X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Walk On The Beach Hostel Reviews

Rua Dias da Rocha 85, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
770 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Really nice people! Members of the staff are really friendly and helpful! And we had a free Caipirinha's night! That was awesome! The place is really clean and there are nice common areas where it's possible to meet a lot of people!


100%

I have just stayed in the best hostel I have ever been in......staff are phenomenal! So friendly and helpful and all of them are up for a laugh. Feel so at hoe here. I really don't want to leave!


91%

I really liked the hostel. The location is great, just 10 min to the Metro station and 10 min to the beach. There are also supermarkets and restaurants nearby. The hostel has a nice bar and the staff is super friendly and super helpful. The beds weren't that nice, but clean. The bathrooms were a little few, but also clean. The only negative part about this hostel is that breakfast only starts at 9 am, which is very late for someone who wants to go sightseeing. Everything else was awesome.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Had a really great stay here for almost a week. Staff very helpful in particular Dominic who went above and beyond to find information for me. Very good location in copacabana a few blocks from Beach in safe area. Only thing I didn't like was the triple bunk beds, not overly comfortable. But I would definitely recommend this hostel.


86%

The first stop on our South American trip and the staff at this place couldn't be better. The most delightful, fun, helpful and wise staff - thank you Bo, Luisa and the amazing Dom. The rooms are good, the showers are hot (just ask them to show you how they work), the hostel is super safe and groups of us met at the bar in the hostel and then went out to lapa and to the boat cruise. So close to supermarkets, the beach and the metro. An awesome spot and hostel in Rio.


97%

Best hostel on my trip so far and a big advantage is that you can speak Austrian with the staff ;).

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved this hostel! I had a great experience! Awesome staff!

  • 19th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The best hostel in RJ.

  • 18th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

There was no hot water for a shower so that's why i decided to find another place to stay, the rooms where too cramped and most of the bathrooms were very small. In spite of that, the manager Bo was thoughtful and kind and there were seven cameras at the hostel streets, as so as inside. However I would not stay again in the same hostel, because I have high quality standards of places to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have bathrooms in all floors, the ones in the first floor being much more spacious. WE HAVE HOT WATER IN all showers, and they are electrical, which is the reason why we offer help to operate them, in case it is needed. You stayed for just one night and got refunded of the other nights, and the reason for that was that YOU did not fit OUR high standards of guests. But still, you kept coming back, to which we could do nothing. "Perks" of this business.

100%

Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful with anything from daytime excursions, to bars and nightclubs, and how to use the public transport system. Lounge, living room, and bar were excellent places to hang out, relax, and find some good conversation with staff and fellow travelers. Bar was always a fun place to hang around early in the evening, and the overall atmosphere of the hostel was very friendly and welcoming.

  • 16th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very friendly athmosphere with nice guys at the reception, they organized night parties and tours and were very kind with guests.


94%

Hostel is very close to the Beach and is always clean. Staff are very friendly and probably the most helpful we have come across in all of South America. They made our travels throughout the rest of Brazil very simple. Breakfast is pretty good. Rooms were a little tight with the three high bunk beds but the staff more than make up for this.


97%

Really enjoyed this hostel, most helpful staff Iv ever come across in a hostel.


91%

The staffs were wonderful, and the hostel has a nice social atmosphere. However stacking three beds vertically all together was a big downside.


100%

I absolutely loved everything about Walk on the Beach! The staff was amazing, and the location was great. Only about a 10-15 minute walk to Copacabana beach. The kitchen is perfect to make meals in and save a little money! You even get a free drink on arrival!

  • 2nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It's located in very convenient way and has nice security. The staff are really kind and friendly. I've got lots of information from them and very impressed!! They made my trip awesome!! I want to stay here if I can Rio again!!

  • 2nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was perfect but they should accept credit & debit cards.


97%

Amazing and super helpful staff. Always there to answer questions and help you what you need. Great atmosphere, super close to the beach.

  • 2nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

- Awesome staff - Easy to get to know other travelers - Good location in between the party area and close to the beach

  • 30th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Probably the best hostel I've ever been to in terms of atmosphere. This is definitely the backpackers hostel to go to. Incredible atomosphere, the staff (Bo, Alcira, and Dominic), are a rare breed of kind, caring, warm hearted, intelligent, human beings who love their work and love to put a smile on anybody's face. They treat you like family from the very beginning. The showers are a bit chilly at times, but it's not a big deal. Sleeping arrangements are decent(you aren't coming to Rio to sleep)

  • 25th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(511 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback