X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
3545 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Amazing staff, facilities, location and atmosphere! Taking part in the free events was amazing, I know have friends from all over the world!!!!!!!!

  • 7th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very lucky with our central location, it makes seeing all the attractions in Sydney very easy. The free city and beach tours are a great way of getting to see Sydney whilst meeting people from all walks of life. Thanks again for your feedback. Wake Up! Management

80%

Didn't really enjoy my stay at this hostel. The majority of people in my room were there long term and so weren't interested in talking/making new friends. This made it difficult when they would all go out together and having conversations amongst themselves in the room. Hostel was nice enough with regards to facilities/cleanliness, but the atmosphere ruined it for me. Beds could have been a little more sturdier as I could feel every time the other person moved.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here at Wake Up but appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback. Room mates can often make or break your stay and all I can say for you and anyone reading this is that if you are not happy with your room then head down to reception and we will change it for you. Better that than having a few dud nights! Will be taking a look at the bunks in your room this morning. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

By far the best hostel in Sydney! Wins on location, cleanliness, the staff is always super helpful, Sidebar downstairs in the basement is legendary, and Wake Up! does a great job of putting on events for backpackers/travelers from all around the world. The only con is you have to pay for Wi-Fi, but this is the norm for all of Australia. This is a very social hostel, so if you're a solo backpacker you'll meet a ton of people from all over and have a great time! Definitely coming back to Wake Up!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, I really appreciate your awesome feedback for Wake Up and its staff! We take great pride in catering to our guests needs and really do our best to offer an experience. Reviews like yours create a real buzz amongst the staff and tell us that we are moving in the right direction. Thanks Dev Penney - GM

100%

I had a great time at wake up! Met many nice people, had a great room on the 7th floor and loved all the staff! Met the coolest maitenance guy, he was british and named Sam! Gave me and a friend great advice on what to do for the day and treated us like a real friend. We will definately be back!

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your Wake Up experience! The 7th floor is my favorite as well with its high ceilings and extra large windows! Will be passing on your comments to Sam who is definitely the best maintenance man ever... Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Great place to stay in the city, great location, clean and fun. I had a great time and would definitely recommend the place! Thanks everyone at wake up!

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us such a great review! Glad you had fun and we look forward to seeing you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Fantastic stay, best location as its right next to central train station and great staff too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, I am super pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us here at Wake Up! Thanks for your mention of our great location, next to Central Station and right in the middle of Sydneys backpacking precinct! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Staying here as a first timer backpacker couldn't of been the best experience, friendly staff all so helpful and I made the most amazing friends. If ur a single traveller I recommend staying here it's a easy walk to the station and local markets.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Really pleased to hear that your first ever hostel experience was with us here at Wake Up Sydney! Enjoy your travels and we hope the rest of your travels are equally as good. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

97%

Had great activities so it was easy to meet new people.

  • 1st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Activities and events are at the heart of the Wake Up experience with the sole aim of getting everyone together and making it easy to have a good time. Thanks for the review and we hope to see you back at Wake Up soon. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Was up from Melbourne for a job interview and it was great. Will definitely stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Great to hear we have become your hostel of choice here in Sydney. Hope you got that job! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

I honestly can't recommend this hotel anymore! It's an amazing hostel with such a comfortable vibe and loads of people to chat to. I've stayed there on more than one occasion now and loves it each time. I've met some amazing friends from this place and would always go back when in Sydney!


100%

Had a very good stay staff were very friendly and made sure my stay was pleasurable. Thankyou for looking after me in my visit !


100%

Amazingly friendly and helpful staff who go the extra mile. Really great location with such easy access to everything. Always clean and the hostel obviously cares about their customers as I was often asked if I was happy with the quality of the hostel. One of the best hostels I've stayed in whilst travelling and a great community atmosphere to meet other backpackers.

  • 30th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for your kind words for our hostel and staff. Here at Wake Up our aim is to provide an experience and your words greatly encourage us and let us know that we are on the right track. Enjoy your travels and come back soon. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Wakeup is an absolutely excellent hostel! So many different activities are put on to make it super easy to meet friends! They also have loads of free food and drinks deals throughout the week and a great bar downstairs for some good nights out! The bathrooms and bedrooms are clean. Really sociable hostel and super friendly staff. I would also really recommend the beach and city walks that they do through the week - they're great even if you think you've seen it all before!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us such an awesome review! Your review encompasses all that we are trying to offer here at Wake Up and I know the staff and management will be pleased. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you back in Sydney soon. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

86%

Great starting point if you are new to Sydney and the staff are super helpful!! Especially the girls at 'travel up!', who helped us plan our entire Oz trip!! Toilets were always nice and clean and the private twin room we stayed in was amazing!! Only downside would be the kitchen which was very small for the size of hostel that Wake up! is and not all of the hobs were working so you usually had to wait a while for a place to cook! Apart from that, a great and friendly place to stay!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us feedback and especially for your shout out to the girls at Travel Up! Hostel kitchens are always a hot topic and after many years in the industry I can honesty say that no matter how big or small a hostel kitchen is it will always be super busy for breakfast and dinner. As you travel you will see that ours is actually pretty good. We sorted those hobs pronto last week! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

74%

Well run hostel with excellent reception and facilities. Location is good, right next to the station and a 10 minute walk into toen. The hostel is very boost throughout. Id you are looking for a good night sleep, avoid this hostel. Id you are looking to party this is a good option for you!

  • 29th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Wake up was my first home in Sydney for the first 7 weeks and I loved it! Made me feel welcome and surrounded by friends as soon as I got there. Couldn't ask for a better hostel and would 100% recommend it to everyone.


91%

On arrival we where upgraded to a twin room, free punch in Sidebar. Happy ladies.


46%

Huge hostel focusing on parties. Good if you want that sort of thing. Disgusting sofa in reception area other than that pretty average

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Wow, that's a really tough review! We certainly don't feel average in any way but accept that what we have to offer here may not to everyone's liking. I will be emailing you shortly and if possible it is my hope that you will elaborate on your review a bit further so I can iron out any issues. The guest experience is everything here at Wake Up and the small things count. Thanks again for your review! Dev Penney - GM

100%

I was very I'm pressed with this hostel

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are always out to impress so thanks for your kind words! Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Absolutely loved my time at wake up hostel! Due to it being my first ever hostel in Australia, I'm really glad I picked to stay here! All the staff are so friendly and make you feel so welcome! Most of them are always up for a chat too, reccommeding good places to go and things to do! Special mention to Ryan and Dev, both brilliant staff and so friendly! Standard of hygiene and cleanliness is brilliant and always upkept! Great place to meet new people as there's always something on at side bar!!

  • 25th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(222 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback