X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Walk On The Beach Hostel Reviews

Rua Dias da Rocha 85, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
884 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Incredible customer service. Willing to go above and beyond.. So happy staying here it was a great vibe :). Not the best facilities, but the staff makes up for it.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We had an amazing time in Walk on the Beach Hostel. Everyone knows everyone's name and there is a very friendly, family-like atmosphere in the entire hostel. Breakfast is included and very nice, though it's a bit basic. All the rooms are cleaned daily, the showers and toilets are always clean. The bartender makes a fantastic caipirinha and the flaming shots really got us in the mood! We really felt at home at this hostel and we would definitely recommend everyone to go there when you visit Rio!

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a fantastic stay at Walk on the Beach. Excellent staff (always friendly and helpful) combined with a great location (just a few blocks away from Copacabana beach) made for a superb visit to Rio de Janeiro.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Had a great time here, central location made it easy to get anywhere. Everything about this place was perfect, especially the staff. Staff would always help out with recommendations and organising tours, were so friendly and welcoming to us. Special shoutout to Philllipe, Pedro, Mateus and Dominic for making our time here a great one!


57%

Triple bunk beds, not fun for the person up the top. Small rooms. Other facilities okay.

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel located just a few minutes walk from the beach. Staff were amazing so helpfull and friendly. The hostel had a great atmosphere and was really easy to meet people. Would definitely recommend!


91%

Especially the new staff was amazing and everybody was very committed :) I would definitely recommend it


97%

Probably one of the best hostels i have ever stayed in. Very nice and extremly helpful staff and great atmosphere!


97%

Great hostel, wonderful, super friendly and helpful staff, fantastic location. I left the hostel to go to a nearby airbnb flat with a friend, and I was continuously welcome to go back, hang out with others, and join trips with them. Louiza was very welcoming and helpful when I arrived, Dominic gave great recommendations, and Phillipe made the best capis and has great music. There are many great things about this hostel, but I think the best of all are the people that work there.


91%

Great place to stay in Rio, staff were helpful and had excellent recommendations for nightlife, restaurants etc. Ended up staying longer than planned thanks to the Walk on the beach gang. Romeo

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A great place with wonderful staff. I would recommend a visit here. They are all great people here.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is great! The staff are incredibly friendly and knowledgeable, especially the hotel manager Dominique who was constantly helpful, upbeat and fun. The location is great and there is a beautiful breakfast every morning and a great bar at night. We extended our stay tor two weeks after originally only booking one. Though it is a bit more expensive than other hostels because of location it's completely worth it. We loved every moment of our stay.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel has everything a traveler looks for! The rooms are comfortable and the common areas are really good. The staff is great! They are really friendly and can help you with tons of information. Definitely a place a would recomend!


100%

I normally don't comment on hostel but I thought i would on this one cause it was so awesome I love it there and staff were awesome. Price is right.


97%

Awesome staff! Always happy to give some advice and directions! There's an amazing atmosphere at the hostel and it's really easy to make friends with everyone!


91%

Walk on the beach is very well located. Just 3 blocks away from Copacabana. It is a touristic neighborhood, with many policemen and people walking around so in my opinion is really safe. However, you always need to be careful. The staff was always there to help and advise us. Dominik is a really good guy, who knows everything about the city and will try to make your staying as pleasant as it can be. I hope I will come back one day. Thank you guys!


86%

5 minutes to join Copacabana beach!! The staff is very kind and polite. Very niuce hostel to spend some days in the beautiful Rio

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place.


100%

Amazing place! Super close to the beach and the beds were comfortable but what really made the stay was the STAFF. can't thank all of you enough, especially Dom, you're great! xoxo

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is fantastic! The staff make you feel like you're just a friend staying at their place - they will offer you great advice on travel plans, Rio, security etc, sit and chat with you - all with a genuine smile. Tours and taxis were good value. Great included breakfast. Great security. Free caipirinha at the upstairs bar. The quality of sleep was somewhat questionable - but I can't blame the hostel - it was more the dormmates. But bring earplugs and eyemask if you're a light sleeper.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback