X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
3538 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

It is a great buzzing place to stay the only thing that could be improved is the kitchen facilities. It is a pretty small space for everyone to cook and the hobs are really temperamental.

  • 11th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your stay with us last week here at Wake Up! Sydney. I will be conducting an audit of the kitchen hobs first thing in the morning. Cheers for the heads up! Dev Penney - GM

86%

The biggest hostel we've stayed in so far, lots of space in the dorms, good kitchen and facilities. Best thing was the Side Bar with all the weekly partys and specials. Although it is an expensive hostel we would come back

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, I appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay here at Wake Up. Really pleased to hear you enjoyed the events and activities that Wake Up and Side Bar have on offer. They really do make up for the little extra that we charge. Cheers and thanks Dev Penney - GM

100%

Staff were very helpful with all enquiries we had, friendly and accommodating. There is stuff going on every night in side bar if you are stuck for something to do. Showers and toilets are clean, with loads of space

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving such an awesome review! Our staff are a huge part of the Wake Up experience and I am always pleased when they get positive feedback online. Thanks also for your mention of our clean and spacious bathrooms, their cleanliness is a personal obsession of mine! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Unbelievable, couldn't believe I was staying at a hostel! This is the place to stay in Sydney for sure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We love it when we wow people!!! See you next time. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

77%

Great hostel in great location with great facilities. A great weeks stay but rather overpriced compared to most places around

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for describing us a great hostel in a great location. It is true that we are one of the more expensive hostels in Sydney but you really do get what you pay for when it comes to Sydney accommodation. At Wake Up we offer an experience, with world class facilities, in a super friendly environment with loads of events and activities to help you enjoy the best of Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Seriously can't think of a better collection of people to have helped me travel and get to know Sydney. Everybody top to bottom was knowledgeable, kind, and could answer every question I had about Sydney. Not only that they took the time to get to know me and I cannot thank them enough. If you are a traveler staying in Sydney there is really only one option and that is Wake Up

  • 10th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us such great feedback! Enjoy your travels and return again soon. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

91%

Loved the en suite rooms and TV's! Such a luxury for a back packer and Ryan's customer service was excellent

  • 9th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Super pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Wake Up and a special thanks for the luxury tag! I will be passing on your feedback to Ryan, our Reception Manager who does a sterling job!. See you when you are next in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

The location was perfect and the staff were helpful and friendly. There were great activties and ways to meet up with other travelers.

  • 9th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We love it when we get full mark reviews so a big thank you from the team here at Wake Up! Sydney Cheers Dev Penney - GM

91%

Prime location, helpful staff, great kitchen area, lots of activities going on (many of which are free) for those with an unplanned day. Only negative was expensive washing and drying machines. $4 AUS is a little steep in my opinion.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Feedback is everything to us here at Wake Up so a big thanks for taking the time to leave us some. I appreciate your kind words for our helpful staff and the mention of our kitchen area, which is actually really good when compared to the majority of hostels here in Australia. Sorry about that $4 wash and dry but it is actually quite normal. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

I stayed here for 2 weeks and everything about this place is superb!! Staff are excellent, hostel itself is fantastic and theres always plenty going on! The location is great and it may be slightly more expensive than some others but its worth it! Great value for money!! I've spoken to people from other hostels and I'm DEFINATELY glad i chose here! When i return to Sydney il definately be staying here again!

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your glowing endorsement of Wake Up and I am super pleased to hear you had such a great stay. Looking forward to seeing you next time you are in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Really enjoyed my stay at wakeup! I will definitely be staying next time im in Sydney.

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review and we really do appreciate that loyalty. Looking forward to having you back here next time you are in Sydney. Until then, safe travels! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

77%

No free WiFi if you stay more than one day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your stay here at Wake Up! While we understand that many hostels now provide free wifi we believe it is better to have a quality wifi connection at a small price than a free connection that you cannot do anything with. Hope you understand. Regards Dev Penney - GM

86%

Rooms good, bathrooms clean, kitchen to small, All in all good!

  • 3rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Superb Hostel if you want to meet people and have fun. The only thing is that Wifi is NOT FREE in the bedrooms.

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review and feedback from your recent stay with us here at Wake Up. Really pleased to hear that you would describe us as superb! Sorry about the wifi charge but we feel it is best to give you a quality connection at a small cost over a dodgy connection for free. Hope you understand. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

94%

Such a great stay at wake up, we were there 2 weeks and loved it. The staff are so helpful and willing to help, the rooms are a decent size and clean, as are the bathrooms. Really easy to meet fellow backpackers too! Would absolutely reccomend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, I am super pleased that you had such a great time over the New Years period here at Wake Up. Thanks for mentioning what fantastic staff we have here as well! Looking forward to your recommendations! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Rooms and facilities are clean and spacious. Staff are extremely friendly and very helpful, had a brilliant stay!

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for your amazing review! Our staff will be super pleased with your kinds words. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Best hostel I've ever stayed in, for cleanliness, fun and definitely staff. All the staff and managers are fantastic but a big thanks to Moe on reception was a massive help to me. He always goes out of his way to help customers. Stayed 6 weeks here and could of easily stayed longer!!


100%

I've really like it here! Such a grear environment! The staff has been great, willing to help us on eveything. I like the security and how clean everything is. An absolute 10/10 out of my experience!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Really pleased to hear that you had such a great experience here at Wake Up and that you would rate us 10 out of 10! A big thanks for this and also for mentioning the security and cleanliness. Enjoy your travels! Dev Penney - GM

91%

Clean dorms and good beds. Kitchen well equipped and nice common areas. Staff very helpful particularly on the travel desk. Side bar was great and cafe sold good coffee and nice food. Really enjoyed my 2 weeks stay over new year! City walk was fab too and the hostel manager spoke to us for feedback which was a nice touch. Easy to meet people if you get involved with the events and room lockers a good size :)

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It's the perfect place to stay as it's so central. The hostel is very clean and tidy, it has a deep clean twice a week. It's a great way to meet lots of new people. It's a large hostel but very well organised that it doesn't feel as if it's as big as it is. The staff were always so helpful, I joined in a few of the activities that were offered, like the walking tours and the free cheese & wine party which were very good. They also gave you free food some nights like pizza. I had an amazing time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us such an awesome review! Activities are everything here at Wake Up and it is so pleasing that you got to join us for so many events over the New Years period. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you next time you are in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

(221 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback