X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
3149 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The hostel is modern and clean; the staff are super friendly and helpful and you get a free coffee in the adjoining cafe on arrival which I thought was a lovely touch. You only get one day of free wifi which is a nuisance and would prevent me from staying long term. Also the people in my dormitory were noisy and inconsiderate (not the hostel's fault but as the target market consists of late teens/early twenties to be expected )Terrific location just a two minute amble from central station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us such an in depth and fair review. While Wake Up may not be the hostel for you it is very pleasing to see that you have mentioned the many great qualities we have. Enjoy your travels! Dev Penney General Manager

91%

All the rooms have magnetic cards and all the floors need the magnetic card to have the access. There is a bar downstairs with pool tables. The kitchen is really small. The beds are comfortable. It is a nice place to stay!


97%

Sayed for 1 night on Saturday 9/5/2015 with another friend, very warm and buzzing hostel! Totally recommend for anyone to stay there!

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are pleased you took the time to review your recent stay here at Wake Up. We really like the 'warm and buzzing' words you used to describe us as that is also how we feel about Wake Up. See you next time you are in Sydney! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

91%

We really enjoyed our stay. Good location and friendly staff. Very clean rooms and bathrooms!

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay here at Wake Up. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay and met our friendly staff! Thanks also for mentioning the room and bathroom cleanliness. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

100%

Very helpful to find city location and good ideas in the new city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are super pleased you enjoyed your time here and chose to leave such a positive review. Enjoy your travels and we hope to welcome you back to Wake Up in the future! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

94%

Overall very friendly and helpful staff . Exception the bearded guy who checked me out morning of may 4th at 04h15 am He was grumpy and unfriendly. Very surprising after being helped by other staffmembers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Liliane, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and especially for marking us so well given the poor customer service on checkout. I really appreciate your additional feed back via email and can assure you that I have taken steps to ensure that this does not happen again. I hope you enjoy your onward travels and if you should return to Sydney I hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

69%

The location was great. Eazy to access many places. However, the bathrooms were very dirty all the time. Moreover, The staff who checked me out in the early morning on 5/5/15 was not really helpful. He supposed not to be put in this position!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. I was disappointed to learn that our 6th floor bathrooms were not up to scratch during your stay and I can assure you that I will be speaking with our Housekeeping team first thing. Regarding the customer service you received on departure I can only apologize for this. We pride ourselves on our customer service and for me this is hugely disappointing. Thanks again for your feedback. Dev Penney - GM

80%

Great location, just next to central station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are very pleased chose to leave us a review! Enjoy your travels and we look forward to seeing you on your next stop in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

97%

Everything was perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us such a nice review. It is always pleasing to know we have been able to provide the perfect stay! Cheers and Thanks Dev Penney General Manager

89%

We had an excellent stay! We had a great night sleep, the hostel is beautiful, the girls at reception were super friendly and very helpfull, the location could nit be any better and the lasagna on wednesday was very nice ;) thank you for a lovely stay and we would recommend the hostel to anyone.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sydney! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

100%

Ryan is awesome !!:-)


100%

excellent accommodation as expected. just love this place. loads of people to meet again and again. so clean and plenty of activities to get involved in organised by the hostel for their guests. centrally located to everything. definitely good value for money all year round. will come back and stay in this hostel as my first preference. would definitely recommend this hostel to all everyone of all ages. :) thanks again wake up! love your work! J.


100%

Brilliant hostel - has to be the best in Sydney! Such a warm, friendly atmosphere. Staff were great and helpful. Always so much going on there. Rooms and bathrooms were always very clean. Could not speak more highly of it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving such a positive review of your recent stay here at Wake Up. Our team love it when we receive such great reviews and I will be posting this one to our staff Facebook Group for all to see. We hope to see you back here at Wake Up next time you are in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

80%

In a country where drinking water is a big problem, I have spend 5 days in this hotel, seeing the water tap "cry", like every tap water from the kitchen. And with any alternative things for save the "lost" water.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Helene Thank-you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate all feedback and view it as a chance to better our hostel. I personally have completed a full inspection of all the taps in the kitchen, unfortunately this issue seems to be occurring when taps are not completely turned off after use. I do thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will be making up some signs to ensure the taps are turned off after use. Thanks again for your feedback. Facilities Manager

100%

Very social with events happening every night. The club attached is actually a really good night out! Easy to make friends! I stayed in the 6th floor so was no noise from the club late at night. It was clean, good location and a perfect hostel for solo and group travellers!


91%

Great location and atmosphere and as a solo backpacker I found it to be a great place to meet new people. Pricier than other hostels in Sydney but you get what you pay for and it is clean with good facilities, nicest shower I'd had in a while. The staff are inconsistent, some are fantastic but some really weren't, I did find myself waiting for receptionists to finish chatting before they acknowledged me on a couple of occasions. The wifi was hit and miss which is annoying when you've paid for it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a mil for leaving us such an in depth review. I am very pleased to see there were so many aspects of your stay that were great and I really appreciate the feedback on our staff and wifi. I will be following up with the reception team shortly and am happy to report that we have made some pretty big changes to our wifi infrastructure and pricing since you stayed with us. It is now better and cheaper than ever! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

77%

Hostel was kept quite clean. Nice to have a hostel allowing drinking in common areas, saves a lot of money. Right near free bus stop and central station.


80%

The local library had free internet, you can too. I would rather pay for umbrellas than internet. As you know, travelers depend on internet to get around and make accommodations. Super frustrating to not have free internet. I am sure there are financial reasons, as explained in your welcome letter, but it would still be great to have free internet and have to pay for other things.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate your candid thoughts after your recent stay here with us in Sydney. You are correct in that there is a significant cost to the hostel to have 'quality' wifi on offer and that is why we still have a nominal charge for it. You will be happy to know though that as of last week we have further reduced our prices and now offer a 1 free day of wifi for Hostelworld guests. Thanks again for your feedback. Dev Penney General Manager

100%

Brilliant place with all the musts for comforts and facilities (clean, safe, bar, kitchen, etc), great backpackers vibe plus superb staff. The welcoming free coffee if you get there in the morning is a nice a the front desk guys. Everyone I came across is absolutely lovely and do everything to help. Special mention to the 100% awesome, super-nice and super-handsome Ryan. He does an outstanding job !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for such a lovely review! We always appreciate it when our staff are acknowledged for the great work they do here at Wake Up. They really do love their jobs! I shall be passing on your comments to Ryan. He is one of our newest staff members and I am sure he will be pleased to have had a mention. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

80%

Good hostel and location. Very clean. Our entire stay it was raining and the staff didn't attempt to get everyone together for activities Such as beer pong board games drinking games etc so everyone wasn't just sat around bored or on their phones & therefore not socialising & making friends. There is a room where you can watch movies but the adjacent room had music on loud that you couldn't hear the movie. Also wifi isn't free, nor is printing which it is is many other hostels I've stayed in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. I must say I was surprised by your comments regarding our Activity Schedule. We have a very comprehensive Activity Schedule which has a good mix of day and night, party and cultural events much of which is completely free for our guests. We feel it is one of our best attributes. I shall still be passing on your feedback to our activities team though and specifically discussing those rainy days. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

(172 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback