X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
3555 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

No one at reception asked me how my stay was, if they had I would have told them this; The first night of my stay I had someone else sleep in my bed, and they was no other bed made up so I had no where to sleep, the receptionist said I'd have to sort it out. And I had to pretty much beg for a bed to stay in until there was one sorted for me in my original room. On the last night of my stay the people in my room decided to invite anyone they wanted into my room and had takeaway Brought in.

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, My sincere apologies on the sub par performance of my reception team in the handling and follow up of the issues in your dorm room. I am actually embarrassed by this and can assure you I will be looking in depth into what took place and how we could have done a better job. I will be emailing you shortly and I hope to be able to make it up to you. Regards Dev Penney - General Manager

91%

Spaces were a little crammed, but other than that great hostel experience!

  • 17th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent staff, personable, professional. Took their time to review a map & make suggestions based on my questions & interests. Great location - within walking distance to all attractions. Secure rooms, lockers, & clean. Staff cleaned every day. Kitchen facilities very good. Liked that the bar was in the basement, with a separate entrance. Only think I didn't like was the many people smoking standing in the doorway, in front of the entrance where you had to walk through a cloud of smoke.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, As your 76th hostel review I cant quite describe how pleased I am with your review and feedback. As a seasoned traveler you would have no doubt seen many types of hostels and for me your review gives validation to all the hard work we put in here! You are absolutely correct about the smokers at the front door and I have put the team on notice about it! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

94%

One of the best hostels I've come across - the staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful! Facilities are great - pretty much everything you'd need. Only downside is that you have to pay for wifi. Also, the centre of town is about a 15 minute walk away, but personally I didn't find that an issue. You can jump on a train from the central station next door if you don't like the idea of walking. Rooms are clean, bathrooms are clean and spacious. Plenty of communal areas. Highly recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and would describe us as one of the best hostels you have stayed at! Thank you so much for your kind words for my staff. They are an absolute asset to Wake Up and I know they will be thrilled with your review. Cheers and thanks Dev Penney - GM

80%

Great location and atmosphere but wasn't as clean as expected!


97%

Great staff and cool hostel. Absolutely massive in size but was easy to meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Wake Up and that you found it easy to meet people! Thanks also for mentioning our great staff! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

89%

Stayed here for 2 weeks over xmas. Had an issue with another guest in my room, so the amazing staff put me in a private room and made me feel very safe and at home! Great atmosphere, and always something going on with the bar below which was great to meet people! Not enough good things to say about the staff, and shoutout to Ryan for his wonderful hospitality. Would recommend wake up to anyone; it's a clean, safe, and fun environment that's perfect for any traveler solo or in a group!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Super pleased to hear you describe us as fun, safe and clean! Glad that my staff were able to help you out so that your stay continued to be a good one! Looking forward to your recommendations! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

94%

Really cool place to stay, loved it there! Side bar is a good place to drink in the evening, good location really clean, comfy beds.


89%

This was my first hostel when I entered Australia, it is 10/10 in terms of cleanliness and facilities although the atmosphere in Side Bar was good, everywhere else the atmosphere wasn't great, you could make friends with roommates, most of the time, but everyone already had their "clicks" and didn't go out their way to speak to someone if they were sitting alone, overall 8.5/10, returning again for New Years, hopefully be good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your stay here at Wake Up and a big thanks for the ten out of ten on cleanliness and facilities. We have loads of free events going on each week all designed to get our guests together and create a welcoming atmosphere. Hope you see more of this on your next stay. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Without doubt the best hostel in Sydney. Facilities are good and rooms are good but it is the staff that makes the place. Always really helpful whatever you need. In particular Dave, the operations manager, who helped myself and my friends above and beyond what he had to. Ended up extending here for an extra 2 weeks.

  • 14th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for your kinds words for Wake Up and its staff. Exceeding guest expectations is what we aim for so it is always pleasing when a member of my team gets a mention online. I will be passing on your feedback to Dave who I know will be pleased. Cheers and thanks Dev Penney - GM

100%

I loved it at this hostel - so much I returned twice during my stay in Sydney! The staff worked exceptionally hard to ensure all guests had the best time and organised many different day and evening events to help meet and socialise. The hostel was always kept to a high level of cleanliness and had a warm atmosphere and homely feel. I would recommend wake up to anyone travelling in Sydney!

  • 14th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We love that you love our hostel! We look forward to receiving all the people you will recommend us to. Cheers and thanks. Dev Penney - GM

100%

To start with, the people who work there are excellent. They really do go the distance to make sure you have a great time. Location is great. A bit of a walk to the opera house but thats a great way to see the city and if you dont feel like waking central station is around the corner. Nice comfortable rooms, spacious showers and some great free activities organized by the hostel through out the week! Overall I had a great time! See you guys again!!

  • 14th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for giving us a perfect rating and such generous feedback! Reviews like yours are what we work hard for and it is super pleasing to see that we have made your stay in Sydney a good one. Looking forward to seeing you back here soon. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

80%

Pro-active about promoting activities and encourage meeting other people, very good

  • 14th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Wake Up is all about the guest experience and it is super pleasing to see your mention of our activities and the effort we go to so that people can meet each other. Thanks for you review and we hope to see you again. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

We loved our stay at WakeUp! All the staff were really friendly and they put on loads of free activities so it was super easy to meet other backpackers! The girls on the travel desk were great too - so helpful! Thanks for a great stay - we'll be back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your top marks review and for your shout out to the girls at the travel desk! Looking forward to seeing you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

97%

Really clean and great location. Only comment is music from night club could be heard from 5th floor.

  • 12th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review and the mention of our cleanliness and great location! Sorry to hear it was a little bit noisy during your stay but you will be happy to know that we offer complimentary ear plugs at reception for all guests. Cheers and see you again soon! Dev Penney - GM

74%

Good place friendly and helpful staff. Room was very hot with no way to cool it down. Other than that great place to go to meet people, as there are avcivites on every day

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Alasdair, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us and made the most of our free activities we have on every day of the week. I would definitely recommend coming to reception and letting them know the room was too hot as we can adjust the air-conditioning very quickly. I will certainly be letting the staff know how impressed you were with their service. Thanks David Draffin. Facilities Manager

100%

Definitely worth staying here to meet people. Great atmosphere and best hostel I've stayed in

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for choosing to stay at Wake Up and I am super pleased to hear that your stay with us was a great one! Please do come again. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Best hostel in Sydney!!! Top hostel, top staff and just in all a top place to stay. After having an awful experience at a close by hostel, we were saved by the wake up staff who did everything to try get us in for our requested duration. I cannot thank the staff enough especially Ryan who went out of his way to sort this. I will never look at staying any where else bar wake up!! I will be back shortly :) Thanks again wake up!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay here at Wake Up and for describing us as the best hostel in Sydney! I am really pleased to hear that our Reception Manager Ryan was able to help you out as well. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you next time you are in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

One of the best hostel I ever stayed! And I worked in one of the best hostel too! I can just admire staff effort and how fun they are. Professional, smiley, Free ices, sun cream, booze, chocolate, entertaining events-city and beach tours, bbq', best bikini contest etc! Worth to stay and experience 5stars!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Here at Wake Up we aim to offer an experience, not just a bed! It is for this reason that we offer so many extras including all the activities as well as the free food and drink events. Glad you enjoyed yourself and I look forward to seeing you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

best hostel experience i had so far. fun activities. clean beds, restrooms, friendly staff, they check your opinion about your stay while your there to better serve you. room mates where awesome. we had a lot of fun together. best social gatherings i've experience. great location. pick this place!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am so glad we provided the best hostel experience you have ever had. We all work very hard to ensure all our guests have the best possible experience here in Sydney. We have lots of different activities in place to create a social atmosphere such as the free walks and of course the wine and cheese nights. Thanks again David Draffin Facilities Manager

(222 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback