X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
3035 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The best one that I`ve stayed in Australia so far, because some things that I can resume below: 1 - Really friendly staff, they do everything to let you felling confortable 2 - Best location, in front of Sydney Central Station 3 - The party is here - Side Bar, one of the best venues to party and have fun is just downstairs of the hostel... 4 - And a good structure as well, clean rooms and shared bathrooms, big kitchen, amazing reception and chill out area....

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

When I arrived the staff was amazing and welcoming! Only had the one night but I changed my second reservation to come back here because they were great!

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved, loved, loved our stay here! Wouldn't go anywhere else. Friendly staff getting everyone involved, excellent location, constant free alcohol and food. Huge thumbs up! Was only there for 4 days but wish i stayed longer!! Will definitely be returning! Best hostel around

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Wouldn't consider going to a different hostel after staying in wakeup! Clean and tidy, staff are great and always make the time to talk to you, no matter the time of day! 100% recommend this hostel!

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Frankie, Here at Wake Up we love it when we get top marks so thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I will be passing on your feedback to the staff via our internal Facebook page. I know everyone will be please! Cheers and thanks again. Dev Penney - General Manager

100%

Lovely friendly place to stay. Staff all very friendly and always very welcoming. Especially John who works a few night shifts and always is very cheerful and helpful. The social events arranged are great fun to get to know other people too. Every time I come to Sydney I know this is the hostel I will always stay at.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Our stay was great, friendly staff and got a free upgrade. Overall had a really nice stay :)

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very modern hostel right in the heart of Sydney. An excellent place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Vincent, Thanks for your kind words and online recommendation! Enjoy your Australian adventure and we hope to see you back at Wake Up in the future. Cheers Dev Penney - General Manager

89%

For a first time traveller and visitor to Australia, I'd highly recommend this hostel as I got the chance to meet people through the highly organised events that wake up staff provide us. It almost becomes your new home once your settled and the staff help that. I became very familiar with one staff member on the night reception, Jonathan, as he seem me on regular nights out in side bar. He is a friendly guy always has a smile on his face. Overall brilliant service from everyone at wake up!

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very clean and friendly with lots of activities! Though I felt information booth was trying to coerce paid activities vs giving information to do on your own ie blue mountains.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review in addition to your feedback. Glad you mentioned how fun and friendly our hostel is as this is a big part of the Wake Up experience. The information booth is actually our inhouse travel agency so while they give out plenty of friendly advice their primary role is to sell tours. Hope you understand. Cheers and thanks again for your review. Dev Penney - GM

89%

A solid place to stay. Tough to meet people, but would stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I was disappointed to hear that you found it hard to meet people but can assure you that we have an action packed activity schedule specifically designed to get our guests together. From our Beach and City walks, to our free food events and live entertainment in Side Bar we really try our best to make it a fun place to be! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Outstanding hostel- really can't fault. Comfortable beds and rooms, close to the city centre, lots of activities and good bar downstairs, but still quiet for sleeping upstairs. Staff were the friendliest and most helpful I've come across in hostels- can't recommend enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, WOW... Thanks for leaving us such an awesome review! I will be posting your review to our staff Facebook page as I know the entire team will be thrilled to have had such fantastic feedback! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

80%

good hostel. Had better, had worse. definitively the position is a big plus! very nicely marketed as well. all in all would recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Wake Up. While the percentage you gave us was quite low your words were, on the whole, quite positive. I would welcome any additional feedback you care to give and will be emailing you shortly with my details. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

83%

the rooms were great, just that there is a better spot for the room mirror placement. instead of placing it on the back of the door, maybe it can be repositioned to the wall perpendicular to it? if not for the sound of the lock, my wife almost got hit while using the mirror by a new couple entering the room.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I had a very good experience in all aspects.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us and for giving us such a nice review. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you back at Wake Up soon. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

97%

Excellent hostel, amazing location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a mil for your kind words! It is super pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Wake Up. We look forward to welcoming you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

100%

I've been to hostels in seven countries on three continents and among best I have ever been to! The space is clean, beds are comfy and there are a lot of activities to help you meet other travelers. Although you have to pay for Internet, it's not too expensive. Getting around the city is pretty easy since Central Station is across the street. Or if you choose to walk, many things are within a 30-min trek. My only qualm is that my door was a bit squeaky.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for leaving such a fantastic review! We can see from the many reviews you have previously posted that you are indeed well traveled. This makes your review of Wake Up even more special to us. Enjoy your travels and we look forward to seeing you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

86%

I have stayed here twice now, in two weeks! Both times I have paid for a 10 bed mixes dorm for me and a friend, and both times I've been upgraded too a twin room! Which naturally I was thrilled about! It's the first hostel I've ever stayed in, so I don't have anything too compare it too as such, but it's clean, and well presented! I've had no reason too use the communal areas but it seems too have everything you need! They market very well for backpackers, great location, ill be back for sure!

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, First times are always special so we are glad that you chose us here at Wake Up! Enjoy your travels and we look forward to seeing you back here in the future! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

86%

Great location right opposite central station so easy if you are coming off a Greyhound / train from the airport. Clean and tidy, met some great people there too. Didn't use the kitchen but did notice the TV lounge area was right next to it so probably not the most relaxing place to have it (open plan). Wifi could be better on the 4th floor, slow at times considering you have to pay for it too. However I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hostel to fellow backpackers!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and for your feedback on the 4th floor wifi signal. I shall be looking into it to ensure that it is running perfectly asap. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you recommending us to your fellow travelers. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

97%

Great overall. Would be even better if the private rooms have lockers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review and also for the feedback regarding lockers in private rooms. I shall be discussing this at our management meeting this week. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Wake Up in the future! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

69%

A place to go if you want to go to Sydney and get drunk all the time. They have an annoying tannoy system in every room, just to warn anyone thinking of going. The staff were awesome, apart from one of the guys in the bar downstairs, we ended up not staying at the bar because who wants to eat in such a loud place? Not what we were looking for from our trip to Sydney but it was a great location and the free bus stops just around the back of the hostel.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay here at Wake Up. Although we were not what you were looking for on this occasion it still sounds like there were many positives to your stay. Thanks for giving us top marks for our awesome staff and also for mentioning what a great location we have. Cheers and thanks again! Dev Penney General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(164 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback