X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Walk On The Beach Hostel Reviews

Rua Dias da Rocha 85, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1031 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

31%

Mala atención del personal, habitaciones pequeñas y sin llave. Me robaron unas zapatillas nuevas y no se hicieron cargo. Dijeron que me iban a dar una respuesta al dia siguiente y nunca me contactaron . NO LO REGOMIENDO. VAYAN A OTRO

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really helpful staff, incredible location and cheap drinks at the bar!


91%

Un muy buen lugar! El servicio es muy amable, (eso es lo mejor de todo) la ubicacion del hostel es privilegiada, hay camaras en varios espacios y eso te da mas seguridad para con tus cosas, y el desayuno estaba bien!

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Paraguay
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent hostel. Excellent staff. Had a great time here. Staff are knowledgeable about the area and the various activities. They provide excellent maps with points of interest clearly marked and have different parties every night. Wifi is good and they have two computers. Dominic, Louise and Stephanie are incredibly friendly and do their utmost to make you have a good time. Pedro the bartender serves caipirinhas of varying strength depending on your tastes. Would definitely stay here again!!


100%

So good to stay there. Friendly people, an owner that actually comes in and meets his guests and just the best location and atmosphere. It's a great hostel and I'd stay there any time.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel! Especially the staff! they are all very friendly and always ready to help! They all know Rio from end to end! The hostel is located near the metro, main bus stops and the beach, between the redeemer and sugarloaf. It's very clean for my patterns. housekeeping everyday. Great breakfast. Rooms were ok, comfortable beds, air conditioning. Po, é isso haha. Danilão, Luiza, Stefany e Dominique, vcs são foda! abração


100%

Personalet er så flinke og imødekommende

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

In general I lived there a very good experience, I met very nice people and the location was very safe and good. The things that I think could be improve are: the staff that is during night (there was one that was very rude to ask to us not be in the bar past 12hours), number of bed in the room (I slept in one with 6 beds and it was very small), to accept credit cards payments.


91%

Excellent helpful staff who made the trip a brilliant experience. Keep up the good work Dominick and the local ladies.


97%

Staff very friendly and helpful. Was good to enjoy Cairpirinhas at the bar with other travellers and staff before heading to explore the nightlife! Rooms are a little cramped as not able to sit with triple bunk beds but facilities are otherwise good.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Já passei por diversos hostels pelo mundo a fora, mas confesso que este surpreendeu todas a minhas espectativas, funcionários nota 1000, dos servições gerais até recepção e gerência. Clima super agradável e aconchegante. Recomendo D+!!!!!!!!!


94%

Very pleasant to stay here. Have stayed at 2 other hostels in Rio (one being Che Lagarto, which is clearly newer) but it's Walk on the Beach I'd return to. It's the staff who really go 2 extra miles to look after you. But a young man needs to get his facts corrected about the buses and where they shop. The 127 and 128 do NOT stop at BRS1! Anyway, the room was small, sure, but bed was comfy enough. Toilets/shower all fine, and YES hot water. The breakfast was good, considering the price paid.


91%

We enjoyed our stay at Walk on the beach hostel very much, especially sitting in the common areas and meeting other travellers. There are two things I would like to add: the breakfast takes only place between 9 and 11 am. If you have been out the night before this is a nice time for a breakfast. However we wanted to start early some days so that we had to skip breakfast.... Also the number of bathrooms especially on the first floor is quite poor


89%

Close to Copacabana and the staff is awesome and really helpful!!! The rooms for six people could be bigger but the bar area is great. Would stay here again.


89%

Tudo muito bom, um lugar com o ambiente muito agradável...

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

All the staff were very friendly and helpful with great local knowledge. Excellent map of the immediate area provided with everything you need marked out. Very good wifi. Large lockers in rooms. Whilst I was there not such a social crowd but there is a bar so normally would be more social I expect. Only downsides was the beds were not that comfortable and lots of mozzies, would be good to put screens over the windows. Recommend staying here whilst in Rio if you want to be close to the beach.


100%

The hostel's is what made my experience such a great one. Never have I met a great team with whom I could easily talk to about anything. They are just so friendly! Every night they also recommended great parties to go to. The hostel is just a couple of minutes away from the beach, which made it easy to watch the sunrise and/or sunset without having to return home so late. Looking forward to my next Rio trip, and I will definitely stay at this hostel again.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This place is great!! Really chilled out with a grest little bar in the evenings for a casual beer or to have a few drinks before going out in Rio!! really close to the beach with plenty of places to eat along the way. Staff are the best thing about this place. Stephany and Louise are the girls who work behind the reception and they are amazing! Always on hand to help you whatever question you had. Even after I had left and got into some trouble elsewhere in Brazil, Stephany helped me out a lot!

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The beds arent very comfortable and there are few bathrooms.


94%

The staff is their greatest asset. The bar is great at night and the location is perfect for any backpacker that stays in Rio. Don't look any further for accommodation. You won't have a better time anywhere else.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(61 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback