X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wake Up! Sydney Central Reviews

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
3032 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Very fun hostel. Very easy to meet people. Staff was great with few exceptions (night security with a little attitude). Travel desk was helpful, Side Bar was a great time. Comfortable rooms, clean bathrooms. It is a party hostel so expect noisy roommates and high probabilities of roommates 'getting it on'

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for mentioning the 'fun' aspect of our hostel! Our dedicated team of activities staff work very hard on creating a great atmosphere where people can meet each other and have fun! I will be meeting with them later today and I know they will be stoked to have had another mention online! Thanks also for your shout out to Travel Up, our in-house travel agency. The girls just love looking after you guys! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

94%

Really clean, nice staff and great Side bar! Kitchen is also really nice!


89%

When you've stayed in more than one hostel in Sydney, you soon realise it's one of the best, hence why it's a little pricier. You get what you pay for though; clean, spacious rooms, decent bathrooms, and a great attached café. Obviously Sidebar downstairs can get a little noisy, but it's a small price to pay for hostel rooms that are actual habitable, and is pretty good as far as backpacker bars go. Definitely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for giving us such a nice well-rounded review. You really do get what you pay for when it comes to backpacking accommodation so we are pleased you mentioned all the good little extras that go into making a stay at Wake Up a good one. Our team at Roys Cafe will be really pleased you have mentioned them! We love their coffees and you obviously enjoyed one as well! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

89%

Great hostel, only real downside was wifi in the room sucked! Would definitely stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review! We have recently had a company come in to conduct a wifi signal audit and we hope to have the signal gaps plugged up very shortly. Looking forward to hosting you next time you are in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

100%

It was all good, I enjoyed my stay and I would stay again. Thankyou.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for leaving us a 100% review! Enjoy your travels and please spread the Wake Up word. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

89%

great location with lockers in the room, clean toilets and shower room there are a lot of parties and special activities which you can join (not for me :) ) and staff helped me find my hat back....so niceeeeeee!! recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us such a nice review. Glad we were able to help you find your hat! Looking forward to seeing you back here next time you are in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

91%

I would recommend this hostel to anyone planning on staying in Sydney. The cafe downstairs was great for breakfast, both sit down and takeaway. The bar in the basement had a good crowd on the weekends, it was convenient to have these two right in our hostel. Our only complaint was the showers were NOT made for people over 5'9, I was bending over trying to wash my hair out, also we got reprimanded for a noise complaint @ 9:30 on a friday, even though the hostel was advertised as a party place.

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are pleased you took the time to review your recent stay at Wake Up. We certainly appreciate your kind words and recommendation of Roys Cafe and Side Bar. They are two integral parts of Wake Up that really compliment every guests stay. While we are definitely a party hostel we are very strict when it comes to our accommodation floors. We believe that each guest is entitled to a good nights sleep and we act quickly on any noise issues. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

91%

This is a big hostel. You might find it hard to make friends. Otherwise I was happy with the facilities and stayed here for two trips to Sydney.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking some time out to leave us a review! While we are definitely one of the largest hostels here in Sydney we believe we have an unrivaled atmosphere that is usually reserved for a much smaller property. Our dedicated activities team run a mixture of day and night events each day of the week and our bar, Side Bar is this undisputed king of the backpacker and university scene here in Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

97%

This was my first time traveling solo, and also my first time staying in a hostel. I arrived in sydney on 9 am Wednesday, a shuttle bus took me from the airport straight to wake up's front door. ($15) when I arrived, the lingo here is a little different than home however they made me feel welcomed and said that they're are activities at 11 I should attend ( beach walk). Immediately I went to my immaculate room ( female four share). My level was quiet, clean and spacious. Best hostel in sydney

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are very happy you enjoyed your stay here and in particular that your first hostel experience was with us here at Wake Up! Sydney. I will be passing your comments on to our Housekeeping team regarding the room. They work really hard on the room cleanliness and I know they will be please you have mention it. Thanks again for you review and we hope to see you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

97%

Fantastic in almost every regard: - loved the engagement/social events daily. - clean bathrooms/showers - decent sized shared room - travel up! Not ideal: - the kitchen area is just a little bit too small for the number of guests - combined with the no-alcohol-in-rooms policy meant for some overbusy/crampt nights Pretty bad: - The lifts are quite possibly the worst I've ever used. Terribly slow and always at-capacity. Not enough for the hostel size. Why not open the stairs up permanently?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving such a fantastic review! We are really pleased you got to enjoy the social side of our property and that you mentioned the cleanliness of our bathrooms. We realize that not everyone is happy with the no-alcohol-in-rooms policy but we have found that it is the best way for everyone to enjoy a good nights sleep. There is however plenty of room to party on our first floor or in Side Bar so no worries on that score. Cheers Dev Penney - GM

100%

Possibly the best hostel I have stayed at. Amazing bar down stairs, but its all tourists. Short 5 min walk from Surly Hills local bars. 5 second walk to central train station. Good Sydney priced restaurant on the first floor. Internet was good. They had a great staff for scheduling and booking tours. Had a decent amount of activities each night. Otherwise YHA around the corner had some, or the OZexperience located one block North East in the bus terminal can also help you book out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for such an amazing review! Our team work so hard for reviews like yours and everyone gets super excited when they come through. Please spread the Wake Up word on your travels and hopefully we will see you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

100%

A brilliant hostel. Considering how huge it is, it still manages to be very friendly and welcoming, with lots of free activities for those new to the city. I really enjoyed the city walk and the beach walk, and made some good friends on the way. Facilities are clean and modern, and there are plugs next to every bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for such an awesome review! We are a big hostel and our Activities team work extra hard to get everyone involved in our weekly events calendar. The Beach and City walks are without a doubt the highlights of the week and it is pleasing that you got to go on them both. I will be passing on your comments to the Activity guys this afternoon as I know they love it when they get a mention online. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager

80%

Good hostel with individual light

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are pleased you liked our bunk bed reading lights! Last year we went searching for things to do to our rooms that would really enhance the guest stay and these were what we came up with! Enjoy your travels and we look forward to seeing you back here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

94%

Wifi should b included !!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your recent review of Wake Up. We appreciate each and every review we receive and value the feedback. While we understand that in many parts of the world, wifi is now included in the room rate. It is unfortunately still quite normal for it to be a paid service in Australian hostels. Here at Wake Up we choose to offer a robust 'high quality' connection at a nominal price. Hope you understand. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

94%

A great hostel. A bit noisy, but expected bearing in minds its a cbd hostel and tends to attract a younger crowd. Great staff, very helpful. Good value for money, got a free drink at the attached bar, and a free coffee at the attached café. Great location, just opposite central station. Would definitely recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Wake Up. We are pleased you enjoyed the little extras that come with each Welcome Pack and that you found our staff to be to be really helpful! Hope to see you back here on your next trip to Sydney. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

71%

very plesant and clean .

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A little expensive ...no free wifi !!! U have to buy it !!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your recent review of Wake Up. I can see from the review categories that you were, on the whole really pleased with your stay here. Unfortunately though the paid wifi was a sticking point. All I can really say is that we offer an excellent wifi connection throughout our building and charge a nominal price for it. As you travel Australia you will see that, unfortunately paid wifi is quite normal. Regards Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

89%

good location right next to central station. rooms are clean, staff are friendly. quite a party atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Good Location, Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff and a Party Atmosphere! We could not have hoped for a better review and we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us the feedback. Enjoy your travels! Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

100%

Great hostel. Loved it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for such a great review!!! Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

97%

Great friendly hostel in a central location. Great bar with daily food/drink deals and daily activities to get involved in! Definitely recommend :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Cheers for leaving us such a nice review! Our Activity Schedule along with the daily food and drink specials are such an important part of the Wake Up experience. It is all about getting everyone together and breaking down the barriers that can sometimes keep people apart in big hostels. We are a big hostel we en equally big atmosphere! We look forward to seeing you here in the future. Cheers Dev Penney General Manager Wake Up! Sydney

(163 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback