X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
2976 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great staff, great travel desk and general good service. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and tidy.


100%

Absolutely loved it at Wake Up Sydney, had a private twin room with my cousin and we had a large flat screen TV and loads of space, could of done with some hooks in the room though. Great location, easy walk to the main attractions, facilities were spot on, very clean and the staff were very helpful. Would recommend and return without question.


97%

Organized events were a great way to meet people. Breakfast/wifi/towel/other amenities were at a cost but not awful. The bar downstairs was loud, but you couldn't hear it at all in the rooms. Definitely a place to socialize and party.


100%

Great place to stay! Comfortable and clean. Bar fun as well!

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay, very social. Special thanks to Natalia, great staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for giving us top marks! We love it here when a staff member receives a mention for great service and I will be passing on your feedback to Natalia. Muchas Gracias Dev Penney General Manager

100%

I was travelling with a friend and we had a great time. The coffee shop and the bar that attached to WakeUp are great! good brekky for the morning and great drinks and atmosphere at night. Also very convenient location next to the train station. Staff were great and the Travel desk was super helpful when we didn't know what to do on a rainy day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for sharing your Wake Up experience with us after your recent stay. We love it when we receive such positive feedback as it motivates us to deliver the best service we can. Thanks in particular for mentioning Roy's Cafe. They really do put on a good brekky at a great price! I will be passing on your feedback for sure! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

94%

Great hostel. Really helpful and awesome staff. Nice comfy beds. Rooms and toilets are cleaned daily. Right next to central station. Would definitely recommend this for anyone traveling in Sydney.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review our property and for mentioning the cleanliness of our bathrooms! We are slightly obsessed with bathroom cleanliness here at Wake Up and I know our Head Housekeeper loves it when they get a positive mention! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

94%

I really enjoyed my stay, the hostel was clean and the rooms were nice and quiet. I really appreciated the activities run by the hostel. Thanks.

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are super pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Wake Up! Thanks also for mentioning the hostel cleanliness and our activities. These are two of the key ingredients that make up a great stay in any hostel and we always try to exceed our guests expectation in this regard. Thanks again for your kind words. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

100%

Cannot fault this hostel! Very clean, staff were amazingly helpful, easy for the solo traveller to meet new people, and always something going on every night in side bar or level 1. Organised tours during the day and walking distance to Chinatown and darling harbour. you can also walk 5 mins to get a free shuttle bus which goes to circular quay for the opera house, bridge and boats across the harbour for manly etc. Would definitely recommend to everyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are super pleased to see that you had such a good time here at Wake Up! We pride ourselves on our staff and customer service so it is great that you got to see them at their very best. Activities are an integral part of the Wake Up experience and I will be passing on your feedback to the activities team. I know they will be pleased to have had such a great recommendation from you. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

94%

Wake up is pretty much the perfect hostel. Extremely good environment in which to meet people and make friends, the rooms are spotless and the beds are ridiculously comfortable. I honestly couldn't recommend this place enough! It's on the pricier side of Sydney hostels but you really do get what you pay for. A lot of freebies on offer every night too. All round brilliant place

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving such an awesome review and for describing us as your perfect hostel! I will be passing on your feedback to our housekeeping and activities teams who I know will be stoked to have made your stay a good one. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you next time your are in our beautiful city. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

86%

Friendly staff, thanks for the 'where to eat' tip.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Wake Up. I was very pleased to see that your found our staff to be friendly and informative. They are our greatest asset and I know they will be pleased to have had another mention online! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

80%

The hostel is modern and clean; the staff are super friendly and helpful and you get a free coffee in the adjoining cafe on arrival which I thought was a lovely touch. You only get one day of free wifi which is a nuisance and would prevent me from staying long term. Also the people in my dormitory were noisy and inconsiderate (not the hostel's fault but as the target market consists of late teens/early twenties to be expected )Terrific location just a two minute amble from central station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us such an in depth and fair review. While Wake Up may not be the hostel for you it is very pleasing to see that you have mentioned the many great qualities we have. Enjoy your travels! Dev Penney General Manager

97%

Sayed for 1 night on Saturday 9/5/2015 with another friend, very warm and buzzing hostel! Totally recommend for anyone to stay there!

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are pleased you took the time to review your recent stay here at Wake Up. We really like the 'warm and buzzing' words you used to describe us as that is also how we feel about Wake Up. See you next time you are in Sydney! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

91%

We really enjoyed our stay. Good location and friendly staff. Very clean rooms and bathrooms!

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay here at Wake Up. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay and met our friendly staff! Thanks also for mentioning the room and bathroom cleanliness. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

100%

Very helpful to find city location and good ideas in the new city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are super pleased you enjoyed your time here and chose to leave such a positive review. Enjoy your travels and we hope to welcome you back to Wake Up in the future! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

94%

Overall very friendly and helpful staff . Exception the bearded guy who checked me out morning of may 4th at 04h15 am He was grumpy and unfriendly. Very surprising after being helped by other staffmembers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Liliane, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and especially for marking us so well given the poor customer service on checkout. I really appreciate your additional feed back via email and can assure you that I have taken steps to ensure that this does not happen again. I hope you enjoy your onward travels and if you should return to Sydney I hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

69%

The location was great. Eazy to access many places. However, the bathrooms were very dirty all the time. Moreover, The staff who checked me out in the early morning on 5/5/15 was not really helpful. He supposed not to be put in this position!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. I was disappointed to learn that our 6th floor bathrooms were not up to scratch during your stay and I can assure you that I will be speaking with our Housekeeping team first thing. Regarding the customer service you received on departure I can only apologize for this. We pride ourselves on our customer service and for me this is hugely disappointing. Thanks again for your feedback. Dev Penney - GM

80%

Great location, just next to central station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are very pleased chose to leave us a review! Enjoy your travels and we look forward to seeing you on your next stop in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

97%

Everything was perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us such a nice review. It is always pleasing to know we have been able to provide the perfect stay! Cheers and Thanks Dev Penney General Manager

89%

We had an excellent stay! We had a great night sleep, the hostel is beautiful, the girls at reception were super friendly and very helpfull, the location could nit be any better and the lasagna on wednesday was very nice ;) thank you for a lovely stay and we would recommend the hostel to anyone.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sydney! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(161 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback