X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2532 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This is a party atmosphere hostel. Even though, I still got an amazing nights sleep and I wasn't disturbed. The people staying were great and the staff were exceptionally helpful. It's modern and they have great facilities.


77%

Arrived to sydney late and I all wanted was to sleep, but when I got to the third floor where my room was I heard a pre party was going on with music and drinks and a big group of people, this party was of course in the mixed dorm I had been placed. They had to leave after a few minutes tho when a security guy told them to leave. Bathrooms were not too clean, a girl seemed to have the flu and was almost passing out throwing up in the toilet... No free wifi or breakfast, pretty expensive.


86%

Great staff who were always ready to help and an amazing location in Sydney!

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Location is great, right next to Central Station. The rooms were clean and had large lockers. The staff was friendly but not really helpful for some simple stuff like where to get dinner. There are only two small elevators for the whole large building, no stairs, so you may wait a little to change floors.


86%

I find that the room arrangement was a bit "clautrophobic" with the windows shut and the dark narrow convoluted corridors. Other than that its great!!


80%

Amazing location! Little extras such as a free hour of wifi and a free coffee for hostel world guests was a nice bonus. Front desk staff try hard but there is always confusing when dealing with them. Travel desk is super helpful! Also loved the walking tours around the city and beaches. Large hostel, expensive, no free wifi, but great place to meet others. Rooms and bathrooms were always clean, cheap meals and nightly events at side bar.


83%

Great hostel, very clean and close to transport, has everything, would definetly stay here again.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place to stay in a fantastic location right next to Central Station. The front of house staff were excellent throughout my stay, from check-in to check-out they were efficient and very friendly. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm and the rooms were clean and quiet throughout the night. Free coffee was great! Will definitely stay again

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Its lovely to hear you enjoyed it here and that the staff were amazing as always :) Thanks for your feedback about your room, we try really hard to keep it nice and clean so we love it when our guests notice! See you again soon. Wake Up! management

94%

Wake Up is a great place to stay. It has a very social atmosphere and offers great events that allow you to make friends quickly and have a great time. Unlike other so called party-hostels it is not a noisy place. If you choose not to party and rest you can do so. They arrange lots of activities and the great staff make sure you feel comfortable. I stayed there twice and would totally recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for your lovely review. Its great to hear you were able to party the night away and still get a comfortable sleep at the end of it! that's exactly what we aim to provide here at Wake Up! I'm glad you joined in on the activities too, its definitely the best way to make the most of your stay here. Hope we can accommodate you again soon then! Wake Up! Management

94%

Great hostel!! Worth the few extra dollars for location and friendliness that you get. Downstairs bar has a great atmosphere. Stay comes with a couple of free coffees, and other perks

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review! We always like hearing from our guests after their stay :) I'm glad you found the staff friendly, they love doing what they do so they will be so happy to hear that!! See you again soon Wake Up! Management

100%

Good friendly staff, were really helpful with any issues that came up.


100%

Loved wake up! sydney central. The staff were fantastic and the rooms were great.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we always appreciate it! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we will see you again soon :) Wake Up! Management

100%

Perfect location in Sydney! It has an entrance on George street which is the main access to the shops, opera house and the main bus routes! The rooms were clean and comfortable best bed I slept in my whole time here! There's a great bar and social area. The shuttle bus that runs to and from the airport is done through another company not always on time but good when it was... Leave extra time! The staff were helpful and pleasant to deal with and great help when the bus was late! Great overall!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time out to leave us a review! I'm really glad you had such a good time at Wake Up! Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

91%

The reception team member when checking-in was very nice, but the team member when I was checking-out I found to be very rude. No one explained to me in order to get my bond back I had to hand in my pillow case, I said this to him and he said "Yeah, we would have told you and there's signs everywhere". I definitely wasn't told this and didn't see any signs and as a result missed my train from having to go back to my room and come back down. I wouldn't have minded if that person wasn't so rude.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for leaving us a review after your stay, its much appreciated! I'm glad overall you had a good stay with us. I'm terribly disappointed to hear of your checkout experience. That goes against everything we believe in here at Wake Up! I will certainly have a chat to the staff member who checked you out, to find out how you got this impression. I will ensure that this doesn't happen again. Thanks so much for letting us know, and we hope to see you again soon! Wake Up!

91%

Pretty good place. Good allocation, so close to the train station. Many interesting activities that we can participate in. Staffs are nice in general. Interesting experience.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, thanks so much for leaving us a review after your stay, its much appreciated. I'm glad you joined in on all of the activities going on here, its definitely the best way to meet everyone :) Hope to see you again soon. Wake Up! Management

97%

It's one of the best Hostels I've ever stayed. Location is perfect, in the citycenter and directly on the green line which takes you down to the harbour. Rooms were big and very clean, bathrooms were always clean and kitchen was very clean and organized. Managers are really organized and trying to make everyone to feel as welcome as possible. (thanks again for moving me into another room for the night a roommate was sick). Top


100%

I couldn't be more happier with my stay at Wake Up Sydney Central. They have all the facilities you want in a hostel, friendly & helpful staff, great location & very clean! I will definatley be recommending people to stay at Wake Up Sydney Central :)

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, it sounds like you enjoyed the whole experience which is most please. Hope to see you again in the future :) Wake Up! Management

100%

One of the best hostels I've ever stay


89%

First hostel I've ever stayed at and I was not disappointed! The staff was friendly enough, the guy who checked us in didn't seem to care too much but girl who checked us out seemed to really like her job. Everything was very clean and seemed like a nice place to stay for a longer period of time. Showers could have more water pressure but otherwise I have no complaints!

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for leaving us review, we always love to hear from our guests :) The receptionists certainly do love their job like you mentioned, They will be happy to hear your review. Thanks for your feedback on the water pressure, I have checked the water pressure on all showers, and found the one you were talking about! I have fixed it now :) See you again soon Wake Up! Management

94%

Excellent location! Right next to central station which was really convenient. We stayed in a private room with an ensuite which was worth the extra money. Very happy with the high level of cleanliness. The facilities - cafe and bar - are really well priced for Sydney and have great atmosphere. Absolutely loved our stay.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, We really appreciate your review! It's lovely to hear from our guests especially when you have 'loved' your stay! It's nice that you noticed our high standard of cleanliness within Wake Up! Its an area we really focus on here so its always nice to hear when its noticed :) Hope to see you again soon Wake Up! Management

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(82 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback