X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Walk On The Beach Hostel Reviews

Rua Dias da Rocha 85, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
826 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

La gente del hostel siempre está bien predispuesta para ayudarte y darte indicaciones.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Firstly, this hostel has the best staff I have ever encountered. Knowledgeable, friendly and happy. Also the homemade cake for breakfast is a winner. The downside is the rooms are cramped, very cramped. Not many showers either so waiting to wash or toilet is common. It's a very social hostel so expect noise at any hour of the night. This hostel will suit some, but definitely not others!


86%

Personnel accueillant

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really enjoyed it, staff are crucial to this place and they're all very friendly and talkative, a very good hostel and great bar / meeting point upstairs. Definitely recommended


91%

The staff here are amazing! Stefany and Philippe are the best! Everyone was amazingly helpful! Loved every minute of my stay.


97%

Best hostel in the Copacabana and Ipanema area. The atmosphere is amazing, and the absolutely lovely staff highly contributed to that. The staff are always willing to help or sit down for a friendly chat, and gives you the best tips on what to do with your time in Rio! I could not have asked for a better stay!

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Lovely place defo recommend it to anyone i know not a bad word to say about it


97%

Love this place - I was very, very sad to leave. Atmosphere is great, all the staff are really friendly, location is perfect, and they offer a number of different tours, which are all really good. Beds are not te most comfortable but won't hinder a night's sleep - and are aimed at the elimination of bed bugs, which is never a bad thing! Good facilities and wifi (though a couple more bathrooms would be good, maybe?)... Overall a brilliant stay, in my favourite city of South America so far!


100%

Everything about Walk on the Beach hostel was great. I originally booked my stay here for one week with intentions of going to another hostel but decided to stay for 3 weeks instead. I feel like this place is my second home. The staff was great. They are experts with what to see and do and are all so willing to help you. Stefanie was especially awesome because she is so nice and funny!! The bartender Filipe is a really cool and fun guy too. I also loved the cleaning ladies Dora and Marlene!!!

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This is a really good hostel. The staff is very friendly and they all speak English. The breakfast is very good as well, not just bread with jam but also ham, cheese, fruit and some sweets. It has a great location, so close to te beach of copacabana and in a really safe area. Highly recommended!!

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

O melhor deste hostel é o atendimento. Fui super bem recebido, tive retornos rápidos via email. Nota 10 para os atendentes (Stephany , Venâncio, Dominique e Alessandra). Parabéns a todos, recomendarei a todos amigos que forem ao RJ.


91%

Awesome staff, cool place. Rooms were pretty cramped with 3 high bunks and very limited space. Guess it helps to drag down the costs at such a wicked location though right?


100%

Really really good stay! Fun staff and fun place to be. Recommend


100%

Luved this hostel! Super awesome friendly and helpful staff! Awesome tours booked through them! Very clean and super comfy! Awesome breakfast and great computer and internet access! Location is awesome as we'll!


100%

Best hostel on planet earth. The hosts make my little heart pump like that of a alpha lion. This place made my trip to RIO.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff at Walk On The Beach were friendly and fantastically accommodating. They contributed to our enjoyable time in Rio through great suggestions for places to eat, tours to take and parties to attend. Staff were always up for a chat which gives the hostel a very friendly and open atmosphere. Would recommend this place to other travellers for sure!


94%

Dominick é gente boa demais!!! Conheci uma gringaiada muito loca la tbm!

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It was just great! Freundlich und sehr hilfsbereites Personal, tolle Atmosphäre, gutes Frühstück :-) Wir kommen wieder

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

They don't have lockers for your baggage, just small ones. I got stolen, and the staff at the moment didn't care at all.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

very good hostel and great staff....... be careful if walking back to hostel at night


(75 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback