X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
3079 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

My first hostel in Aussie after 19 months in Asia. This place is lovely. I can't recommend it enough. Everything was a nice surprise in comparison to the Asian hostels. It was a little bit more than i usually spend but worth the extra few dollars. Id definitely stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, WOW!!! We are always super pleased to get a 100% review but as we are your 48th hostel review you have some serious cred behind you! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave the review and we really hope this is not your only Wake Up experience. Come back soon! Cheers Dev Penney - General Manager

89%

Great location for anything in the CBD. Typical large hostel with nothing too noteworthy positive or negative but gets the job done. Nice lobby area. Average bathroom facilities. Our floor smelled a pretty musty but I've experienced much worse. I'd stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Our location is definitely one of the best things about Wake Up. We are so lucky to have a property in the heart of Sydney's backpacking precinct with direct access to Central Station and the Bus Terminal . With over 2000 backpacker beds and two of Sydney's best backpackers bars on our block you just know you are going to have a great time. Cheers Dev Penney

100%

Stayed here before and wake up never disappointed me once. Great place, clean, easy airport connection and very welcoming, friendly staff. Love it and highly recommend it. Great starting point for a trip; don't get used to it, most hostels are not this perfect...


83%

The hostel needs to add additional wifi range extenders throughout the building. In my room we all had trouble connecting to the wifi


97%

A great hostel with everything you could need to make your stay in Sydney an easy one. The rooms are large with high ceilings, and bathrooms are clean and easy to access. The bar attached to the hostel makes for great vibes if you want to party with its daily events. The staff are super friendly and helpful. You get 24 hours free wifi when you check in, which is nice, but thereafter it's pay-only. Towels are available for hire. I'd definitely stay here again.


89%

It would be nice to have hair driers permanently in the bathrooms.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Wake Up. All reviews and feedback are important to us and help us provide the best experience we can for our guests. I will be speaking with the owner later today and will float the possibility of having permanent hair dryers installed in the ladies bathrooms. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

97%

One of the best hostels in Sydney for sure.

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I stayed for a night. It was a great experience. The staff is very friendly and the hostel is clean. Highly recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Here at Wake Up we aim to offer an experience, not just a bed! It is super pleasing to see that we were able to do this for you on this occasion and we really appreciate your kind words for our friendly staff. Cheers Dev Penney - General Manager

100%

I stayed there for 13 nights and enjoyed every second. Spotless facilities, awesome food and drinks and fun activities all week, so it will never get boring. The atmosphere made me feel right at home. The staff were super helpful as well. I am 100% sure their actions helped me get that job I was interviewed for just hours after I had checked out of the Wake Up!. I cannot thank you enough!


100%

Wake up is my favorite hostel in Sydney. Friendly staff, lots of fun free activities throughout the week and the rooms and shower facilities are always clean. I have made lots of friends here and will always stay at wake up whenever Im in Sydney.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thanks for choosing to stay with us here at Wake Up! We are super pleased to hear that we are your favorite hostel in Sydney! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hostel in the near future. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

86%

I would definitely recommend this hostel to others, everything about it was rather good apart from one aspect.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay here at Wake Up. It was great to see that you gave us five out of five for cleanliness and security as these are two key elements to a great stay at any hostel. Cheers and we hope to see you back soon. Dev Penney - General Manager

100%

Wake Up is the best hostel I've ever been, during my whole Australia trip. I have seen so many hostels but Wake up is by far the best one, its clean, the staff is great, the coffees in the cafe are really good and the activities are awesome. Thanks Wake Up!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving such an awesome review! I will be passing on your feedback to our team of baristas at Roys Cafe as I know they will be super pleased that you loved their coffee. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

86%

Lots of activities every day of the week, bar and cafe attached but no noise filters in. I was in an 8 bed dorm but 6 of the others began partying and drinking in the room - also there was very little ventilation and I could just smell beer. I tried to sleep after they left at 11pm but they came back at 3.30 and would not shut up. I asked at reception if I could move and at 4am with no hassle I was moved into a 4 bed all girl dorm at no extra charge. I thank the staff for being so accomodating.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely helpful staff, great location my only criticism would be there was no light next to my bunk so when the room light went off I wasn't able to read etc !

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We truly appreciate your positive feedback for our staff and I know it gives them a real boost every time we get reviews like yours! All of our dorm rooms now come with a reading light but I have seen the odd backpacker move the bunk positions which may have been responsible for you having no light when you stayed last week. Hope to see you again in the future. Dev Penney - GM

89%

Too many drunks shouting in corridors at all hous of night perhaps put people who want to sleep on the top floor so the party people can continue to have their fun and the sleepers don't need to wake up all night long.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, I appreciate your candid feedback from your recent stay here at Wake Up. I will be speaking with my nights team to find our where things went wrong as we have security conducting hourly floor walks each night and a very strict noise policy in place. Going forward I would ask you or anyone reading this to call reception as we will deal with any noise complaints immediately. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

66%

I really enjoyed my stay at Wake Up! The free walking tour was a massive bonus! My only concern is that the hostel bar was open to the public, which made for some seedy men.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate your review and feedback although I must admit to being a little disappointed with the low percentage you gave us when you have stated that you really enjoyed your stay here at Wake Up. Regarding your feedback for Side Bar I will being speaking with their management team today. If possible I also hope to speak with you and will be emailing you shortly. Regards Dev Penney - GM

80%

No bedding provided, no sheet, no pillowslip. Very noisy room mates coming in at 1 and 2am.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and my apologies that you were not informed of our early check in policy. Here at Wake Up we actively check our guests in as soon as the bed becomes available in the morning. Our housekeeping team then make all the beds prior to the original 2pm check in time. This helps our guests get settled in sooner and hence a more relaxed first day at Wake Up. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

83%

Best part was definitely the staff! So helpful & friendly. Came in on a Saturday night & all I wanted to do was rest (long week at a conference), so it was a tad too noisy for me. People were having a room party next door which lasted late into the night. But besides that, the vibe was good & the showering facilities were great. Lack of free wifi was pretty disappointing !

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate your review and kind words for our staff here at Wake Up! Last Saturday night was one of our monthly 'themed' parties and there was certainly plenty of energy among the 500 guests we had in house on the night! My apologies on the noisy boys in the room next to you. They are still in house and were quite abashed when I mentioned that their antics had ended up in your review. Thanks again Cheers Dev Penney - GM

77%

Good hostel, but definitely not worth the money. Rooms/bathroom/kitchen was clean, it's nice there is a cafe and bar in the building. A lot of free activities and stuff which kinda makes up for the price. Wifi really expensive and even then not a good reception everywhere. Large lockers in the rooms are nice. You can probably get the same sort of hostel but cheaper in Sydney.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay here at Wake Up. Although we were a little disappointed with the overall rating your feedback regarding our staff, facilities, cleanliness and activities was very positive. I will be looking into the wifi connectivity in and around the room your were staying as we have recently upgraded and it should be running perfectly. Thanks for the heads up! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

97%

It was an amazing place, definitly worth the money. The Staff is amazing, the lobby is great, the bar is awesome, and the location could not be any better. The few things I have to complain is about the urinals in the male bathroom they are waterless meaning that they stink alot! Especially whe you are using them. The other thing is that they do have Wi-Fi but it is not free, which is a first in my experience with hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your recent stay here at Wake Up. Thanks also for mentioning our staff and especially our great location! I have passed on your feedback to our Facilities Manager regarding the urinals as they are definitely not meant to stink. Thanks for the heads up on that. We hope to see you back here in the future! Dev Penney - GM

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(170 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback