X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
2859 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

We have had a wonderful time, five nights. We are "over age", 57 en 58 year, it was lovely to be between so many young people. The hostel Wake Up lie on a good location.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Wake Up really is the place for everyone and we are pleased you had such a good time. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

94%

-tower rental info should be given when check in -noise control/insulation quite poor, as we can hear people talking & TV sounds at night -i like the non-alcohol in room policy but i noticed many people ignore that. must reinforce that. -i understood the reason but the min 7 days stay during new year period will put people off ? we paid for 7 nights but stay 6 nights only.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. You scored us very well so it is pleasing that you enjoyed your stay overall. We do our best at night to ensure that the floors are quiet and that everyone gets a sound nights rest. It can be challenging at times, especially over the festive season! We look forward to seeing you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

94%

I think i should go back to this hostel,qnd i hope next time the wifi will free for unlimited

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to review our property and look forward to seeing you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

86%

A very nice hostel. Huge. Pretty crowded. Good atmosphere if you're trying to meet people. My only qualm was that in my room there were six beds crammed in and it had once been a four bed room.


94%

We booked last minute a std twin private room and found ourselves with a occupied room, due to some system error. The staff moved us to a deluxe twin for 2-3, more spacious and comfortable, being the previous one really small, barely containing the bunk-beds. The hostel is for young ones, drawing too much attention to the bar downstairs, although the security to come in & go was excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to review Wake Up. I am glad the staff were able to sort things out quickly for you after the hiccup on checkin. Thanks for also mentioning our security. Security is hugely important to us here a Wake Up and we go out of our way to ensure that every guest gets a safe and sound sleep at night. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

94%

Its a very good hostel, the private room are so comfortable and quiet.

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for choosing to stay with us here at Wake Up! Sydney over the New Years period. It is a special time of year and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

100%

It is awesome place!!

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your awesome review. Glad you enjoyed your time here! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

100%

Great Hostel, very close to the main shops and pubs and clubs, there is a night out every day of the week that the hostel will take you on so if you want a good time this is the hostel to be at!

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for such a great review! It is really pleasing that you enjoyed your time here and got to join us on our nights out. Please spread the word and we look forward to seeing you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

91%

This is by far the best hostel to stay at in Sydney. Is a little more expensive but is defiantly worth it. Everything is always clean and tidy. Only small problem is the size if the kitchen it's just too small for the number of guests there and there isn't enough place to store food but everything else was fantastic! 100% stay here again! And everyone is so friendly and you meet so many people! It's great :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your great review! We look forward to seeing you here again at Wake Up. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

100%

Brilliant hostel with no faults. Great place to meet people and have good time. All facilities are clean and well maintained, beds comfortable and rooms very spacious. Location is also very central.


97%

Swagtastic

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Swagtasic... Love it! See you next time you're in Sydney Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up Sydney

94%

Great location with spacious dorms. Helpful staffs. I would definitely suggest to bring your earplugs if you are kind of traveler who can't sleep in noise. The bar plays extremely loud music till 2-3 in the morning for 3 nights I stayed. Wifi is only free for 1 hour on your first day. I bought 3 days unlimited WiFi access for 11.90 AUD. Still better than $120 for 800 MB AT

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review! We look forward to seeing you back here at Wake Up in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

91%

Great place and great staff. Lots of fun. Clean too most of the time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your great review! We work hard on making this a fun place so it is always good when it gets a mention online. We look forward to seeing you back here in future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

83%

I don't understand why WIFI is not for free. Activities are very good. Great for meeting people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Unfortunately you will find that in Australia it is common for hostels to have paid wifi. Those that don't generally have poor quality connections that often leave their guests frustrated. Here at Wake Up we offer a robust internet connection at a nominal price. We hope you understand. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

80%

Bra hostel för en första natt i Sydney. Nära stationen, men lite dyrt. Dåligt att det inte är gratis wifi, men och andra sidan finns det gratis internet på stationen. Fräscha rum.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We love reviews in Swedish! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

97%

Brilliant atmosphere and would definitely stay there again.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Fantastic, I couldn't recommend this hostel highly enough.

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

It's a great location, very close to plenty of activities with easy access to transportation. The staff is also very nice and helpful, but for the amount of money you spend, I think they at least should put in some better showers, clean them up a bit better, and give you free wifi with your room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our bathrooms are generally in good condition so it is a bit disappointing that you did not find them this way. I shall certainly be speaking with our Housekeeping team. Thanks for mentioning our staff! They are a great group of young and friendly kids and I know they genuinely enjoying meeting people from all over the world. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

100%

Brilliant hostel in the CBD area with great weekly events.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Love your review! We work hard on our Activities here at Wake Up to ensure everyone has a great time and gets the opportunity to meet their fellow travelers. It is free for all guests and something we feel is the ultimate value add and enhances the Wake Up experience. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

100%

There are activities every evening and loads of atmosphere. Very helpful staff and comfy beds. Would recommend and would definately stay again

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(151 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback