X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wada Hostel in Guilin Reviews

No.212,Huanchengxi 1 Road, Guilin, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

96%

Rating
2035 Total Reviews
  • 97%Value For Money
  • 97%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 96%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Thanks wada girls for the nice time in guilin. And make sure you celebrate animalsday this year.

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We certainly will! Thanks for the review! =) Team Wada

94%

I loved my stay at Wada. As the weather happened to be quite bad making most Guilin sights unattractive the hostel still provided a solid meeting hub for sharing stories and making friends. The common area is very good and promotes chatting and having fun together. The staff is very nice and fun, always welcoming you back with a smile and ready to help with anything you need. I stayed in a dorm room which was clean, bright, with solid, comfortable beds and curtains. Walking to center is 25 min.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely review! Have a safe trip in China! =) Team Wada

97%

Best hostel by far that I have stayed in China. Great atmosphere thanks largely to the staff who are very friendly. Great menu and good food! Rooms are spacious and still manage to maintain privacy despite being dorms.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us! Keep in touch! Team Wada

94%

The staff are the nicest of any hostel I've been to and the food is great - including the vegetarian options. The communal area has a wonderful atmosphere and stay on Friday night for the BBQ if you can. Beds are large and comfortable with electric blankets as standard in winter. It's a shame the surrounding area isn't great, but the hostel is fantastic. Completely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for mentioning all the reasons that make us a great place. We hope many more can come and experience our fun hostel. =) Team Wada

100%

The stuff was great, very friendly and helpful. They have free laundry service (but only from 16:00). Good for staying in the winter (heating and electric blanket!). Great food a specially the healthy salad!. The only thing, the WiFi only in the mutual area, not in the rooms, and because they offer food and drinks, it's not allowed to bring your own food and drinks to the lobby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your wonderful review! I'm so glad that you love our healthy salads. We know it can be hard to find healthy options in China so we're trying our best to give health conscious guests peace of mind when it comes to food. For the wifi, we focus our energy to provide uninterrupted wifi within our fun common space along with a dedicated VPN network that is unseen anywhere else. We know China does there part to censor and we will do our part for freedom. Team Wada

100%

Hola! Hello! Bonjour! Stayed two different nights at Wada Hostel. Me and my frienda we can gladly say that we loved our time there. Nice rooms, warm beds, not bad for winter time, and nice atmosphere. Also very good treatment given by the Wada girls. Only but may be not having WiFi in the rooms, only in the common area, but in the end is nice and makes you enjoy all the facilities from the hostel.

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay here! Thanks for the review! =) Team Wada

94%

The wada was one of my favourite hostels so far!!!! The receptionists were beyond helpful and the atmosphere in the hostel was great and social! The BBQ on Friday nights is amazing!!! Well worth the money. Heated blankets in the room and blankets around the hostel were a huge perk as it is cold here in the wintertime. The staff were kind enough to push one of my nights here forward in the week so that I could go to yangshou on the sunny days.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are also one of our favourite guests! Thanks for the amazing review! =) Team Wada

100%

Staff were all very friendly and helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! =) Team Wada

100%

Very friendly and helpful hosts. Good place and atmosphere to meet people and go sightseeing with. Clean and a pretty good location same with the Yangshuo Wada

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! And thanks for staying at our sister hostel in Yangshuo! =) Team Wada

91%

Directions on hostel world are not from the main train station. Coat hooks in the room would be helpful. Wonderful staff made our stay a pleasure. Thank you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! That's strange that you didn't get directions from the main station as the confirmation email will provide directions from all major transportation hubs. Anyway, guests can also check on our website for additional reference. Team Wada

100%

The hostel atmosphere is really fantastic. Probably the only hostel in China where the staff greeted us everytime we walked in the door.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Shame on those who don't greet such wonderful guests! You guys were really great! Come back anytime to say hi! Team Wada

100%

Thank you for everything! Enjoyed the stay a lot!

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you enjoyed your time here and thanks for your review! Team Wada

100%

LOVED staying here! The dorms were quiet and comfortable, the lobby was fun to relax in and meet people, and the staff are great. The location was a little bit of an inconvenience, mainly because of all the construction going on in the area. Had to walk through a lot of muck and dust to get to a bus or taxi. But it's close to the train station and a bus stop. Also the food was a little pricy. Could offer some normally priced Chinese dishes in addition to the 30-40 yuan western ones.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! Glad you enjoyed your stay here. We're sorry about the construction that's going on in the city. It's fortunately not as bad now. As for the food, it may be pricey to some but keep it mind that our food quality is far superior than many hostels. Our costs are much higher as we source from very reputable brands and many imported items as well. Many of our items are home-made from scratch like our fresh cut potato fries, tomato sauces, bakery items and soups.

80%

Good hostel with an easy access to the city center by bus. Loved the heaters in beds!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! Glad you loved the beds! Team Wada

77%

Stayed in a single ensuite room. Room was clean. Real big minus was that the room heater was not working properly, so it was too cold for me at nights to get a comfortable sleep. The location of the hostel is quite outside from the city center and its bars. The location rating seems to be overrated for me, maybe because the reception girls get a small tip for excellent ratings. The girls all speak good English and are friendly and helpful. A cool guy is the nightkeeper Uncle Zhao.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at Wada. We want to first apologize for the room heater. When this issue was brought to our attention, we immediately had it fixed. As for our location, we are actually strategically located to the airport shuttle stop and nearby the train station. Also, a mere 10 minutes on the bus takes you right into the city center. We believe many guests see the value in our location. We're perfect for those making quick layover stops and need to go to the train station or airport the next morning. Our policy has always been to give the best of us to our guests and give everyone who walks through our doors a big smile before they leave. We'll do whatever it takes to make sure every moment spent here is perfect. Team Wada

83%

Very cool Hostel with super nice and helpful staff! They gave us the best Hotpot recommendation. We did the full package tour to the riceterraces and were a bit disappointed that they made us pay another 120RMB for the cablecar once we got there. And we didn't really have a choice because our guide told us that walking up and down would take us too long. They have two tours to the terraces there I would recommend to just do the other one! But still the Hostel is a good one

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! I want to clarify that any guests who choose either of the Longji Rice Terraces tours do not have to opt in for the cable car. Guests are more than welcome to hike up to the scenic points as they please. The hike can be anywhere between 2-4 hours. Team Wada

91%

it was great, but its so poor that they don't provide wifi inside the room :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! I'd like to say that while we don't offer Wifi in the rooms, we have exceptionally reliable wifi within our common space. We focus our energy on providing uninterrupted internet with a dedicated VPN network that bypass China's firewall so guests can freely use their computers the way it should be. Team Wada

100%

Our stay at the hostel was perfect. Everyone spoke very good English, were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was incredibly tasty (this was at an extra cost but was worth it) and there are no words to describe the amazing all-you-can-eat barbecue. In the evening, we took some rest in one of the many sofas and chilled out with a beer (including Belgian beers). The number of characters is limited here, so I would like to thank the staff for everything and this won't be my last stay.

  • 26th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It means so much to us that you love our food. We've put a lot into the preparation of everything we cook so that we can make a lot of hungry bellies happy. Team Wada

80%

First, I must say the staff is great! Willing to help, nice food and their English is good. Have had better rooms, but it was ok. Electric blanket was nice. Location was nice, really nearby a busstation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Team Wada

97%

heated blankets are the best!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Team Wada

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(132 results)


View all Guilin Hostels

Please give us your feedback