X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
2743 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

It is awesome place!!

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your awesome review. Glad you enjoyed your time here! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

100%

Great Hostel, very close to the main shops and pubs and clubs, there is a night out every day of the week that the hostel will take you on so if you want a good time this is the hostel to be at!

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for such a great review! It is really pleasing that you enjoyed your time here and got to join us on our nights out. Please spread the word and we look forward to seeing you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

91%

This is by far the best hostel to stay at in Sydney. Is a little more expensive but is defiantly worth it. Everything is always clean and tidy. Only small problem is the size if the kitchen it's just too small for the number of guests there and there isn't enough place to store food but everything else was fantastic! 100% stay here again! And everyone is so friendly and you meet so many people! It's great :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your great review! We look forward to seeing you here again at Wake Up. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

100%

Brilliant hostel with no faults. Great place to meet people and have good time. All facilities are clean and well maintained, beds comfortable and rooms very spacious. Location is also very central.


97%

Swagtastic

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Swagtasic... Love it! See you next time you're in Sydney Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up Sydney

94%

Great location with spacious dorms. Helpful staffs. I would definitely suggest to bring your earplugs if you are kind of traveler who can't sleep in noise. The bar plays extremely loud music till 2-3 in the morning for 3 nights I stayed. Wifi is only free for 1 hour on your first day. I bought 3 days unlimited WiFi access for 11.90 AUD. Still better than $120 for 800 MB AT

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review! We look forward to seeing you back here at Wake Up in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

91%

Great place and great staff. Lots of fun. Clean too most of the time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your great review! We work hard on making this a fun place so it is always good when it gets a mention online. We look forward to seeing you back here in future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

83%

I don't understand why WIFI is not for free. Activities are very good. Great for meeting people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Unfortunately you will find that in Australia it is common for hostels to have paid wifi. Those that don't generally have poor quality connections that often leave their guests frustrated. Here at Wake Up we offer a robust internet connection at a nominal price. We hope you understand. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

80%

Bra hostel för en första natt i Sydney. Nära stationen, men lite dyrt. Dåligt att det inte är gratis wifi, men och andra sidan finns det gratis internet på stationen. Fräscha rum.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We love reviews in Swedish! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

97%

Brilliant atmosphere and would definitely stay there again.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Fantastic, I couldn't recommend this hostel highly enough.

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

It's a great location, very close to plenty of activities with easy access to transportation. The staff is also very nice and helpful, but for the amount of money you spend, I think they at least should put in some better showers, clean them up a bit better, and give you free wifi with your room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our bathrooms are generally in good condition so it is a bit disappointing that you did not find them this way. I shall certainly be speaking with our Housekeeping team. Thanks for mentioning our staff! They are a great group of young and friendly kids and I know they genuinely enjoying meeting people from all over the world. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

100%

Brilliant hostel in the CBD area with great weekly events.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Love your review! We work hard on our Activities here at Wake Up to ensure everyone has a great time and gets the opportunity to meet their fellow travelers. It is free for all guests and something we feel is the ultimate value add and enhances the Wake Up experience. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

100%

There are activities every evening and loads of atmosphere. Very helpful staff and comfy beds. Would recommend and would definately stay again

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel is very modern, with spacious dorms and a very good location next to Sydney central station - you literally only have to cross the road. Unfortunately, the bar in the basement plays extremely loud music which can be heard in the dorm rooms (until 2.30 AM in our case, on a Tuesday, which I find outrageous). The hostel is clearly more suited to those travellers keen to party. I would not stay here again.


94%

I always choose to stay at wake up! Hostel when I'm in Sydney. It's close to everything has such an awesome vibe and easy to get to from the airport.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Glad to hear we are you choice of hostel here in Sydney. See you next time you are in town. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

89%

Good lively bar. Amazing roast dinner. Clean. Fairly big kitchen but gets really busy. Have to pay for wifi, $5.90 for 24 hours. Good size rooms. (I was in 6bed dorm) came with lockers. Friendly staff. Would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your kind review. I will pass on your comments to our chef, he will be wrapped that you mentioned the Sunday Roast! See you next time. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! SYdney

60%

For anyone over the age of maybe 23, it's not a great option. The social activities are great but not when the hostel comes on over a loudspeaker in every room to announce a bikini contest in the bar. The socialization areas are minimal other than the lounge on the ground floor where people are coming and going all the time. Because it's so large, it feels more like a hotel where you share rooms than a hostel where you can meet anyone. Fun vibe if you're young and want to party hard every nigh

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We do have a young clientele here at Wake Up and you have hit the nail on the head with the age bracket at 18 - 23. In saying that we do our very best through our driven activity schedule to cater towards all guests. Fair comment regarding the loud speaker and I will be looking into the frequency & times at which we use it . Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

77%

Pretty decent place. Very central location and helpful staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. Glad you noted the helpfulness of our staff. They will be please to have gained another mention! See you next time your in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

86%

In my opinion the only disadvantage is, that you can`t go to another floor with the keycard. If you`re not changing the number with people you met in the hostel, you can`t just go and knock on the door.


(110 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback