X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Villa Saint Exupery Beach Reviews

6 Rue Sacha Guitry, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2408 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

This is a great hostel! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They provided us with lots of information on what to do in the city. The breakfast is no longer included, but is €3.50. However, there are cereals, fruit, yogurt, cheeses, meats, toast, jam, juice, and coffee, and it is all you can eat. The rooms are good and the bathroom is fairly large. The bar has happy hour from 6 to 8 where cocktails are €4 and beer is €1. We came in low season so it wasn't too busy. Recommended!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for recommending us like this to other travellers. Were're really please you had a nice time at our hostel. We like to try and make sure our guests get the most out of their visit to the Riviera, and so we give them the lowdown on all the things to see and do here. And there's alot to see and do! We look forward to welcoming you again upon your return to the French Riviera.

80%

Great staff! Bathrooms are a little dirty and there's no ventilation but the common room and bar are comfortable and have a great atmosphere for meeting fellow travelers.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write your review of our hostel. Great to recieve the compliment about our staff. Come back again to spend some more time with us, the next time your in Nice. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

100%

one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in!!!! the location is super!!! a very quiet and comfortable place!!!! highly recommended for all the tourists!!!!


80%

I enjoyed a lot during my stay in Nice :-) Nice people :-)

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. And we appreciate the compliment towards our staff. It's satisfying to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back again, when you next visit the French Riviera.

100%

It was a great hostel. Really safe and good location, and all the facilities are clean and arranged well. And I'm still really thankful of you that your hostel gave me a double room instead of domitory room that i booked. Thanks!

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's a real pleasure to see that you had a nice time at our hostel. We hope you decide to come back and stay with us again on your next visit to the French Riviera.

77%

Good hostel but I preferred 1000 times the atmosphere, the beautee places and the magic of the hostel garden, I'm sad that it will close....

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments regarding our Gardens hostel. Great to hear you enjoyed staying there. Unfortunately, we will be closing our Gardens location. However, our city centre Beach location follows the same concept and has all the same great services and facilities available, if not more! Our Beach location offers more convenience for our guests due to it's central location next to the main city square, 2 minutes walk from the beach and Nices' 17th century old town.

89%

Great hostel! Lots of space to chill and socialize. Super helpful having someone available all day long to ask questions. Staff very helpful. Good breakfast.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for leaving your review of our hostel. It's really great you found the time to post something. Where ever you decided to go after Nice, we hope you have a great time. And we hope the weather is not to cold where ever you are. Come back in summer time to Nice and you'll see how buzzing and busy the hostel gets. Full of Aussies and Kiwi's. Take care and we hope to see you again. From all the VSE staff.

83%

Very good location, walking distance to the main city sights. We stay double bed room with toilet, the room was spacious and clean. The free breakfast is very basic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nice to read your review pointing out some of the many good things about our hostel like our location and spacious private rooms.Our breakfast has been upgraded in the meantime. We now have available for our guests a good quality breakfast which includes items like fruit, yogurts, ham and cheese amongst many other things.We hope you enjoyed the beauty of the French Riviera, and hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to this charming part of the world.

100%

had a lot of fun...perfect place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write your review of our hostel and for giving us a good recommendation to other travellers reading this. We read each and every review we recieve and try to reply to everyone. Have fun on the rest of your travels, and maybe we'll see you guys again the next time your in Nice.

89%

Excellant location, excellant staffs. Thanks to Saint Exupery Beach Hostel. I've got amazing memories because of you guys help. Thank you. Merci:)

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there. Really great to read that you took away good memories of your stay in Nice. We say thanks to you too, for finding the time to write some comments about us and our hostel. Make sure you stay with us again when you come back to visit the beautiful city of Nice, and make some more good memories to take home.

77%

We were indeed blessed to locate this accommodation right at Place Massena hence I can't complain about proximity. Breakfast will be charged from Jan 2015 and I don't mind paying if hot food is provided. The current breakfast consists of bread, cereal and hot drinks. But the ambience and space is remarkable! There are computers, a gym and even a steam cabinet! Room is simple and though looks alittle run down, I am not complaining because hot water avails and it is well ventilated with heater.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It seems you had a nice comfortable stay in at our hostel and we're glad you found us. Please come and see us again on your next visit to the beautiful city of Nice and the Cote d'Azur.

97%

Great hostel, friendly staff! Common room and bar area is awesome, good atmosphere!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for your kind comments. Great to read you enjoyed the bar area of the hostel. Our bar becomes the centre of activity on most days at the hostel. We wish you a safe journey home and look forward to meeting you again on you next visit to Nice.

100%

Having stayed in over 30 hostels around the world, I can honestly say that this hostel is exceptional. It has everything that a budget traveller could possibly want including a sauna and a gym. Lockers in the room contribute to added security and the free tea and coffee is an added bonus. The manager even took the trouble to get some feedback from customers and to advise them with sightseeing. Well done to Philip and his team for a job well done and going out of their way for their customers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for your review. It's really satisfying to read your comments. Great to read you appreciated all our services and advise. We're always trying to improve and evolve, so the next time you decide to visit us again, we expect that you will find many changes and upgrades. We hope that the rest of your trip is enjoyable, and we look forward to meeting you again upon your return. Best regards, from all the VSE staff.

94%

the location was quite central in nice, although when i went, the elevator wasnt working so it was a bit of a climb up to get to my room. the room is very basic but it was clean and comfortable


54%

The showers are ancient, the staff seems totally off most of the time (seemed bored when we asked for towels), the bar was boring to death...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Your visit to Villa St Exupery was during the winter period where our occupancy is very low, please visit us again in the summer time where you will find a lively bar full of backpackers every nigth of the week. With reference to your comments regarding the state of our showers, we are in the process of renovating bathrooms over the winter period.

74%

I make reservation by 5 bed in a room with 8 bed, when arrive, they move mi reservation a 12 bed room, is a disrespect

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Your reservation was for four nights in a 8 bed dormitory. We did not have the 8 bed dormitory available so you were re-allocated to a 12 bed and we blocked four beds in that room, which meant there would not be more than 8 people in the room. We did explain this to you on arrival, that even thoguh there are 12 beds in the room, only eight people would be staying.

94%

Nice Lillie hostel in a great part of town. The staff are very friendly and the cafe/bar is a nice place to hang out. The building is quite old so some of the unrenovated rooms are somewhat dated. But the gym and showers downstairs are new and quite nice.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thankyou for taking time to write your review of our hostel. We a

80%

I stayed in a private room. Security was good - but walls are thin so you can hear next door talking. Room was ensuit and big enough, not 100% clean, but nothing too serious. Bed was good and comfortable. Breakfast was coffee/tea, cereals and toast and was a nice addition. Free internet connection was working very well. I did not use kitchen/laundry or other facilities, so I cannot comment them. But the location is perfect and middle of everything!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thanks for taking the time to write your review of our hostel. We hope you choose to stay with us again should you visit Nice in the future.

71%

I stayed in the hostel for 2 nights in a 13 women bed room. There had been 2 seperated rooms ans 1 bathroom. The climate (aircondition) was very good for sleeping :-) But the bathroom was very dirty: no cleaning every day, but with a lot of people using it is really worse :( And also the door making noise when somebody is coming in, so in the night is not so congenial .. Anyway I liked the classical music in the breakfast room and the staff was very friendly :)

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
All our bathrooms are cleaned everyday without fail by our house-keepers. In large dorms like yours, it's just not possible to clean the shower's after every use. It's likely that the facilities in your dormitory were used by other guests before you, and after cleaning, and were left in a disagreable state.There are other shower facilities available in the building, or if a guest alerts reception we can re-clean the showers at any moment. We have smaller 5 and 6 bed dorms available.

57%

Disappointing! Common areas and rooms were unclean, most of the staff were unfriendly and the set up didn't make for an easy stay (eg: hardly any PowerPoints in rooms)

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Villa St Exupery apologises that you found the common areas to be not clean. Our house-keeping team cleans all rooms and common areas everyday. With regard to the number of plug sockets, there are power points available in every room, and throughout the building in the bar and other common areas. We are also prepared, on request, to keep any items behind reception to charge them for our guests.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(133 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback