X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
3149 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

Very disappointed. The advantages are that it has a good location. Disadvantages are that WiFi is so expensive! Everywhere else we have found it has been free. So cold throughout the hostel as the rooms are very big with no furniture or curtains. Other guests made a nice kitchen area so messy - regularly. Unfortunately not worth the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Wake Up. At Wake Up we believe in guest feedback, good and bad and view each as an opportunity to better our product and service. By managing our feedback in detail it has helped us to be the quality property we are today. I have sent you an email and if possible I would ask that you reply as I hope to understand your review score better. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

91%

Friendly and helpful staff. The best part for me is every floor has their laundry room. Would like to suggest the hostel provide some cooking oil and salt in kitchen. Would recommend this hostel to friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate your kind words for our staff and for your future recommendations! While our laundries don't often get a mention we also feel it is pretty convenient having many of them located throughout the building. Cheers Dev Penney - General Manager

86%

I would definitely recommend this hostel to others, everything about it was rather good apart from one aspect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay here at Wake Up. It was great to see that you gave us five out of five for cleanliness and security as these are two key elements to a great stay at any hostel. Cheers and we hope to see you back soon. Dev Penney - General Manager

100%

I've had the most amazing time in this hostel! The hostel is next to Central station and in the middle of the city. The hostel is really clean and the rooms are nice. The easy thing is Sidebar downstairs. You can eat for cheap and after going out your bed is just a few meters away 😀

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent location. Big spacious room. Clean bathrooms. Friendly staff. Good wifi. Best hostel I've stayed at in Sydney!


94%

Is really hard to chose a hostel in Sydney, most seems to be dirty, expensive and full of long terms. So that's why Wake Up couldn't be a better choice! Well located and with a great great staff. Like most of flights, I landed in Sydney at earlier morning and they just gave me a free 1h internet access, coffee and earlier check in. Also the activities are well executed, especially the walking tours (pay attention on Connor's tips).


100%

Wake Up is the best hostel I've ever been, during my whole Australia trip. I have seen so many hostels but Wake up is by far the best one, its clean, the staff is great, the coffees in the cafe are really good and the activities are awesome. Thanks Wake Up!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving such an awesome review! I will be passing on your feedback to our team of baristas at Roys Cafe as I know they will be super pleased that you loved their coffee. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

86%

Lots of activities every day of the week, bar and cafe attached but no noise filters in. I was in an 8 bed dorm but 6 of the others began partying and drinking in the room - also there was very little ventilation and I could just smell beer. I tried to sleep after they left at 11pm but they came back at 3.30 and would not shut up. I asked at reception if I could move and at 4am with no hassle I was moved into a 4 bed all girl dorm at no extra charge. I thank the staff for being so accomodating.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely helpful staff, great location my only criticism would be there was no light next to my bunk so when the room light went off I wasn't able to read etc !

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We truly appreciate your positive feedback for our staff and I know it gives them a real boost every time we get reviews like yours! All of our dorm rooms now come with a reading light but I have seen the odd backpacker move the bunk positions which may have been responsible for you having no light when you stayed last week. Hope to see you again in the future. Dev Penney - GM

89%

Too many drunks shouting in corridors at all hous of night perhaps put people who want to sleep on the top floor so the party people can continue to have their fun and the sleepers don't need to wake up all night long.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, I appreciate your candid feedback from your recent stay here at Wake Up. I will be speaking with my nights team to find our where things went wrong as we have security conducting hourly floor walks each night and a very strict noise policy in place. Going forward I would ask you or anyone reading this to call reception as we will deal with any noise complaints immediately. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

66%

I really enjoyed my stay at Wake Up! The free walking tour was a massive bonus! My only concern is that the hostel bar was open to the public, which made for some seedy men.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate your review and feedback although I must admit to being a little disappointed with the low percentage you gave us when you have stated that you really enjoyed your stay here at Wake Up. Regarding your feedback for Side Bar I will being speaking with their management team today. If possible I also hope to speak with you and will be emailing you shortly. Regards Dev Penney - GM

80%

No bedding provided, no sheet, no pillowslip. Very noisy room mates coming in at 1 and 2am.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and my apologies that you were not informed of our early check in policy. Here at Wake Up we actively check our guests in as soon as the bed becomes available in the morning. Our housekeeping team then make all the beds prior to the original 2pm check in time. This helps our guests get settled in sooner and hence a more relaxed first day at Wake Up. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

83%

Best part was definitely the staff! So helpful & friendly. Came in on a Saturday night & all I wanted to do was rest (long week at a conference), so it was a tad too noisy for me. People were having a room party next door which lasted late into the night. But besides that, the vibe was good & the showering facilities were great. Lack of free wifi was pretty disappointing !

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate your review and kind words for our staff here at Wake Up! Last Saturday night was one of our monthly 'themed' parties and there was certainly plenty of energy among the 500 guests we had in house on the night! My apologies on the noisy boys in the room next to you. They are still in house and were quite abashed when I mentioned that their antics had ended up in your review. Thanks again Cheers Dev Penney - GM

77%

Good hostel, but definitely not worth the money. Rooms/bathroom/kitchen was clean, it's nice there is a cafe and bar in the building. A lot of free activities and stuff which kinda makes up for the price. Wifi really expensive and even then not a good reception everywhere. Large lockers in the rooms are nice. You can probably get the same sort of hostel but cheaper in Sydney.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay here at Wake Up. Although we were a little disappointed with the overall rating your feedback regarding our staff, facilities, cleanliness and activities was very positive. I will be looking into the wifi connectivity in and around the room your were staying as we have recently upgraded and it should be running perfectly. Thanks for the heads up! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

97%

It was an amazing place, definitly worth the money. The Staff is amazing, the lobby is great, the bar is awesome, and the location could not be any better. The few things I have to complain is about the urinals in the male bathroom they are waterless meaning that they stink alot! Especially whe you are using them. The other thing is that they do have Wi-Fi but it is not free, which is a first in my experience with hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your recent stay here at Wake Up. Thanks also for mentioning our staff and especially our great location! I have passed on your feedback to our Facilities Manager regarding the urinals as they are definitely not meant to stink. Thanks for the heads up on that. We hope to see you back here in the future! Dev Penney - GM

94%

Very good place to stay in Sydney. Definetly, a place to recommend. Great building, good location, and very nice staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, It is always pleasing to receive positive feedback so thanks so much for taking the time to do so. Thanks for your future recommendations and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

The best one that I`ve stayed in Australia so far, because some things that I can resume below: 1 - Really friendly staff, they do everything to let you felling confortable 2 - Best location, in front of Sydney Central Station 3 - The party is here - Side Bar, one of the best venues to party and have fun is just downstairs of the hostel... 4 - And a good structure as well, clean rooms and shared bathrooms, big kitchen, amazing reception and chill out area....

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving such an awesome review! Muito Brigado Dev Penney - GM

97%

When I arrived the staff was amazing and welcoming! Only had the one night but I changed my second reservation to come back here because they were great!

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are super pleased you chose to extend your stay with us here at Wake Up! Thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you back here next time you are in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

83%

Really handy getting to and from the airport being so near the train station and right in the centre so easy to walk to main attractions in Sydney. Really liked how it had its own bar/club that is also open to the public. Staff were really nice and helpful. I had a great stay here!


80%

Nice Youth Hostel with a lot of ambiance. Everything was good but it the bathrooms were not always clean, I think it is the only hting I can criticize.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(172 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback