X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
3149 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Only stayed one night in this hostel as I was coming up from Melbourne but I'd highly recommend! So easy to find and in such a good location, really clean too. Can't complain! Staff were super friendly too.


97%

Wake up Sydney was Sweeeet! Definitely coming back when possible.

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Awesome hostel, really modern and great location. The staff were really friendly and gave us a free upgrade on our room. Only downside is that there were a few drunks singing in the hall way at 2am, but I guess that fairly standard for hostels.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, clean, great staff, organised day trips, good littl cafe and bar, 30 mins walk to the harbour.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

A great place for action and then also a great place if you need to chill. But please don't screen such violent movies in the marathon.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel could nearly be a hotel. Great place to meet people and explore the city especially with Connors city walks.


91%

At $30+ charging for everything from WiFi to laundry seems a bit excessive, but I do recognize you have to fund all your events from somewhere. Great staff, great atmosphere.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for reviewing your stay! We appreciate your kind words for our staff and also for highlighting what a great event schedule we have. The events here at Wake Up and Side Bar are what gives us such a unique atmosphere and ultimately creates the experience we are hoping to offer our guests. It is however expensive to run but we do feel we offer more than your average hostel. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Absolutely loved staying here! The location is great, you can basically walk anywhere. However, if you need, the train station/ buses are literally across the street- easy access to everything. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the facilities are very clean and well kept. The kitchen is huge and great for cooking/ storing food, and grocery stores are just a few minutes walk. The cafe and the bar downstairs are also great perks. Definitely stay here!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, That is one awesome review and the whole team here is super pleased to see you had such a great experience here at Wake Up! Please spread the Wake Up word and we hope to see you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

91%

Everything Was nearly effect. It's a very professionally managed place, only maybe that takes away a bit from the homely atmosphere you get in smaller places. Also, dint like the fact that they dint have free WiFi after the first 24 hours. This is something which you just expect. You need to pay nearly $5 for access for a day after that which I felt was just too steep. Wi-Fi, like water, should be free.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for giving us such comprehensive feedback. I was happy to hear that you had a good stay with us here at Wake Up and that the paid WiFi did not deter you from giving us a positive rating! On the wifi side of things we have been steadily making our wifi cheaper over the past couple of years. While not free at this stage we believe we have one of the strongest WiFi networks in the industry. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

The staff was beyond amazing. I was not expecting such great service from a hostel. They really exceeded expectations. Beatriz from the front desk was extremely helpful, A+++, she is a great asset to the team! Rtorr1990@gmailgmail.com

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for your glowing review of our staff and in particular Beatriz. Beatriz is our Spanish superstar and a valuable member of the reception team! Viajes Felices Dev Penney General Manager

86%

It was my first hostel. I could say it was the best experience I've had so far with my stay. There was a free tour around Sydney and staff were friendly. My roommates were pretty friendly and sanitary. Respectful as well. It was a bit pricey, but it was totally worth the two nights.


91%

Large, fresh, modern, clean hostel right next to central station. The cafe attached on the ground floor does great coffee and breakfast. There are events most days in the social area or the bar. Kitchen is big and well equipped. There's a power outlet at every bed which is great. Staff are generally friendly and helpful. Loudspeaker announcements, at least once or twice a day are loud, intrusive and extremely annoying.


100%

Wake Up was amazing. This was my first hostel stay ever, and it did a bang up job. Everything was clean and the atmosphere was lovely and inviting. Wish there was more wifi access but that wasn't too bad, everything else was excellent!

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for giving us a perfect rating and fantastic feedback! We are really pleased that you chose Wake Up for your first ever hostel experience and we hope that you will stop by next time you are in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

91%

Great place to stay in Sydney. Met great people. The staff were helpful and happy to be there. The city tour/walk was a must do.

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay here at Wake Up. It is really pleasing to see that you found our staff to be happy and helpful! Thanks also for mentioning our City Orientation Tour. We host these every Monday and Friday and they are a fantastic way of meeting people and getting to know Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

89%

It was good, even as it was only a night stay I enjoyed the fact that I could wake up and go downstairs in the morning for a complimentary coffee with breakfast at the cafe. Will definately stay again when I'm in Sydney for a function rather then travelling home late at night back to the Central Coast

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Super pleased to hear you enjoyed your brief stay here at Wake Up. Stay a bit longer next time and take in the full Wake Up experience! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

83%

Bit of a 'party hostel' with announcements over a speaker system about various events, staff really want you to go to their events at the bar downstairs which is pretty good but I wouldn't recommend this place if you're wanting somewhere a bit more relaxed. Their free city & beach walks were good. For the price you pay you would expect free Wifi, and not just for 24 hours. Even hostels in developing countries offer free wifi for guests! But generally clean and secure and great location.


86%

Good hostel couldnt complain about anything. Location, rooms, wifi, staff all good


100%

Wake Up! in Sydney was the best hostel I stayed at while I was in Australia. Super clean, great location and very convenient to have a cafe and Sidebar right below the rooms. Staff is really friendly and sets up a bunch of cool stuff to do during the week. I would definitely recommend staying here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for choosing to stay with us here at Wake Up! We put a lot of hard work into creating the Wake Up experience and reviews like yours just tell us that we are on the right track. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you next time you are in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

awesome staff; superb location. my only complaint is that there's way too many beautiful women hanging out at the sidebar -which creates a distraction when all you want is to enjoy your ice water.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving such an awesome review! I will be passing on your complaint to the management at Side Bar and we will ensure you have a beer in your hand next time. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

100%

Wake Up Hostel is all that you need in Sydney! Great location (near Central Sation and bus stop), staff available to help all the time, rooms very clean (they have a deep clean every week) and good facilities. They have a bar downstairs the hostel that have cheap drinks and food every day, but if you want to get a sleep, rooms are very quiet! Great! Would definitely recommend to everyone!

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(172 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback