Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Wake Up! Sydney Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 4,216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 4,216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
Wake Up! Sydney Central Located at 509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney.
Wake Up! Sydney Central
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2000 509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway
92% 4216
-33.8824941 151.2045335
Wake Up! Sydney Central
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Sep 2016
9.7

It's quite expensive here but definitely worth the money. It's by far the best hostel I've stayed in and the staff are great. It's got a good atmosphere for meeting people, the rooms are big, the wifi is decent and it's clean! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Sep 2016
8.6

Good place - very big and lots of facilities. Quite expensive compared to some other hostels, but in Sydney you really get what you pay for so is worth it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
9.7

Great hostel for groups or single travelers, easy to mix and meet people! The free activities are well worth your time and the facilities are clean.. I'll go back next time im in sydney

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Sep 2016
9.7

Love this hostel. Have been going there since 2004 and it still feels brand new. Great helpful staff, good vibe, bar downstairs have cheap drinks and food. Love it. Anytime I'm in Sydney I'm staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Great to hear that you keep on returning to Wake Up and I am really please to hear that the hostel looks as good as it ever has. Cheers and thanks again for your review. Dev Penney - GM

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
9.4

That stay was awesome. The owners or managers came round to each room and asked how the stay was.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for your review and I am pleased to hear your stay was awesome! My management team and I feel it is of great importance to visit our guests regularly to see how their stays are going. In doing this we are able to ensure that all are having a great time and fix any issues as they arise. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2016
9.4

Huge hostel, haven't seen anything like it before but run like a machine- stayed in a 4 bed dorm, felt clean and modern. Has all facilities you could want, large and spacious rooms, bathrooms, cafe, bar, kitchen. Staff very friendly and helpful, also free daily arranged activities- really nice. Lots of younger people staying on holiday visas, perhaps the place could be too large/intimidating to really meet people although I still managed to. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
8.9

Awesome location with friendly staff. Only downside is it's a very big hostel and doesn't have the same welcoming feel as others, because they check so many people in a day so you're just another number. There aren't any fun nights out planned because they have a bar downstairs so they just want you to drink there. Bounce across the street is a way better value for your money and they have great group outings every night!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay here at Wake Up as well as for your feedback regarding our awesome location and friendly staff. Sorry to hear that you did not feel welcomed but I can assure you and anyone reading this review that we really go out of our way to make each and every guest feel special. It is the Wake Up way and something we are proud of. Here at Wake Up we have an awesome activity schedule which incorporates beach and city walks, wildlife show, wine and cheese nights as well as the nightly events and parties at Side Bar. Side Bar, our basement bar/nightclub is Sydney's premier backpacker and student bar and on any night of the week we host groups from across Sydney's hostels, universities and english language schools. Our good friends over at Bounce Backpackers (which is a great hostel btw) party with us twice weekly as well! It is a real shame you did not stay just a little longer as you would have been able to see this in addition to all the free food and drink that comes with every Wake Up stay. Cheers and thanks again for your review. Dev Penney – GM

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
7th Sep 2016
10.0

Really nice place. Even got a free upgrade to a deluxe private room. Mohammed is the man!!! However, the elevators do get really busy at peak hour in the morning. Some access to a stairwell would be nice to travel from ground floor to the first floor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for your review and shout out to Mo at reception! Sorry to hear about the elevator speed around checkout time. I can assure you that that is pretty much the only time you do have to wait though. Cheers and thanks again for your feedback. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Sep 2016
9.1

clean comfy hostel, easy access to everything. Will def stay again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
10.0

Amazing stay at wake up hostel. Staff are super nice and helpful they go out of their way to make your stay amazing! Will defo be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Super pleased to hear that you had an amazing stay at Wake Up and I am so glad that you mentioned our friendly and helpful staff. They are without a doubt one of Wake Ups greatest assets. See you next time you visit Sydney. Dev Penney - GM

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.