X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vita Nova Reviews

Oosterdok T/O 4, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1735 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Really small hostel and small rooms and bathroom, but the experience to be in a boat is really nice! Close to the city center and everything, beautiful place with great breakfast.


80%

Nice to have a private room and the breakfast was amazing. However the bathroom situation is really weird. You have to walk through the shower to get to the toilet and the shower felt like a coffin. Location is really quite far from everything except for the train station and the boat is extremely difficult to find the first time. Our "7 minute" walk from the train station instead took about 30.


49%

The staff is not friendly, n the wifi was very bad n slow, only can use in restaurant, the restaurant is closed at 10:30pm which means u can't use wifi after 10:30pm, the room was much smaller than pictures, price n location is very good, but if u want to stay, please consider what u want for ur vacation, not a comfortable place!

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Overall the stay was an interesting first experience for a boat house. Facilities wise it was sufficient, we had our own wash basin in our room, but toilets and showers are all shared amongst everyone. A few rules one has to adhere to. The landlady was nice to us and gave us tips around the place. Our door lock couldn't be locked from the inside. The landlady tried her best to solve this but still couldn't get it to work eventually. Nevertheless, we enjoyed the stay.

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very friendly staff and a cosy vist. Would happily use again.


100%

I thought the hostel was incredible. It was well kept and beautiful. The beds we're comfortable and the staff was lovely. Being on a little boat was fun and romantic and I would definitely go back

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We would like to thank Tatyana for recomending us the main points of interest in Amsterdam... She was very helpful and kind and smiling. The common area and the deck on top allow travellers to communicate and discuss especially with newcommers common points of interests and places they've already explored. If we could recommend something useful to those yet to come that would definitely be the free tour starting each afternoon at Dam Square.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good hostel!! The breakfast was excellent and the staff was really helpful and nice! Different experience staying in a boat, would stay there again for sure! :)

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

WONDERFUL !


89%

Very good location, excellent breakfast, houseboat feeling. I had a problem: the heating was switch on only after my arriving in my room so the first night it was cold.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

2nd stay here, very enjoyable great location, great staff, nice to stay on the water in a major. Rooms a little cramped but it's all you need to sleep in.


91%

Staying on a boat was a really interesting experience for us. The rooms and beds are quite tiny, but the quality of sleep was amazing, all three nights we both slept like babies. The breakfast is included and it is really great including tea, coffee, milk, cereals, pancakes, bread, ham, cheese, ham, jam, peanut butter and chocolate spread so everyone will find something they like. When in Amsterdam, I will definitely stay at Vita Nova again. Thank you!


97%

As soon as we arrived here we had a warm welcome. A lovely unique hostel which we loved. The rooms and shower rooms were small but adequate. This is not a criticism as we knew this before we booked. The owner makes fresh pancakes for breakfast, which unfortunately we missed due to early departure. Thank you for our very brief but wonderful stay.


100%

I really enjoyed my stay here and being very close to the Amsterdam Central and all things touristy, it was a perfect location.


69%

The ship looks very nice from the outside and from the big breakfast room you've got a wonderful view on the water. The owner is very nice and helpful and gave us some good advice, he also prepares the (delicious) breakfast by himself and answers all your questio However, the cabins are very very small, about 2x2 meters for two people. Bathroom and shower are both very small (the shower is in the same room as the toilet is) and mold-infested, taking a shower was quite gross.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

I am actually really sad to write this review because I had such high hopes for the boat. I have visited many places in Europe and always use hostel world.My standards are not high at all, as long as the bedding is clean and it is possible to take a shower. However in this case, this hostel came as a bit of a shock. The fact the rooms are tiny is the least of your worries. The showers are mouldy and smell of wee, the bedding is very old and the staff are pretty grumpy. We left after 2 nights.


89%

This place was amazing. Sitting on top of the boat at night drinking a beer, watching the sun set was in our opinion second to none. The rooms are a bit small but that is expected on a houseboat. It definitely added to the atmosphere! The free breakfast was fantastic. Definitely a great experience for a few young backpackers looking to just relax for a couple days

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Don't stay in the rooma near the bathroom, it might get srinky.


100%

Me and my partner stay at Vita Nova for 3 nights, very warm and friendly staff couldn't of been more helpful, great advice when booking in and where thing are with a help of a map. Great location away from the busy city. Would stay again. Thank you for a lovely experience in Amsterdam. From Gemma and John all the way from Scotland

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

My room was a bit too small for the value of money. And slow wifi. Everything else was fine :)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback