Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Wake Up! Sydney Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 4,403 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 4,403 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
Wake Up! Sydney Central Located at 509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney.
Wake Up! Sydney Central
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2000 509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway
92% 4403
-33.8824941 151.2045335
Wake Up! Sydney Central
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Nov 2016
8.0

Very nice staff and clean rooms. Excellent location. I did not like that the free wifi worked only at the reception, when it worked.... a tourist must have wifi to google their destinations, use maps and contact with family. Can t believe the hostel charged 3AU per day to have wifi at the room. That's the only downside. :)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
10.0

The staff were excellent, the room was clean, the showers were mostly clean, one of the best hostels I have stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks so much for leaving us such a nice review! Enjoy your travels and we look forward to seeing you next time you visit Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
8.0

Too in your face and not very clean but good overall as hostels go. Really grossed out by the gum stuck to my bed frame and my duvet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for your review and my apologies on the gum stuck to your bunk bed frame. It would certainly have grossed me out as well. Please please let us know at reception next time as we would have sorted it out immediately and probably have thrown some nice goodies your way for the inconvenience. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
8.0

Perfect Location and comfort

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Really pleased to hear that you found us to be comfortable and perfectly located! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

22nd Nov 2016
7.1

I was pretty underwhelmed with my experience and only stayed 1 night of my planned 2. The hostel is very large and had a strange vibe. There was a ton of security which is good, but was also frustrating when trying to use elevator. The bar downstairs was just awful and offered nothing special. The biggest problem is that my room was TINY. There was barely walking room between the beds and the lockers were strangely shaped. Overall, I think you could have a better experience for less money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Wake Up and my apologies your stay was not the best it could have been. I understand from your discussions with our Reception Manager that the hostel concept may not be entirely for you which is why we happily refunded your stay when you mentioned you would be moving to a hotel. Regards Dev Penney - GM

21st Nov 2016
10.0

Pros: -Location: Across from Central Station, near CBD -Book with Hostelworld = unlimited Free WiFi -$20 for key deposit charged to credit card, get it back in cash upon checkout -$15 OW airport shuttles every 30min -Welcome Packet includes discounts and free coffee -Freebies! --walking tours = meet people --treats given in lobby at certain times - trip advising & deals Cons: -4 person room felt cramped -No power outlet inside the locker -Small kitchen/dining area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
9.1

Great hostel, good for meeting other backpackers, really clean big dorms and great staff. Shout out to Jason who works there! Was happy to help me out wherever he could, gave great advice on places to go, where to look for work and good nights out in Sydney! SOUND FELLA!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Nov 2016
9.7

Great hostel. Initially when we got there I was a bit disappointed that we didn't get an en suite, but the bathrooms on each floor are so big and clean it was fine. The staff were super nice and came to the room and told us about what was happening at the night. Clean, secure rooms with comfy beds. The cafè attached to it does great food that you are given vouchers for. Fast wifi. Huge kitchen. Awesome location. The bar downstairs has a great atmosphere too. I'll be staying here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks so much for your review and awesome feedback. You definitely need to come back again and I would highly recommend you try our the ensuite rooms. They are great! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Nov 2016
8.0

I felt the room was quite small for 4 people. I do love the fact that there are plug ins by each bed. The card keys didn't always work. It would have been nice if there was a toilet on the main floor. The laundry is very expensive.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and a big thanks for mentioning the light/powerpoint/shelf combi box next to each our our bunks. They are quite unique and unlikely to be found anywhere else. We do actually have a bathroom on each level here at Wake Up, if in doubt just see our 24 hour reception and they can always show you where. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
9.7

Great and clean private room. Close to central station and just 15-20 minutes from Sydney airport makes every travel more convenient. Staff are nice. Five stars!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.