X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2544 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Good location and good facilities. It's a big hostel, so good opportunities to meet people and Sidebar is a decent bar to start the night in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, thanks for leaving us a review for us :) We love to hear from our guests after their stay! I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us, especially that you got to meet people and mingle at Side Bar, its always a great night down there! We hope to see you again soon. Wake Up! Management

86%

The best hostel i've been! There are much yet to improve, but my experience there was better than what i expected.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, Thanks for taking the time out to leave us a review, its much appreciated :) I'm glad we are the best Hostel you have been too, that's our aim! You know where to find us in Sydney;) See you next time

80%

Only stayed one night but seemed good. Was a little far from things, but the cab ride was super cheap.


94%

Opposite the Central Station. It is easy to find by train. On my way back to the airport I took the shuttle bus, I could book there. You can leave your lugagge at the reception after check-out or before check-in. The people are very friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. I didn`t use other facilities. I had breakfast at the cafe but did`t try other meals. I enjoyed it very much. You can even walk to the most important sights in the city. Great. I loved it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your thoughts after your recent stay, its much appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay so much, and very pleased to hear you were impressed with our facilities and staff. I hope we see you again soon Wake Up! Management

100%

This is a party atmosphere hostel. Even though, I still got an amazing nights sleep and I wasn't disturbed. The people staying were great and the staff were exceptionally helpful. It's modern and they have great facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving a review with us after your stay! I'm glad you had an amazing nights sleep here with us. Its really important to know because as you said, we are a party hostel. However we pride ourselves on providing a quiet nights sleep in a beautiful room at the same time! The staff were so happy to see your comments too! They love working here and getting to meet people like yourself :) Hope to see you again soon then Wake Up! Management

86%

The staff was great, very helpful. The rooms were clean, maybe more plugs will be great.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for leaving us a review after your time at Wake Up! We are currently undergoing renovations at the moment to add a bed light and electrical plug at each bed, hopefully on your next stay you can take advantage of all the extra plugs :) See you again soon then! Wake Up! Management

77%

Arrived to sydney late and I all wanted was to sleep, but when I got to the third floor where my room was I heard a pre party was going on with music and drinks and a big group of people, this party was of course in the mixed dorm I had been placed. They had to leave after a few minutes tho when a security guy told them to leave. Bathrooms were not too clean, a girl seemed to have the flu and was almost passing out throwing up in the toilet... No free wifi or breakfast, pretty expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, its so important for us to know of your experience. Firstly, I must apologise that your stay was not exceptional! Its never nice to walk into a party instead of your dorm room. As you witnessed, security are on shift to monitor noise in rooms but unfortunately sometimes the parties can begin quicker than we can check on them! Please see management at check in if you stay with us again, we would love to make amends.

86%

Great staff who were always ready to help and an amazing location in Sydney!

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, Thanks for leaving us your feedback, its much appreciated! It's pleasing to hear the staff were always helpful towards you. They love what they do here and were very proud after reading your review :) We look forward to your next stay with us. Wake Up! Management

91%

Location is great, right next to Central Station. The rooms were clean and had large lockers. The staff was friendly but not really helpful for some simple stuff like where to get dinner. There are only two small elevators for the whole large building, no stairs, so you may wait a little to change floors.


86%

I find that the room arrangement was a bit "clautrophobic" with the windows shut and the dark narrow convoluted corridors. Other than that its great!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, thanks for leaving us your thoughts after your recent stay with us, we really appreciate it :) My apologies you found the room a bit claustrophobic, we have never heard this before as our rooms are very spacious. Perhaps next time you stay with us you could try a larger dorm such as an 8 share or 10 share. Please ask for management next time you check in, we will ensure you have a nice spacious room to sleep in :) Wake Up! Management

80%

Amazing location! Little extras such as a free hour of wifi and a free coffee for hostel world guests was a nice bonus. Front desk staff try hard but there is always confusing when dealing with them. Travel desk is super helpful! Also loved the walking tours around the city and beaches. Large hostel, expensive, no free wifi, but great place to meet others. Rooms and bathrooms were always clean, cheap meals and nightly events at side bar.


83%

Great hostel, very clean and close to transport, has everything, would definetly stay here again.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, Thanks for leaving us a review :) So glad to hear we could provide everything you needed during your stay! We hope to see you again soon. Wake Up! Management

97%

Great place to stay in a fantastic location right next to Central Station. The front of house staff were excellent throughout my stay, from check-in to check-out they were efficient and very friendly. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm and the rooms were clean and quiet throughout the night. Free coffee was great! Will definitely stay again

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Its lovely to hear you enjoyed it here and that the staff were amazing as always :) Thanks for your feedback about your room, we try really hard to keep it nice and clean so we love it when our guests notice! See you again soon. Wake Up! management

94%

Wake Up is a great place to stay. It has a very social atmosphere and offers great events that allow you to make friends quickly and have a great time. Unlike other so called party-hostels it is not a noisy place. If you choose not to party and rest you can do so. They arrange lots of activities and the great staff make sure you feel comfortable. I stayed there twice and would totally recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for your lovely review. Its great to hear you were able to party the night away and still get a comfortable sleep at the end of it! that's exactly what we aim to provide here at Wake Up! I'm glad you joined in on the activities too, its definitely the best way to make the most of your stay here. Hope we can accommodate you again soon then! Wake Up! Management

94%

Great hostel!! Worth the few extra dollars for location and friendliness that you get. Downstairs bar has a great atmosphere. Stay comes with a couple of free coffees, and other perks

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review! We always like hearing from our guests after their stay :) I'm glad you found the staff friendly, they love doing what they do so they will be so happy to hear that!! See you again soon Wake Up! Management

100%

Good friendly staff, were really helpful with any issues that came up.


100%

Loved wake up! sydney central. The staff were fantastic and the rooms were great.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we always appreciate it! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we will see you again soon :) Wake Up! Management

100%

Perfect location in Sydney! It has an entrance on George street which is the main access to the shops, opera house and the main bus routes! The rooms were clean and comfortable best bed I slept in my whole time here! There's a great bar and social area. The shuttle bus that runs to and from the airport is done through another company not always on time but good when it was... Leave extra time! The staff were helpful and pleasant to deal with and great help when the bus was late! Great overall!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time out to leave us a review! I'm really glad you had such a good time at Wake Up! Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

91%

The reception team member when checking-in was very nice, but the team member when I was checking-out I found to be very rude. No one explained to me in order to get my bond back I had to hand in my pillow case, I said this to him and he said "Yeah, we would have told you and there's signs everywhere". I definitely wasn't told this and didn't see any signs and as a result missed my train from having to go back to my room and come back down. I wouldn't have minded if that person wasn't so rude.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for leaving us a review after your stay, its much appreciated! I'm glad overall you had a good stay with us. I'm terribly disappointed to hear of your checkout experience. That goes against everything we believe in here at Wake Up! I will certainly have a chat to the staff member who checked you out, to find out how you got this impression. I will ensure that this doesn't happen again. Thanks so much for letting us know, and we hope to see you again soon! Wake Up!

91%

Pretty good place. Good allocation, so close to the train station. Many interesting activities that we can participate in. Staffs are nice in general. Interesting experience.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, thanks so much for leaving us a review after your stay, its much appreciated. I'm glad you joined in on all of the activities going on here, its definitely the best way to meet everyone :) Hope to see you again soon. Wake Up! Management

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(80 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback