Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Viva Hostel Design

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 375 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 375 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jun 2017
9.1

The most comfortable beds that I have ever slept on! Very nice atmosphere, and the breakfast is awesome too! The staff was also amazing and very friendly! The only thing that I would point out, is the location, that is not sooo close to restaurants and tourism spots or to the subway. But overall, it's totally worth it, and I would stay there again for sure :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • JasperNL
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jun 2017
8.6

Good hostel in a nice neighborhood (Vila Madalena). Although pubs, restaurants and the metro are close, the area is quite hilly, which can be annoying when walking with luggage. Beds and lockers are nice, breakfast is really simple. During my 2 night stay there was not much partying or socializing going on, but then again this was on a Monday and Tuesday.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
9.7

Great hostel. Enjoyed the pod style bunks. Friendly staff and owners. Very welcoming. BBQ dinner was a great deal Safe and vibrant area and a few blocks from the metro.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2017
10.0

Perfectly sized hostel to get to know everyone staying there. Staff are great and can recommnd plenty of places to see there. Give yourself lots of time to see Rio!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • brookedpalmer3718
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th May 2017
9.7

Beautiful, chill hostel, great dorms, and friendly staff. Highly recommend. While it's in a quiet, safe, pretty neighborhood next to the Vila Madelena pub/club area, it's bit of a walk to get to the heart of Madelena. The metro isn't too far and is a straight shot, easy to locate, but it's a very hilly walk, especially if you're carrying a lot of stuff! Really enjoyed my time there though, it was worth the walk!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th May 2017
9.4

Nice Hostel in one of Sao Paolos most beautiful and famous neighborhoods (vila madalena). Clever concept to provide both private space and common areas. Staff is friendly and always open for nightlife activities. Breakfast (included) is very good, too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st May 2017
9.1

The sleeping pods are fantastic! Wifi was a bit dodgy though. The kitchen is one of the nicest I've seen in 7 months of travelling. Atmosphere was lacking because it's low season, so not many backpackers around. Really nice hostel though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
10.0

This hostel finds the perfect line between being sociable + granting you your right to a good night of sleep! I loved it. Im pretty sure that this is among the best places on offer in the city. Great attention to details that are important for people travelling: comfortable beds in pods (that block out a lot) with your own (soft) lighting, plug connection. Events organised like barbeques or caipirinha nights. Great helpful staff on reception. Fabulous area 5 mins from metro. Will be going back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
9.4

Plenty of social spaces with large, comfortable couches. Staff were very helpful with daily life questions and seemed to really want to be useful. Met plenty of other solo travelers here too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2017
9.4

Great hostel, my favorite in Brazil. Very friendly staff and great facilities. Clean and tidy with all the things you need for a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.