X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2410 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

+ localisation, staff - no stairs only elevator to the rooms. Lots of waiting - someone stole food from the kitchen

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, Thanks for leaving your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I'm sorry you had to wait a while for the lifts at some point, It seems everyone loves to check out at the same time!!! Hope to see you again soon :) Wake Up! Management

80%

I was happy with the bedroom, communal areas and though you pay for it, the wifi is excellent. The bar downstairs is kicking, and a nice big dorm room made for easy chatting and a good sleep. Location is good, opposite the central station, and the attractions of the city are walking distance. I was less impressed that when I checked in and paid by card, I was given a total in gbp without being asked. That added about 7% to the cost-changed to aud on request, but naughty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to let us know of your experience here. By the sounds of it you enjoyed the hostel and that's wonderful to hear! Apologies for any confusion in regards to your payment at check in. See you next time. Wake Up! Management

83%

Very good hostel, clean, comfortable and nice atmosphere.


86%

This is a very clean and convenience hostel. It is close to the Central station with 5mins walk. The lobby is grand which is not like the other hostel. Shared Bathroom on each level. It has a wide space for shower and hang up the clothes. Provided comfortable pillow and linen. Just miss the WIFI!!! Otherwise it is perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, it's always much appreciated! I'm really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. See you again next time. Wake Up! Management

74%

This hostel is so modern, clean and well located but the guests that were staying there were so unfriendly. I tried to talk to many of them but would not have any luck

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review, we always appreciate it :) It's disappointing to hear you did't get to meet more like minded friends here. Hopefully next time! Wake Up! Management

74%

the hostel was fine but i ended up in a room with two druk guys who didn't let me sleep the whole night. i went to speak to the receptionist but she didn't care even if I would have thrown them away. I did not feel safe and could not sleep properly

  • 1st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

the place is well located close to everything and easy to get around, the bathrooms are good and clean, the internet sucks because you need to buy an awful card and you have an amount of time to use (1,2,37 days...) and time runs out easily and it is expensive, the rooms are bad and very poor, pillows, blankets and sheets are definitely a joke, and the staff is very so so, some folks are friendly and helpful others no so much, there is too much to improve in the rooms!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for your feedback. It's disappointing to hear you didn't find our linen superior, we pride ourselves on offering comfortable beds and linen. Would you be able to email askup@wakeup.com.au so we can investigate which bed you stayed in. If it was not up to our standard we would love to know! Look forward to hearing from you. Wake Up! Management

74%

Not really good for the money. If you get a good price it is OK.


86%

Staying at this hostel was a great experience. It has a good location, within walking distance of many great areas. I think my favorite part of this hostel was the bar downstairs. There was always something going on and it was extremely popular, even with those not staying at the hostel. Security was tight, the cafe had good food, and the bathrooms were clean and updated. The only real downside was the lack of electric outlets in the rooms (two or three outlets in rooms for 6 & 10 people).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. So glad to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed Side Bar! Hope to see you again soon. Wake Up! Management

97%

Great hostel in an ideal location to explore Sydney, just opposite Central Station. Staff very professional and enthusiastic. Great place to meet other travellers with bar onsite and activities organised daily. Good deals on food/drink. Room was spotless and hostel feels very safe and secure.Would highly recommend and would stay again if back in Sydney!


94%

Staff were so friendly an helpful and the location is amazing! Side bar at weekends great night out too! Would definitely stay again!!

  • 19th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for taking the time out to leave us a review! It's very pleasing to know you found our staff helpful, they love helping out our guest's so ill be sure to pass the feedback on :) Hope to see you again soon. Wake Up! Management

91%

Great stay met so many people the free tours and socials where worth joining rooms clean bathroom facilities where very well presented my only upset is paying for wifi

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review :) That's great you came on the free tours! It's the best way to meet other travelers who have just arrived! It's always good knowing you found our house nice and clean. See you next time. Wake Up! Management

94%

Excellent location and clean hostel. The hostel is located next to Central Station (trains and light rail). There is also a bus station on George Street near the back entrance to the hostel. Hostel is easy to find and convenient for getting to the sights each day. Lots of dining options nearby. Chinatown is a few blocks north on George Street. Surrey Hills (behind the train station) has many nice cafes. Like others mentioned, get a room on a higher floor. The club in the basement is loud.


94%

Nice location just opposite the train station, but actually its bit far from CBD, need to walk at least 15 min, but this hostel fully equipment with bar, cafe, internet area and even work/information centre, u can book whatever u want and ask working holiday information in here, also have very nice area for movie/ tv in kitchen floor, kitchen was great as well, so big, fully equipment and clean. i was really enjoy the whole atmosphere in there, staff also very helpful and nice! 5 stars rating!


69%

One of the lifts was out of order during our stay so there was signage advising to use the fire escape stairs. After it was fixed, the signs advising to use the stairs were left in place and my friend was locked in the stairwell for 20 minutes. Staff were of the opinion it was her fault. Queues for reception were always long and there never seemed to be sufficient staff. I've stayed in Bounce before-far superior.


91%

The hostel is REALLY great. The atmosphere is incredible, especially for a large hostel, it's still a great place to make friends. They have a cool bar downstairs which is popular in Sydney. They organize free city tours and beach walks. It's very clean and secure. Staff is really nice as well. The only problem were the rooms. Unfortunatly, the PRIVATE rooms are tiny. I never complain about the rooms because I don't expect a 5 star hotel out of a hostel, but they're really small and uncomfortabl

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, Thanks for taking the time to leave us review, Its always much appreciated! Good to know you managed to join in with the daily activities, it always ensures you get to mix with all the other guest's at Wake Up! from all around the world. We look forward to your next stay with us, and safe travels! Wake Up! Management

91%

Great place - but it needs a bedside lamp

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for your feedback! I have taken note of your suggestion :) See you next time. Wake Up! Management

86%

I though the hostel was really nice, but because it is so big it is harder to meet people. It would be nice if the kitchen would be bigger, because it is way to small for so many people! The staff is alright. There a few that aren't as nice/welcoming as the rest. The location is awesome!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for your feedback! On your next visit with us make sure you join in on all of our daily and nightly activities, its the easiest way to meet everyone in our big hostel. Hope to see you again soon :)

97%

Great atmosphere and awesome staff. Comfy bed and like the decent sized in-room locker. Shout out to Mich who was super helpful during the check out process. Needed somewhere safe to store my laptop and Mich took on the task of keeping it safely over the counter until I return to pick it up in the afternoon. The gentleman (should've asked for his name) was very resourceful when asked about the best way to find the Bourke St. Bakery. All in all a very pleasant overnight stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. The staff are so happy to see you appreciated their help, they take so much pride in giving you a good stay in their country :) Good to know you found the Bourke St Bakery, the Meringue's are unbeatable! See you next time!

94%

One of the best hostels iv stayed at. Extended my stay twice. Amazing location, right opposite central station with a great atmosphere and felt more like a holiday than a hostel with activities every night. Would defo stay again and recommend this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, Thanks for leaving us a review! It's always great to know of your experience with us. Its so good to know you had such a great time here with us, that's always our aim! Make sure you join in on the activities again next time your in because were always doing something new and exciting :) Wake Up! Management

(102 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback