Hostelworld.com

Wake Up! Sydney Central

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 4,008 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 4,008 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
Wake Up! Sydney Central Located at 509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney.
Wake Up! Sydney Central
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2000 509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway
91% 4008
-33.8824941 151.2045335
Wake Up! Sydney Central
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • cassieestewart1
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jun 2016
8.3

We loved the hostel and were gutted we were only there for a night! The beds were so comfy and really liked the light and charger available for the top bunk too! The toilets and showers were fab with plenty cubicles so you didn't have to wait long! It was clean and the kitchen area was great for what we were needing. The staff were super helpful and enthusiastic! The free wifi was great and the freebie vouchers were a nice surprise! Location was brilliant! Fantastic Stay! thanks guys

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
9.1

Really good hostel - on the expensive side but worth it! I did the Koogi to Bondi beach walk with the hostel and the Wake Up! guide was really really good - Cameron or Calum I think!! Staff where always helpful :) Common room does shut at 10 tho which is too early in my opinion!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for sharing your Wake Up experience online! I am super pleased to hear that you felt the extra money spent on the room rate was worth it. Here at Wake Up we package so many extras and freebies into every guest stay so it is always pleasing when this is recognized. Cheers and enjoy your onward travel. Dev Penney - GM

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jun 2016
9.7

Perfect location, loads to do, very helpful staff, really clean - would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! I am glad you found our location to be perfect! Wake Up is situated in Sydneys backpacking precinct on what is know as The Block. With over three thousand backpacker beds, the backpacking travel agencies and of course Sydneys best backpacker bars you know you cant go wrong in this area of town. See you next time you are in Sydney. Dev Penney - GM

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2016
9.7

Awesome Hostel ! Stayed here twice now, and I reckon I will return when I get back to Sydney. You won't have any trouble making friends, staff are friendly and the location is perfect. Bathrooms are always clean and beds are comfortable. You also get vouchers for free-bees, coffee, 2 for 1 drinks etc. Highly recommend :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for leaving us such an awesome review! I am really pleased to hear you made loads of friends and would highly recommend us. Just this very week we released a new Checkin Pack with even more great voucher deals for our guests. We have added an $8 bagel and coffee deal at Roys Cafe, a $10 pizza and beer deal in Side Bar as well as a free fries coupon with any drink purchase in Side Bar! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jun 2016
8.9

This was a very good hostel! Maybe a little bit more expensive than other hostels, but they organized so many activities and the staff was great! :D Nice to make new friends and would definitely stay here again ;)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
8.9

Only spent one night, but if I come back to Sydney, this is the place I'll be staying--excellent hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, One night at Wake Up is never enough so we look forward to seeing you back here in the future! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

  • Anonymous
  • Bermuda, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
13th Jun 2016
6.3

Generally clean and good location to getting to the airport. However the atmosphere just felt like a cookie cutter gap year place for drunk 18 year olds. Very expensive for what you got but the bathrooms had hair dyers which was great.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your stay here at Wake Up and I am pleased that your mentioned our cleanliness, good location and the new hair dryers in the ladies bathrooms. Regarding the atmosphere here, well we do like to party and on any given night hundreds of backpackers and students flock to Side Bar to enjoy themselves. I can see from your Hostelworld profile that you are only 21 years old so I would suggest that you embrace the party atmosphere that is so prevalent in Aussie hostels as it will make your experience a much more enjoyable one. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
8.9

Wake Up! Was a great place to stay. Location is ideal to move everywhere around the city with public transport at your doorstep. The rooms are spacious and clean, the shared bathroom were sufficient, clean and at all times one was available. They have a great coffee shop downstairs with an outdoor terrace to bask under the sun enjoying a pretty good meal. It's not the cheapest option considering there's no free wifi but best location and facilities. I would def stay there again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for sharing your Wake Up experience with us online. Glad to hear you like our clean and spacious rooms and bathrooms! Here at Wake Up we have a high ratio of floor space per person in addition to high ceilings which results in a real open feel to our dorm rooms! Combined with the light and power combi box next to each bed our rooms are definitely nice and comfy. Enjoy your travels! Dev Penney - GM

10th Jun 2016
9.7

This my first time ever staying at a hostel and Wake Up did not disappoint. Staff were super helpful. Room and Facilities were always spotless. As a solo traveller all the activities were a great way to meet other people. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first ever hostel experience here at Wake Up! Thanks also for your shout out to the staff here. They are without a doubt Wake Ups best asset. See you next time you visit our wonderful city. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jun 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel! Staff are so nice and helpful! The whole place is so clean and thre is always something happening. Will definitely be back. Thanks for making my time in Sydney amazing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.