X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
3039 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

No bedding provided, no sheet, no pillowslip. Very noisy room mates coming in at 1 and 2am.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and my apologies that you were not informed of our early check in policy. Here at Wake Up we actively check our guests in as soon as the bed becomes available in the morning. Our housekeeping team then make all the beds prior to the original 2pm check in time. This helps our guests get settled in sooner and hence a more relaxed first day at Wake Up. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

83%

Best part was definitely the staff! So helpful & friendly. Came in on a Saturday night & all I wanted to do was rest (long week at a conference), so it was a tad too noisy for me. People were having a room party next door which lasted late into the night. But besides that, the vibe was good & the showering facilities were great. Lack of free wifi was pretty disappointing !

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate your review and kind words for our staff here at Wake Up! Last Saturday night was one of our monthly 'themed' parties and there was certainly plenty of energy among the 500 guests we had in house on the night! My apologies on the noisy boys in the room next to you. They are still in house and were quite abashed when I mentioned that their antics had ended up in your review. Thanks again Cheers Dev Penney - GM

97%

It was an amazing place, definitly worth the money. The Staff is amazing, the lobby is great, the bar is awesome, and the location could not be any better. The few things I have to complain is about the urinals in the male bathroom they are waterless meaning that they stink alot! Especially whe you are using them. The other thing is that they do have Wi-Fi but it is not free, which is a first in my experience with hostels.


100%

The best one that I`ve stayed in Australia so far, because some things that I can resume below: 1 - Really friendly staff, they do everything to let you felling confortable 2 - Best location, in front of Sydney Central Station 3 - The party is here - Side Bar, one of the best venues to party and have fun is just downstairs of the hostel... 4 - And a good structure as well, clean rooms and shared bathrooms, big kitchen, amazing reception and chill out area....

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving such an awesome review! Muito Brigado Dev Penney - GM

97%

When I arrived the staff was amazing and welcoming! Only had the one night but I changed my second reservation to come back here because they were great!

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are super pleased you chose to extend your stay with us here at Wake Up! Thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you back here next time you are in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Loved, loved, loved our stay here! Wouldn't go anywhere else. Friendly staff getting everyone involved, excellent location, constant free alcohol and food. Huge thumbs up! Was only there for 4 days but wish i stayed longer!! Will definitely be returning! Best hostel around

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a mil for such a glowing review of Wake Up and it's staff. It is reviews like yours that we strive for so it is always pleasing when we are acknowledged for the hard work that goes into making every guests stay a good one. Your are correct in that four days is not long enough for a Wake Up stay so we look forward to see you back here soon! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Wouldn't consider going to a different hostel after staying in wakeup! Clean and tidy, staff are great and always make the time to talk to you, no matter the time of day! 100% recommend this hostel!

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Frankie, Here at Wake Up we love it when we get top marks so thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I will be passing on your feedback to the staff via our internal Facebook page. I know everyone will be please! Cheers and thanks again. Dev Penney - General Manager

100%

Lovely friendly place to stay. Staff all very friendly and always very welcoming. Especially John who works a few night shifts and always is very cheerful and helpful. The social events arranged are great fun to get to know other people too. Every time I come to Sydney I know this is the hostel I will always stay at.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving us such a nice review and for your personal shout out to John on nights. I am really pleased you mentioned our social events as these are one of the best parts of any Wake Up stay and what we feel sets us apart from our competitors. We look forward to seeing you back here in the future. Cheers and thanks again. Dev Penney - GM

97%

Our stay was great, friendly staff and got a free upgrade. Overall had a really nice stay :)

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very modern hostel right in the heart of Sydney. An excellent place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Vincent, Thanks for your kind words and online recommendation! Enjoy your Australian adventure and we hope to see you back at Wake Up in the future. Cheers Dev Penney - General Manager

89%

For a first time traveller and visitor to Australia, I'd highly recommend this hostel as I got the chance to meet people through the highly organised events that wake up staff provide us. It almost becomes your new home once your settled and the staff help that. I became very familiar with one staff member on the night reception, Jonathan, as he seem me on regular nights out in side bar. He is a friendly guy always has a smile on his face. Overall brilliant service from everyone at wake up!

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your recent review of Wake Up and for your glowing endorsement of our activity schedule. Activities at Wake Up are specifically designed to get our guests together and our super friendly activities staff know just how to get a party going! Really glad that this was one of the highlights of your stay. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you back in Sydney soon. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

94%

Very clean and friendly with lots of activities! Though I felt information booth was trying to coerce paid activities vs giving information to do on your own ie blue mountains.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review in addition to your feedback. Glad you mentioned how fun and friendly our hostel is as this is a big part of the Wake Up experience. The information booth is actually our inhouse travel agency so while they give out plenty of friendly advice their primary role is to sell tours. Hope you understand. Cheers and thanks again for your review. Dev Penney - GM

89%

A solid place to stay. Tough to meet people, but would stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I was disappointed to hear that you found it hard to meet people but can assure you that we have an action packed activity schedule specifically designed to get our guests together. From our Beach and City walks, to our free food events and live entertainment in Side Bar we really try our best to make it a fun place to be! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Outstanding hostel- really can't fault. Comfortable beds and rooms, close to the city centre, lots of activities and good bar downstairs, but still quiet for sleeping upstairs. Staff were the friendliest and most helpful I've come across in hostels- can't recommend enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, WOW... Thanks for leaving us such an awesome review! I will be posting your review to our staff Facebook page as I know the entire team will be thrilled to have had such fantastic feedback! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

80%

good hostel. Had better, had worse. definitively the position is a big plus! very nicely marketed as well. all in all would recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Wake Up. While the percentage you gave us was quite low your words were, on the whole, quite positive. I would welcome any additional feedback you care to give and will be emailing you shortly with my details. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

83%

the rooms were great, just that there is a better spot for the room mirror placement. instead of placing it on the back of the door, maybe it can be repositioned to the wall perpendicular to it? if not for the sound of the lock, my wife almost got hit while using the mirror by a new couple entering the room.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate your feedback regarding the mirror placement in the rooms but unfortunately they are not easily moved. I have flagged this with the owner as something to discuss when we next refurbish the rooms. Thanks for your review and we hope to see you back at Wake Up again. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

94%

I had a very good experience in all aspects.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us and for giving us such a nice review. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you back at Wake Up soon. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

97%

Excellent hostel, amazing location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a mil for your kind words! It is super pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Wake Up. We look forward to welcoming you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

100%

I've been to hostels in seven countries on three continents and among best I have ever been to! The space is clean, beds are comfy and there are a lot of activities to help you meet other travelers. Although you have to pay for Internet, it's not too expensive. Getting around the city is pretty easy since Central Station is across the street. Or if you choose to walk, many things are within a 30-min trek. My only qualm is that my door was a bit squeaky.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for leaving such a fantastic review! We can see from the many reviews you have previously posted that you are indeed well traveled. This makes your review of Wake Up even more special to us. Enjoy your travels and we look forward to seeing you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

86%

I have stayed here twice now, in two weeks! Both times I have paid for a 10 bed mixes dorm for me and a friend, and both times I've been upgraded too a twin room! Which naturally I was thrilled about! It's the first hostel I've ever stayed in, so I don't have anything too compare it too as such, but it's clean, and well presented! I've had no reason too use the communal areas but it seems too have everything you need! They market very well for backpackers, great location, ill be back for sure!

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, First times are always special so we are glad that you chose us here at Wake Up! Enjoy your travels and we look forward to seeing you back here in the future! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(162 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback