X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Villa Saint Exupery Gardens Reviews

22 Avenue Gravier, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
5034 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 66%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

If you're looking for a place to party, go here! If you're not, don't go here. There was absolutely nothing special about the hostel: ok but not very kind staff, very poor breakfast, location out of the town ( not a problem in daytime but in the night the tram doesn't go so good luck trying to get back...), no hand towels or soap in the toilets etc... BUT If you want to meet new people and party at the hostel this the place to be! We met great new friends there and had great fun in the evenings.


74%

It is a great hostel with awesome atmosphere! The kitchen is sooo good and so is the lounge. Even if the hostel is pretty far from the beach, everything like shuttle and trams work so perfectly that there is no problem with the long distance. Trust me! Because of our dorm culture the doors were not locked all the time and there were not enough lockers for everyone but still I like the place very much and I would definitely recommend that to all the travellers!


54%

The owner is quite helpfull.if you dont know what to do around the city, the staff has many advises for you. Staff knows english,and many informations are provided in english.shuttle bus runs to tram station, but not during all day. Cleanness is i am afraid poor. Very old furnutures, not clean bed sheets, and dishes.we used a shared bathroom it was ok, but my friend's private bathroom was worst suprisingly.if you are around 30, you probably have higher expectations. Better for 20-24 ages.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Out of most the way from the beach and main place where it's all happening. Up on quite a big hill, they do run a shuttle to the team line but doesn't run late enough so you have to get a cab home or if you're on a budget (like me) walk up the thing! Go to the other saint expury (expury beach)

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

It is really a hostel for young backpackers. Those who really travel to get wasted and drink and go crazy. The room and beds were not clean at all. The sheets were not even ironed. The bathroom was dirty and had a funky smell. But if you don't mind at all, then it's a good place to stay. Nice vibe, young and dynamic staff and cheap!

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

This is the second time I've stayed here. First time my room was pretty good. Everything very clean. Second time my shower was gross and the room was very noisy. The bar is great so is the kitchen. Breakfast was awesome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay and for your feedback. We are happy to see you coming back to us. We apologize for the problem with the room that you had. We wish we knew that before in order to fix it for you. Besides that, we really hope that you liked your stay and that you will still come back while you are in Nice. We are wishing you all the best with your further travels. Your Villa Team

91%

The location is not amazing but they provide shuttle to the tram stop. Breakfast is fine. Always the same. Room is clean, staff is friendly. They have a nice bar and possible to get hamburger, pizza, etc. Actually quite good quality! It's a good value. I would recommend to stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay and for your review. We are very happy to see that you have liked the facilities, very good service, staff and our cheap prices for a good value. We hope that you had an amazing time on your holidays at the French Riviera. We wish you all the best with your further travels. Your Villa Team

86%

Excellent hostel for meeting people, if you want to sleep or be quiet it is not the place to go, but if you love hang out and meeting people it is the right place. The best!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay with us and for your review. We believe that our guests can find both with us fun and peace. Our Villa bar is usually very crowded with cool music in the background, cheap and good drinks and lots of fun. However, right outside all of that there is a big, peaceful and beautiful garden, where our guests can relax, admire views and eat a dinner. We hope that you liked us and that you had a good time. Wishing you all the best. Your Villa Team

63%

Nice hostel with good atmosphere but not really easy to access since it is located out of the town of Nice! A good point is that there is a free shuttle from the metro station to the hostel. Bad point: our bedroom did not have any curtains and it was not very clean...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay with us and for your notes. Our hostel is allocated a little bit outside the center, however our free shuttle bus is making this up for all guests. The housekeeping service is being kept every day in every room. We hope that even thought, you still liked your stay in Nice. Wishing you all the best. Your Villa Team

89%

Interrailed for a month and this was the best hostel by far. Great atmosphere, lots of young people.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay with us and for your kind review and good notes. We are more than happy to see that you liked your stay with us. We hope that you are generally enjoying your adventure and that your next stops will also meet your expectations. We wish you all the best with your further travels and hope to see you again! Your Villa Team

94%

EVERYTHING IS EXCELLENT, except for the location, we couldn't call for them to pick us up so we had to "climb up" a hill and we almost didn't make it (I was with my family). Very prepared hostel with everything you need. They have a car coming and going to the tram station so you don't need to climb the hill haha. Good hostel for young people to party and have fun, loud parties until late at night but no noise in the rooms, so good!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for choosing VSE Gardens for your accommodation in Nice. We are happy to see that you liked your stay with us. Certainly, the location may not be the best; however we hope that you manage to use our free shuttle bus service. We are glad that you liked the bar and room, we hope that you and your family had a lovely stay and that you will plan your next holidays back with us! We wish you and you family all the best! Your Villa Team

26%

We booked a double room, with a double bed. We got a bunkbed. The pictures on the website don't match the reality. The host that recieves us, wasn't helpfull. The room was dirty, it smelled, the sheets weren't clean (hair on it!), it was hot in the room and you couldn't leave a window open without the risk on bugs. It was more than terrible... Never again!

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for the feedback. Let us just clarify couple things. First of all, you did not book a double room, but a 2 bunk bed private ensuite through the website hostelworld.com. From here, your dissatisfaction started. After that everything was just not right for you. Please, for the future be very careful what do you book to avoid the dissatisfaction. We believe, that even the very cheap price of 70 EUR per night should tell you that this is not a double room. Your Villa Team

83%

Love happy hour, and the atmosphere created by the bar and restaurant. Had so much fun. The only thing negative is that a friend I met there had gotten bed bugs from his room and he said that the staff tried to deny it at first.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay and for your kind review. We are happy that you had an amazing time and lots of fun with us. Referring to your friend's situation. We apologize, but we always have to check everything. Sometimes people mislead them with mosquitoes. All of our rooms are being checked by specialists regularly and cleaned every day. If there is a problem, it is caused by fellow travellers who bring it from other places. All necessary actions are always taken. All the best! VSE

80%

We spent two nights at this hostel, one night in an all girls dorm and one night in a mixed dorm. The first room was very dark and smelly as there was only one tiny window that was covered over. The shower facilities were good though and despite being in such a large dorm I slept well. The second room was on the first floor with a nice big window and a great view towards the sea - much better room due to better ventilation. Shuttle service was excellent and we loved the atmosphere in the bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your reservation with the hostel and for your feedback. We are happy to see that you have liked your room. All of the big dorms are quite spacious and supplied with a big bathrooms as well. We know that this is very essential for our guests. Therefore, there are also some extra showers and toilets outside the dorms. This is great that you like the view from the hill and our constant shuttle bus service. We wish you all the best! Your Villa Team

77%

We really enjoyed our stay at this hostel, however the fact that you had to tram twice a day to get to town was a bit annoying, and our rooms air conditioning didnt work at all leaving all of us sweating all night and leaving the door and windows open all night. very frustrating. If it wasn't for that however we would have enjoyed our stay a bit more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay with us and for your feedback. We understand your dissatisfaction with the location of the hostel, however this has been well explained on all website that we use plus has been paid back in the pricing for rooms. We wish you could have mentioned the AC issue at the reception desk, so we could have resolved it. Bottom line, we hope that you still had a good time in Nice. Wishing you all the best. Your Villa Team

77%

Cool hostel, felt like a resort. The location sucks, but they have the shuttle. But it doesn't run during the day, only morning and evening. Stay here

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay and for your review. We are happy to see that you are generally satisfied with your stay. Our shuttle bus runs very often in the busiest time of the day and night. However, it is only just a distance of 10 minutes walking. The ways is very easy and with nice views. We hope to see you coming back to our hostel again. Wishing you all the best. Your Villa Team

94%

My second time at this wonderful hostel x a great place to meet people from all over the world x loved our room with a huge window and beautiful views of the sea in the distance and the moon

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for visiting us again and for your kind review. We are happy to see that you liked your stay. We are really hosting mane backpackers and travellers from all over the world, so it is very easy to meet very nice people at the bar/restaurant area. We are glad that you liked the views from the hill as well. We wish you all the best with your further travels and hope to see you again soon! Your Villa Team

77%

I think some people are discouraged by the location being way up the hill, but it wasn't that inconvenient since they are constantly running a free shuttle to and from the central tram line. Plus it forces you to get out and see a bit more of Nice. The hostel was plenty nice, and I liked the outdoor patio area. My recommendation would be to avoid being placed in the room right by the reception desk. It was really loud with people coming and going all night and early in the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest,thank you for your stay with us and for your notes. We are happy to see that some of our guests are actually appreciating the location, which is breathtaking. We have one of the best views from windows in the whole city. The shuttle bus is really running constantly for nearly a whole day. We hope that you got to explore a lot while you were in Nice. The whole region hides some beauty in every single village and town on the coast. We wish you all the best with your further travels!VSE

66%

Very nice breakfast (except for butter) and enjoyable club/bar/party atmosphere but not enough showers, and no personal lockers in every room. Situated on the outskirts of town centre, yet transport is great and there are loads of exciting extra activities on offer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay with us and for your review. We are happy to see that you liked our breakfast and the bar/restaurant area. We do have lockers in most of the rooms plus a free luggage room and a safety box at the reception. We wish you could have asked for it. We appreciate your satisfaction from the shuttle bus service that suns every day in the morning and in the evening. We generally hope you had a good holidays. Wishing you all the best. Your Villa Team

94%

Great place to stay in Nice. Met amazing people here and had such a good time. Not in the city center but the free shuttle makes it really easy to get to the beach/city center and it's definitely worth it for the price and atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to see that you liked our hostel and Nice. The price for the hostel is very low; however the amount of services that we provide and the quality of it is very high. We are glad that you have appreciated it. We wish you all the best in your further travels! Hope you had a great holidays here. Your Villa Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(143 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback