Hostelworld.com

Walk On The Beach Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1,238 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1,238 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
Walk On The Beach Hostel Located at Rua Dias da Rocha 85, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro.
Walk On The Beach Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22051-020 Rua Dias da Rocha 85, Copacabana
92% 1238
-22.9716299 -43.1906806
Walk On The Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th May 2016
9.4

Had a great experience at Walk on the Beach. In a neighborhood surrounded by $500 a night hotels it's great to be able to find an affordable and clean hostel. What really makes this hostel great are the staff (hey Agnes!) and the people who travel through it. With a good age distribution from recent grads taking their gap year to people in their late 20s finally getting around to traveling, everyone was interesting to talk with and there was never a dull moment. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2016
10.0

Everything about this hostel was great! Super friendly helpful staff and super close to the beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2016
10.0

I've stayed here 3 time now and this is the best hostel I've stayed in South America. The staff are really friendly especially Stefany. Really close to the beach and loads of restaurants close by. Great place to meet new people if you're traveling alone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2016
9.7

great hostel with comfy beds, helpful staff, great location and clean bathrooms. only negative is the rooms are a bit crowded with beds (bunk beds are stacked 3 tall and a difficult climb if you are on top). overall, I recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
10.0

Great hostel. Less than 10 minute walk to the beach. Clean and full of friendly faces. You never feel alone. Staff is really helpful when it comes to finding anything and seeing the sights. Agnes is amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
10.0

This is the 4th time I stay at this hostel during different visits at Rio and Brazil, so that should say enough. I love how attentive, genuinely nice and helpful all the staff is and I feel like at home here. The location is great as it is super close to bus stops that can take you easily around different parts of the city, also underground stop only few mins walk from hostel. Have always felt totally safe in the area, even walking on my own late at night. Plenty of options to eat out nearby :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
9.1

Had a great stay, the staff were very helpful with everything we needed. It was only a 5 minute walk to the metro and Copacabana beach. The bar had a great atmosphere, breakfast was great the only thing missing was a bigger lounge area but you could always uses the couches in the bar

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Apr 2016
5.1

If you're looking for a party hostel this is probably the place for you. If you enjoy sleeping sometimes, then this probably isn't. People are awake and loud at all hours of the night and can be heard through the walls. The bunks are three beds high, and the lockers provided are small. The doors to the rooms don't have locks. If you're in the 3-bed dorm, people often mistake it for the washroom and walk in. Some staff are great, others not so much. Close to the beach and groceries.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We offer a bar area as well as chill out rooms, beds are three-tiered as shown on all our sites and lockers are big enough to keep your valuables and day bag. Since our rooms are shared, they are not locked. However, we have security cameras in all areas providing a super safe environment. We are sorry about the snorer, but, again, this was a shared dorm room. We find your review rather unfair, but you definitely were not cut out for hostels. The 5 star hotel you moved to was probably a better choice.

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
8.6

Great location and unbelievable staff, Dominique is a a top geezer!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
10.0

I only stayed one night after a week staying with friends in Rio, and I was kind of bummed to have not stayed more. Super Gringo-y, but enjoyable atmosphere. Staff is excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.