Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Walk On The Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2017
10.0

Great hostel, perfect location for Copacabana beach, only 2 minute walk away, plenty of shops/resteraunts nearby also. Facilities are always clean and the beds are comfortble. The staff are incredible! All of them are so friendly and can help you with anything you have a problem with. A great team in general! Highly recommend this hostel! Definitlely the best in the area. Would of course stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • samvanweenen9196
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
10.0

For the money and location you won't get much better, the staff at the hostel do there up most to help you out with trips ideas of things to do on your trip.Big shout out to Mathias quality bloke and bartender makes it all about the fun. Ask to hear his band 😄 good place. Good people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
9.4

I had a great time at this hostel - fun atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, and a great place to meet other travellers. Close to Copacabana beach, with good links to other parts of the city. If I find myself in Rio again, I'd definitely choose this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jul 2017
10.0

Had a fantastic stay here! The staff is amazing and the atmosphere is really good a special thanks to Rodolpho and stefany who were more than willing to help me get to the dentist and we're able to recommend the best bars in rio :). I ended up coming back and prolonging my stay in rio because of the staff, location and the bar. Thank you walk on the beach for accepting my daily requests of "one more night, I'll leave tomorrow instead"!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jul 2017
8.0

Had a great 5 day stay here! The staff are fantastic and really create a friendly, helpful environment. After a few days you really do feel like part of a family which is obviously great for solo travellers. The beds are horrendously uncomfortable, old and you have to make your own bed upon arrival. Breakfast is not included but really should be. Toilets are very mouldy and no hot water. Military style rooms made many people change hostel when I was there. Easy, inexpensive changes required.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We aim at offering great cost-benefit accommodation, with the best service, location and environment a travaler could wish for. All our facilities are exactly as shown in our microsite and all guests are aware of that when they place a reservation. As you must know, major alterations in facilities come with an impact in pricing, which is not our goal. We offer regular dorms, extremely clean facilities, our mattrasses are less than one year old and there is hot water in all our showers. Breakfast is offered upon request as mentioned in the microsite. We do not have records of unsatisfied guests moving to different hostels. We believe your brief experience might have led you to form a superficial opinion. Still, thanks fot your time. Good travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Jun 2017
10.0

Walk On The Beach is 5 minutes walk to Copacabana beach. Although the dorms are very basic, they were secure and very safe and clean. The kitchen facilities were great to. I would recommend this hostel for fellow travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2017
9.4

Amazing staff and location. The beds are very uncomfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
17th Jun 2017
7.1

3 tier bunks mean there isnt enough room for bags, floor is covered so cleaner cant really sweep properly so it is sandy and in turn gets through your belongings. Staff were friendly but info wasnt always correct or omitted key point. No real atmosphere in the hostel, aside from free welcome drink it is pricey at the 'bar'. Area is expensive in general with not much nightlife for backpackers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our rooms are as shown in our microsites and three tiered bunks are usual in Rio. Our cleaning team moves all backpacks and luggage so that the floors are properly swept, washed and mopped. We will look into what happened in your dorm during the time you stayed here, that is definitely not the service we provide at Walk On The Beach. Cocktails at our bar are under 4 american dollars, so we do not understand your basis of comparison when you say it's pricey. You stayed in Copacabana and we are sorry you did not like the area, there was not much we could do about that. However, if you were unhappy about prices, Rio is definitely not the place for you.

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
6.9

Very friendly staff in a good part of the city, but it's a very simple hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We offer great cost-benefit accommodation, good atmosphere, excellent service and extremely clean environment at a great location in Copacabana. We are sorry Walk On The Beach was not the right place for you, as much as you were not the right guest for us. Thanks for your time and good travels.

14th Jun 2017
7.7

The staff were absolutely amazing !!! They helped us with recommendations and maps. The football match organised was also great. Only downside was the room was pretty small and mattresses weren't comfy. Pretty cool shower water. Great location close to the beach. Would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.