X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
2731 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Really enjoyed my stay at Wake Up! It's close to everything. The guided city tour on Fridays and Wednesday's are highly recommended! But, for the price they should include som kind of breakfast even if it's a really simple one.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are really please you enjoyed your stay here and got the chance to join us on our free city & beach walks. While we do not include breakfast in our rate we do offer an excellent breakfast menu at a greatly reduced price in our cafe. We look forward to seeing you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

89%

This place was a lot of fun. The cafe and bar downstairs made it easy to meet people. It's downtown and easy to find. And the staff are very eager (perhaps sometimes a little too eager) to organize events. Had to pay for wifi, but the price wasn't too terrible. Complaints: the "security" aspect is a little overdone. They seriously need to allow guests to use the staircase. Also, the lockers are oddly shaped. I get that they want to look trendy and all, but big box shapes work better.


89%

Brilliant location and great friendly atmosphere! Always lots going on so it's very easy to meet other people! One negative is that it can be quite noisey at night due to the bar situated underneath the hostel! But overall an excellent hostel with lots of freebies and acitivites

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are please that you had such a good time here at Wake Up. Please spread the word on your travels! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

91%

Great place to stay. They really try to get the best out of your trip. Other than other hostels I've been they really organize something quite every day!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your great review! Our Activity Schedule is a massive part of the experience here at Wake Up and something we feel sets us apart from our competitors. Despite the size of our property there are many events each week designed to get everyone together. It is pleasing that this was the highlight of your stay! Enjoy your travels. Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

80%

Good, clean hostel. Better quality furnishings and facilities than the majority of hostels. My only negative comment is that some of my possessions went missing during a 'big weekly clean' of the dorm I was staying in. To be fair I did leave them lying on the floor, so I suspect the cleaners moved them to a storage room. However when I questioned this at reception, I was told the belongings could not be found, so I suppose they just mysteriously vanished in to the ether.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and are pleased you mentioned our facilities and cleanliness. Our Housekeeping team operate under strict instructions when it comes to guest belongings and at no point are permitted to remove anything from the rooms. External to the rooms all lost property is logged and stored onsite. My apologies that your possessions could not be located on this occasion. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

100%

The bathrooms were really clean, which was one of my main concerns! They have something going on evey night of the week and I wished I could have stayed longer so I could check them all out. If I'm ever back in Sydney I'll definitely be staying there. The staff was amazingly friendly! Even the people that had to be there in the middle of the night. Luckily I had some pretty cool roommates and over all I can't think of anything to complain about. I had an awesome stay!

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We love getting 100% reviews so thank you so much! Thanks for also mentioning the bathrooms. Our Housekeeping team work very hard to ensure they are in pristine condition night & day so it is always great when they get a mention! We look forward to seeing you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

80%

We have had a wonderful time, five nights. We are "over age", 57 en 58 year, it was lovely to be between so many young people. The hostel Wake Up lie on a good location.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Wake Up really is the place for everyone and we are pleased you had such a good time. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

94%

-tower rental info should be given when check in -noise control/insulation quite poor, as we can hear people talking & TV sounds at night -i like the non-alcohol in room policy but i noticed many people ignore that. must reinforce that. -i understood the reason but the min 7 days stay during new year period will put people off ? we paid for 7 nights but stay 6 nights only.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. You scored us very well so it is pleasing that you enjoyed your stay overall. We do our best at night to ensure that the floors are quiet and that everyone gets a sound nights rest. It can be challenging at times, especially over the festive season! We look forward to seeing you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

94%

I think i should go back to this hostel,qnd i hope next time the wifi will free for unlimited

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to review our property and look forward to seeing you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

86%

A very nice hostel. Huge. Pretty crowded. Good atmosphere if you're trying to meet people. My only qualm was that in my room there were six beds crammed in and it had once been a four bed room.


94%

We booked last minute a std twin private room and found ourselves with a occupied room, due to some system error. The staff moved us to a deluxe twin for 2-3, more spacious and comfortable, being the previous one really small, barely containing the bunk-beds. The hostel is for young ones, drawing too much attention to the bar downstairs, although the security to come in & go was excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to review Wake Up. I am glad the staff were able to sort things out quickly for you after the hiccup on checkin. Thanks for also mentioning our security. Security is hugely important to us here a Wake Up and we go out of our way to ensure that every guest gets a safe and sound sleep at night. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

94%

Its a very good hostel, the private room are so comfortable and quiet.

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for choosing to stay with us here at Wake Up! Sydney over the New Years period. It is a special time of year and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

100%

It is awesome place!!

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your awesome review. Glad you enjoyed your time here! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

91%

This is by far the best hostel to stay at in Sydney. Is a little more expensive but is defiantly worth it. Everything is always clean and tidy. Only small problem is the size if the kitchen it's just too small for the number of guests there and there isn't enough place to store food but everything else was fantastic! 100% stay here again! And everyone is so friendly and you meet so many people! It's great :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your great review! We look forward to seeing you here again at Wake Up. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

100%

Brilliant hostel with no faults. Great place to meet people and have good time. All facilities are clean and well maintained, beds comfortable and rooms very spacious. Location is also very central.


97%

Swagtastic

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Swagtasic... Love it! See you next time you're in Sydney Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up Sydney

94%

Great location with spacious dorms. Helpful staffs. I would definitely suggest to bring your earplugs if you are kind of traveler who can't sleep in noise. The bar plays extremely loud music till 2-3 in the morning for 3 nights I stayed. Wifi is only free for 1 hour on your first day. I bought 3 days unlimited WiFi access for 11.90 AUD. Still better than $120 for 800 MB AT

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review! We look forward to seeing you back here at Wake Up in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

91%

Great place and great staff. Lots of fun. Clean too most of the time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your great review! We work hard on making this a fun place so it is always good when it gets a mention online. We look forward to seeing you back here in future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

83%

I don't understand why WIFI is not for free. Activities are very good. Great for meeting people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Unfortunately you will find that in Australia it is common for hostels to have paid wifi. Those that don't generally have poor quality connections that often leave their guests frustrated. Here at Wake Up we offer a robust internet connection at a nominal price. We hope you understand. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

80%

Bra hostel för en första natt i Sydney. Nära stationen, men lite dyrt. Dåligt att det inte är gratis wifi, men och andra sidan finns det gratis internet på stationen. Fräscha rum.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We love reviews in Swedish! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(103 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback