X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
3545 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Clean dorms and good beds. Kitchen well equipped and nice common areas. Staff very helpful particularly on the travel desk. Side bar was great and cafe sold good coffee and nice food. Really enjoyed my 2 weeks stay over new year! City walk was fab too and the hostel manager spoke to us for feedback which was a nice touch. Easy to meet people if you get involved with the events and room lockers a good size :)

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It's the perfect place to stay as it's so central. The hostel is very clean and tidy, it has a deep clean twice a week. It's a great way to meet lots of new people. It's a large hostel but very well organised that it doesn't feel as if it's as big as it is. The staff were always so helpful, I joined in a few of the activities that were offered, like the walking tours and the free cheese & wine party which were very good. They also gave you free food some nights like pizza. I had an amazing time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us such an awesome review! Activities are everything here at Wake Up and it is so pleasing that you got to join us for so many events over the New Years period. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you next time you are in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

74%

I stayed in 3 hostels while I was in Sydney and this was my least favorite. I stayed in a 6 person shared female form and our room was a complete mess when I walked in. There was no floor space and room was very cramped, also no in suite bathrooms. The cafe and bar are worth visiting and got 7 days free wifi which was a plus. I'd recommend YHA or Bounce over this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review and valuable feedback from your recent stay here at Wake Up. Our rooms in general are kept in excellent condition so I was disappointed that you found yours to be unsatisfactory. I shall certainly be speaking with my HK team to ensure things upstairs are up to scratch. Thanks also for your shout out to Side Bar and Roys Cafe. They are both great venues and really differentiate us from the other quality hostels you have mentioned. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

91%

Amazing hostel and location. Easy to meet people. Great atmosphere. Super friendly and helpful staff on reception/travel desk/Roy's cafe. Amazing showers. The only downfall to this hostel is the lack of space in the kitchen... It can get a bit hectic when everyone is in there fighting for a space. Also the staff in sidebar can be really rude (we are pretty sure one of the bar maids was actually the Christmas grinch). The bouncers in sidebar can be quite rude too - a smile goes a long way.


100%

Wake Up is by far the BEST hostel I have ever stayed in. Very clean, comfortable, spacious rooms. Air conditioning, big lockers & WiFi. Bathrooms are modern, cleaned twice daily, very big. Facilities: Laundry, kitchen, lounge, cinema, tour desk, cafe, restaurant, bar, 24hr reception. Staff: extremely friendly, always went above and beyond to make sure we were happy & enjoying our stay. Location: right opposite railway station, within walking distance of popular attractions. Definitely recommend

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for leaving us such a wonderful review! Enjoy your New Years and we look forward to seeing you back at Wake Up in the future. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

86%

Great hostel staff were nice but didn't like the security guards

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay here at Wake Up. I really appreciate your kind words for our hostel and staff! The security and safety of our guests at Wake Up itself is quite robust so I am assuming you are referring to the security guards at Side Bar our nightclub. I will be passing on your comments to the management team at Side Bar. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

This hostel is simply the best hostel I've ever stayed at! I've stayed in hostels across Canada, North America, Fiji, New Zealand and Australia and this outshines them all. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and up for a good time, there are events daily to keep you socialising and help you to see Sydney. The rooms and bathrooms are all very clean and maintained well. I stayed here for 14 nights over the Christmas period and had a great time!


94%

Such a great hostel. From check in to check out all the guests are made to feel welcome in every way. The promos, parties and freebies over the Christmas period were fantastic and I'm so pleased I chose wake up! for the festive period. Made some fab friends for life and the staff were friendly & helpful when there were any queries or issues. The manager is lovely and the rooms are great. Security is high. I felt safe and location is great next to central station. Cannot praise this place more!


80%

We stayed here for the Christmas and New Years period - the hostel is very clean, and cleaners are always around. The bathroom are modern - but feel they should have some music in there? It's a little too controlled for our liking, no access to stair ways and have to swipe to go in the lifts etc. The staff definitely made our stay there, they couldn't do enough for us -especially the facilities manager Dave the Rave. If something was wrong he sorted us out! Always checked if everything was ok!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, I appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay here at Wake Up. I was pleased to see that you found us to be modern, clean and welcome your comments regarding music in the bathrooms! Dave the Rave looks like he has done an excellent job over the Xmas and New Years and will no doubt be pleased with your review. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Big busy hostel right in central sydney. Good kitchen facilities and plenty of bathrooms which are cleaned regularly. Daily housekeeping which is great for a hostel! Loads of activities and bar deals at side bar if you're looking to meet other people. Staff were really helpful.


100%

Stayed here over Christmas and NY and had a brilliant time. The hostel really looked after us, the staff were really friendly and welcoming always making sure we had a good stay especially Dave the facilities manager.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Super please to hear you enjoyed everything we had to offer over the Christmas and New Year period. It is always a special time here at Wake Up and we went all out to make it a memorable one! Dave is raving about your review!!!! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

For such a large hostel it is such a personal place to stay. The staff are all fantastic and have been such a great help throughout my trip here. I stayed here last year and decided to return as I had such a great few days and I wasn't disappointed. The activities team are brilliant and great to have you mixing with others staying in Wake Up which as a solo traveller a massive added bonus. Access to the bar is a perk. Special thanks to reception and Ryan for helping me with my bookings :)

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, What a fantastic review! Thanks heaps. Dev Penney - GM

89%

That 2 weeks was my 1st hostel experience and I loved it. I would recommend it to everyone. The staff and facilities were spot on. The side bar does awesome nights and will miss it dearly. Met some amazing people there and I've got friends for life. Never a dull moment. The only 1 annoying thing is the lifts. It seems you wait for quite a while. But apart from that spot on.


89%

I had a great time, Hostel staff tried their best to give guests a good time with lots of events going on over the Christmas holidays. Bathrooms were clean and I was lucky with my roommates.


86%

Very clean, friendly staff, great location! Very difficult to meet other travellers as everyone seemed to be in groups (maybe cos I was there for xmas?) The music was so loud in sidebar at 4pm, hard to have a conversation. Party hostel, I was kept awake most nights from parties in the other dorms! Wouldnt come again alone but would come back as part of a group

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay here at Wake Up. Christmas is such an awesome time to be here so I was sorry to hear you found it difficult to make friends. The day you arrived Side Bar hosted a party for Sydneys largest English Language School. It started early and was massive by all accounts. Apart from that though it is normally quite tame at 4pm. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

86%

Shower facilities spacious and practical. Good matress but I wouldn't mind the beds being 10 cm longer. The badge system prevents others getting into your floor and room. No free wifi in the hostel but there are computers which can be used for free. In this way people aren't behind their smartphone screen all the time :) Despite being a large hostel it was very easy to meet new people at the side bar; lots of other solo travellers. Cheap prices there. Staff is very friendly and helpful,

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely love staying at Wake Up. Not only is the hostel in a great location, their staff make this hostel so amazing!

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, I really appreciate your kinds words for our staff who are without a doubt an asset to us here at Wake Up. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

I loved Wake Up! The staff went above and beyond to make me feel welcome as soon as I arrived, the room was spacious and clean, the bathroom was spacious and clean and the hostel is within walking distance to Sydney's major attractions, including Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. I would definitely stay here again next time I visit this great city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Really pleased to hear that you had such a warm welcome on arrival here at Wake Up! Thanks for the review and we look forward to your next visit to Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

66%

No one at reception asked me how my stay was, if they had I would have told them this; The first night of my stay I had someone else sleep in my bed, and they was no other bed made up so I had no where to sleep, the receptionist said I'd have to sort it out. And I had to pretty much beg for a bed to stay in until there was one sorted for me in my original room. On the last night of my stay the people in my room decided to invite anyone they wanted into my room and had takeaway Brought in.

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, My sincere apologies on the sub par performance of my reception team in the handling and follow up of the issues in your dorm room. I am actually embarrassed by this and can assure you I will be looking in depth into what took place and how we could have done a better job. I will be emailing you shortly and I hope to be able to make it up to you. Regards Dev Penney - General Manager

91%

Spaces were a little crammed, but other than that great hostel experience!

  • 17th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(222 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback