Hostelworld.com

Walk On The Beach Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
Walk On The Beach Hostel Located at Rua Dias da Rocha 85, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro.
Walk On The Beach Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22051-020 Rua Dias da Rocha 85, Copacabana
91% 1256
-22.9716299 -43.1906806
Walk On The Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jun 2016
5.1

What a let down this hostel was. We booked for 5 nights and only stayed for 2. The rooms are like being in a prison cell and the beds are definitely not comfortable. It was like sleeping on a piece of wooden board covered in plastic. I don't believe the reviews match the expectations at all. Steph was lovely and very helpful no issues with her at all. The few nights we were there there was no atmosphere but it was mid week so may have picked up on weekend.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Jun 2016
10.0

It's one of the best hostels in my years of traveling around the world. Location is great, close to restaurant, beach, metro station, and most importantly it's a safe area. It's especially clean, staff come to the rooms to clean up everyday. Bar is isolated from the rooms to keep it reasonably quiet while people having fun. The staff is the best, they go beyond and above to help you with everything, keep you engaged and make sure you are entertained. Eduardo is especially informative and helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Jun 2016
6.9

A bit expensive for the quality. Guys at the reception very nice and helpful. Cleaning women and the one at breakfast very rude and wont let me eat more fruit because i had to wait the next 'round' of people coming for breakfast. Poor breakfast compared to other hostels, only bread, ham, cheese, watermelon and cake. The hostel is not very well maintained, lockers are rusty and is pretty old in general. It was pretty clean though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
7.4

Overall experience was good, the Staff were friendly and attentive - excellent local information given, they could not have been more helpful if they tried. But, when I saw my bunk, my heart sank: vinyl covered foam mattress, hard and very uncomfortable. In the morning when I woke up it felt like I had been camping on a sleeping mat. I cannot imagine the owners of the hostel ever having slept in one of these beds, if they had, they would realise how unenjoyable this sleeping experience was.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • scottiedugan
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jun 2016
9.4

Really good hostel. Staff amazing. Cleanliness amazing. Lots of bathrooms and chill out areas. Bar is great. Breakfast is great. Location is great. Only thing was I had 7 french Canadian girls move into my room after a few nights, was horrible and only got 3 hrs sleep each night from then on, had to change rooms, not the hostels fault though. But certainly little bit of a party hostel, which was nice most times. Really quite liked staying there :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2016
9.4

Stayed in a 9 person dorm, with lockers in the dorm. Need to be buzzed in and out of hostel, which makes it more secure. Staff were fantastic and very helpful. The hostel has it's own bar which was great for meeting people. Close to Copacabana beach. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Jun 2016
10.0

Walk on the beach is a fantastic hostel! At first the three tier bunks were a little overwhelming but after the first night we felt completely at home, this was due to how welcome the staff made us feel. Agnes was amazing and went above and beyond to help us and make sure we had fun. All the other staff were brilliant and really made this hostel and our stay special. We will definitely be coming back here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
10.0

There are great hostels and there are amazing hostels! This is definitely an amazing one! As solo traveler I met loads of cool people to share day activities and parties with. The location is perfect, the bar is great and most of all there is helpful staff that create an awesome vibe on the hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th May 2016
10.0

Easily one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at, I was there 5 days and it was like a home. It's not designed as a party hostel, but with 2-4-1 caipis when the bar opens, everyone is in the bar at the same time and this makes it very sociable. We had upwards of 10 from the hostel heading out at night. The staff are brilliant, they give you loads of advice about the best way of seeing everything in Rio, including nightlife, with Daily discounts on the best clubs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
9.4

Had a great experience at Walk on the Beach. In a neighborhood surrounded by $500 a night hotels it's great to be able to find an affordable and clean hostel. What really makes this hostel great are the staff (hey Agnes!) and the people who travel through it. With a good age distribution from recent grads taking their gap year to people in their late 20s finally getting around to traveling, everyone was interesting to talk with and there was never a dull moment. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.