X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vita Nova Reviews

Oosterdok T/O 4, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1867 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The hostel is nicely located near NEMO Museum, only 15 mins walk from Amsterdam Central Station. The room is a bit small, however, this is expected as it has been indicated in the pictures. Clean and most importantly warm room, plus hot shower. The host, Roy, is really friendly and helpful on pointing me to places on map. Breakfast is the best, good variety with fruits, cereal, bread, ham, cheese, pancakes and many more; coffee, tea, orange juices are provided. Overall, very nice stay!


89%

Had a great stay at Vita Nova. Will stay there again.


77%

Very good position and very good prices. The only pity was the rooms that was too hot!

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

It was so cute and cool and close to a cool part of town. The wifi stopped working after awhile unless you paid to have a 24 hour pass. Cannot shower late, the rooms are small so it's hard to regulate temperature. Overall a great stay!


89%

Had a fantastic stay here over New Years! The view from the deck of the boat is beautiful and we were able to see all the fireworks from here whilst the lady who owns the boat served us free champagne! Facilities are very basic as it is a boat, but kept clean and a very unique experience. Breakfast was very good with a wide range of different foods including pancakes, cakes, cereal, toast, coffee and sliced meats and cheese. Highly recommend this hostel!

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice, warm and talkative host, very willing to help and answer our questions. Good free breakfast with quite a lot to choose from. Many house rules like taking shower is not allowed after 10pm, wifi works only in the upper deck bar area.

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Grazie. It has been My Best Staying in Amsterdam, ever. I'm looking for places and people Who have a story To tell and experiences To share

  • 30th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Friendly owner ...... Great location ...... Defo recommend and will stay here again, no problems !!!


100%

Great little gem in Amsterdam, I would definitely recommend and will stay again! Loved the location, quiet with a beautiful view but still very central (only 10 min walk to central station & to the heart of Amsterdam). Our host Arnold was amazing. Very welcoming, helpful and accommodating! All in all was a total score for the price, and exceeded our expectations. The rooms, bathrooms are cosy/small but it was all we needed. If your looking for value for money & a friendly atmosphere look no more


80%

A little small but that is expected. Overall a great place to stay, only a brief walk to Centraal Station and with great views of the city. Only problems were the wifi was spotty and each room only has one outlet so technologically it is not terrific but easy to work around.

  • 29th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

very unique place to stay…found it clean & comfortable….very central location, so within walking distance to everything…...


49%

Overall we thought we paid a bit too much for this hostel. The hostel is a boat, which is kind of an unusual experience. Though there were some things that made me sure I will never go back. The staff is very unfriendly and even a bit arrogant.The bathroom is very unclean and cabin like. There is even a toilet in this bathroom, there is also no shower curtain, so everything gets wet in no time. There is another room with a toilet, but this was very smelly. The bedrooms are too small and unclean.

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good spot to stay. Very clean. Super friendly staff. I will stay there next time

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Very friendly welcoming staff. Great atmosphere.would stay at vita nova again.

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff is super nice. a worth to try if you havn't experience sleeping in a ship and won't bother about the noise. everythign is super clean which is not what i expected.

  • 29th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This is the fourth time I've stayed here, and I love it.It's cheap- superb value for money. The location, on the Oosterdok. is quiet, refreshing, and pleasant. The breakfasts are hearty and set you up for the day. The staff are always nice to deal with.Thr facilities are fine, but the shower is a tad cramped, which is the only disadvantage, and a minor one for me personally. but I'd definitely stay here again. I love coming to Amsterdam, and this is the only place I'd stay.


74%

Hostel is close to Amsterdam Central train station and walking distance to many of the hot spots of the city. Rooms are private, but tight (it's a boat after all!). Room with double bed and shower was useful, but smelled a little funky. Great breakfast!! Love the honesty box bar idea. Quiet at night as there are quiet hours after 10pm.Would definitely be back here!


60%

Found it cramped and smelly


69%

Ship was clean, the Lady running it very helpful, the location just 10 minutes from where it all is. I paid only 72 euros for 2 nights on the upper deck and can honestly say it was good value for that money. I will go again.




View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback