X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2525 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The staff was respectful, helpful, and great fun! I did not want to leave Sydney and 80% of it was due to the Wake Up.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great Hostel, central location, very clean.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice clean hostel. The rooms are nice and there are good kitchen facilities. The staff are also very friendly. The only downside was there were less lockers than beds and the beds wabble 'alot'!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for leaving us a review, we always appreciate guest feedback! I'm glad you found Wake Up! nice and clean, its a big effort to keep it so clean, but we know how important cleanliness is to our guests, so we focus a lot on that. Thanks for letting me know about the wobbly bed, I went around and tightened some questionable bunks today! Hope to see you again soon. Wake Up! Management

100%

everything was perfect except for a few renovations

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for making the effort to leave us a review. Its very pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay so much! Hope you can drop in again once we have finished our renovations so you can see all of our latest additions like new carpets, bed lights, extra power points, freshly painted rooms! Thanks again. Wake Up! Management

86%

Friendly staff and very helpful. Nice meal and the coffee shop and dinner in the underground.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. We LOVE to know of our guests experience at Wake Up! Really happy you had such a good stay with us, and glad you enjoyed our cafe! Hope we see you soon Wake Up! Management

94%

Great hostel - good value for money. I would recommend anybody to stay at this hostel and I will go there again myself. Staff was really nice and helpful. Good and clean bed- and bathrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time out and leaving us a review! Its so pleasing to hear what you thought of Wake up! The staff here love getting to meet people like yourself, and i will be passing on your comment to them :) See you next time! Wake Up! management

77%

Make sure to bring your own lock for the lockers! Otherwise, my stay was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving us a review after your stay. I'm glad your stay was great. Next time you stay with us you can pick up a lock from reception at check in :) Wake Up! Management

86%

Great Experience. Friendly Staff and 1st Class location. Thanks guys

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel was centrally located and all the staff were very helpful and nice.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, Thanks for leaving us a review after your stay. We really appreciate the feedback, and its very pleasing to hear our staff were helpful towards you during your stay. They love what they do here and I will pass on your comments! Thanks again Wake Up! Management

94%

Good hostel would reccomend, really clean and the 8 bed dorms are really big. There are a couple of down sides, the wifi is quite expensive also the lockers under the beds are not very big but other that I have nothing to complain about. I would stay here again.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A wonderfully social hostel with great amenities including a downstairs bar. Great for meeting young, likeminded people. Also recommend the hostels free tours as they are great for getting to know other people. Overall one of my favourite hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for making the effort to leave us a review, Its much appreciated! I'm glad you made some good friends while you were staying with us, that's the best part about hostels! Be sure to have a look on our Facebook page so you can tag yourself in the photos from the tour! See you again soon. Wake Up! Management

100%

Had a fantastic stay and an awesome night in the side bar 👍

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, Thanks for leaving us a review! Glad you had a fantastic stay here with us and enjoyed our bar. I'm sure we will see you again :) Wake Up! Management

94%

Very helpful and friendly staff..one of the nicest hostels around

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for leaving us a review, it much appreciated! So pleasing to hear you had a great stay and the staff took good care of you. They love what they do and I will be showing them your comments :) See you again soon! Wake Up! Management

100%

Only thing the room got really hot,

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place to stay, lots of stuff always going on and the kitchen was fantastic. Definitely need more plugs/sockets in the rooms though as we only had two for eight people! Also, there should be an area to store luggage for free when you check out!


83%

When I checked in the lady behind the desk didnt really seem to know what was going on or what she was talking about. When I went into my room and selected my bed I found a pineapple chunk under the sheets, which was a nice surprise. Usually hotels leave chocolates but this was equally tasty.


100%

I was here for one night and it was great! had everything I need!, it was very clean and staff were very friendly


34%

Very messy, shared rooms were disgusting, seems to be no one checking on the mixed dorms. Different people being let in the room throughout the night When I arrived the bed was messy, there was another persons makeup all over it. Girl who served us at the counter kept shouting out to her friend about how messy she was going to get that night. Of all the hostels I have stayed at across the world this one is the absolute worst.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We really do appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. It's disappointing to hear of your experience. We are known for having great rooms that are exceptionally clean. To know that we have let you down in this case is not acceptable from our point of view. We have addressed this issue at length with our housekeeping team and have implemented daily room spot checks by a senior member of management. Here at Wake Up we have extremely robust security measures in place. Our reception operates 24 hours a day and a security team is on nightly from 6pm. This is to ensure the safety of our guests as well as a sound night's sleep. Floor walks are conducted hourly throughout the night and any disturbances are dealt with as they arise. I would ask you, as well as any guest in future to notify reception if there is something amiss and it will be dealt with promptly. We apologise unreservedly and hope we get another opportunity to provide you with a much more comfortable stay. Once again thanks for letting us know of your Wake Up! experience

51%

If you're in uni, are generally pretty irresponsible and get wasted every night, you'll probably be fine. If you can 'remember your first beer,' then this place is a joke. After staying in NZ and Oz for 4 months, this was the dirtiest room I stayed in - boxes of wine all over the floor, trash cans knocked over, a general sense that no one gave a s***. Plus, the typical couple getting after it in the bed next to me - so ridiculous that people put up curtains for privacy, when you know what's up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for telling us of your experience. It's really important to find out how our guests stay was. I'm sorry to hear your room mates were messy. Our housekeeping department checks and tidies all of our dorm rooms each morning, but I understand some guests can be a bit rowdy throughout the day! Please let us know if you visit again so we can ensure you have a more memorable stay! Wake Up! Management

86%

Only stayed a couple of nights due to lack of availability at my first choice hostel, but Wake Up was decent. Staff were friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review. I'm glad you made your way to Wake Up! in the end, and very pleased you enjoyed your time with us :) Hope to have you again soon! Wake Up! Management

(86 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback