X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Villa Saint Exupery Gardens Reviews

22 Avenue Gravier, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
5098 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 64%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Everything was great great stuff and place ..

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Beach is way better, but offered the same qualities as beach... Location is pretty far from the good stuff and not much going on but it's great that they offer free shuttle so i'll give them that, i had to stay as an extra night and was booked in beach


71%

Cute place but in the worst location. Although they provide shuttle service it's only from 9-12 and then 5-12 and only takes you to the nearest tram stop. Expect at least a 30 minutes to just get into the downtown part of the city.


74%

very nice atmosphere and facilities. And good breakfast too.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

We have made reservation of "delux" double room. Picture on site was much better than real room. Toilet was dirty and bedclothes as well. Walls were also full of stains. We have expected at least that we will get clean rooms without stains. Also, we have tried to get breakfast, but toast was wet !? We saw same situation during with stains on tablecloth. All in all, very unclean and totally different what we saw on Hostelworld.com.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

I had received good reports about this hist from a friend and was also aware of ots distance from town which was not a problem especially with shuttle bus. However on arrival the staff were positively comatosed and unfriendly, almost as if we were inconveniencing them, with the exception of a Romanian chef and Liverpudlian dishwasher. It was the most unclean hostel I have ever stayed in. Really upsetting as the layout and style of the hostel is really cool. Disappointing.


83%

I love this place... Amazing :-)... very relaxing.. it was my third time here.. i'm very sad to never come back here..

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay. We are more than happy to see our guests coming back. Your review is very nice. This is all we care about, to meet our guests' expectations. We hope that you will remember the Gardens hostel for a long time and still come over and visit us at the Beach location. We wish you all the best! Your Villa Team

80%

The staff is great and helped us a lot when we had a problem with our original room. The kitchen and bar is great and they have great happy hour deals. Only downside is it's far from the center of town but they provide a good shuttle service. So if you stay out late, it's quite annoying to trek up the hill but other than that I highly recommend this hostel.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

We enjoyed our stay here. The hostel has an impressive kitchen, value restaurant and bar. Our private room was simple and basic but is all you need and the price is right... The room might be a little hot in summer as there isn't a fan or air con, but it wasn't a problem for us, our ensuite wasn't the cleanest. The hostel is away from the centre of Nice but the shuttle service is convenient and the walk from the tram station to the hostel takes about 15 minutes, as does the tram to town centre.


29%

First of all, the accomondations look very sad. We had to ask for new bedlinen becase ours was used and the room was not clean at all. The Service is okey but it seem to me that they are a little bit overwhelmed by the visitors.The most shocking thing is the really small Parking space and the fact that you are forced to leave your car keyes at the reception which is easy to reach for a thief. No Tv, no thowels, no handsoap, no cleaning (I mean once a week? Come on!) and i could go on and on...


86%

If you are looking for the facilities of an hotel, well, do not come here. But if what you want is an hostel cheap, where do new friends and have a good journey... This is the right place!

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your visit and for your comment. We are happy to see that you were happy with the hostel. We do not really understand the first bit of the comment, why someone would expect hotel service from a cheap hostel. Regardless, we still have our customer service kept on a high level. There are many extra and free services that we offer. We hope that we have completely met your expectations. Wishing you all the best. Your Villa Team

80%

We stayed in a private room and it was very poor - the air con didn't work and it was dark and dingy. However the hostel made up for it by having really helpful and friendly staff, a great common room (with sky sports), good food at reasonable prices and generally just a great atmosphere. Enjoyed our stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay with us and for your feedback. We see that you are our returning guest which really makes us happy. We wish you could have said anything at the reception desk, we are always trying to be flexible in order of changing rooms or getting some extra cleaning. However, we are glad that you appreciated our service and a hard work of the staff. We hope that all together you had a good stay and very nice holidays. We wish you all the best. Your Villa Team

60%

If you're looking for a place to party, go here! If you're not, don't go here. There was absolutely nothing special about the hostel: ok but not very kind staff, very poor breakfast, location out of the town ( not a problem in daytime but in the night the tram doesn't go so good luck trying to get back...), no hand towels or soap in the toilets etc... BUT If you want to meet new people and party at the hostel this the place to be! We met great new friends there and had great fun in the evenings.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay and for your feedback. We are surprised to see that you called our breakfast poor: more than 10 different types of cereals, bread, tosts, jams, butter, coffee, tea and juices-all for free. We do have towels with the deposit of 5EUR that you receive afterward. All necessary equipment for the bathroom you could purchase from the bar. I think you have misleaded us with a hotel. It is good that you enjoed the bar, atmosphere and other guests' company. VSE

66%

Although the hostel is located far away from the city centre, there is a shuttle bus taking you to the nearest tramway stop; and tram takes 15 min to get to downtown. The staff members can speak English (hallelujah, really rare in France apparently), and helped me out a lot getting around Nice. The atmosphere is amazing for a relaxed traveller.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay and for the comment. We are very happy that you have liked our staff and the services that we offer. You are right, it is not really common to hear English in France, however our staff is multilingual and all ready to help our guests. We hope that you have fully enjoyed your stay in Nice. Your Villa Team

83%

6 nights in a private room and I'm glad I did, because it was really affordable compared to prices in the city. Location is inconvenient for some but I always managed to find my way back and the hill isn't that scary unless you have luggage but they pick u up in the shuttle promptly if you're coming in or leaving when it's not running (12pm-5pm). It's in a quieter area but you make your own fun at the huge bar/eating area. It was clean and facilities were good. Only thing missing is A/C!!! :)


74%

It is a great hostel with awesome atmosphere! The kitchen is sooo good and so is the lounge. Even if the hostel is pretty far from the beach, everything like shuttle and trams work so perfectly that there is no problem with the long distance. Trust me! Because of our dorm culture the doors were not locked all the time and there were not enough lockers for everyone but still I like the place very much and I would definitely recommend that to all the travellers!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you a lot for your stay with us and for your comment. We are happy to see cool backpackers coming and visiting us again. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay and the city and that you all together had an amazing time. We wish you all the best with your further travels and hopefully see you again. Your Villa Team

97%

Amazing atmosphere, great for meeting new friends, very friendly and helpful staff, convinient pick up by van at tram station to and from hostel. Loved it!!! a bit of the ride to downtown by tram but it's much cheaper than downtown hostels. I certainly recommend to everyone who are not too picky and want to save some money for souvenirs!!!

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay and for your very nice review. We are happy to see that you liked our hostel and the staff. Even if the location is not central we still do our best with the shuttle bus service to help our guests. As you noticed our hostel offers cheap rooms with a very good value. It is very nice of you that you will recommend us to your friends. We wish you all the best with your travelling and hope to see you again in Nice. Your Villa Team

74%

Good hostel, is a little far from the city but you have the tranway every 5 minutes, has a really nice bar and good breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay with us at the Villa Saint Exupery Gardens in Nice. Even if our location is not the best, our guests are still happy with the constant free shuttle bus service, amazing views from the windows and a beautiful garden. On a top of that as you noticed we serve every morning a very good and healthy breakfast free of charge. We hope that your holiday was very nice and that you will come back again. We wish you all the best. Your Villa Team

69%

Make the Difference between Villa Saint Exupery Gardens and Beach more clear on your Booking Page!!!!!

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay and also for your comment. However, we are not sure if we understand it. On our website it clearly shows to choose between two locations that we have in Nice: Beach hostel or Gardens Hostel. This is right on a box there you chose your dates and number of people. We hope that for the next time, you will be more careful while booking an accommodation. We wish you all the best. Your Villa Team

86%

Absolutely loved our stay here! The staff are friendly, the bar is great for hanging out and meeting fellow travellers and the shuttle bus is so convenient! Would definitely recommend this place!

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay and for your very kind feedback. We are more than happy to see that you have loved your stay with us. This is something that motivates us even more to do the great job. As you notices all services are dedicated for our travelers thinking about their plans and needs. We hope that you holiday was great and that you will be back in the future. We wish you all the best. Your Villa Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(91 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback