X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
2973 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great place to stay! Comfortable and clean. Bar fun as well!

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay, very social. Special thanks to Natalia, great staff!


100%

I was travelling with a friend and we had a great time. The coffee shop and the bar that attached to WakeUp are great! good brekky for the morning and great drinks and atmosphere at night. Also very convenient location next to the train station. Staff were great and the Travel desk was super helpful when we didn't know what to do on a rainy day.


94%

Great hostel. Really helpful and awesome staff. Nice comfy beds. Rooms and toilets are cleaned daily. Right next to central station. Would definitely recommend this for anyone traveling in Sydney.


94%

I really enjoyed my stay, the hostel was clean and the rooms were nice and quiet. I really appreciated the activities run by the hostel. Thanks.

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Cannot fault this hostel! Very clean, staff were amazingly helpful, easy for the solo traveller to meet new people, and always something going on every night in side bar or level 1. Organised tours during the day and walking distance to Chinatown and darling harbour. you can also walk 5 mins to get a free shuttle bus which goes to circular quay for the opera house, bridge and boats across the harbour for manly etc. Would definitely recommend to everyone.


94%

Wake up is pretty much the perfect hostel. Extremely good environment in which to meet people and make friends, the rooms are spotless and the beds are ridiculously comfortable. I honestly couldn't recommend this place enough! It's on the pricier side of Sydney hostels but you really do get what you pay for. A lot of freebies on offer every night too. All round brilliant place

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Friendly staff, thanks for the 'where to eat' tip.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel is modern and clean; the staff are super friendly and helpful and you get a free coffee in the adjoining cafe on arrival which I thought was a lovely touch. You only get one day of free wifi which is a nuisance and would prevent me from staying long term. Also the people in my dormitory were noisy and inconsiderate (not the hostel's fault but as the target market consists of late teens/early twenties to be expected )Terrific location just a two minute amble from central station.


97%

Sayed for 1 night on Saturday 9/5/2015 with another friend, very warm and buzzing hostel! Totally recommend for anyone to stay there!

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are pleased you took the time to review your recent stay here at Wake Up. We really like the 'warm and buzzing' words you used to describe us as that is also how we feel about Wake Up. See you next time you are in Sydney! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

91%

We really enjoyed our stay. Good location and friendly staff. Very clean rooms and bathrooms!

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay here at Wake Up. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay and met our friendly staff! Thanks also for mentioning the room and bathroom cleanliness. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

100%

Very helpful to find city location and good ideas in the new city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are super pleased you enjoyed your time here and chose to leave such a positive review. Enjoy your travels and we hope to welcome you back to Wake Up in the future! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

94%

Overall very friendly and helpful staff . Exception the bearded guy who checked me out morning of may 4th at 04h15 am He was grumpy and unfriendly. Very surprising after being helped by other staffmembers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Liliane, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and especially for marking us so well given the poor customer service on checkout. I really appreciate your additional feed back via email and can assure you that I have taken steps to ensure that this does not happen again. I hope you enjoy your onward travels and if you should return to Sydney I hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

69%

The location was great. Eazy to access many places. However, the bathrooms were very dirty all the time. Moreover, The staff who checked me out in the early morning on 5/5/15 was not really helpful. He supposed not to be put in this position!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. I was disappointed to learn that our 6th floor bathrooms were not up to scratch during your stay and I can assure you that I will be speaking with our Housekeeping team first thing. Regarding the customer service you received on departure I can only apologize for this. We pride ourselves on our customer service and for me this is hugely disappointing. Thanks again for your feedback. Dev Penney - GM

80%

Great location, just next to central station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are very pleased chose to leave us a review! Enjoy your travels and we look forward to seeing you on your next stop in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

97%

Everything was perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us such a nice review. It is always pleasing to know we have been able to provide the perfect stay! Cheers and Thanks Dev Penney General Manager

89%

We had an excellent stay! We had a great night sleep, the hostel is beautiful, the girls at reception were super friendly and very helpfull, the location could nit be any better and the lasagna on wednesday was very nice ;) thank you for a lovely stay and we would recommend the hostel to anyone.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sydney! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

100%

excellent accommodation as expected. just love this place. loads of people to meet again and again. so clean and plenty of activities to get involved in organised by the hostel for their guests. centrally located to everything. definitely good value for money all year round. will come back and stay in this hostel as my first preference. would definitely recommend this hostel to all everyone of all ages. :) thanks again wake up! love your work! J.


100%

Brilliant hostel - has to be the best in Sydney! Such a warm, friendly atmosphere. Staff were great and helpful. Always so much going on there. Rooms and bathrooms were always very clean. Could not speak more highly of it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving such a positive review of your recent stay here at Wake Up. Our team love it when we receive such great reviews and I will be posting this one to our staff Facebook Group for all to see. We hope to see you back here at Wake Up next time you are in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

80%

In a country where drinking water is a big problem, I have spend 5 days in this hotel, seeing the water tap "cry", like every tap water from the kitchen. And with any alternative things for save the "lost" water.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Helene Thank-you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate all feedback and view it as a chance to better our hostel. I personally have completed a full inspection of all the taps in the kitchen, unfortunately this issue seems to be occurring when taps are not completely turned off after use. I do thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will be making up some signs to ensure the taps are turned off after use. Thanks again for your feedback. Facilities Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(164 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback