X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Villa Skansi Backpackers House Reviews

Lucica 2b, Hvar, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
821 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The hostel is very nice, however a little difficult to find at first if you are on foot. And on a hill. However this is also the reason it has such a nice view. The staff were a little too pushy with the whole ~must have fun~ motto, but nice enough. Very clean and comfy.


97%

Awesome hostel! It's in a great location, the rooms were very comfortable and had the best showers of any hostel I've stayed in. It's a really fun atmosphere and the staff are really great. The two guys who run the pub crawl every night are super friendly and make sure everyone has fun. Would definitely go back to Villa Skansi if I ever return to Hvar, even just to hang out with those guys cause they're great company!


80%

This hostel is a great party hostel for the summer on Hvar with a good central terrace where you can relax and meet the other guests. It's a bit pricey to stay but if you use the opportunities provided it will be worth it. The rooms have up to 14 people so only go if you're seasoned/comfortable with staying in hostels.


71%

Group of 6 lads booked a private room only to be told we were sharing with 6 others. Security was terrible as other occupants kept leaving doors open and the safe facilities were poor. Great atmosphere, great for meeting people and staff were attentive. Price of beer at hostel was expensive as was only 33cl.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, you booked with us 6 beds in a 10 bed dorm, not a private room at all.You can check on your booking too.And you were sharing a dorm with 4 other people, as expected when you have booked a 6 beds out of 10.For security ,i assure you we take great care ,we have TWO SECURITY GUARDS in our hostel and no one can enter the hostel who is not a guest, also we have never had a security issue in all 5 years since hostel is opened. .EACH ROOM is also equipped with SECURITY LOCKERS too.

89%

Cool place with a great vibe! We were lucky to get a small 2 person room off the main 8 person dorm. I think we would have struggled with space for luggage if in the main room. There were free lockers in the room for small backpacks which was handy and a bathroom per dorm plus extra communal one. Warning!! Not ideal if you're in hvar for a good sleep! I've never heard so many people vomit in one night loads of coming and going! Bar crawl is a must and can also recommend hiring a car to explore!

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30


100%

Incredible atmosphere and location! There was never a dull moment all thanks to Bryant, the pub crawl leader. He made sure every single person was having a great time. Thanks for one memorable trip!!!

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Villa Skansi was one of the most enjoyable hostel experiences of our entire trip. The staff were so friendly and even greeted us with fresh watermelon and singing!! The couple who run it are amazing and were genuinely interested in getting to know us and getting involved. Each night there is a free bar crawl which is great fun and a great way to meet people! The rooms were clean and spacious with good lockers and the terrace area was stunning. I am looking forward to my next stay!


69%

Lovely, friendly staff who make you feel instantly welcome. Communal areas are really good, overall a very sociable place to stay. Unfortunately rooms we're disappointing as they appeared to have out as many beds possible in rooms and they weren't as clean as other places I've stayed at.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Croatian law has guidelines to how many beds we can have in each room. As a hostel we follow those guidelines and don't exceed the limit. Our cleaning staff is working hard twice a day to keep the rooms, toilets and the whole hostel clean. Thank you for your stay

91%

Nice staff, great free pub crawl, terrace and kitchen. The lockers are small though, and my friend's iphone got stollen, although he forgot it on his bed..


57%

The price, I had to pay, was too high for the so-called “superior“ room (10 people dorm, dark, no windows, door to the kitchen area, you sleep next to two loud fridges, shabby bathroom, no towels included).

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Friederike, The superior room is the most spacious in the hostel, the room has big glass sliding doors along with its own bathroom that is checked frequently by our cleaning staff. The price for the room was not 45 euros, if you check yours statement it was far less. Towels are for rent. Anyway, thank you for your stay

80%

Slightly overrated hostel. Great place if you want a party atmosphere but our room wasn't very clean and the toilet was broken. I think people look past its shortcomings because of the atmosphere. Generally a good choice if you're coming to Hvar though. Don't come here if you want to stay in every night!


80%

Good if you like to party. Otherwise look somewhere else.


97%

The atmosphere in the hostel was so much fun as the hostel has a variety of communal areas to socialise. The rooms were clean and well facilitated with lockers and a bathroom for each room. Staff were welcoming and helpful right from the start, where they offered you refreshing watermelon/fruit on your arrival. There's a free bar crawl every night, which I would highly recommend even if it's not usually your thing. Overall Skansi Hostel made our stay on Hvar an unforgettable experience.


100%

This was my second time staying here in 2 years! Really nice and fun place to stay in HVar! One of the best hostels expeince ever! The staff is really nice!

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

AMAZING hostel - don't stay anywhere else! Great place to meet people. Common areas have amazing views & kitchen is always clean w/ 3 fridges. Staff is amazing & hilarious! They do all they can to make sure you have lots to do during your stay. They educate you about where to go, eat, & what to do. They offer their own boat tours & have a FREE pub-crawl every night. If you want to sleep, quiet time is 10:00pm so best of both worlds. I will be coming back here for sure! I loved Hvar & VillaSkansi


97%

Great fun! I loved staying here!


97%

Very nice hostel! Staff are amazing! Would definitely stay here again!


100%

Staff were great, especially bojana! All lovely people and very helpful. Pub crawl every night was fun! Great travellers atmosphere. Most enjoyable place I've stayed at the whole trip, would recommend it to anyone.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very social hostel with good selection of room types and a fun atmosphere. Quiet policy means the hostel runs nightly bar crawls around the city which are a good way to meet other guests, as well as getting you free entry into some of the island's best venues. Well situated for the ports and the main tourist areas, and staff are helpful and welcoming.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good hostel! Nice staff! A place that you can hang out with a lot of people!


(146 results)


View all Hvar Hostels

Please give us your feedback