X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2505 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Loved wake up! sydney central. The staff were fantastic and the rooms were great.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect location in Sydney! It has an entrance on George street which is the main access to the shops, opera house and the main bus routes! The rooms were clean and comfortable best bed I slept in my whole time here! There's a great bar and social area. The shuttle bus that runs to and from the airport is done through another company not always on time but good when it was... Leave extra time! The staff were helpful and pleasant to deal with and great help when the bus was late! Great overall!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The reception team member when checking-in was very nice, but the team member when I was checking-out I found to be very rude. No one explained to me in order to get my bond back I had to hand in my pillow case, I said this to him and he said "Yeah, we would have told you and there's signs everywhere". I definitely wasn't told this and didn't see any signs and as a result missed my train from having to go back to my room and come back down. I wouldn't have minded if that person wasn't so rude.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for leaving us a review after your stay, its much appreciated! I'm glad overall you had a good stay with us. I'm terribly disappointed to hear of your checkout experience. That goes against everything we believe in here at Wake Up! I will certainly have a chat to the staff member who checked you out, to find out how you got this impression. I will ensure that this doesn't happen again. Thanks so much for letting us know, and we hope to see you again soon! Wake Up!

91%

Pretty good place. Good allocation, so close to the train station. Many interesting activities that we can participate in. Staffs are nice in general. Interesting experience.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I couldn't be more happier with my stay at Wake Up Sydney Central. They have all the facilities you want in a hostel, friendly & helpful staff, great location & very clean! I will definatley be recommending people to stay at Wake Up Sydney Central :)

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, it sounds like you enjoyed the whole experience which is most please. Hope to see you again in the future :) Wake Up! Management

89%

First hostel I've ever stayed at and I was not disappointed! The staff was friendly enough, the guy who checked us in didn't seem to care too much but girl who checked us out seemed to really like her job. Everything was very clean and seemed like a nice place to stay for a longer period of time. Showers could have more water pressure but otherwise I have no complaints!

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for leaving us review, we always love to hear from our guests :) The receptionists certainly do love their job like you mentioned, They will be happy to hear your review. Thanks for your feedback on the water pressure, I have checked the water pressure on all showers, and found the one you were talking about! I have fixed it now :) See you again soon Wake Up! Management

94%

Excellent location! Right next to central station which was really convenient. We stayed in a private room with an ensuite which was worth the extra money. Very happy with the high level of cleanliness. The facilities - cafe and bar - are really well priced for Sydney and have great atmosphere. Absolutely loved our stay.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, We really appreciate your review! It's lovely to hear from our guests especially when you have 'loved' your stay! It's nice that you noticed our high standard of cleanliness within Wake Up! Its an area we really focus on here so its always nice to hear when its noticed :) Hope to see you again soon Wake Up! Management

83%

The staff and location were great but the shared bathrooms needed more cleaning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! your feedback is extremely valuable to us. The bathrooms are routinely checked and cleaned throughout the day, so its disappointing to hear they weren't outstanding while you were staying with us. I will be looking into this immediately to ensure its better when you next stay with us. Wake Up! Management

91%

The staff was respectful, helpful, and great fun! I did not want to leave Sydney and 80% of it was due to the Wake Up.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great Hostel, central location, very clean.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice clean hostel. The rooms are nice and there are good kitchen facilities. The staff are also very friendly. The only downside was there were less lockers than beds and the beds wabble 'alot'!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for leaving us a review, we always appreciate guest feedback! I'm glad you found Wake Up! nice and clean, its a big effort to keep it so clean, but we know how important cleanliness is to our guests, so we focus a lot on that. Thanks for letting me know about the wobbly bed, I went around and tightened some questionable bunks today! Hope to see you again soon. Wake Up! Management

100%

everything was perfect except for a few renovations

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for making the effort to leave us a review. Its very pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay so much! Hope you can drop in again once we have finished our renovations so you can see all of our latest additions like new carpets, bed lights, extra power points, freshly painted rooms! Thanks again. Wake Up! Management

86%

Friendly staff and very helpful. Nice meal and the coffee shop and dinner in the underground.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. We LOVE to know of our guests experience at Wake Up! Really happy you had such a good stay with us, and glad you enjoyed our cafe! Hope we see you soon Wake Up! Management

94%

Great hostel - good value for money. I would recommend anybody to stay at this hostel and I will go there again myself. Staff was really nice and helpful. Good and clean bed- and bathrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time out and leaving us a review! Its so pleasing to hear what you thought of Wake up! The staff here love getting to meet people like yourself, and i will be passing on your comment to them :) See you next time! Wake Up! management

77%

Make sure to bring your own lock for the lockers! Otherwise, my stay was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving us a review after your stay. I'm glad your stay was great. Next time you stay with us you can pick up a lock from reception at check in :) Wake Up! Management

86%

Great Experience. Friendly Staff and 1st Class location. Thanks guys

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel was centrally located and all the staff were very helpful and nice.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, Thanks for leaving us a review after your stay. We really appreciate the feedback, and its very pleasing to hear our staff were helpful towards you during your stay. They love what they do here and I will pass on your comments! Thanks again Wake Up! Management

94%

Good hostel would reccomend, really clean and the 8 bed dorms are really big. There are a couple of down sides, the wifi is quite expensive also the lockers under the beds are not very big but other that I have nothing to complain about. I would stay here again.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A wonderfully social hostel with great amenities including a downstairs bar. Great for meeting young, likeminded people. Also recommend the hostels free tours as they are great for getting to know other people. Overall one of my favourite hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for making the effort to leave us a review, Its much appreciated! I'm glad you made some good friends while you were staying with us, that's the best part about hostels! Be sure to have a look on our Facebook page so you can tag yourself in the photos from the tour! See you again soon. Wake Up! Management

100%

Had a fantastic stay and an awesome night in the side bar 👍

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, Thanks for leaving us a review! Glad you had a fantastic stay here with us and enjoyed our bar. I'm sure we will see you again :) Wake Up! Management

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(103 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback