X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2580 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

A wonderfully social hostel with great amenities including a downstairs bar. Great for meeting young, likeminded people. Also recommend the hostels free tours as they are great for getting to know other people. Overall one of my favourite hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for making the effort to leave us a review, Its much appreciated! I'm glad you made some good friends while you were staying with us, that's the best part about hostels! Be sure to have a look on our Facebook page so you can tag yourself in the photos from the tour! See you again soon. Wake Up! Management

100%

Had a fantastic stay and an awesome night in the side bar 👍

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, Thanks for leaving us a review! Glad you had a fantastic stay here with us and enjoyed our bar. I'm sure we will see you again :) Wake Up! Management

94%

Very helpful and friendly staff..one of the nicest hostels around

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for leaving us a review, it much appreciated! So pleasing to hear you had a great stay and the staff took good care of you. They love what they do and I will be showing them your comments :) See you again soon! Wake Up! Management

100%

Only thing the room got really hot,

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place to stay, lots of stuff always going on and the kitchen was fantastic. Definitely need more plugs/sockets in the rooms though as we only had two for eight people! Also, there should be an area to store luggage for free when you check out!


83%

When I checked in the lady behind the desk didnt really seem to know what was going on or what she was talking about. When I went into my room and selected my bed I found a pineapple chunk under the sheets, which was a nice surprise. Usually hotels leave chocolates but this was equally tasty.


100%

I was here for one night and it was great! had everything I need!, it was very clean and staff were very friendly


34%

Very messy, shared rooms were disgusting, seems to be no one checking on the mixed dorms. Different people being let in the room throughout the night When I arrived the bed was messy, there was another persons makeup all over it. Girl who served us at the counter kept shouting out to her friend about how messy she was going to get that night. Of all the hostels I have stayed at across the world this one is the absolute worst.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We really do appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. It's disappointing to hear of your experience. We are known for having great rooms that are exceptionally clean. To know that we have let you down in this case is not acceptable from our point of view. We have addressed this issue at length with our housekeeping team and have implemented daily room spot checks by a senior member of management. Here at Wake Up we have extremely robust security measures in place. Our reception operates 24 hours a day and a security team is on nightly from 6pm. This is to ensure the safety of our guests as well as a sound night's sleep. Floor walks are conducted hourly throughout the night and any disturbances are dealt with as they arise. I would ask you, as well as any guest in future to notify reception if there is something amiss and it will be dealt with promptly. We apologise unreservedly and hope we get another opportunity to provide you with a much more comfortable stay. Once again thanks for letting us know of your Wake Up! experience

51%

If you're in uni, are generally pretty irresponsible and get wasted every night, you'll probably be fine. If you can 'remember your first beer,' then this place is a joke. After staying in NZ and Oz for 4 months, this was the dirtiest room I stayed in - boxes of wine all over the floor, trash cans knocked over, a general sense that no one gave a s***. Plus, the typical couple getting after it in the bed next to me - so ridiculous that people put up curtains for privacy, when you know what's up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for telling us of your experience. It's really important to find out how our guests stay was. I'm sorry to hear your room mates were messy. Our housekeeping department checks and tidies all of our dorm rooms each morning, but I understand some guests can be a bit rowdy throughout the day! Please let us know if you visit again so we can ensure you have a more memorable stay! Wake Up! Management

86%

Only stayed a couple of nights due to lack of availability at my first choice hostel, but Wake Up was decent. Staff were friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review. I'm glad you made your way to Wake Up! in the end, and very pleased you enjoyed your time with us :) Hope to have you again soon! Wake Up! Management

100%

Staying here for one night is extremely best choice of exploring sydney. Very good locations and nice facility. High recommends hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us your feedback! We really appreciate your recommendation of us :) See you again next time! Wake Up! Management

97%

Great hostel, awesome staff and vibe. Everything is kept clean all around the hostel. Cool bar downstairs as well


91%

The nicest hostel I have ever stayed in. Great location, just a 2-minute walk from Central Station. The staff could have been a touch friendlier, and they seemed a bit unreasonable with the "no alcohol in the rooms" rule but it was generally not a problem. Nice, large lockers for every bed, personal outlet and light, and comfortable mattresses. Bathrooms were clean and pleasant and common areas were modern and welcoming.


97%

perfect hostel which is in a great location. The staff is always ready to help you, I had problems with others guests in my room and the staff helped me imediatelly.


91%

My ratings are for a private room which was a good alternative to an expensive sydney hotel over the weekend. Tiny room, the two singles were actually a bunk, but everything we needed plus a tv


94%

Bathroom and showers were amazingly clean and well looked after which was indicative of the intent of the place. Front desk staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful - very very welcoming aspect to our stay. Room was spotless.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon! Wake up! Management

94%

An absolutely fantastic hostel, great location, great staff and a very clean hostel! Easily the best hotel I've stayed in whilst I've been in Australia

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mate, Thanks for the lovely review you have left us! I'm sure we will see you again soon! Wake Up! Management

100%

A great clean place to stay with friendly helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Louise, Thanks for leaving us a review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us :) Until next time! Wake up! Management

94%

This is really good place to meet with everybody from around the world. The place is clean and nice, the staff is really helpful and friendly. Just my opinion, the room is really over crowded as so many people there sometimes they make some noise while someone is sleeping. But all over is a great place to stay and meet someone to hang out with.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for leaving a review us, Its much appreciated! Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you visit you should try booking one of our smaller 4 share dorms. Better yet we have lovely private rooms available too :) See you next time!

86%

Good hostel. Stayed there for 5 nights, very nice rooms but there are different 6 floors so doesn't seem to much of a hostel more like a big hotel. Kitchen not great but good hostel. Would recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time out to leave us a review. It's much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Wake Up! Management

(85 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback