X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Villa Skansi Backpackers House Reviews

Lucica 2b, Hvar, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
615 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

One of the best hostes i ever been.


89%

A bit of a party hostel, yet the staff does a great job of rounding up everyone on the terrace and leading them to a bar in town, and from 10:30 on it's pretty quiet. It's a bit of a hike from the town so not ideal, but not bad. Note that Google Maps shows a wrong location, so use the directions given and don't trust Google Maps, especially since the layout of Hvar makes it very tricky finding your way around. Some bathroom facilities were in need of repair, but overall very nice.


74%

Hostel has potential. Room was tiny and had no security or lockers and guests and staff used our room as a walkway. We shared a showers that didn't work and the downstairs showers were blocked off until 9am. The kitchen was also closed until 9am so this was great fun when we had to leave early in the morning. This place has a fantastic terrace but it was frustrating if you didnt want to go out every night because after 10:30 you had to leave the premises or go to your room. Would not stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
According to Croatian law and tourist office we must close all terraces at 11:00 pm because of the noise. It is not our rule, it is law in entire Croatia.

89%

Good one to have party . Stay there more than 1 day or you can miss boat party like us.


86%

Best thing to do: rent scooters and bruise round the island!


100%

Excellent hostel couldn't fault anything. If you are a student travelling this place is pure luxury!


97%

This place was awesome. The staff are great, it's a beautiful location, and you can relax on the terrace with a beer or easily walk into the main part of town. The booze cruise they put on is legendary and afterward they're eager to lead you on to some of the best bars and clubs in the city. Only recommendation would be that they check the bathrooms more often- the one upstairs was constantly out of t/p.


51%

the rooms are small, the beds are horrible and the lockers are also small. there is not much space in the rooms, the shower is cold. guests leave everything on the floor. too messy! the staff is not really helpfull, everybody is there for party only. the common area is amazing on the other hand... but it is not enough.


71%

This hostel was lovely, but if you are on a tight budget in Hvar (like we were) consider staying somewhere cheaper. skanski is nice but seems overpriced.

  • 31st Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the best hostel I've ever traveled. Location is excellent, supermarket, beach, restaurants and harbor is in few minutes walk away. Hostel has a nice terrace and bar area with nice view to the bay, bar closes early enough to respect those who wants to sleep. Hostel itself was very clean, has enough of showers and toilets as it holds a lot of beds. What comes to the staff, well, just fabulous. They welcomed all warmly and made sure all guests felt good and enjoyed. I'm hungry for more.


89%

Everything is amazing about this hostel, definitely one of the better places I have been. The place is great, cool set up, clean bathrooms etc. The atmosphere is awesome, I wouldn't think about staying anywhere else in Hvar. My only criticism is the staff are too anal. Just little things that seem quite unnecessary. Everyone has to be out by 10:30pm, there is no leeway. For example when you come home you are not allowed to sit outside. Seems a tad to strict. Definitely the best place in Hvar


97%

One of the best hostel I've ever traveled. Location is excellent, supermarket, beach, restaurants and harbor is in few minutes walk away. Hostel has a nice terrace and bar area with nice view to the bay, bar closes early enough to respect those who wants to sleep. Hostel itself was very clean, has enough of showers and toilets as it holds a lot of beds. What comes to the staff, well, just fabulous. They welcomed all warmly and made sure all guests felt good and enjoyed. I'm hungry for more.


100%

One of the best hostels I've ever been at. A warm and friendly staff, especially Suzan, Anya, Sonya, Marina, and Helena. They were always looking to help in any way they could. The patio and bar setup for hostel guests is the best part about it. Enjoy the view, cheap drinks, and make new friends. I planned on staying 4 days...stayed 2 weeks. Hostel is also in immaculate condition. The staff does a great job of keeping it clean. Very close to the center of town and great beaches (Pokonja Dol).


97%

One of the best hostel I've ever traveled. Location is excellent, supermarket, beach, restaurants and harbor is in few minutes walk away. Hostel has a nice terrace and bar area with nice view to the bay, bar closes early enough to respect those who wants to sleep. Hostel itself was very clean, has enough of showers and toilets as it holds a lot of beds. What comes to the staff, well, just fabulous. They welcomed all warmly and made sure all guests felt good and enjoyed. I'm hungry for more.


77%

Definitely a good place to stay, even because they have this boat ride with all u can eat and drink everyday.


94%

This place is amazing. you can easily make friends and have fun because the hostel organize different plans during the day and night in order to gather all young people who stay there. If you wish to have more than a room, this is your place!


89%

I felt very warmly welcomed, staff was very helpful and wonderful. Hostel is at nice area and close to beaches and center. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. I have recommend the place already to my friends.


77%

Incredible staff. Very kind and friendly. Enjoyed conversation and travel advice. Good place if you want to meet other travelers and party. Beautiful island.

  • 24th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location. Owners were really helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again if I return to Split.

  • 23rd Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

A wonderful hostel to meet people and have fun. All the staff are super friendly and ready to help/ advise when you need and you will not fail to meet other fun people ready to party on the Island. The staff are masters of making everyone feel good and getting everyone together to have loads of fun. I've left after 6 days here with tons of email addresses and pictures of endless party days and nights. Its also so close to the beach and beautiful harbours for chill out time in the day. Just go! x


(486 results)


View all Hvar Hostels

Please give us your feedback