sheets from circulation. We would like to make a few comments of our own.There are no bed bugs in the hostel,and we don't think it's fair to write specutalive comments like this in your review, which can be damaging to the hostel. We have proffessionals who check our rooms and hostel regularly.

97%

Great location and good breakfast. The rooms were clean, and the attached bar had good drink specials.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for Cleanliness, Value for money and Facilities. We know cleanliness is important to backpackers, so we try hard to make sure our rooms are as clean as can be. Our pices are very low at the moment too, from €15 per night. We have alot of extra free services our guests benefit from after spending their €15 to make sure they get great value for money, like for example our free breakfast.

86%

It was a nice stay, just the receptionist could have be a little bit more informative. For instance to offer us to rent towels right at the check-in, instead of waiting for us finding no towels on the room. Apart of this minor ting everything was good and we enjoyed the stay at Villa Saint Exupery Beach

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We apologise for the lack of information regarding the towels, but we are happy to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope you choose to stay with us again should you visit Nice in the future.

80%

Great staff, very willing to help. The place itself is in a great location, and is well maintained but the facilities seem to be a bit overused/ outdated. Lockers are big but bring your own padlock.


86%

I love the Villa St. Exupery hostels in Nice!!! This is my 3rd time in Nice


83%

Perfect location, 2 minutes from the beach. Comfortable beds and a really great, powerful shower. Don't get excited about the sauna though, it barely works. The bar had nice lighting and very cheap beer during happy hour.


46%

When we arrived there no one care of us we stayed in 3 person private room the room was verrrry different with the photos and it was so dirty and evenmore in the bathroom there was no paper! While we are outsied, someone entered in our room without allowance . He laid toilet paper but it was very offensive

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. You were allocated into you room just before the end of the cleaning shift. You put your bags inside and left, while our cleaner, who had ran out of paper, went down to the stock room to collect more paper to put in your room. Unless specifically requested, our cleaners enter rooms everyday to change bins and replace toilet paper, like in any other hotel or hostel. You made no request to have no cleaners enter the room.

80%

But loud at night with the bar below playing at full volume until 1am or so. And front door often didn't close properly. Quite a beery place. Otherwise good- location, staff, facilities, cleanliness all good.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Homy hostel. great free breakfast. great location. very friendly. WCs inside bedrooms could be better but WCs downstairs are very good. hostel has gym (free) and laundry (paid) also. very nice bar with happyhours. bar serves dinners since 6/7/8 euros..


69%

Didn't realise until we got there that we would be situated in another building a couple of doors down from the main hostel. The kitchen in the main hostel was tiny to cook in and no where to put any food items that needed a fridge.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our hostel is very large, we have two buildings and all our private room in the building next door. The electronic key cards our guests in private rooms are given still gives access to both buildings and to the bar area, kitchen area and to all other facilities. It is actually an advantage to have the rooms next door, because it is alot quieter. We really don't see the hardship in having to go one door down to get into the main hostel area.

94%

Absolutely loved my stay here! The room was spacious, showers were good, and the movie room and ping pong table were great for just hanging out. The bar always had a great vibe and 1 euro beers at happy hour was incredible! The location was perfect too. Highly recommended.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(168 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback