X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2410 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

A good hostel in Sydney downtown.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for leaving us your thoughts. I Hope we see you again soon. Wake Up! Management

94%

I enjoyed my stay here. It has a great location in the heart of the city. Bondai beach is just a 30 min trip away using public transport. Fun friendly atmospher. The bar down stairs is fun. Enjoyed trivia night. Only things I didn't like. Had to pay for wifi(typical in Australia) and there weren't enough outlets in the room for 4 people wanting to charge laptops and phones.


80%

Had a great stay in Sydney, staff were helpful, place was clean, we would stay again.

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving us a review! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Wake up! We will see you again soon. Wake Up! Management

89%

Really good location- walkable to many tourist attractions in Sydney CBD. The rooms were clean, and really easy to meet lots of other travellers, i.e. great atmosphere. Kitchen was very hectic place though, but the excellent bar makes up for that. #hellohappyhour. Best looking staff in Sydney it seems- and very helpful. Go have a chat to the guy who works nights #dreamy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your feedback, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much! I will be passing on your comments to the reception staff, they will be so happy to hear :) See you next time, Wake Up! Management

66%

Excellent location but was too noisy


71%

This was the third time I stayed in this hostel and I was a bit disappointed comparing with my previous stays. The guy at the reception was quite arrogant and the showers weren't working very well. The location is alright, very close to public transport but you can find other hostels which are better located in the CBD for a lower price.

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for letting us know of your experience her at Wake Up! We have taken your feedback very seriously and hope you enjoy your next stay with us time. Wake Up! Management

89%

It was clean and safe. But it's still too expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for the review! I'm glad you found Wake Up! safe and clean, we try really hard to ensure that feeling :) Wake up!

91%

Had an awesome stay at wake up! Jesse & James from the staff were the best! Tip: If you want to extend your stay, tell them in the morning upon checkout - we were always supposed to change the hostel (because the wake up was "full" - even in the night before checking out) and in the morning they suddenly had another room available (happened not only to us but to friends as well)


74%

The location is good. The kitchen is busy since there are too many travelers live here. Wake Up is a really big hostel I have lived in . We live 3 nights, but the staff forgot to tell me that I have to change my room at the 3rd night. Then, something weird happened>_< But the staff helped fix the issue quickly. It's good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for letting us know of your experience! I'm glad the staff could help you fix your issue, Hope to see you again soon. Wake Up! Management

94%

Only two downfalls about here and their minor; not enough sockets (two in an 8 bed dorm) and gas rings aren't very reliable. Overall one of the best hostels I've stayed in!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, Thanks for letting us know! I have taken your feedback on board and we are now looking into getting more sockets available in the rooms for your next stay :) Wake Up! Management

97%

I absolutly loved my stay in wake up. the staff were fab and VERY helpfull 😃 the place was great lovely and clean and everything you needed was right there. the wifi was a little exspensive but if u want wifi in the day theres plenty of cafes, shop with free wifi, the evening entertainment was a good laugh, i made some lovely friends there and so happens 2 are making there way up to me now. but when i come back to sydney im defo staying in wake up, Thanks guys 😃 xxx

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks so much for your lovely review! It's so nice to hear you had such a great stay and you managed to take advantage of the entertainment on offer! Can't wait to have you again. Wake Up! management

34%

The staff seem to be more concerned about whatever is going on in facebook rather than someone who has been traveling for the past day and just wants to check in. I found every staff member to be rude, not willing to help and not willing to do their job properly. My room was a mess, couldn't see the floor. I wasn't told where anything was. I had to find out for myself. Not worth the money at all! Never staying here again.

  • 26th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review! It's very disappointing to hear your experience at reception. We have a lovely crew on the desk, so I'm very sorry you got that impression. I would like to follow up on your review, if you could email me that would be greatly appreciated. Wake Up! Management

66%

My bed-sheets hadn't been changed. The room was a tip. The bathroom didn't have properly working taps and no soap dispenser. I don't know whether it's because the night I came, or not but forget trying to sleep. People constantly in and out of the room, turning lights on and off, spraying deodorants, urinating in the room. I did explain the situation to the front desk staff and they were helpful and did give me a refund. Only positives are the staff and the location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for letting us know of your experience here at Wake up! It's always appreciated. We allow our guest's to check in before the room has been cleaned, this may be why your bed hadn't been changed. My apologies if this explained for you. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Wake Up! Management

80%

Clean, quiet to sleep, and they have everything you need (big kitchen, bedding, towels, internet, lockers, enough showers etc). Convenient location. The only negative thing I can say is that you have to pay for everything that's not really basic - A$5 for renting a towel is a bit much! The wifi is expensive but that seems to be the case in most hostels - A$4 per day - but at least it was very fast. They also charge to store bags after checkout, which is a bit nuts. But otherwise all is good.

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Wake Up! Enjoy the rest of your travels. Wake Up!

54%

108$ for a double room is what you pay - what you get is a room of 10 squaremeters with walls made of paper, you can even see people walking on the floor through the gap between door an "wall". You hear everything just whispered on the whole floor. There are no towels incl., they charge you another 10$ if you wanna have one whats beyond any decency. Our sheets on the bed where definitely not changed and that's just disgusting. We changed them on ourself. You can't switch of the AC in your room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I can certainly assure you that your sheets were changed prior to checking in. I have spoken with the receptionist concerning your issue and I believe our staff member offered to change your sheets for you. Wake Up! Management

77%

excellent location for train/bus station and CBD. rooms were spacious and clean altho I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and there was only one plug and another half way up the wall!?! the kitchen could do with being cleaned more often and open maybe an hour later until 11pm

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI Linsey, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We do have the kitchen cleaned quite regularly, however some people just never learnt to clean up after themselves! Thanks again for your feedback. Wake Up! Management

77%

Air condition too high !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review! We have taken your feedback on board, thanks for letting us know your thoughts. Wake Up!

69%

Stayed at this hostel 2 years ago when it just opened, it is now definitely not as clean as it used to be (especially the bathroom on the 3rd floor). Apart from that everything else was fine!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are really disappointed to hear that cleanliness was not outstanding when you visited us. We take feedback very seriously and we have certainly acted on your comments to ensure it's better on your next stay. Thanks again! Wake Up! Management

80%

Did my first 4 nights in Oz here, as i'm a slightly older traveller the clientele perhaps wasn't what i expected. Too many kids running riot is how it felt, as a lone traveller i t cliquish, i'm a sociable girl but it wasn't easy. The bar is good and happy hour is a winner. Generally clean and tidy. My only complaint was the massively expensive wifi. Aside from that a solid hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback :) It's always much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay and made the most of Side Bar's happy HOURS! Enjoy the rest of your travels and we will see you next time :) Wake Up! Management

100%

Thanks enjoyed my 2 nights at Wake Up found the staff very friendly also the people staying there as well enjoyed the Trivia Downstairs, Wake Up is very clean and we had our own lockers in our room and right opp Central Station is a bonus. I was able to get off the train from the Airport walk straight across the road, and have a bed Thanks to everyone at Wake Up just for the record I am 61yrs and love to stay at Backpackers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Doreen, Thanks for leaving us a review! It really pleases me to hear you had such a great time here. Can't wait to have you again :) Wake Up! Management

(102 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback