X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2529 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

Very messy, shared rooms were disgusting, seems to be no one checking on the mixed dorms. Different people being let in the room throughout the night When I arrived the bed was messy, there was another persons makeup all over it. Girl who served us at the counter kept shouting out to her friend about how messy she was going to get that night. Of all the hostels I have stayed at across the world this one is the absolute worst.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We really do appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. It's disappointing to hear of your experience. We are known for having great rooms that are exceptionally clean. To know that we have let you down in this case is not acceptable from our point of view. We have addressed this issue at length with our housekeeping team and have implemented daily room spot checks by a senior member of management. Here at Wake Up we have extremely robust security measures in place. Our reception operates 24 hours a day and a security team is on nightly from 6pm. This is to ensure the safety of our guests as well as a sound night's sleep. Floor walks are conducted hourly throughout the night and any disturbances are dealt with as they arise. I would ask you, as well as any guest in future to notify reception if there is something amiss and it will be dealt with promptly. We apologise unreservedly and hope we get another opportunity to provide you with a much more comfortable stay. Once again thanks for letting us know of your Wake Up! experience

51%

If you're in uni, are generally pretty irresponsible and get wasted every night, you'll probably be fine. If you can 'remember your first beer,' then this place is a joke. After staying in NZ and Oz for 4 months, this was the dirtiest room I stayed in - boxes of wine all over the floor, trash cans knocked over, a general sense that no one gave a s***. Plus, the typical couple getting after it in the bed next to me - so ridiculous that people put up curtains for privacy, when you know what's up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for telling us of your experience. It's really important to find out how our guests stay was. I'm sorry to hear your room mates were messy. Our housekeeping department checks and tidies all of our dorm rooms each morning, but I understand some guests can be a bit rowdy throughout the day! Please let us know if you visit again so we can ensure you have a more memorable stay! Wake Up! Management

86%

Only stayed a couple of nights due to lack of availability at my first choice hostel, but Wake Up was decent. Staff were friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review. I'm glad you made your way to Wake Up! in the end, and very pleased you enjoyed your time with us :) Hope to have you again soon! Wake Up! Management

100%

Staying here for one night is extremely best choice of exploring sydney. Very good locations and nice facility. High recommends hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us your feedback! We really appreciate your recommendation of us :) See you again next time! Wake Up! Management

97%

Great hostel, awesome staff and vibe. Everything is kept clean all around the hostel. Cool bar downstairs as well


91%

The nicest hostel I have ever stayed in. Great location, just a 2-minute walk from Central Station. The staff could have been a touch friendlier, and they seemed a bit unreasonable with the "no alcohol in the rooms" rule but it was generally not a problem. Nice, large lockers for every bed, personal outlet and light, and comfortable mattresses. Bathrooms were clean and pleasant and common areas were modern and welcoming.


97%

perfect hostel which is in a great location. The staff is always ready to help you, I had problems with others guests in my room and the staff helped me imediatelly.


91%

My ratings are for a private room which was a good alternative to an expensive sydney hotel over the weekend. Tiny room, the two singles were actually a bunk, but everything we needed plus a tv


94%

Bathroom and showers were amazingly clean and well looked after which was indicative of the intent of the place. Front desk staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful - very very welcoming aspect to our stay. Room was spotless.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon! Wake up! Management

94%

An absolutely fantastic hostel, great location, great staff and a very clean hostel! Easily the best hotel I've stayed in whilst I've been in Australia

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, Thanks for the lovely review you have left us! I'm sure we will see you again soon! Wake Up! Management

100%

A great clean place to stay with friendly helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Louise, Thanks for leaving us a review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us :) Until next time! Wake up! Management

94%

This is really good place to meet with everybody from around the world. The place is clean and nice, the staff is really helpful and friendly. Just my opinion, the room is really over crowded as so many people there sometimes they make some noise while someone is sleeping. But all over is a great place to stay and meet someone to hang out with.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for leaving a review us, Its much appreciated! Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you visit you should try booking one of our smaller 4 share dorms. Better yet we have lovely private rooms available too :) See you next time!

86%

Good hostel. Stayed there for 5 nights, very nice rooms but there are different 6 floors so doesn't seem to much of a hostel more like a big hotel. Kitchen not great but good hostel. Would recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time out to leave us a review. It's much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Wake Up! Management

89%

Great hostel, amazing staff! The bonus: they offer free guided tours of the city and the beaches! Definitely would stay here if coming to Sydney!

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for leaving us a review, its much appreciated. Glad you came on our city and beach tours, they are a great way to see Sydney! See you again soon. Wake Up! Management

83%

Good hostel, nothing out of the ordinary, but good place to stay in big Sydney.


83%

The drain for the washroom sink was clogged. Also, the clock in the reception area did not reflect the accurate local time.


94%

Amazing hostel where I met some great people. Location couldnt have been easier to get to from the airport and the free bus into the cbd stops right outside. Kitchen could have been a bit cleaner with more pans but other than that I cant fault wake up!


94%

fantastic location in the central of Sydney city, tremendous place to meet new friends from entire world and share a extraordinary experience in Sydney.

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

For a large hostel I was amazed by how it was so sociable yet quiet at night and clean. I had a great time and met people that I will be seeing again!

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving us a review :) We really appreciate your comments and so glad you noticed how clean our home is. It's always pleasing when we here you made some new friendships at Wake Up! that's what its all about! See you next time Wake Up! Management

94%

Good vibes, all round great hostel! One of my top 5 for sure

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Its much appreciated! So glad you enjoyed it here, See you again soon :) Wake Up! Management

(84 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback